
The Smart Device Compare comparison
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor vs Shelly EM Gen3
Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.
Build another comparison →Before you compare every specification
Key differences between NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor and Shelly EM Gen3
A summary of selected recorded differences between these energy monitors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.
- 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi (connectivity): NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — No (The 2.4 GHz radio is Zigbee (IEEE 802.15.4), not Wi-Fi); Shelly EM Gen3 — Yes.
- Bluetooth (connectivity): NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — No; Shelly EM Gen3 — Yes (Bluetooth 4.2, used for setup and as a Bluetooth gateway).
- Data Export (data monitoring): NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — No (Not a native NodOn feature. Exporting the readings is a function of the home automation platform.); Shelly EM Gen3 — Yes (CSV export of the consumption chart).
- Energy Cost Tracking (data monitoring): NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — No (Not a native NodOn feature. Any cost figure is calculated by the home automation platform from the readings.); Shelly EM Gen3 — Yes.
- Zigbee (connectivity): NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — Zigbee Hub required (Zigbee 3.0 certified, 2.4 GHz, maximum radio power +10 dBm, so it joins an existing Zigbee network and needs a compatible coordinator or gateway | NodOn lists Home Assistant, SmartThings, Jeedom and Zigbee2MQTT as compatible gateways for this model); Shelly EM Gen3 — No.
- Accuracy (metering): NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — ±1% (Class 1.0 to IEC 61557-12, stated as a 1% tolerance, over a measurement range of 50 mA to 63 A and a base current of 10 A); Shelly EM Gen3 — ±2%.
- Monitored Circuits (metering): NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — 1 (One 1P+N circuit: the line is wired through the meter's own terminals and the neutral passes alongside, so it meters a single circuit up to 63 A); Shelly EM Gen3 — 2.
- 5 of 39 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
- Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.
These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.
Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.


What the catalog tells us
Understand the tradeoffs.
These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.
Your priorities, side by side
Focus on what changes.
Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.
Showing 39 of 39 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.
Connectivity
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
The 2.4 GHz radio is Zigbee (IEEE 802.15.4), not Wi-Fi
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- Shelly EM Gen3
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
Bluetooth 4.2, used for setup and as a Bluetooth gateway
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- Shelly EM Gen3
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- Shelly EM Gen3
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- Shelly EM Gen3
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- Shelly EM Gen3
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note
Zigbee 3.0 certified, 2.4 GHz, maximum radio power +10 dBm, so it joins an existing Zigbee network and needs a compatible coordinator or gateway | NodOn lists Home Assistant, SmartThings, Jeedom and Zigbee2MQTT as compatible gateways for this model
- Shelly EM Gen3
- No
Data Monitoring
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Not a native NodOn feature. Exporting the readings is a function of the home automation platform.
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
CSV export of the consumption chart
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Not applicable / unspecified
Catalog note
The meter keeps no history of its own beyond its cumulative energy registers, and NodOn ships no app: retention is whatever the host gateway or Home Assistant keeps
- Shelly EM Gen3
- 10 days
Catalog note
10 days of 1-minute records stored on the device, longer history in the Shelly cloud
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Not a native NodOn feature. Any cost figure is calculated by the home automation platform from the readings.
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
NodOn advertises real-time monitoring of voltage, current, power and energy but publishes no reporting interval for this model
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Not recorded
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Not a native NodOn feature. Time-of-use pricing is a function of the home automation platform.
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
Cost periods and tariff distribution in the Shelly Smart Control app
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Not a native NodOn feature. Usage alerts are built in the home automation platform from the readings.
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
Features
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
Through the compatible Zigbee gateway or Home Assistant, not on the device itself
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
NodOn lists load shedding on overconsumption among the meter's uses, driven by its readings | The switching itself is done by the compatible gateway or home automation system, not by the meter, which has no relay
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
Switch a contactor from consumption thresholds or schedules
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
No switching output: the meter measures only and has no relay to cut a load
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
Dry contact rated 2 A at 240 V for contactor control
Installation
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
Installed in-line inside the electrical panel on an existing circuit, next to the upstream protection device
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
Also fits inside a wall box or an appliance control box
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
One 17.8 mm wide DIN module that clips onto the standard 35 mm rail inside the switchboard
- Shelly EM Gen3
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Mains (110-240 V)
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Mains (110-240 V)
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- Shelly EM Gen3
- No
Integrations
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Not compatible with Amazon Alexa.
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Not compatible with Apple Home.
- Shelly EM Gen3
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Not compatible with Google Home.
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
Zigbee2MQTT supports this exact model, the SEM-4-1-00, and exposes power, voltage, current, AC frequency, power factor, apparent power and both consumed and produced energy | NodOn also lists Home Assistant among the compatible gateways for this model | Works with Home Assistant through ZHA and through Zigbee2MQTT.
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
The radio is Zigbee 3.0 only, with no Matter certification or Matter path documented for this model
- Shelly EM Gen3
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
NodOn lists SmartThings among the compatible gateways for this model, so it pairs with a SmartThings hub as a standard Zigbee 3.0 device
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
Local Control
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
A Zigbee end device with no IP stack and no documented serial interface, so there is nothing on the module itself to call directly; the data path belongs to whichever gateway hosts it
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
RPC over HTTP and WebSocket, plus webhooks and scripting
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Nothing runs on the module itself: it is paired and configured from the Zigbee gateway, and it has only a status LED and a reset/pairing button
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
No native MQTT, though Zigbee2MQTT republishes the readings
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
Metering
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- ±1%
Manufacturer source
The stated energy-measurement tolerance is one percent.
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →- Source section
- SEM-4-1-00 features and technical data
- Model
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Class 1.0 to IEC 61557-12, stated as a 1% tolerance, over a measurement range of 50 mA to 63 A and a base current of 10 A
- Shelly EM Gen3
- ±2%
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Bidirectional measurement is specified.
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →- Source section
- SEM-4-1-00 features and technical data
- Model
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Bidirectional measurement reports consumption and production separately, which is what makes solar self-consumption and export readable | Zigbee2MQTT exposes the consumed total as energy and the production side as produced_energy for this exact model
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Not applicable / unspecified
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Not applicable / unspecified
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Not applicable / unspecified
Catalog note
Inline measurement through the module's own terminals, with no current transformer involved
- Shelly EM Gen3
- 1
Catalog note
One 50 A clamp in the box, a second CT is sold separately
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Not applicable / unspecified
Catalog note
Rated up to 63 A directly on the circuit, without a current transformer
- Shelly EM Gen3
- 50 A
Catalog note
80 A current transformers also supported
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- 1
Manufacturer source
The meter monitors one circuit.
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →- Source section
- SEM-4-1-00 features and technical data
- Model
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
One 1P+N circuit: the line is wired through the meter's own terminals and the neutral passes alongside, so it meters a single circuit up to 63 A
- Shelly EM Gen3
- 2
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
Reports voltage, current, active power, apparent power, power factor and AC frequency alongside the energy totals | Zigbee2MQTT exposes power_factor, power_apparent and ac_frequency for this exact model
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
Active and apparent power, power factor, voltage, current and frequency
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Rated 110-240 V AC 50/60 Hz as a 1P+N single-phase meter, so a 120/240 V North American split-phase service with two hot legs is out of scope
- Shelly EM Gen3
- No
Catalog note
Single-phase device with two current channels
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- Shelly EM Gen3
- No
| Specification | NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor | Shelly EM Gen3 |
|---|---|---|
| Connectivity | ||
NoCatalog noteThe 2.4 GHz radio is Zigbee (IEEE 802.15.4), not Wi-Fi | Yes | |
| No | No | |
| No | YesCatalog noteBluetooth 4.2, used for setup and as a Bluetooth gateway | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
Zigbee Hub requiredCatalog noteZigbee 3.0 certified, 2.4 GHz, maximum radio power +10 dBm, so it joins an existing Zigbee network and needs a compatible coordinator or gateway | NodOn lists Home Assistant, SmartThings, Jeedom and Zigbee2MQTT as compatible gateways for this model | No | |
| Data Monitoring | ||
NoCatalog noteNot a native NodOn feature. Exporting the readings is a function of the home automation platform. | YesCatalog noteCSV export of the consumption chart | |
Not applicable / unspecifiedCatalog noteThe meter keeps no history of its own beyond its cumulative energy registers, and NodOn ships no app: retention is whatever the host gateway or Home Assistant keeps | 10 daysCatalog note10 days of 1-minute records stored on the device, longer history in the Shelly cloud | |
NoCatalog noteNot a native NodOn feature. Any cost figure is calculated by the home automation platform from the readings. | Yes | |
YesCatalog noteNodOn advertises real-time monitoring of voltage, current, power and energy but publishes no reporting interval for this model | Not recorded | |
NoCatalog noteNot a native NodOn feature. Time-of-use pricing is a function of the home automation platform. | YesCatalog noteCost periods and tariff distribution in the Shelly Smart Control app | |
NoCatalog noteNot a native NodOn feature. Usage alerts are built in the home automation platform from the readings. | Yes | |
| Features | ||
YesCatalog noteThrough the compatible Zigbee gateway or Home Assistant, not on the device itself | Yes | |
YesCatalog noteNodOn lists load shedding on overconsumption among the meter's uses, driven by its readings | The switching itself is done by the compatible gateway or home automation system, not by the meter, which has no relay | YesCatalog noteSwitch a contactor from consumption thresholds or schedules | |
NoCatalog noteNo switching output: the meter measures only and has no relay to cut a load | YesCatalog noteDry contact rated 2 A at 240 V for contactor control | |
| Installation | ||
YesCatalog noteInstalled in-line inside the electrical panel on an existing circuit, next to the upstream protection device | YesCatalog noteAlso fits inside a wall box or an appliance control box | |
YesCatalog noteOne 17.8 mm wide DIN module that clips onto the standard 35 mm rail inside the switchboard | No | |
| Mains (110-240 V) | Mains (110-240 V) | |
| No | No | |
| Integrations | ||
NoCatalog noteNot compatible with Amazon Alexa. | Yes | |
NoCatalog noteNot compatible with Apple Home. | No | |
NoCatalog noteNot compatible with Google Home. | Yes | |
YesCatalog noteZigbee2MQTT supports this exact model, the SEM-4-1-00, and exposes power, voltage, current, AC frequency, power factor, apparent power and both consumed and produced energy | NodOn also lists Home Assistant among the compatible gateways for this model | Works with Home Assistant through ZHA and through Zigbee2MQTT. | Yes | |
NoCatalog noteThe radio is Zigbee 3.0 only, with no Matter certification or Matter path documented for this model | No | |
YesCatalog noteNodOn lists SmartThings among the compatible gateways for this model, so it pairs with a SmartThings hub as a standard Zigbee 3.0 device | Yes | |
| Local Control | ||
NoCatalog noteA Zigbee end device with no IP stack and no documented serial interface, so there is nothing on the module itself to call directly; the data path belongs to whichever gateway hosts it | YesCatalog noteRPC over HTTP and WebSocket, plus webhooks and scripting | |
NoCatalog noteNothing runs on the module itself: it is paired and configured from the Zigbee gateway, and it has only a status LED and a reset/pairing button | Yes | |
NoCatalog noteNo native MQTT, though Zigbee2MQTT republishes the readings | Yes | |
| Metering | ||
±1%Manufacturer sourceThe stated energy-measurement tolerance is one percent. NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteClass 1.0 to IEC 61557-12, stated as a 1% tolerance, over a measurement range of 50 mA to 63 A and a base current of 10 A | ±2% | |
YesManufacturer sourceBidirectional measurement is specified. NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteBidirectional measurement reports consumption and production separately, which is what makes solar self-consumption and export readable | Zigbee2MQTT exposes the consumed total as energy and the production side as produced_energy for this exact model | Yes | |
| Not applicable / unspecified | Not applicable / unspecified | |
Not applicable / unspecifiedCatalog noteInline measurement through the module's own terminals, with no current transformer involved | 1Catalog noteOne 50 A clamp in the box, a second CT is sold separately | |
Not applicable / unspecifiedCatalog noteRated up to 63 A directly on the circuit, without a current transformer | 50 ACatalog note80 A current transformers also supported | |
1Manufacturer sourceThe meter monitors one circuit. NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteOne 1P+N circuit: the line is wired through the meter's own terminals and the neutral passes alongside, so it meters a single circuit up to 63 A | 2 | |
YesCatalog noteReports voltage, current, active power, apparent power, power factor and AC frequency alongside the energy totals | Zigbee2MQTT exposes power_factor, power_apparent and ac_frequency for this exact model | YesCatalog noteActive and apparent power, power factor, voltage, current and frequency | |
NoCatalog noteRated 110-240 V AC 50/60 Hz as a 1P+N single-phase meter, so a 120/240 V North American split-phase service with two hot legs is out of scope | NoCatalog noteSingle-phase device with two current channels | |
| No | No | |
Know what’s behind the comparison.
The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.
Read our comparison methodology