
The Smart Device Compare comparison
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor vs Refoss EM01P
Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.
Build another comparison →Before you compare every specification
Key differences between NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor and Refoss EM01P
A summary of selected recorded differences between these energy monitors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.
- 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi (connectivity): NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — No (The 2.4 GHz radio is Zigbee (IEEE 802.15.4), not Wi-Fi); Refoss EM01P — Yes.
- Data Export (data monitoring): NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — No (Not a native NodOn feature. Exporting the readings is a function of the home automation platform.); Refoss EM01P — Yes (Daily, weekly and monthly reports for consumption and feed-in).
- Energy Cost Tracking (data monitoring): NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — No (Not a native NodOn feature. Any cost figure is calculated by the home automation platform from the readings.); Refoss EM01P — Yes.
- Load Management (features): NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — Yes (NodOn lists load shedding on overconsumption among the meter's uses, driven by its readings | The switching itself is done by the compatible gateway or home automation system, not by the meter, which has no relay); Refoss EM01P — No.
- Zigbee (connectivity): NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — Zigbee Hub required (Zigbee 3.0 certified, 2.4 GHz, maximum radio power +10 dBm, so it joins an existing Zigbee network and needs a compatible coordinator or gateway | NodOn lists Home Assistant, SmartThings, Jeedom and Zigbee2MQTT as compatible gateways for this model); Refoss EM01P — No.
- Real Time Updates (data monitoring): NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — Yes (NodOn advertises real-time monitoring of voltage, current, power and energy but publishes no reporting interval for this model); Refoss EM01P — 1 min (Minute-level real-time power data).
- Power Supply (installation): NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — Mains (110-240 V); Refoss EM01P — USB.
- 9 of 39 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
- Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.
These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.
Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.


What the catalog tells us
Understand the tradeoffs.
These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.
Your priorities, side by side
Focus on what changes.
Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.
Showing 39 of 39 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.
Connectivity
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
The 2.4 GHz radio is Zigbee (IEEE 802.15.4), not Wi-Fi
- Refoss EM01P
- Yes
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- Refoss EM01P
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- Refoss EM01P
- Not recorded
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- Refoss EM01P
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- Refoss EM01P
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- Refoss EM01P
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- Refoss EM01P
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note
Zigbee 3.0 certified, 2.4 GHz, maximum radio power +10 dBm, so it joins an existing Zigbee network and needs a compatible coordinator or gateway | NodOn lists Home Assistant, SmartThings, Jeedom and Zigbee2MQTT as compatible gateways for this model
- Refoss EM01P
- No
Data Monitoring
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Not a native NodOn feature. Exporting the readings is a function of the home automation platform.
- Refoss EM01P
- Yes
Catalog note
Daily, weekly and monthly reports for consumption and feed-in
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Not applicable / unspecified
Catalog note
The meter keeps no history of its own beyond its cumulative energy registers, and NodOn ships no app: retention is whatever the host gateway or Home Assistant keeps
- Refoss EM01P
- 5 years
Catalog note
Local storage plus free cloud, daily data kept up to 5 years
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Not a native NodOn feature. Any cost figure is calculated by the home automation platform from the readings.
- Refoss EM01P
- Yes
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
NodOn advertises real-time monitoring of voltage, current, power and energy but publishes no reporting interval for this model
- Refoss EM01P
- 1 min
Catalog note
Minute-level real-time power data
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Not a native NodOn feature. Time-of-use pricing is a function of the home automation platform.
- Refoss EM01P
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Not a native NodOn feature. Usage alerts are built in the home automation platform from the readings.
- Refoss EM01P
- Not recorded
Features
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
Through the compatible Zigbee gateway or Home Assistant, not on the device itself
- Refoss EM01P
- Yes
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
NodOn lists load shedding on overconsumption among the meter's uses, driven by its readings | The switching itself is done by the compatible gateway or home automation system, not by the meter, which has no relay
- Refoss EM01P
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
No switching output: the meter measures only and has no relay to cut a load
- Refoss EM01P
- No
Installation
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
Installed in-line inside the electrical panel on an existing circuit, next to the upstream protection device
- Refoss EM01P
- No
Catalog note
Magnetic mount on the meter face, no wiring and no panel work
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
One 17.8 mm wide DIN module that clips onto the standard 35 mm rail inside the switchboard
- Refoss EM01P
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Mains (110-240 V)
- Refoss EM01P
- USB
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- Refoss EM01P
- Yes
Catalog note
Optical head for SML and IEC 62056 smart meters, some need a PIN from the utility
Integrations
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Not compatible with Amazon Alexa.
- Refoss EM01P
- No
Catalog note
Alexa has no energy meter device type and this meter has no relay to expose as a switch, so a skill has nothing to publish
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Not compatible with Apple Home.
- Refoss EM01P
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Not compatible with Google Home.
- Refoss EM01P
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
Zigbee2MQTT supports this exact model, the SEM-4-1-00, and exposes power, voltage, current, AC frequency, power factor, apparent power and both consumed and produced energy | NodOn also lists Home Assistant among the compatible gateways for this model | Works with Home Assistant through ZHA and through Zigbee2MQTT.
- Refoss EM01P
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Home Assistant integration is documented.
Refoss EM01P manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Refoss EM01P
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
This optical reading head requires a compatible European smart meter; it is not a universal clamp meter.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Plug-and-play, no custom plugins required
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
The radio is Zigbee 3.0 only, with no Matter certification or Matter path documented for this model
- Refoss EM01P
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
NodOn lists SmartThings among the compatible gateways for this model, so it pairs with a SmartThings hub as a standard Zigbee 3.0 device
- Refoss EM01P
- No
Local Control
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
A Zigbee end device with no IP stack and no documented serial interface, so there is nothing on the module itself to call directly; the data path belongs to whichever gateway hosts it
- Refoss EM01P
- Yes
Manufacturer source
A local API is available.
Refoss EM01P manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Refoss EM01P
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
This optical reading head requires a compatible European smart meter; it is not a universal clamp meter.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Refoss Open API with JSON-RPC 2.0, works with the cloud switched off
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Nothing runs on the module itself: it is paired and configured from the Zigbee gateway, and it has only a status LED and a reset/pairing button
- Refoss EM01P
- Yes
Catalog note
Built-in web interface for configuration and live readings
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
No native MQTT, though Zigbee2MQTT republishes the readings
- Refoss EM01P
- Yes
Manufacturer source
MQTT is supported.
Refoss EM01P manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Refoss EM01P
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
This optical reading head requires a compatible European smart meter; it is not a universal clamp meter.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Metering
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- ±1%
Manufacturer source
The stated energy-measurement tolerance is one percent.
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →- Source section
- SEM-4-1-00 features and technical data
- Model
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Class 1.0 to IEC 61557-12, stated as a 1% tolerance, over a measurement range of 50 mA to 63 A and a base current of 10 A
- Refoss EM01P
- Not applicable / unspecified
Catalog note
Reads the utility meter's own registers, so accuracy is the meter's
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Bidirectional measurement is specified.
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →- Source section
- SEM-4-1-00 features and technical data
- Model
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Bidirectional measurement reports consumption and production separately, which is what makes solar self-consumption and export readable | Zigbee2MQTT exposes the consumed total as energy and the production side as produced_energy for this exact model
- Refoss EM01P
- Yes
Catalog note
Reports both consumption and feed-in registers
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Not applicable / unspecified
- Refoss EM01P
- Not applicable / unspecified
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Not applicable / unspecified
Catalog note
Inline measurement through the module's own terminals, with no current transformer involved
- Refoss EM01P
- Not applicable / unspecified
Catalog note
Optical reading head, no current transformers involved
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Not applicable / unspecified
Catalog note
Rated up to 63 A directly on the circuit, without a current transformer
- Refoss EM01P
- Not applicable / unspecified
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- 1
Manufacturer source
The meter monitors one circuit.
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →- Source section
- SEM-4-1-00 features and technical data
- Model
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
One 1P+N circuit: the line is wired through the meter's own terminals and the neutral passes alongside, so it meters a single circuit up to 63 A
- Refoss EM01P
- 1
Catalog note
Whole-house totals as reported by the utility meter, no per-circuit detail
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
Reports voltage, current, active power, apparent power, power factor and AC frequency alongside the energy totals | Zigbee2MQTT exposes power_factor, power_apparent and ac_frequency for this exact model
- Refoss EM01P
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Rated 110-240 V AC 50/60 Hz as a 1P+N single-phase meter, so a 120/240 V North American split-phase service with two hot legs is out of scope
- Refoss EM01P
- Not applicable / unspecified
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- Refoss EM01P
- Not applicable / unspecified
| Specification | NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor | Refoss EM01P |
|---|---|---|
| Connectivity | ||
NoCatalog noteThe 2.4 GHz radio is Zigbee (IEEE 802.15.4), not Wi-Fi | Yes | |
| No | No | |
| No | Not recorded | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
Zigbee Hub requiredCatalog noteZigbee 3.0 certified, 2.4 GHz, maximum radio power +10 dBm, so it joins an existing Zigbee network and needs a compatible coordinator or gateway | NodOn lists Home Assistant, SmartThings, Jeedom and Zigbee2MQTT as compatible gateways for this model | No | |
| Data Monitoring | ||
NoCatalog noteNot a native NodOn feature. Exporting the readings is a function of the home automation platform. | YesCatalog noteDaily, weekly and monthly reports for consumption and feed-in | |
Not applicable / unspecifiedCatalog noteThe meter keeps no history of its own beyond its cumulative energy registers, and NodOn ships no app: retention is whatever the host gateway or Home Assistant keeps | 5 yearsCatalog noteLocal storage plus free cloud, daily data kept up to 5 years | |
NoCatalog noteNot a native NodOn feature. Any cost figure is calculated by the home automation platform from the readings. | Yes | |
YesCatalog noteNodOn advertises real-time monitoring of voltage, current, power and energy but publishes no reporting interval for this model | 1 minCatalog noteMinute-level real-time power data | |
NoCatalog noteNot a native NodOn feature. Time-of-use pricing is a function of the home automation platform. | No | |
NoCatalog noteNot a native NodOn feature. Usage alerts are built in the home automation platform from the readings. | Not recorded | |
| Features | ||
YesCatalog noteThrough the compatible Zigbee gateway or Home Assistant, not on the device itself | Yes | |
YesCatalog noteNodOn lists load shedding on overconsumption among the meter's uses, driven by its readings | The switching itself is done by the compatible gateway or home automation system, not by the meter, which has no relay | No | |
NoCatalog noteNo switching output: the meter measures only and has no relay to cut a load | No | |
| Installation | ||
YesCatalog noteInstalled in-line inside the electrical panel on an existing circuit, next to the upstream protection device | NoCatalog noteMagnetic mount on the meter face, no wiring and no panel work | |
YesCatalog noteOne 17.8 mm wide DIN module that clips onto the standard 35 mm rail inside the switchboard | No | |
| Mains (110-240 V) | USB | |
| No | YesCatalog noteOptical head for SML and IEC 62056 smart meters, some need a PIN from the utility | |
| Integrations | ||
NoCatalog noteNot compatible with Amazon Alexa. | NoCatalog noteAlexa has no energy meter device type and this meter has no relay to expose as a switch, so a skill has nothing to publish | |
NoCatalog noteNot compatible with Apple Home. | No | |
NoCatalog noteNot compatible with Google Home. | No | |
YesCatalog noteZigbee2MQTT supports this exact model, the SEM-4-1-00, and exposes power, voltage, current, AC frequency, power factor, apparent power and both consumed and produced energy | NodOn also lists Home Assistant among the compatible gateways for this model | Works with Home Assistant through ZHA and through Zigbee2MQTT. | YesManufacturer sourceHome Assistant integration is documented. Refoss EM01P manufacturer product page →
This optical reading head requires a compatible European smart meter; it is not a universal clamp meter. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog notePlug-and-play, no custom plugins required | |
NoCatalog noteThe radio is Zigbee 3.0 only, with no Matter certification or Matter path documented for this model | No | |
YesCatalog noteNodOn lists SmartThings among the compatible gateways for this model, so it pairs with a SmartThings hub as a standard Zigbee 3.0 device | No | |
| Local Control | ||
NoCatalog noteA Zigbee end device with no IP stack and no documented serial interface, so there is nothing on the module itself to call directly; the data path belongs to whichever gateway hosts it | YesManufacturer sourceA local API is available. Refoss EM01P manufacturer product page →
This optical reading head requires a compatible European smart meter; it is not a universal clamp meter. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteRefoss Open API with JSON-RPC 2.0, works with the cloud switched off | |
NoCatalog noteNothing runs on the module itself: it is paired and configured from the Zigbee gateway, and it has only a status LED and a reset/pairing button | YesCatalog noteBuilt-in web interface for configuration and live readings | |
NoCatalog noteNo native MQTT, though Zigbee2MQTT republishes the readings | YesManufacturer sourceMQTT is supported. Refoss EM01P manufacturer product page →
This optical reading head requires a compatible European smart meter; it is not a universal clamp meter. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | |
| Metering | ||
±1%Manufacturer sourceThe stated energy-measurement tolerance is one percent. NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteClass 1.0 to IEC 61557-12, stated as a 1% tolerance, over a measurement range of 50 mA to 63 A and a base current of 10 A | Not applicable / unspecifiedCatalog noteReads the utility meter's own registers, so accuracy is the meter's | |
YesManufacturer sourceBidirectional measurement is specified. NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteBidirectional measurement reports consumption and production separately, which is what makes solar self-consumption and export readable | Zigbee2MQTT exposes the consumed total as energy and the production side as produced_energy for this exact model | YesCatalog noteReports both consumption and feed-in registers | |
| Not applicable / unspecified | Not applicable / unspecified | |
Not applicable / unspecifiedCatalog noteInline measurement through the module's own terminals, with no current transformer involved | Not applicable / unspecifiedCatalog noteOptical reading head, no current transformers involved | |
Not applicable / unspecifiedCatalog noteRated up to 63 A directly on the circuit, without a current transformer | Not applicable / unspecified | |
1Manufacturer sourceThe meter monitors one circuit. NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteOne 1P+N circuit: the line is wired through the meter's own terminals and the neutral passes alongside, so it meters a single circuit up to 63 A | 1Catalog noteWhole-house totals as reported by the utility meter, no per-circuit detail | |
YesCatalog noteReports voltage, current, active power, apparent power, power factor and AC frequency alongside the energy totals | Zigbee2MQTT exposes power_factor, power_apparent and ac_frequency for this exact model | No | |
NoCatalog noteRated 110-240 V AC 50/60 Hz as a 1P+N single-phase meter, so a 120/240 V North American split-phase service with two hot legs is out of scope | Not applicable / unspecified | |
| No | Not applicable / unspecified | |
Know what’s behind the comparison.
The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.
Read our comparison methodology