
The Smart Device Compare comparison
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor vs Shelly Pro 3EM v2
Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.
Build another comparison →Before you compare every specification
Key differences between NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor and Shelly Pro 3EM v2
A summary of selected recorded differences between these energy monitors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.
- 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi (connectivity): NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — No (The 2.4 GHz radio is Zigbee (IEEE 802.15.4), not Wi-Fi); Shelly Pro 3EM v2 — Yes.
- Bluetooth (connectivity): NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — No; Shelly Pro 3EM v2 — Yes (Also works as a Bluetooth gateway).
- Ethernet (connectivity): NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — No; Shelly Pro 3EM v2 — Yes.
- Data Export (data monitoring): NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — No (Not a native NodOn feature. Exporting the readings is a function of the home automation platform.); Shelly Pro 3EM v2 — Yes (CSV for power quality values and JSON through RPC).
- Other (connectivity): NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — No; Shelly Pro 3EM v2 — Modbus.
- Zigbee (connectivity): NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — Zigbee Hub required (Zigbee 3.0 certified, 2.4 GHz, maximum radio power +10 dBm, so it joins an existing Zigbee network and needs a compatible coordinator or gateway | NodOn lists Home Assistant, SmartThings, Jeedom and Zigbee2MQTT as compatible gateways for this model); Shelly Pro 3EM v2 — No.
- Power Supply (installation): NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — Mains (110-240 V); Shelly Pro 3EM v2 — Mains (100-260 V).
- Monitored Circuits (metering): NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor — 1 (One 1P+N circuit: the line is wired through the meter's own terminals and the neutral passes alongside, so it meters a single circuit up to 63 A); Shelly Pro 3EM v2 — 3 (Three phases, or three single-phase circuits).
- 6 of 39 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
- Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.
These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.
Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.


What the catalog tells us
Understand the tradeoffs.
These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.
Consider your setup
Apple Home
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy MonitorNo
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2Yes
Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.
Inspect the specificationsConsider your setup
Matter
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy MonitorNo
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2Yes
Confirm the exact device type and the features exposed in your chosen platform. Protocol support does not establish feature parity across apps.
Inspect the specificationsYour priorities, side by side
Focus on what changes.
Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.
Showing 39 of 39 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.
Connectivity
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
The 2.4 GHz radio is Zigbee (IEEE 802.15.4), not Wi-Fi
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- Yes
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- Yes
Catalog note
Also works as a Bluetooth gateway
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- Yes
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- Modbus
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- No
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note
Zigbee 3.0 certified, 2.4 GHz, maximum radio power +10 dBm, so it joins an existing Zigbee network and needs a compatible coordinator or gateway | NodOn lists Home Assistant, SmartThings, Jeedom and Zigbee2MQTT as compatible gateways for this model
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- No
Data Monitoring
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Not a native NodOn feature. Exporting the readings is a function of the home automation platform.
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- Yes
Catalog note
CSV for power quality values and JSON through RPC
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Not applicable / unspecified
Catalog note
The meter keeps no history of its own beyond its cumulative energy registers, and NodOn ships no app: retention is whatever the host gateway or Home Assistant keeps
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- 45 days
Catalog note
At least 45 days of 1-minute data in non-volatile memory
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Not a native NodOn feature. Any cost figure is calculated by the home automation platform from the readings.
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- Yes
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
NodOn advertises real-time monitoring of voltage, current, power and energy but publishes no reporting interval for this model
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- Not recorded
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Not a native NodOn feature. Time-of-use pricing is a function of the home automation platform.
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- Yes
Catalog note
Cost periods and tariff distribution in the Shelly Smart Control app
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Not a native NodOn feature. Usage alerts are built in the home automation platform from the readings.
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- Yes
Features
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
Through the compatible Zigbee gateway or Home Assistant, not on the device itself
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- Yes
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
NodOn lists load shedding on overconsumption among the meter's uses, driven by its readings | The switching itself is done by the compatible gateway or home automation system, not by the meter, which has no relay
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- Yes
Catalog note
Scripts and webhooks shed or enable loads from PV production
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
No switching output: the meter measures only and has no relay to cut a load
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- No
Catalog note
No built-in relay, contactor control needs the Shelly 3EM Switch Add-on
Installation
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
Installed in-line inside the electrical panel on an existing circuit, next to the upstream protection device
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- Yes
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
One 17.8 mm wide DIN module that clips onto the standard 35 mm rail inside the switchboard
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- Yes
Catalog note
One DIN module wide
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Mains (110-240 V)
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- Mains (100-260 V)
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- No
Integrations
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Not compatible with Amazon Alexa.
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- Yes
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Not compatible with Apple Home.
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Not compatible with Google Home.
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- Yes
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
Zigbee2MQTT supports this exact model, the SEM-4-1-00, and exposes power, voltage, current, AC frequency, power factor, apparent power and both consumed and produced energy | NodOn also lists Home Assistant among the compatible gateways for this model | Works with Home Assistant through ZHA and through Zigbee2MQTT.
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- Yes
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
The radio is Zigbee 3.0 only, with no Matter certification or Matter path documented for this model
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- Yes
Catalog note
Matter-ready, enabled from the device settings
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
NodOn lists SmartThings among the compatible gateways for this model, so it pairs with a SmartThings hub as a standard Zigbee 3.0 device
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- Yes
Local Control
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
A Zigbee end device with no IP stack and no documented serial interface, so there is nothing on the module itself to call directly; the data path belongs to whichever gateway hosts it
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- Yes
Catalog note
RPC over HTTP and WebSocket with TLS, plus webhooks and scripting
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Nothing runs on the module itself: it is paired and configured from the Zigbee gateway, and it has only a status LED and a reset/pairing button
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- Yes
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
No native MQTT, though Zigbee2MQTT republishes the readings
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- Yes
Metering
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- ±1%
Manufacturer source
The stated energy-measurement tolerance is one percent.
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →- Source section
- SEM-4-1-00 features and technical data
- Model
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Class 1.0 to IEC 61557-12, stated as a 1% tolerance, over a measurement range of 50 mA to 63 A and a base current of 10 A
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- ±1%
Catalog note
Accuracy Class B for active energy, ±1% voltage and ±1% current from 2 A to 120 A
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Bidirectional measurement is specified.
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →- Source section
- SEM-4-1-00 features and technical data
- Model
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Bidirectional measurement reports consumption and production separately, which is what makes solar self-consumption and export readable | Zigbee2MQTT exposes the consumed total as energy and the production side as produced_energy for this exact model
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- Yes
Catalog note
4 quadrant measurement, imported and exported energy per phase
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Not applicable / unspecified
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- Not applicable / unspecified
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Not applicable / unspecified
Catalog note
Inline measurement through the module's own terminals, with no current transformer involved
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- 3
Catalog note
3 x 120 A current transformers
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Not applicable / unspecified
Catalog note
Rated up to 63 A directly on the circuit, without a current transformer
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- 120 A
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- 1
Manufacturer source
The meter monitors one circuit.
NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →- Source section
- SEM-4-1-00 features and technical data
- Model
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
One 1P+N circuit: the line is wired through the meter's own terminals and the neutral passes alongside, so it meters a single circuit up to 63 A
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- 3
Catalog note
Three phases, or three single-phase circuits
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- Yes
Catalog note
Reports voltage, current, active power, apparent power, power factor and AC frequency alongside the energy totals | Zigbee2MQTT exposes power_factor, power_apparent and ac_frequency for this exact model
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- Yes
Catalog note
Active and apparent power and energy, power factor, fundamental reactive energy
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
Catalog note
Rated 110-240 V AC 50/60 Hz as a 1P+N single-phase meter, so a 120/240 V North American split-phase service with two hot legs is out of scope
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- Not recorded
- NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor
- No
- Shelly Pro 3EM v2
- Yes
| Specification | NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor | Shelly Pro 3EM v2 |
|---|---|---|
| Connectivity | ||
NoCatalog noteThe 2.4 GHz radio is Zigbee (IEEE 802.15.4), not Wi-Fi | Yes | |
| No | No | |
| No | YesCatalog noteAlso works as a Bluetooth gateway | |
| No | Yes | |
| No | Modbus | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
Zigbee Hub requiredCatalog noteZigbee 3.0 certified, 2.4 GHz, maximum radio power +10 dBm, so it joins an existing Zigbee network and needs a compatible coordinator or gateway | NodOn lists Home Assistant, SmartThings, Jeedom and Zigbee2MQTT as compatible gateways for this model | No | |
| Data Monitoring | ||
NoCatalog noteNot a native NodOn feature. Exporting the readings is a function of the home automation platform. | YesCatalog noteCSV for power quality values and JSON through RPC | |
Not applicable / unspecifiedCatalog noteThe meter keeps no history of its own beyond its cumulative energy registers, and NodOn ships no app: retention is whatever the host gateway or Home Assistant keeps | 45 daysCatalog noteAt least 45 days of 1-minute data in non-volatile memory | |
NoCatalog noteNot a native NodOn feature. Any cost figure is calculated by the home automation platform from the readings. | Yes | |
YesCatalog noteNodOn advertises real-time monitoring of voltage, current, power and energy but publishes no reporting interval for this model | Not recorded | |
NoCatalog noteNot a native NodOn feature. Time-of-use pricing is a function of the home automation platform. | YesCatalog noteCost periods and tariff distribution in the Shelly Smart Control app | |
NoCatalog noteNot a native NodOn feature. Usage alerts are built in the home automation platform from the readings. | Yes | |
| Features | ||
YesCatalog noteThrough the compatible Zigbee gateway or Home Assistant, not on the device itself | Yes | |
YesCatalog noteNodOn lists load shedding on overconsumption among the meter's uses, driven by its readings | The switching itself is done by the compatible gateway or home automation system, not by the meter, which has no relay | YesCatalog noteScripts and webhooks shed or enable loads from PV production | |
NoCatalog noteNo switching output: the meter measures only and has no relay to cut a load | NoCatalog noteNo built-in relay, contactor control needs the Shelly 3EM Switch Add-on | |
| Installation | ||
YesCatalog noteInstalled in-line inside the electrical panel on an existing circuit, next to the upstream protection device | Yes | |
YesCatalog noteOne 17.8 mm wide DIN module that clips onto the standard 35 mm rail inside the switchboard | YesCatalog noteOne DIN module wide | |
| Mains (110-240 V) | Mains (100-260 V) | |
| No | No | |
| Integrations | ||
NoCatalog noteNot compatible with Amazon Alexa. | Yes | |
NoCatalog noteNot compatible with Apple Home. | YesCatalog noteVia Matter | |
NoCatalog noteNot compatible with Google Home. | Yes | |
YesCatalog noteZigbee2MQTT supports this exact model, the SEM-4-1-00, and exposes power, voltage, current, AC frequency, power factor, apparent power and both consumed and produced energy | NodOn also lists Home Assistant among the compatible gateways for this model | Works with Home Assistant through ZHA and through Zigbee2MQTT. | Yes | |
NoCatalog noteThe radio is Zigbee 3.0 only, with no Matter certification or Matter path documented for this model | YesCatalog noteMatter-ready, enabled from the device settings | |
YesCatalog noteNodOn lists SmartThings among the compatible gateways for this model, so it pairs with a SmartThings hub as a standard Zigbee 3.0 device | Yes | |
| Local Control | ||
NoCatalog noteA Zigbee end device with no IP stack and no documented serial interface, so there is nothing on the module itself to call directly; the data path belongs to whichever gateway hosts it | YesCatalog noteRPC over HTTP and WebSocket with TLS, plus webhooks and scripting | |
NoCatalog noteNothing runs on the module itself: it is paired and configured from the Zigbee gateway, and it has only a status LED and a reset/pairing button | Yes | |
NoCatalog noteNo native MQTT, though Zigbee2MQTT republishes the readings | Yes | |
| Metering | ||
±1%Manufacturer sourceThe stated energy-measurement tolerance is one percent. NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteClass 1.0 to IEC 61557-12, stated as a 1% tolerance, over a measurement range of 50 mA to 63 A and a base current of 10 A | ±1%Catalog noteAccuracy Class B for active energy, ±1% voltage and ±1% current from 2 A to 120 A | |
YesManufacturer sourceBidirectional measurement is specified. NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteBidirectional measurement reports consumption and production separately, which is what makes solar self-consumption and export readable | Zigbee2MQTT exposes the consumed total as energy and the production side as produced_energy for this exact model | YesCatalog note4 quadrant measurement, imported and exported energy per phase | |
| Not applicable / unspecified | Not applicable / unspecified | |
Not applicable / unspecifiedCatalog noteInline measurement through the module's own terminals, with no current transformer involved | 3Catalog note3 x 120 A current transformers | |
Not applicable / unspecifiedCatalog noteRated up to 63 A directly on the circuit, without a current transformer | 120 A | |
1Manufacturer sourceThe meter monitors one circuit. NodOn Zigbee Smart Energy Monitor manufacturer product page →
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteOne 1P+N circuit: the line is wired through the meter's own terminals and the neutral passes alongside, so it meters a single circuit up to 63 A | 3Catalog noteThree phases, or three single-phase circuits | |
YesCatalog noteReports voltage, current, active power, apparent power, power factor and AC frequency alongside the energy totals | Zigbee2MQTT exposes power_factor, power_apparent and ac_frequency for this exact model | YesCatalog noteActive and apparent power and energy, power factor, fundamental reactive energy | |
NoCatalog noteRated 110-240 V AC 50/60 Hz as a 1P+N single-phase meter, so a 120/240 V North American split-phase service with two hot legs is out of scope | Not recorded | |
| No | Yes | |
Know what’s behind the comparison.
The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.
Read our comparison methodology