
The Smart Device Compare comparison
Eufy FamiLock E32 vs Eufy Smart Lock E31
Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.
Build another comparison →Before you compare every specification
Key differences between Eufy FamiLock E32 and Eufy Smart Lock E31
A summary of selected recorded differences between these door locks. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.
- Backup Battery (power): Eufy FamiLock E32 — No; Eufy Smart Lock E31 — USB-C emergency charging.
- Battery Life (power): Eufy FamiLock E32 — 8 months; Eufy Smart Lock E31 — 14 months.
- Battery Type (power): Eufy FamiLock E32 — 8 AA; Eufy Smart Lock E31 — Built-in.
- 4 of 45 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
- Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.
These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.
Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.


What the catalog tells us
Understand the tradeoffs.
These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.
Consider your setup
Battery Life
- Eufy FamiLock E328 months
- Eufy Smart Lock E3114 months
Compare the stated test conditions. Catalog battery figures alone do not predict runtime in your home.
Inspect the specificationsYour priorities, side by side
Focus on what changes.
Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.
Showing 45 of 45 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.
Alerts
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
Catalog note
Real-time notifications and event history in the eufy app
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- Yes
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
Catalog note
Low-battery alerts through the app (official eufy FAQ)
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- Yes
Catalog note
Low battery alert at 20% charge
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Not recorded
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- Not recorded
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Not recorded
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- Not recorded
Automatic Lock
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
Catalog note
Countdown auto-lock, with customizable timing from 2 seconds to 5 minutes (official eufy FAQ)
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- Yes
Catalog note
Timer set in the app (1 second to 60 minutes) that starts after every unlock, whether or not the door is closed
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- No
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Not recorded
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- Not recorded
Connectivity
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
Catalog note
Built-in Wi-Fi, no bridge required (official eufy product page and Amazon listing)
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- Yes
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- No
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
Catalog note
Matter runs over Thread, which uses Bluetooth Low Energy for commissioning
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- Yes
Catalog note
The CSA certificate lists Thread and Bluetooth as its transports, and the Amazon listing states Bluetooth, Matter and Wi-Fi.
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- No
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Thread Border Router required
Catalog note
Matter runs over Thread, so a Thread border router such as a HomePod mini or Apple TV 4K is needed for Matter control (official eufy FAQ)
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- Thread Border Router required
Catalog note
Matter runs over Thread, so a Matter hub with a Thread border router (HomePod mini, Apple TV 4K, Nest Hub, Echo, SmartThings Station) is needed for Matter control.
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- No
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- No
Features
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
Catalog note
Anti-Peep Passcode (official eufy product page)
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- Yes
Catalog note
Random digits can be entered before and after the passcode (official product page)
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- No
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- No
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
Catalog note
Temporary passcodes via Access Management in the eufy app
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- Yes
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
Catalog note
Scheduled passcodes via Access Management in the eufy app
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- Yes
Integrations
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- Yes
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- Yes
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter: the lock is Matter certified over Thread, and the Home Assistant Matter integration supports locks (a Thread border router is needed). Not part of the community eufy Security integration's supported-devices list, which is a separate path.
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
Catalog note
Matter over Thread (official eufy product page FAQ)
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Matter support is documented.
Eufy Smart Lock E31 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Model-specific product page summary
- Model
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- Region
- Australia manufacturer page; other regional variants are not verified by this source
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
This is the Australian product page. Confirm local hardware, lock fit and controller compatibility.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Matter 1.2 over Thread, certified by the CSA on 10 July 2024.
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter
Lock System
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- No
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- No
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- No
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Fingerprint access is supported.
Eufy FamiLock E32 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Model-specific product page summary
- Model
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Region
- US manufacturer page; other regional variants are not verified by this source
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Battery life is a manufacturer estimate, not a guaranteed replacement interval.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Self-learning AI fingerprint recognition
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Fingerprint unlocking is supported.
Eufy Smart Lock E31 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Model-specific product page summary
- Model
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- Region
- Australia manufacturer page; other regional variants are not verified by this source
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
This is the Australian product page. Confirm local hardware, lock fit and controller compatibility.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Unlock in less than 0.3 seconds, self-improving recognition
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- No
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
Catalog note
Touchscreen keypad
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- Yes
Catalog note
Keypad
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- Yes
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
Catalog note
Built-in Wi-Fi, no bridge required; control from anywhere in the eufy app
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Remote app control is available.
Eufy Smart Lock E31 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Model-specific product page summary
- Model
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- Region
- Australia manufacturer page; other regional variants are not verified by this source
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
This is the Australian product page. Confirm local hardware, lock fit and controller compatibility.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Built-in Wi-Fi, no bridge required
Power
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- USB-C emergency charging
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- 8 months
Manufacturer source
The advertised battery life is up to eight months.
Eufy FamiLock E32 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Model-specific product page summary
- Model
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Region
- US manufacturer page; other regional variants are not verified by this source
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Battery life is a manufacturer estimate, not a guaranteed replacement interval.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- 14 months
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- 8 AA
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- Built-in
Sensors
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
Catalog note
Auto-lock is a countdown timer set in the app, with no door-position sensor documented
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- No
Catalog note
eufy documents this model's auto-lock as timed locking without checking the door position
Video
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- No
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- No
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- No
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- No
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- No
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- No
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- No
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Not applicable / unspecified
- Eufy Smart Lock E31
- Not applicable / unspecified
| Specification | Eufy FamiLock E32 | Eufy Smart Lock E31 |
|---|---|---|
| Alerts | ||
YesCatalog noteReal-time notifications and event history in the eufy app | Yes | |
YesCatalog noteLow-battery alerts through the app (official eufy FAQ) | YesCatalog noteLow battery alert at 20% charge | |
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
| Automatic Lock | ||
YesCatalog noteCountdown auto-lock, with customizable timing from 2 seconds to 5 minutes (official eufy FAQ) | YesCatalog noteTimer set in the app (1 second to 60 minutes) that starts after every unlock, whether or not the door is closed | |
| No | No | |
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
| Connectivity | ||
YesCatalog noteBuilt-in Wi-Fi, no bridge required (official eufy product page and Amazon listing) | Yes | |
| No | No | |
YesCatalog noteMatter runs over Thread, which uses Bluetooth Low Energy for commissioning | YesCatalog noteThe CSA certificate lists Thread and Bluetooth as its transports, and the Amazon listing states Bluetooth, Matter and Wi-Fi. | |
| No | No | |
Thread Border Router requiredCatalog noteMatter runs over Thread, so a Thread border router such as a HomePod mini or Apple TV 4K is needed for Matter control (official eufy FAQ) | Thread Border Router requiredCatalog noteMatter runs over Thread, so a Matter hub with a Thread border router (HomePod mini, Apple TV 4K, Nest Hub, Echo, SmartThings Station) is needed for Matter control. | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| Features | ||
YesCatalog noteAnti-Peep Passcode (official eufy product page) | YesCatalog noteRandom digits can be entered before and after the passcode (official product page) | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
YesCatalog noteTemporary passcodes via Access Management in the eufy app | Yes | |
YesCatalog noteScheduled passcodes via Access Management in the eufy app | Yes | |
| Integrations | ||
YesCatalog noteVia Matter | Yes | |
YesCatalog noteVia Matter | YesCatalog noteVia Matter | |
YesCatalog noteVia Matter | Yes | |
YesCatalog noteVia Matter | YesCatalog noteVia Matter: the lock is Matter certified over Thread, and the Home Assistant Matter integration supports locks (a Thread border router is needed). Not part of the community eufy Security integration's supported-devices list, which is a separate path. | |
YesCatalog noteMatter over Thread (official eufy product page FAQ) | YesManufacturer sourceMatter support is documented. Eufy Smart Lock E31 manufacturer product page →
This is the Australian product page. Confirm local hardware, lock fit and controller compatibility. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteMatter 1.2 over Thread, certified by the CSA on 10 July 2024. | |
YesCatalog noteVia Matter | YesCatalog noteVia Matter | |
| Lock System | ||
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
YesManufacturer sourceFingerprint access is supported. Eufy FamiLock E32 manufacturer product page →
Battery life is a manufacturer estimate, not a guaranteed replacement interval. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteSelf-learning AI fingerprint recognition | YesManufacturer sourceFingerprint unlocking is supported. Eufy Smart Lock E31 manufacturer product page →
This is the Australian product page. Confirm local hardware, lock fit and controller compatibility. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteUnlock in less than 0.3 seconds, self-improving recognition | |
| No | No | |
YesCatalog noteTouchscreen keypad | YesCatalog noteKeypad | |
| Yes | Yes | |
YesCatalog noteBuilt-in Wi-Fi, no bridge required; control from anywhere in the eufy app | YesManufacturer sourceRemote app control is available. Eufy Smart Lock E31 manufacturer product page →
This is the Australian product page. Confirm local hardware, lock fit and controller compatibility. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteBuilt-in Wi-Fi, no bridge required | |
| Power | ||
| No | USB-C emergency charging | |
8 monthsManufacturer sourceThe advertised battery life is up to eight months. Eufy FamiLock E32 manufacturer product page →
Battery life is a manufacturer estimate, not a guaranteed replacement interval. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | 14 months | |
| 8 AA | Built-in | |
| Sensors | ||
NoCatalog noteAuto-lock is a countdown timer set in the app, with no door-position sensor documented | NoCatalog noteeufy documents this model's auto-lock as timed locking without checking the door position | |
| Video | ||
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| Not applicable / unspecified | Not applicable / unspecified | |
Know what’s behind the comparison.
The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.
Read our comparison methodology