The Smart Device Compare comparison

Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase vs NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor

Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.

Build another comparison →

Before you compare every specification

Key differences between Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase and NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor

A summary of selected recorded differences between these energy monitors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.

Feature differences among your selected devices
  • 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi (connectivity): Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase — Yes; NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — No (The 2.4 GHz radio is Zigbee (IEEE 802.15.4), not Wi-Fi).
  • Ethernet (connectivity): Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase — Yes (10/100Base-T); NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — No.
  • Data Export (data monitoring): Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase — Yes; NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — No (Not a native NodOn feature. Exporting the readings is a function of the home automation platform.).
  • Energy Cost Tracking (data monitoring): Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase — Yes; NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — No (Not a native NodOn feature. Any cost figure is calculated by the home automation platform from the readings.).
Specifications to check side by side
  • Zigbee (connectivity): Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase — No; NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — Zigbee Hub required (Zigbee 3.0 certified, 2.4 GHz, maximum radio power +10 dBm, so it joins an existing Zigbee network and needs a compatible coordinator or gateway | NodOn lists Home Assistant, SmartThings, Jeedom and Zigbee2MQTT as compatible gateways for this model).
  • Real Time Updates (data monitoring): Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase — 1 s; NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — Yes (NodOn advertises real-time monitoring of voltage, current, power and energy but publishes no reporting interval for this model).
  • Power Supply (installation): Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase — Mains (breaker panel); NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — Mains (110-240 V).
  • Accuracy (metering): Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase — ±2%; NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — ±1% (Class 1.0 to IEC 61557-12, stated as a 1% tolerance, over a measurement range of 50 mA to 63 A and a base current of 10 A).
Information still to confirm
  • 4 of 39 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
  • Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.

These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.

Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.

What the catalog tells us

Understand the tradeoffs.

These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.

18differences with recorded values for every device
4rows with missing or unspecified information

Your priorities, side by side

Focus on what changes.

Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.

Showing 39 of 39 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.

Connectivity

Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
Yes
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
No
Catalog note

The 2.4 GHz radio is Zigbee (IEEE 802.15.4), not Wi-Fi

Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
No
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
No
Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
No
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
No
Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
Yes
Catalog note

10/100Base-T

NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
No
Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
No
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
No
Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
No
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
No
Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
No
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
No
Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
No
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note

Zigbee 3.0 certified, 2.4 GHz, maximum radio power +10 dBm, so it joins an existing Zigbee network and needs a compatible coordinator or gateway | NodOn lists Home Assistant, SmartThings, Jeedom and Zigbee2MQTT as compatible gateways for this model

Data Monitoring

Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
Yes
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
No
Catalog note

Not a native NodOn feature. Exporting the readings is a function of the home automation platform.

Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
Unlimited
Catalog note

1 second data 3 hours, 1 minute data 7 days, 1 hour data unlimited

NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
Not applicable / unspecified
Catalog note

The meter keeps no history of its own beyond its cumulative energy registers, and NodOn ships no app: retention is whatever the host gateway or Home Assistant keeps

Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
Yes
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
No
Catalog note

Not a native NodOn feature. Any cost figure is calculated by the home automation platform from the readings.

Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
1 s
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
Yes
Catalog note

NodOn advertises real-time monitoring of voltage, current, power and energy but publishes no reporting interval for this model

Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
Yes
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
No
Catalog note

Not a native NodOn feature. Time-of-use pricing is a function of the home automation platform.

Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
Yes
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
No
Catalog note

Not a native NodOn feature. Usage alerts are built in the home automation platform from the readings.

Features

Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
Yes
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
Yes
Catalog note

Through the compatible Zigbee gateway or Home Assistant, not on the device itself

Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
Yes
Catalog note

Time of use, peak demand and excess solar automations

NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
Yes
Catalog note

NodOn lists load shedding on overconsumption among the meter's uses, driven by its readings | The switching itself is done by the compatible gateway or home automation system, not by the meter, which has no relay

Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
No
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
No
Catalog note

No switching output: the meter measures only and has no relay to cut a load

Installation

Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
Yes
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
Yes
Catalog note

Installed in-line inside the electrical panel on an existing circuit, next to the upstream protection device

Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
No
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
Yes
Catalog note

One 17.8 mm wide DIN module that clips onto the standard 35 mm rail inside the switchboard

Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
Mains (breaker panel)
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
Mains (110-240 V)
Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
No
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
No

Integrations

Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
Yes
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
No
Catalog note

Not compatible with Amazon Alexa.

Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
No
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
No
Catalog note

Not compatible with Apple Home.

Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
Yes
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
No
Catalog note

Not compatible with Google Home.

Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
Yes
Catalog note

Community Emporia Vue integration for Home Assistant (HACS), which covers the Vue monitors and the Utility Connect

NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
Yes
Catalog note

Zigbee2MQTT supports this exact model, the SEM-4-1-00, and exposes power, voltage, current, AC frequency, power factor, apparent power and both consumed and produced energy | NodOn also lists Home Assistant among the compatible gateways for this model | Works with Home Assistant through ZHA and through Zigbee2MQTT.

Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
No
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
No
Catalog note

The radio is Zigbee 3.0 only, with no Matter certification or Matter path documented for this model

Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
No
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
Yes
Catalog note

NodOn lists SmartThings among the compatible gateways for this model, so it pairs with a SmartThings hub as a standard Zigbee 3.0 device

Local Control

Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
No
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
No
Catalog note

A Zigbee end device with no IP stack and no documented serial interface, so there is nothing on the module itself to call directly; the data path belongs to whichever gateway hosts it

Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
No
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
No
Catalog note

Nothing runs on the module itself: it is paired and configured from the Zigbee gateway, and it has only a status LED and a reset/pairing button

Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
No
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
No
Catalog note

No native MQTT, though Zigbee2MQTT republishes the readings

Metering

Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
±2%
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
±1%
Manufacturer source

The stated energy-measurement tolerance is one percent.

NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →
Source section
SEM-4-1-00 features and technical data
Model
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Class 1.0 to IEC 61557-12, stated as a 1% tolerance, over a measurement range of 50 mA to 63 A and a base current of 10 A

Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
Yes
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
Yes
Manufacturer source

Bidirectional measurement is specified.

NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →
Source section
SEM-4-1-00 features and technical data
Model
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Bidirectional measurement reports consumption and production separately, which is what makes solar self-consumption and export readable | Zigbee2MQTT exposes the consumed total as energy and the production side as produced_energy for this exact model

Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
50 A
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
Not applicable / unspecified
Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
19
Catalog note

Three 200 A main sensors and sixteen 50 A branch sensors in the box

NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
Not applicable / unspecified
Catalog note

Inline measurement through the module's own terminals, with no current transformer involved

Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
200 A
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
Not applicable / unspecified
Catalog note

Rated up to 63 A directly on the circuit, without a current transformer

Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
19
Catalog note

Three 200 A mains channels plus sixteen 50 A branch channels

NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
1
Manufacturer source

The meter monitors one circuit.

NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →
Source section
SEM-4-1-00 features and technical data
Model
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

One 1P+N circuit: the line is wired through the meter's own terminals and the neutral passes alongside, so it meters a single circuit up to 63 A

Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
No
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
Yes
Catalog note

Reports voltage, current, active power, apparent power, power factor and AC frequency alongside the energy totals | Zigbee2MQTT exposes power_factor, power_apparent and ac_frequency for this exact model

Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
Yes
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
No
Catalog note

Rated 110-240 V AC 50/60 Hz as a 1P+N single-phase meter, so a 120/240 V North American split-phase service with two hot legs is out of scope

Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase
Yes
Catalog note

3-phase 4-wire Wye with earthed neutral, third 200 A sensor included

NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
No
Specifications for Emporia Vue 3 3-Phase versus NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
SpecificationEmporia Vue 3 3-PhaseNodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
Connectivity
YesNo
Catalog note

The 2.4 GHz radio is Zigbee (IEEE 802.15.4), not Wi-Fi

NoNo
NoNo
Yes
Catalog note

10/100Base-T

No
NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
NoZigbee Hub required
Catalog note

Zigbee 3.0 certified, 2.4 GHz, maximum radio power +10 dBm, so it joins an existing Zigbee network and needs a compatible coordinator or gateway | NodOn lists Home Assistant, SmartThings, Jeedom and Zigbee2MQTT as compatible gateways for this model

Data Monitoring
YesNo
Catalog note

Not a native NodOn feature. Exporting the readings is a function of the home automation platform.

Unlimited
Catalog note

1 second data 3 hours, 1 minute data 7 days, 1 hour data unlimited

Not applicable / unspecified
Catalog note

The meter keeps no history of its own beyond its cumulative energy registers, and NodOn ships no app: retention is whatever the host gateway or Home Assistant keeps

YesNo
Catalog note

Not a native NodOn feature. Any cost figure is calculated by the home automation platform from the readings.

1 sYes
Catalog note

NodOn advertises real-time monitoring of voltage, current, power and energy but publishes no reporting interval for this model

YesNo
Catalog note

Not a native NodOn feature. Time-of-use pricing is a function of the home automation platform.

YesNo
Catalog note

Not a native NodOn feature. Usage alerts are built in the home automation platform from the readings.

Features
YesYes
Catalog note

Through the compatible Zigbee gateway or Home Assistant, not on the device itself

Yes
Catalog note

Time of use, peak demand and excess solar automations

Yes
Catalog note

NodOn lists load shedding on overconsumption among the meter's uses, driven by its readings | The switching itself is done by the compatible gateway or home automation system, not by the meter, which has no relay

NoNo
Catalog note

No switching output: the meter measures only and has no relay to cut a load

Installation
YesYes
Catalog note

Installed in-line inside the electrical panel on an existing circuit, next to the upstream protection device

NoYes
Catalog note

One 17.8 mm wide DIN module that clips onto the standard 35 mm rail inside the switchboard

Mains (breaker panel)Mains (110-240 V)
NoNo
Integrations
YesNo
Catalog note

Not compatible with Amazon Alexa.

NoNo
Catalog note

Not compatible with Apple Home.

YesNo
Catalog note

Not compatible with Google Home.

Yes
Catalog note

Community Emporia Vue integration for Home Assistant (HACS), which covers the Vue monitors and the Utility Connect

Yes
Catalog note

Zigbee2MQTT supports this exact model, the SEM-4-1-00, and exposes power, voltage, current, AC frequency, power factor, apparent power and both consumed and produced energy | NodOn also lists Home Assistant among the compatible gateways for this model | Works with Home Assistant through ZHA and through Zigbee2MQTT.

NoNo
Catalog note

The radio is Zigbee 3.0 only, with no Matter certification or Matter path documented for this model

NoYes
Catalog note

NodOn lists SmartThings among the compatible gateways for this model, so it pairs with a SmartThings hub as a standard Zigbee 3.0 device

Local Control
NoNo
Catalog note

A Zigbee end device with no IP stack and no documented serial interface, so there is nothing on the module itself to call directly; the data path belongs to whichever gateway hosts it

NoNo
Catalog note

Nothing runs on the module itself: it is paired and configured from the Zigbee gateway, and it has only a status LED and a reset/pairing button

NoNo
Catalog note

No native MQTT, though Zigbee2MQTT republishes the readings

Metering
±2%±1%
Manufacturer source

The stated energy-measurement tolerance is one percent.

NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →
Source section
SEM-4-1-00 features and technical data
Model
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Class 1.0 to IEC 61557-12, stated as a 1% tolerance, over a measurement range of 50 mA to 63 A and a base current of 10 A

YesYes
Manufacturer source

Bidirectional measurement is specified.

NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →
Source section
SEM-4-1-00 features and technical data
Model
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Bidirectional measurement reports consumption and production separately, which is what makes solar self-consumption and export readable | Zigbee2MQTT exposes the consumed total as energy and the production side as produced_energy for this exact model

50 ANot applicable / unspecified
19
Catalog note

Three 200 A main sensors and sixteen 50 A branch sensors in the box

Not applicable / unspecified
Catalog note

Inline measurement through the module's own terminals, with no current transformer involved

200 ANot applicable / unspecified
Catalog note

Rated up to 63 A directly on the circuit, without a current transformer

19
Catalog note

Three 200 A mains channels plus sixteen 50 A branch channels

1
Manufacturer source

The meter monitors one circuit.

NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →
Source section
SEM-4-1-00 features and technical data
Model
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

One 1P+N circuit: the line is wired through the meter's own terminals and the neutral passes alongside, so it meters a single circuit up to 63 A

NoYes
Catalog note

Reports voltage, current, active power, apparent power, power factor and AC frequency alongside the energy totals | Zigbee2MQTT exposes power_factor, power_apparent and ac_frequency for this exact model

YesNo
Catalog note

Rated 110-240 V AC 50/60 Hz as a 1P+N single-phase meter, so a 120/240 V North American split-phase service with two hot legs is out of scope

Yes
Catalog note

3-phase 4-wire Wye with earthed neutral, third 200 A sensor included

No

Know what’s behind the comparison.

The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.

Read our comparison methodology