
The Smart Device Compare comparison
Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8 vs NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.
Build another comparison →Before you compare every specification
Key differences between Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8 and NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
A summary of selected recorded differences between these energy monitors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.
- Load Management (features): Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8 — No; NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — Yes (NodOn lists load shedding on overconsumption among the meter's uses, driven by its readings | The switching itself is done by the compatible gateway or home automation system, not by the meter, which has no relay).
- Din Rail Mount (installation): Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8 — No; NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — Yes (One 17.8 mm wide DIN module that clips onto the standard 35 mm rail inside the switchboard).
- Split Phase (metering): Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8 — Yes; NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — No (Rated 110-240 V AC 50/60 Hz as a 1P+N single-phase meter, so a 120/240 V North American split-phase service with two hot legs is out of scope).
- Z Wave (connectivity): Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8 — Z-Wave Hub required (Z-Wave 800 series with Long Range, S2 security, also acts as a repeater); NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — No.
- Zigbee (connectivity): Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8 — No; NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — Zigbee Hub required (Zigbee 3.0 certified, 2.4 GHz, maximum radio power +10 dBm, so it joins an existing Zigbee network and needs a compatible coordinator or gateway | NodOn lists Home Assistant, SmartThings, Jeedom and Zigbee2MQTT as compatible gateways for this model).
- Power Supply (installation): Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8 — Mains (120 V); NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — Mains (110-240 V).
- Accuracy (metering): Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8 — 99% (Better than 99% above 0.05 A); NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — ±1% (Class 1.0 to IEC 61557-12, stated as a 1% tolerance, over a measurement range of 50 mA to 63 A and a base current of 10 A).
- 10 of 39 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
- Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.
These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.
Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.


What the catalog tells us
Understand the tradeoffs.
These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.
Your priorities, side by side
Focus on what changes.
Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.
Showing 39 of 39 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.
Connectivity
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
The 2.4 GHz radio is Zigbee (IEEE 802.15.4), not Wi-Fi
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- Z-Wave Hub required
Catalog note
Z-Wave 800 series with Long Range, S2 security, also acts as a repeater
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note
Zigbee 3.0 certified, 2.4 GHz, maximum radio power +10 dBm, so it joins an existing Zigbee network and needs a compatible coordinator or gateway | NodOn lists Home Assistant, SmartThings, Jeedom and Zigbee2MQTT as compatible gateways for this model
Data Monitoring
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- Not applicable / unspecified
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Not a native NodOn feature. Exporting the readings is a function of the home automation platform.
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- Not applicable / unspecified
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Not applicable / unspecified
Catalog note
The meter keeps no history of its own beyond its cumulative energy registers, and NodOn ships no app: retention is whatever the host gateway or Home Assistant keeps
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- Not applicable / unspecified
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Not a native NodOn feature. Any cost figure is calculated by the home automation platform from the readings.
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- Not recorded
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
NodOn advertises real-time monitoring of voltage, current, power and energy but publishes no reporting interval for this model
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- Not applicable / unspecified
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Not a native NodOn feature. Time-of-use pricing is a function of the home automation platform.
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- Not applicable / unspecified
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Not a native NodOn feature. Usage alerts are built in the home automation platform from the readings.
Features
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- Yes
Catalog note
Through the Z-Wave hub, not the device itself
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
Through the compatible Zigbee gateway or Home Assistant, not on the device itself
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
NodOn lists load shedding on overconsumption among the meter's uses, driven by its readings | The switching itself is done by the compatible gateway or home automation system, not by the meter, which has no relay
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
No switching output: the meter measures only and has no relay to cut a load
Installation
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- Yes
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
Installed in-line inside the electrical panel on an existing circuit, next to the upstream protection device
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
One 17.8 mm wide DIN module that clips onto the standard 35 mm rail inside the switchboard
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- Mains (120 V)
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Mains (110-240 V)
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Integrations
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- No
Catalog note
Alexa has no energy meter device type and this meter has no relay to expose as a switch, so a skill has nothing to publish
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Not compatible with Amazon Alexa.
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Not compatible with Apple Home.
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- Not recorded
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Not compatible with Google Home.
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- Yes
Catalog note
Via the Z-Wave JS integration
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
Zigbee2MQTT supports this exact model, the SEM-4-1-00, and exposes power, voltage, current, AC frequency, power factor, apparent power and both consumed and produced energy | NodOn also lists Home Assistant among the compatible gateways for this model | Works with Home Assistant through ZHA and through Zigbee2MQTT.
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
The radio is Zigbee 3.0 only, with no Matter certification or Matter path documented for this model
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- Yes
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
NodOn lists SmartThings among the compatible gateways for this model, so it pairs with a SmartThings hub as a standard Zigbee 3.0 device
Local Control
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
A Zigbee end device with no IP stack and no documented serial interface, so there is nothing on the module itself to call directly; the data path belongs to whichever gateway hosts it
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Nothing runs on the module itself: it is paired and configured from the Zigbee gateway, and it has only a status LED and a reset/pairing button
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
No native MQTT, though Zigbee2MQTT republishes the readings
Metering
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- 99%
Catalog note
Better than 99% above 0.05 A
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- ±1%
Manufacturer source
The stated energy-measurement tolerance is one percent.
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →- Source section
- SEM-4-1-00 features and technical data
- Model
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Class 1.0 to IEC 61557-12, stated as a 1% tolerance, over a measurement range of 50 mA to 63 A and a base current of 10 A
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- Yes
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Bidirectional measurement is specified.
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →- Source section
- SEM-4-1-00 features and technical data
- Model
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Bidirectional measurement reports consumption and production separately, which is what makes solar self-consumption and export readable | Zigbee2MQTT exposes the consumed total as energy and the production side as produced_energy for this exact model
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- Not applicable / unspecified
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Not applicable / unspecified
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- 2
Catalog note
2 x 200 A clamps for the service mains
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Not applicable / unspecified
Catalog note
Inline measurement through the module's own terminals, with no current transformer involved
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- 200 A
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Not applicable / unspecified
Catalog note
Rated up to 63 A directly on the circuit, without a current transformer
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- 2
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- 1
Manufacturer source
The meter monitors one circuit.
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →- Source section
- SEM-4-1-00 features and technical data
- Model
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
One 1P+N circuit: the line is wired through the meter's own terminals and the neutral passes alongside, so it meters a single circuit up to 63 A
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- Yes
Catalog note
Reports V, A, W, kWh, power factor and reactive power
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
Reports voltage, current, active power, apparent power, power factor and AC frequency alongside the energy totals | Zigbee2MQTT exposes power_factor, power_apparent and ac_frequency for this exact model
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- Yes
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Rated 110-240 V AC 50/60 Hz as a 1P+N single-phase meter, so a 120/240 V North American split-phase service with two hot legs is out of scope
- Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8
- No
Catalog note
The US model is the 2-phase / split-phase variant; three-phase is a separate EU version
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
| Specification | Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8 | NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor |
|---|---|---|
| Connectivity | ||
| No | NoCatalog noteThe 2.4 GHz radio is Zigbee (IEEE 802.15.4), not Wi-Fi | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
Z-Wave Hub requiredCatalog noteZ-Wave 800 series with Long Range, S2 security, also acts as a repeater | No | |
| No | Zigbee Hub requiredCatalog noteZigbee 3.0 certified, 2.4 GHz, maximum radio power +10 dBm, so it joins an existing Zigbee network and needs a compatible coordinator or gateway | NodOn lists Home Assistant, SmartThings, Jeedom and Zigbee2MQTT as compatible gateways for this model | |
| Data Monitoring | ||
| Not applicable / unspecified | NoCatalog noteNot a native NodOn feature. Exporting the readings is a function of the home automation platform. | |
| Not applicable / unspecified | Not applicable / unspecifiedCatalog noteThe meter keeps no history of its own beyond its cumulative energy registers, and NodOn ships no app: retention is whatever the host gateway or Home Assistant keeps | |
| Not applicable / unspecified | NoCatalog noteNot a native NodOn feature. Any cost figure is calculated by the home automation platform from the readings. | |
| Not recorded | YesCatalog noteNodOn advertises real-time monitoring of voltage, current, power and energy but publishes no reporting interval for this model | |
| Not applicable / unspecified | NoCatalog noteNot a native NodOn feature. Time-of-use pricing is a function of the home automation platform. | |
| Not applicable / unspecified | NoCatalog noteNot a native NodOn feature. Usage alerts are built in the home automation platform from the readings. | |
| Features | ||
YesCatalog noteThrough the Z-Wave hub, not the device itself | YesCatalog noteThrough the compatible Zigbee gateway or Home Assistant, not on the device itself | |
| No | YesCatalog noteNodOn lists load shedding on overconsumption among the meter's uses, driven by its readings | The switching itself is done by the compatible gateway or home automation system, not by the meter, which has no relay | |
| No | NoCatalog noteNo switching output: the meter measures only and has no relay to cut a load | |
| Installation | ||
| Yes | YesCatalog noteInstalled in-line inside the electrical panel on an existing circuit, next to the upstream protection device | |
| No | YesCatalog noteOne 17.8 mm wide DIN module that clips onto the standard 35 mm rail inside the switchboard | |
| Mains (120 V) | Mains (110-240 V) | |
| No | No | |
| Integrations | ||
NoCatalog noteAlexa has no energy meter device type and this meter has no relay to expose as a switch, so a skill has nothing to publish | NoCatalog noteNot compatible with Amazon Alexa. | |
| No | NoCatalog noteNot compatible with Apple Home. | |
| Not recorded | NoCatalog noteNot compatible with Google Home. | |
YesCatalog noteVia the Z-Wave JS integration | YesCatalog noteZigbee2MQTT supports this exact model, the SEM-4-1-00, and exposes power, voltage, current, AC frequency, power factor, apparent power and both consumed and produced energy | NodOn also lists Home Assistant among the compatible gateways for this model | Works with Home Assistant through ZHA and through Zigbee2MQTT. | |
| No | NoCatalog noteThe radio is Zigbee 3.0 only, with no Matter certification or Matter path documented for this model | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteNodOn lists SmartThings among the compatible gateways for this model, so it pairs with a SmartThings hub as a standard Zigbee 3.0 device | |
| Local Control | ||
| No | NoCatalog noteA Zigbee end device with no IP stack and no documented serial interface, so there is nothing on the module itself to call directly; the data path belongs to whichever gateway hosts it | |
| No | NoCatalog noteNothing runs on the module itself: it is paired and configured from the Zigbee gateway, and it has only a status LED and a reset/pairing button | |
| No | NoCatalog noteNo native MQTT, though Zigbee2MQTT republishes the readings | |
| Metering | ||
99%Catalog noteBetter than 99% above 0.05 A | ±1%Manufacturer sourceThe stated energy-measurement tolerance is one percent. NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteClass 1.0 to IEC 61557-12, stated as a 1% tolerance, over a measurement range of 50 mA to 63 A and a base current of 10 A | |
| Yes | YesManufacturer sourceBidirectional measurement is specified. NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteBidirectional measurement reports consumption and production separately, which is what makes solar self-consumption and export readable | Zigbee2MQTT exposes the consumed total as energy and the production side as produced_energy for this exact model | |
| Not applicable / unspecified | Not applicable / unspecified | |
2Catalog note2 x 200 A clamps for the service mains | Not applicable / unspecifiedCatalog noteInline measurement through the module's own terminals, with no current transformer involved | |
| 200 A | Not applicable / unspecifiedCatalog noteRated up to 63 A directly on the circuit, without a current transformer | |
| 2 | 1Manufacturer sourceThe meter monitors one circuit. NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteOne 1P+N circuit: the line is wired through the meter's own terminals and the neutral passes alongside, so it meters a single circuit up to 63 A | |
YesCatalog noteReports V, A, W, kWh, power factor and reactive power | YesCatalog noteReports voltage, current, active power, apparent power, power factor and AC frequency alongside the energy totals | Zigbee2MQTT exposes power_factor, power_apparent and ac_frequency for this exact model | |
| Yes | NoCatalog noteRated 110-240 V AC 50/60 Hz as a 1P+N single-phase meter, so a 120/240 V North American split-phase service with two hot legs is out of scope | |
NoCatalog noteThe US model is the 2-phase / split-phase variant; three-phase is a separate EU version | No | |
Know what’s behind the comparison.
The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.
Read our comparison methodology