
The Smart Device Compare comparison
Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3 vs Shelly Pro EM-50
Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.
Build another comparison →Before you compare every specification
Key differences between Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3 and Shelly Pro EM-50
A summary of selected recorded differences between these energy monitors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.
- Ethernet (connectivity): Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3 — No; Shelly Pro EM-50 — Yes.
- Relay Output (features): Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3 — No; Shelly Pro EM-50 — Yes (Integrated switch with potential-free contacts, 2 A at 240 V).
- Din Rail Mount (installation): Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3 — No (Sits above or below the DIN-rail circuit breakers instead of clipping onto the rail); Shelly Pro EM-50 — Yes (One DIN module wide).
- Three Phase (metering): Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3 — Yes; Shelly Pro EM-50 — No.
- Other (connectivity): Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3 — No; Shelly Pro EM-50 — Modbus.
- Data History (data monitoring): Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3 — 7 days (At least 7 days of 1-minute data in non-volatile memory); Shelly Pro EM-50 — 60 days (At least 60 days of 1-minute data stored on the device).
- Power Supply (installation): Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3 — Mains (220-240 V); Shelly Pro EM-50 — Mains (100-260 V).
- Main Ct Rating (metering): Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3 — 63 A (0 to 63 A per phase, saturation at 130 A); Shelly Pro EM-50 — 50 A.
- 3 of 39 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
- Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.
These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.
Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.


What the catalog tells us
Understand the tradeoffs.
These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.
Your priorities, side by side
Focus on what changes.
Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.
Showing 39 of 39 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.
Connectivity
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- Yes
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- No
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
Bluetooth 4.2
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
Bluetooth 4.2, also works as a Bluetooth gateway
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- No
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- No
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Modbus
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- No
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- No
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- No
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
Data Monitoring
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
CSV for power quality values and JSON through RPC
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
CSV export of the consumption chart
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- 7 days
Manufacturer source
Local records cover up to seven days at one-minute intervals.
Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
The page covers the 63W wire and 63T terminal variants. Above-breaker mounting is specific to the 63W; installation details are not interchangeable.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
At least 7 days of 1-minute data in non-volatile memory
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- 60 days
Catalog note
At least 60 days of 1-minute data stored on the device
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- Yes
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- Not recorded
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Not recorded
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
Cost periods and tariff distribution in the Shelly Smart Control app
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
Cost periods and tariff distribution in the Shelly Smart Control app
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- Yes
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Features
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- Yes
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
Scripts and webhooks can drive other devices from the readings
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
Configurable load control to divert surplus PV production
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- No
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
Integrated switch with potential-free contacts, 2 A at 240 V
Installation
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- Yes
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- No
Catalog note
Sits above or below the DIN-rail circuit breakers instead of clipping onto the rail
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
One DIN module wide
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- Mains (220-240 V)
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Mains (100-260 V)
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- No
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
Integrations
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- Yes
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- No
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- Yes
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- Yes
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- No
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
Via the official Shelly Cloud integration
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
Via the official Shelly Cloud integration
Local Control
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
RPC over HTTP and WebSocket with TLS, plus webhooks and scripting
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
RPC over HTTPS and WebSocket, UDP, webhooks, scripting and Modbus TCP
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- Yes
Manufacturer source
An embedded web interface provides local access.
Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
The page covers the 63W wire and 63T terminal variants. Above-breaker mounting is specific to the 63W; installation details are not interchangeable.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- Yes
Manufacturer source
MQTT communication is documented.
Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
The page covers the 63W wire and 63T terminal variants. Above-breaker mounting is specific to the 63W; installation details are not interchangeable.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Metering
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- ±1%
Catalog note
Accuracy Class B for active energy, ±1% from 2 A to 63 A
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- ±1%
Catalog note
Accuracy Class B for active energy, ±1% from 5 A to 50 A
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
4 quadrant measurement, direction can be reversed per phase in software
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
4 quadrant measurement with a returned energy counter
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- Not applicable / unspecified
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Not applicable / unspecified
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- Not applicable / unspecified
Catalog note
Current transformers are built into the body, conductor aperture 8 mm
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- 2
Catalog note
2 x 50 A current transformers
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- 63 A
Catalog note
0 to 63 A per phase, saturation at 130 A
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- 50 A
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- 3
Manufacturer source
Three measurement channels support separate single-phase circuits.
Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
The page covers the 63W wire and 63T terminal variants. Above-breaker mounting is specific to the 63W; installation details are not interchangeable.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Three phases, or three independent single-phase circuits
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- 2
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
Active and apparent power and energy, power factor, fundamental reactive energy
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
Active and apparent power, power factor, frequency and voltage
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- No
Catalog note
220-240 V only, so a 120/240 V split-phase service is out of scope
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
Catalog note
Single-phase device with two current channels
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- Yes
Manufacturer source
The meter also supports a three-phase installation.
Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
The page covers the 63W wire and 63T terminal variants. Above-breaker mounting is specific to the 63W; installation details are not interchangeable.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
| Specification | Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3 | Shelly Pro EM-50 |
|---|---|---|
| Connectivity | ||
| Yes | Yes | |
| No | No | |
YesCatalog noteBluetooth 4.2 | YesCatalog noteBluetooth 4.2, also works as a Bluetooth gateway | |
| No | Yes | |
| No | Modbus | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| Data Monitoring | ||
YesCatalog noteCSV for power quality values and JSON through RPC | YesCatalog noteCSV export of the consumption chart | |
7 daysManufacturer sourceLocal records cover up to seven days at one-minute intervals. Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3 manufacturer product page →
The page covers the 63W wire and 63T terminal variants. Above-breaker mounting is specific to the 63W; installation details are not interchangeable. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteAt least 7 days of 1-minute data in non-volatile memory | 60 daysCatalog noteAt least 60 days of 1-minute data stored on the device | |
| Yes | Yes | |
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
YesCatalog noteCost periods and tariff distribution in the Shelly Smart Control app | YesCatalog noteCost periods and tariff distribution in the Shelly Smart Control app | |
| Yes | Yes | |
| Features | ||
| Yes | Yes | |
YesCatalog noteScripts and webhooks can drive other devices from the readings | YesCatalog noteConfigurable load control to divert surplus PV production | |
| No | YesCatalog noteIntegrated switch with potential-free contacts, 2 A at 240 V | |
| Installation | ||
| Yes | Yes | |
NoCatalog noteSits above or below the DIN-rail circuit breakers instead of clipping onto the rail | YesCatalog noteOne DIN module wide | |
| Mains (220-240 V) | Mains (100-260 V) | |
| No | No | |
| Integrations | ||
| Yes | Yes | |
| No | No | |
| Yes | Yes | |
| Yes | Yes | |
| No | No | |
YesCatalog noteVia the official Shelly Cloud integration | YesCatalog noteVia the official Shelly Cloud integration | |
| Local Control | ||
YesCatalog noteRPC over HTTP and WebSocket with TLS, plus webhooks and scripting | YesCatalog noteRPC over HTTPS and WebSocket, UDP, webhooks, scripting and Modbus TCP | |
YesManufacturer sourceAn embedded web interface provides local access. Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3 manufacturer product page →
The page covers the 63W wire and 63T terminal variants. Above-breaker mounting is specific to the 63W; installation details are not interchangeable. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | Yes | |
YesManufacturer sourceMQTT communication is documented. Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3 manufacturer product page →
The page covers the 63W wire and 63T terminal variants. Above-breaker mounting is specific to the 63W; installation details are not interchangeable. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | Yes | |
| Metering | ||
±1%Catalog noteAccuracy Class B for active energy, ±1% from 2 A to 63 A | ±1%Catalog noteAccuracy Class B for active energy, ±1% from 5 A to 50 A | |
YesCatalog note4 quadrant measurement, direction can be reversed per phase in software | YesCatalog note4 quadrant measurement with a returned energy counter | |
| Not applicable / unspecified | Not applicable / unspecified | |
Not applicable / unspecifiedCatalog noteCurrent transformers are built into the body, conductor aperture 8 mm | 2Catalog note2 x 50 A current transformers | |
63 ACatalog note0 to 63 A per phase, saturation at 130 A | 50 A | |
3Manufacturer sourceThree measurement channels support separate single-phase circuits. Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3 manufacturer product page →
The page covers the 63W wire and 63T terminal variants. Above-breaker mounting is specific to the 63W; installation details are not interchangeable. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteThree phases, or three independent single-phase circuits | 2 | |
YesCatalog noteActive and apparent power and energy, power factor, fundamental reactive energy | YesCatalog noteActive and apparent power, power factor, frequency and voltage | |
NoCatalog note220-240 V only, so a 120/240 V split-phase service is out of scope | NoCatalog noteSingle-phase device with two current channels | |
YesManufacturer sourceThe meter also supports a three-phase installation. Shelly 3EM-63W Gen3 manufacturer product page →
The page covers the 63W wire and 63T terminal variants. Above-breaker mounting is specific to the 63W; installation details are not interchangeable. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | No | |
Know what’s behind the comparison.
The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.
Read our comparison methodology