
The Smart Device Compare comparison
Eufy SoloCam E42 vs SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.
Build another comparison →Before you compare every specification
Key differences between Eufy SoloCam E42 and SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
A summary of selected recorded differences between these cameras. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.
- Ethernet (connectivity): Eufy SoloCam E42 — No; SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K — Yes (The SwitchBot press release states the camera supports both Wi-Fi and wired Ethernet connections.).
- Apple Home (integrations): Eufy SoloCam E42 — Yes; SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K — No (Apple Home is not listed by SwitchBot and the camera is not a HomeKit accessory.).
- Rechargeable Battery (power): Eufy SoloCam E42 — Yes (44.3 Wh); SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K — No.
- Solar Charging (power): Eufy SoloCam E42 — Yes; SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K — No.
- Animals (alerts): Eufy SoloCam E42 — HomeBase S380 required (The camera recognizes people and vehicles on its own; eufy adds pet detection when it is connected to HomeBase S380.); SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K — Subscription required (Pet detection is part of the paid AI Guard Basic plan.).
- Familiar Faces (alerts): Eufy SoloCam E42 — HomeBase S380 required (eufy adds face recognition when the camera is connected to HomeBase S380.); SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K — No (Local facial recognition is a feature of the separate SwitchBot AI Hub, not of this camera.).
- Vehicles (alerts): Eufy SoloCam E42 — Yes; SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K — Subscription required (Vehicle detection is part of the paid AI Guard Basic plan.).
- Cloud (storage): Eufy SoloCam E42 — No (eufy's support pages for the SoloCam E42 state that it does not support cloud storage.); SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K — Subscription required (Cloud storage is part of the paid AI Guard plans; local microSD recording needs no plan.).
- 4 of 54 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
- Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.
These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.
Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.


Option 2 · SwitchBot
SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
Last updated October 2026
View full device profileWhat the catalog tells us
Understand the tradeoffs.
These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.
Consider your setup
Apple Home
- Eufy SoloCam E42Yes
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3KNo
Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.
Inspect the specificationsConsider your setup
Cloud
- Eufy SoloCam E42No
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3KSubscription required
Check recording retention, account requirements and which functions depend on a subscription. Confirm these requirements for your intended use.
Inspect the specificationsYour priorities, side by side
Focus on what changes.
Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.
Showing 54 of 54 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.
Alerts
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- HomeBase S380 required
Catalog note
The camera recognizes people and vehicles on its own; eufy adds pet detection when it is connected to HomeBase S380.
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- Subscription required
Catalog note
Pet detection is part of the paid AI Guard Basic plan.
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- No
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- No
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- No
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- No
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- HomeBase S380 required
Catalog note
eufy adds face recognition when the camera is connected to HomeBase S380.
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- No
Catalog note
Local facial recognition is a feature of the separate SwitchBot AI Hub, not of this camera.
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- No
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- No
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- Yes
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- Yes
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- No
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- No
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- Yes
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- Yes
Catalog note
Person detection is included with the camera alone and with no monthly fee, per the SwitchBot AI Guard plan table.
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- No
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- No
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- Yes
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- Subscription required
Catalog note
Vehicle detection is part of the paid AI Guard Basic plan.
Connectivity
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- Yes
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- Yes
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- No
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- No
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- No
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- No
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- No
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- Yes
Catalog note
The SwitchBot press release states the camera supports both Wi-Fi and wired Ethernet connections.
Features
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- Yes
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- Yes
Catalog note
Detection zones let users focus monitoring on a gate, driveway or backyard.
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- No
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- No
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- No
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- No
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- Yes
Manufacturer source
A motion-activated spotlight is included.
Eufy SoloCam E42 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Model-specific product page summary
- Model
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- Region
- US manufacturer page; other regional variants are not verified by this source
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- Yes
Catalog note
Four white fill lights double as an active deterrent.
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- Not recorded
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- No
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- Yes
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- Yes
Catalog note
The press release lists manual light-and-alarm controls for active deterrence.
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- Yes
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- Yes
Catalog note
Two-way audio with a high-sensitivity microphone and speaker, per the press release.
Hub
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- No
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- No
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- No
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- No
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- No
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- No
Included Accessories
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- No
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- No
Integrations
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- Yes
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- Yes
Catalog note
The official spec table lists Alexa under third-party services, and Amazon says it works with Alexa.
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- Yes
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- No
Catalog note
Apple Home is not listed by SwitchBot and the camera is not a HomeKit accessory.
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- Yes
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- Yes
Catalog note
The official spec table lists Google Home under third-party services, and Amazon says it works with Google Assistant.
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- Yes
Catalog note
eufy-security-client, the library behind the eufy Security custom integration for Home Assistant, lists the SoloCam E42 (T8173) among its supported devices.
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- Yes
Catalog note
The Amazon listing states the camera supports Home Assistant through the RTSP protocol, and SwitchBot lists RTSP among its third-party services.
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- No
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- No
Catalog note
Matter is not listed by SwitchBot for this camera, whose third-party services are Alexa, Google Home and RTSP.
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- No
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- No
Catalog note
SmartThings is not listed among the SwitchBot third-party services.
Power
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- 90 days
Catalog note
eufy's estimate, based on 300 seconds of recording per day; the solar panel keeps it topped up.
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- Not applicable / unspecified
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- No
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- No
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- Yes
Catalog note
44.3 Wh
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- No
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Solar charging is supported.
Eufy SoloCam E42 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Model-specific product page summary
- Model
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- Region
- US manufacturer page; other regional variants are not verified by this source
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- No
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- Yes
Catalog note
The camera charges over USB-C and can run on a direct power supply, which eufy calls wired mode and requires for 24/7 recording.
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- Yes
Catalog note
Mains powered by a DC 12V / 2A adapter, per the official spec table.
Storage
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- No
Catalog note
eufy's support pages for the SoloCam E42 state that it does not support cloud storage.
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- Subscription required
Catalog note
Cloud storage is part of the paid AI Guard plans; local microSD recording needs no plan.
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- No
Catalog note
The camera records to a microSD card. The 16GB of built-in storage, expandable to 16TB with a hard drive, belongs to the optional HomeBase S380.
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- No
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- Yes
Catalog note
Up to 128GB
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- Yes
Catalog note
Local storage supports microSD cards up to 512GB, per the Amazon listing and the SwitchBot press release.
Video
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- Yes
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- Yes
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- When wired to power
Catalog note
eufy requires wired mode (a direct power supply) plus a microSD card, or a HomeBase with a hard drive.
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- Yes
Catalog note
Amazon states non-stop 24/7 continuous recording with no monthly fees for local storage.
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- Yes
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- Yes
Catalog note
Records 3K at 5MP, above the 2K/1440p threshold; it is not a 4K camera.
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- Yes
Manufacturer source
The camera supports 4K video.
Eufy SoloCam E42 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Model-specific product page summary
- Model
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- Region
- US manufacturer page; other regional variants are not verified by this source
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- No
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- 16:9
Catalog note
eufy lists the 4K resolution as 3840x2160.
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- Not recorded
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- Yes
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- Yes
Catalog note
Four 850nm infrared LEDs provide black and white night vision.
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- Yes
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- Yes
Catalog note
Four white fill lights support full-color low-light viewing.
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- 130° Diagonal
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- Not recorded
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- Yes
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- Yes
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- No
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- No
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- Yes
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- Yes
Catalog note
Events record to the local microSD card and the AI Hub, so clips survive an internet outage.
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- 360° Pan / 70° Tilt
Catalog note
eufy describes 360° horizontal coverage, and its European comparison table lists a 70° vertical tilt.
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- 360° Pan / 90° Tilt
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- Yes
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- No
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- HomeBase S380 required
Catalog note
The RTSP stream of the E42 is served through a HomeBase S380: eufy data for E42 cameras paired to a HomeBase S380 carries the NAS (RTSP) switch, an owner plays that stream from the HomeBase in VLC, and eufy-security-client added the E42 stream URL after the HomeBase returned it. | On eufy cameras NAS recording is the RTSP stream itself (Camera Settings > Storage > NAS (RTSP Stream)), and eufy's storage FAQ for the E42 on its own lists only a microSD card.
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- Yes
Catalog note
RTSP is listed by SwitchBot and is how the camera reaches Home Assistant, NVR and NAS systems.
- Eufy SoloCam E42
- Yes
- SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K
- Yes
| Specification | Eufy SoloCam E42 | SwitchBot Outdoor Pan/Tilt Cam 3K |
|---|---|---|
| Alerts | ||
HomeBase S380 requiredCatalog noteThe camera recognizes people and vehicles on its own; eufy adds pet detection when it is connected to HomeBase S380. | Subscription requiredCatalog notePet detection is part of the paid AI Guard Basic plan. | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
HomeBase S380 requiredCatalog noteeufy adds face recognition when the camera is connected to HomeBase S380. | NoCatalog noteLocal facial recognition is a feature of the separate SwitchBot AI Hub, not of this camera. | |
| No | No | |
| Yes | Yes | |
| No | No | |
| Yes | YesCatalog notePerson detection is included with the camera alone and with no monthly fee, per the SwitchBot AI Guard plan table. | |
| No | No | |
| Yes | Subscription requiredCatalog noteVehicle detection is part of the paid AI Guard Basic plan. | |
| Connectivity | ||
| Yes | Yes | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | YesCatalog noteThe SwitchBot press release states the camera supports both Wi-Fi and wired Ethernet connections. | |
| Features | ||
| Yes | YesCatalog noteDetection zones let users focus monitoring on a gate, driveway or backyard. | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
YesManufacturer sourceA motion-activated spotlight is included. Eufy SoloCam E42 manufacturer product page →
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | YesCatalog noteFour white fill lights double as an active deterrent. | |
| Not recorded | No | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteThe press release lists manual light-and-alarm controls for active deterrence. | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteTwo-way audio with a high-sensitivity microphone and speaker, per the press release. | |
| Hub | ||
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| Included Accessories | ||
| No | No | |
| Integrations | ||
| Yes | YesCatalog noteThe official spec table lists Alexa under third-party services, and Amazon says it works with Alexa. | |
| Yes | NoCatalog noteApple Home is not listed by SwitchBot and the camera is not a HomeKit accessory. | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteThe official spec table lists Google Home under third-party services, and Amazon says it works with Google Assistant. | |
YesCatalog noteeufy-security-client, the library behind the eufy Security custom integration for Home Assistant, lists the SoloCam E42 (T8173) among its supported devices. | YesCatalog noteThe Amazon listing states the camera supports Home Assistant through the RTSP protocol, and SwitchBot lists RTSP among its third-party services. | |
| No | NoCatalog noteMatter is not listed by SwitchBot for this camera, whose third-party services are Alexa, Google Home and RTSP. | |
| No | NoCatalog noteSmartThings is not listed among the SwitchBot third-party services. | |
| Power | ||
90 daysCatalog noteeufy's estimate, based on 300 seconds of recording per day; the solar panel keeps it topped up. | Not applicable / unspecified | |
| No | No | |
YesCatalog note44.3 Wh | No | |
YesManufacturer sourceSolar charging is supported. Eufy SoloCam E42 manufacturer product page →
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | No | |
YesCatalog noteThe camera charges over USB-C and can run on a direct power supply, which eufy calls wired mode and requires for 24/7 recording. | YesCatalog noteMains powered by a DC 12V / 2A adapter, per the official spec table. | |
| Storage | ||
NoCatalog noteeufy's support pages for the SoloCam E42 state that it does not support cloud storage. | Subscription requiredCatalog noteCloud storage is part of the paid AI Guard plans; local microSD recording needs no plan. | |
NoCatalog noteThe camera records to a microSD card. The 16GB of built-in storage, expandable to 16TB with a hard drive, belongs to the optional HomeBase S380. | No | |
YesCatalog noteUp to 128GB | YesCatalog noteLocal storage supports microSD cards up to 512GB, per the Amazon listing and the SwitchBot press release. | |
| Video | ||
| Yes | Yes | |
When wired to powerCatalog noteeufy requires wired mode (a direct power supply) plus a microSD card, or a HomeBase with a hard drive. | YesCatalog noteAmazon states non-stop 24/7 continuous recording with no monthly fees for local storage. | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteRecords 3K at 5MP, above the 2K/1440p threshold; it is not a 4K camera. | |
YesManufacturer sourceThe camera supports 4K video. Eufy SoloCam E42 manufacturer product page →
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | No | |
16:9Catalog noteeufy lists the 4K resolution as 3840x2160. | Not recorded | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteFour 850nm infrared LEDs provide black and white night vision. | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteFour white fill lights support full-color low-light viewing. | |
| 130° Diagonal | Not recorded | |
| Yes | Yes | |
| No | No | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteEvents record to the local microSD card and the AI Hub, so clips survive an internet outage. | |
360° Pan / 70° TiltCatalog noteeufy describes 360° horizontal coverage, and its European comparison table lists a 70° vertical tilt. | 360° Pan / 90° Tilt | |
| Yes | No | |
HomeBase S380 requiredCatalog noteThe RTSP stream of the E42 is served through a HomeBase S380: eufy data for E42 cameras paired to a HomeBase S380 carries the NAS (RTSP) switch, an owner plays that stream from the HomeBase in VLC, and eufy-security-client added the E42 stream URL after the HomeBase returned it. | On eufy cameras NAS recording is the RTSP stream itself (Camera Settings > Storage > NAS (RTSP Stream)), and eufy's storage FAQ for the E42 on its own lists only a microSD card. | YesCatalog noteRTSP is listed by SwitchBot and is how the camera reaches Home Assistant, NVR and NAS systems. | |
| Yes | Yes | |
Know what’s behind the comparison.
The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.
Read our comparison methodology