Device profile · Specifications & compatibility

Sonoff Dongle Max

Sonoff · Dongles · Model Dongle Max

Prices and stock change often on Amazon, so we do not show them here. The button opens the current listing.

  • Sonoff Dongle Max lists Zigbee coordinator; Thread border router; Home Assistant.
  • Confirm the supported device list and firmware before pairing accessories.

Browse more from Sonoff or explore all dongles in our catalog.

Recorded year
2025
Recorded warranty
1 year
Dimensions
169 x 32.5 x 22 mm
Weight
102g

The details that shape your choice

Sonoff Dongle Max Quick Features

Start with these specifications, then check the full details and conditions below.

All specifications →
Zigbee coordinator
Yes
Z Wave Controller
No
Thread border router
Yes
2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
Yes
Ethernet
Yes
Usb
Yes

Make the differences clear

Which device fits your setup?

Choose another model to compare features, connections and requirements side by side.

From specification to decision

Sonoff Dongle Max: Capabilities And Limitations

Based on listed specifications, not hands-on testing. Manufacturer sources are linked where checked.

What it offers

  • A Zigbee coordinator is listed, providing a Zigbee-network role to investigate for supported accessories. Confirm the supported device list and firmware before pairing accessories.

    View Zigbee coordinator details →
  • Thread border-router functionality is listed, relevant when connecting a Thread network to the rest of the home network. A border router connects Thread to other IP networks. Check Matter-controller functions separately.

    View Thread border router details →
  • A Home Assistant integration is listed, providing an integration path to verify for the exact model. Check the exact integration and firmware. A catalog integration label does not establish local control, official support or available entities.

    View Home Assistant details →

About our sources and comparison method →

Questions About Sonoff Dongle Max

Does Sonoff Dongle Max include a Zigbee coordinator?

Yes, according to the listed specifications. Confirm the supported device list and firmware before pairing accessories.

View Zigbee coordinator specifications →

Does Sonoff Dongle Max function as a Z-Wave controller?

No, according to the listed specifications. Check the region, host-software support and firmware role.

View Z Wave Controller specifications →

Does Sonoff Dongle Max act as a Thread border router?

Yes, according to the listed specifications. A border router connects Thread to other IP networks. Check Matter-controller functions separately.

View Thread border router specifications →

Does Sonoff Dongle Max work with Home Assistant?

Yes, according to the listed specifications. Check the exact integration and firmware. A catalog integration label does not establish local control, official support or available entities.

View Home Assistant specifications →

Does Sonoff Dongle Max connect to 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi?

Yes, according to the listed specifications. Check the network security mode and setup requirements before connecting the device.

View 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi specifications →

Explore the full picture

Sonoff Dongle Max Specifications

Recorded catalog values. Expand notes for qualifications; unknown values are not treated as missing features.

3 of 25 fields matched to manufacturer documentation. Source checks apply only to the named model and stated scope. Other fields remain catalog data. How we verify specifications →

25 of 25 specifications · 8 sections

Zigbee5 fields
Zigbee specifications
Zigbee VersionZigbee 3.0
Zigbee Chip ManufacturerSilicon Labs
Zigbee Chip ModelEFR32MG24
Manufacturer source

The Zigbee/Thread chipset is EFR32MG24.

Sonoff Dongle Max — manufacturer product description →
Source section
Product description / feature descriptions
Model
Dongle Max
Region
Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Radio role depends on the installed firmware and host software; a Thread radio is not proof of a standalone border router.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Zigbee coordinatorYes
Zigbee RouterYes
Z Wave4 fields
Z Wave specifications
Z Wave VersionNot applicable / unspecified
Z Wave Chip ManufacturerNot applicable / unspecified
Z Wave Chip ModelNot applicable / unspecified
Z Wave ControllerNo
Matter2 fields
Matter specifications
Thread border routerYes
Matter bridgeNo
Connectivity4 fields
Connectivity specifications
UsbYes
Manufacturer source

USB connectivity is provided.

Sonoff Dongle Max — manufacturer product description →
Source section
Product description / feature descriptions
Model
Dongle Max
Region
Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Radio role depends on the installed firmware and host software; a Thread radio is not proof of a standalone border router.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

EthernetYes
Manufacturer source

Ethernet connectivity is provided.

Sonoff Dongle Max — manufacturer product description →
Source section
Product description / feature descriptions
Model
Dongle Max
Region
Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Radio role depends on the installed firmware and host software; a Thread radio is not proof of a standalone border router.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

2.4 GHz Wi-FiYes
5 GHz Wi-FiNo
Features3 fields
Features specifications
Dual NetworkNo
Details & conditions

One EFR32MG24 radio: Zigbee and Thread together only through SONOFF's MultiPAN firmware, which the manufacturer labels experimental

Bluetooth ProxyNo
Usb Over EthernetNo
Integrations2 fields
Integrations specifications
Home AssistantYes
Zigbee2mqttYes
Power2 fields
Power specifications
UsbYes
Power over EthernetYes
Radio Specifications3 fields
Radio Specifications specifications
Amplifier Gain+20dBm
External Antennas2
Antenna Gain+5dBi

How this device compares

Sonoff Dongle Max vs Other Similar Models

Statistical context from 36 dongles in this catalog. These figures describe our recorded data, not independent measurements.

Recorded feature coverage

2.4 GHz Wi-Fi: 18 of 36 known answers are Yes

Connectivity: 50% among explicit Yes/No answers; 0 of 36 devices have no resolved answer. Check the specifications for this model’s conditions.

Recorded feature coverage

Ethernet: 18 of 36 known answers are Yes

Connectivity: 50% among explicit Yes/No answers; 0 of 36 devices have no resolved answer. Check the specifications for this model’s conditions.

Recorded feature coverage

Power over Ethernet: 18 of 36 known answers are Yes

Power: 50% among explicit Yes/No answers; 0 of 36 devices have no resolved answer. Check the specifications for this model’s conditions.

Brand representation in this directory

8 of 36 models are from Sonoff

Counts dongles listed here, not sales or market share. Catalog inclusion does not imply a recommendation.

What Should You Verify Before Buying Sonoff Dongle Max?

These checks describe dongles requirements. Confirm each one against the exact model’s current manufacturer documentation and your installation.

  1. Match the adapter to supported host software and drivers.
  2. Check the firmware role: coordinator, controller or other radio function.
  3. Confirm protocol and regional radio compatibility.
  4. Verify migration, backup and firmware-update procedures.

Side-by-side specification comparison

Compare Sonoff Dongle Max vs Similar Dongles

See how Sonoff Dongle Max stacks up against other dongles in this catalog. Compare specifications, compatibility and pricing.

Catalog specifications have not all been independently checked against manufacturer sources. Read our data and evidence methodology.