
The Smart Device Compare comparison
Shelly EM Gen3 vs Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.
Build another comparison →Before you compare every specification
Key differences between Shelly EM Gen3 and Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
A summary of selected recorded differences between these energy monitors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.
- Load Management (features): Shelly EM Gen3 — Yes (Switch a contactor from consumption thresholds or schedules); Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch) — No (With no relay it can raise a threshold alert but cannot shed the load itself).
- Relay Output (features): Shelly EM Gen3 — Yes (Dry contact rated 2 A at 240 V for contactor control); Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch) — No (SONOFF states this is a non-switch product that cannot control the load it measures).
- Matter (integrations): Shelly EM Gen3 — No; Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch) — Yes (Matter over Wi-Fi: the device carries a Matter QR code and is commissioned by scanning it from a Matter app | Home Assistant is the one Matter controller that accepts it today, because the energy meter device type is not yet handled by the other ecosystems).
- Power Factor (metering): Shelly EM Gen3 — Yes (Active and apparent power, power factor, voltage, current and frequency); Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch) — No (SONOFF documents real-time voltage, current, power and accumulated energy, with no power factor reading).
- Data History (data monitoring): Shelly EM Gen3 — 10 days (10 days of 1-minute records stored on the device, longer history in the Shelly cloud); Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch) — 1 year (Up to one year of energy data, and going offline does not interrupt the recording).
- Power Supply (installation): Shelly EM Gen3 — Mains (110-240 V); Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch) — Mains (100-240 V).
- Apple Home (integrations): Shelly EM Gen3 — No; Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch) — Upcoming platform support (The meter is a Matter over Wi-Fi device, but SONOFF's own platform table marks Apple Home as not yet able to add it: the Home app still does not accept the Matter energy meter device type. Nothing on SONOFF's side is missing, so the meter gets in once Apple supports that type.).
- Monitored Circuits (metering): Shelly EM Gen3 — 2; Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch) — 1 (One circuit, the load wired through its L and L Out terminals).
- 6 of 39 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
- Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.
These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.
Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.


Option 2 · Sonoff
Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
Last updated October 2026
View full device profileWhat the catalog tells us
Understand the tradeoffs.
These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.
Consider your setup
Apple Home
- Shelly EM Gen3No
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)Upcoming platform support
Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.
Inspect the specificationsConsider your setup
Matter
- Shelly EM Gen3No
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)Yes
Confirm the exact device type and the features exposed in your chosen platform. Protocol support does not establish feature parity across apps.
Inspect the specificationsYour priorities, side by side
Focus on what changes.
Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.
Showing 39 of 39 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.
Connectivity
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
IEEE 802.11 b/g/n on 2.4 GHz, from an ESP32-C6
- Shelly EM Gen3
- No
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
Bluetooth 4.2, used for setup and as a Bluetooth gateway
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Not recorded
Catalog note
The spec sheet lists Wi-Fi only, while the FCC grant authorises a second 2402-2480 MHz transmitter, so the radio is there but SONOFF never documents it as a feature
- Shelly EM Gen3
- No
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
- Shelly EM Gen3
- No
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
- Shelly EM Gen3
- No
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
- Shelly EM Gen3
- No
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
- Shelly EM Gen3
- No
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
Catalog note
The Zigbee version of this meter is a separate model, the MINI-ZB1GP
Data Monitoring
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
CSV export of the consumption chart
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
Energy data and electricity bills export to a spreadsheet, from the app and from the local console
- Shelly EM Gen3
- 10 days
Catalog note
10 days of 1-minute records stored on the device, longer history in the Shelly cloud
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- 1 year
Catalog note
Up to one year of energy data, and going offline does not interrupt the recording
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
Custom currency and electricity rate, with the bill broken down in charts
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Not recorded
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Not recorded
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
Cost periods and tariff distribution in the Shelly Smart Control app
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
Fixed or time-of-use pricing, with consumption shown per rate band
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
Overcurrent, overpower, overvoltage and undervoltage thresholds, plus a run completion alert and a maintenance reminder based on accumulated runtime
Features
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
Quick Scenes in eWeLink, and its readings drive automations in Home Assistant
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
Switch a contactor from consumption thresholds or schedules
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
Catalog note
With no relay it can raise a threshold alert but cannot shed the load itself
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
Dry contact rated 2 A at 240 V for contactor control
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
Catalog note
SONOFF states this is a non-switch product that cannot control the load it measures
Installation
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
Also fits inside a wall box or an appliance control box
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
Wires into live and neutral behind a socket or inside a junction box, and SONOFF recommends a wall box at least 60 mm deep
- Shelly EM Gen3
- No
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
Catalog note
Indoor flush mounting only, with no rail clip
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Mains (110-240 V)
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Mains (100-240 V)
- Shelly EM Gen3
- No
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
Integrations
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
Reached by adding the meter to eWeLink and linking the account, the path SONOFF documents for this model
- Shelly EM Gen3
- No
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Upcoming platform support
Catalog note
The meter is a Matter over Wi-Fi device, but SONOFF's own platform table marks Apple Home as not yet able to add it: the Home app still does not accept the Matter energy meter device type. Nothing on SONOFF's side is missing, so the meter gets in once Apple supports that type.
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
Reached by adding the meter to eWeLink and linking the account, the path SONOFF documents for this model
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
SONOFF's platform table gives Home Assistant two routes, Matter and MQTT discovery, and both carry the voltage, current, power and energy readings
- Shelly EM Gen3
- No
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
Matter over Wi-Fi: the device carries a Matter QR code and is commissioned by scanning it from a Matter app | Home Assistant is the one Matter controller that accepts it today, because the energy meter device type is not yet handled by the other ecosystems
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
Reached through eWeLink account linking, and SONOFF notes SmartThings also reads the power consumption figures
Local Control
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
RPC over HTTP and WebSocket, plus webhooks and scripting
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Catalog note
JSON-RPC 2.0 over HTTP and WebSocket, documented as an open API
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Manufacturer source
A local browser console is provided.
Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch) — manufacturer product description →- Source section
- Product description / feature descriptions
- Model
- MINI-1GP
- Region
- Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
This product measures energy and does not switch the attached load.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
The OpenEdge web console runs on the device and needs no app and no account
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Manufacturer source
MQTT access is listed.
Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch) — manufacturer product description →- Source section
- Product description / feature descriptions
- Model
- MINI-1GP
- Region
- Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
This product measures energy and does not switch the attached load.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
MQTT is configured from the device itself and is how Home Assistant reads the meter with no cloud in the path
Metering
- Shelly EM Gen3
- ±2%
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Not recorded
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Bidirectional energy metering is supported.
Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch) — manufacturer product description →- Source section
- Product description / feature descriptions
- Model
- MINI-1GP
- Region
- Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
This product measures energy and does not switch the attached load.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Bi-directional metering separates what the load consumes from what a balcony solar array produces, which the app can record as a negative value
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Not applicable / unspecified
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Not applicable / unspecified
- Shelly EM Gen3
- 1
Catalog note
One 50 A clamp in the box, a second CT is sold separately
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Not applicable / unspecified
Catalog note
Inline measurement, no current transformer involved
- Shelly EM Gen3
- 50 A
Catalog note
80 A current transformers also supported
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- Not applicable / unspecified
- Shelly EM Gen3
- 2
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- 1
Catalog note
One circuit, the load wired through its L and L Out terminals
- Shelly EM Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
Active and apparent power, power factor, voltage, current and frequency
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
Catalog note
SONOFF documents real-time voltage, current, power and accumulated energy, with no power factor reading
- Shelly EM Gen3
- No
Catalog note
Single-phase device with two current channels
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
Catalog note
Rated 100-240V~ 50/60Hz on a single line, so a 120/240 V split-phase service is out of scope
- Shelly EM Gen3
- No
- Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch)
- No
| Specification | Shelly EM Gen3 | Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch) |
|---|---|---|
| Connectivity | ||
| Yes | YesCatalog noteIEEE 802.11 b/g/n on 2.4 GHz, from an ESP32-C6 | |
| No | No | |
YesCatalog noteBluetooth 4.2, used for setup and as a Bluetooth gateway | Not recordedCatalog noteThe spec sheet lists Wi-Fi only, while the FCC grant authorises a second 2402-2480 MHz transmitter, so the radio is there but SONOFF never documents it as a feature | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | NoCatalog noteThe Zigbee version of this meter is a separate model, the MINI-ZB1GP | |
| Data Monitoring | ||
YesCatalog noteCSV export of the consumption chart | YesCatalog noteEnergy data and electricity bills export to a spreadsheet, from the app and from the local console | |
10 daysCatalog note10 days of 1-minute records stored on the device, longer history in the Shelly cloud | 1 yearCatalog noteUp to one year of energy data, and going offline does not interrupt the recording | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteCustom currency and electricity rate, with the bill broken down in charts | |
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
YesCatalog noteCost periods and tariff distribution in the Shelly Smart Control app | YesCatalog noteFixed or time-of-use pricing, with consumption shown per rate band | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteOvercurrent, overpower, overvoltage and undervoltage thresholds, plus a run completion alert and a maintenance reminder based on accumulated runtime | |
| Features | ||
| Yes | YesCatalog noteQuick Scenes in eWeLink, and its readings drive automations in Home Assistant | |
YesCatalog noteSwitch a contactor from consumption thresholds or schedules | NoCatalog noteWith no relay it can raise a threshold alert but cannot shed the load itself | |
YesCatalog noteDry contact rated 2 A at 240 V for contactor control | NoCatalog noteSONOFF states this is a non-switch product that cannot control the load it measures | |
| Installation | ||
YesCatalog noteAlso fits inside a wall box or an appliance control box | YesCatalog noteWires into live and neutral behind a socket or inside a junction box, and SONOFF recommends a wall box at least 60 mm deep | |
| No | NoCatalog noteIndoor flush mounting only, with no rail clip | |
| Mains (110-240 V) | Mains (100-240 V) | |
| No | No | |
| Integrations | ||
| Yes | YesCatalog noteReached by adding the meter to eWeLink and linking the account, the path SONOFF documents for this model | |
| No | Upcoming platform supportCatalog noteThe meter is a Matter over Wi-Fi device, but SONOFF's own platform table marks Apple Home as not yet able to add it: the Home app still does not accept the Matter energy meter device type. Nothing on SONOFF's side is missing, so the meter gets in once Apple supports that type. | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteReached by adding the meter to eWeLink and linking the account, the path SONOFF documents for this model | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteSONOFF's platform table gives Home Assistant two routes, Matter and MQTT discovery, and both carry the voltage, current, power and energy readings | |
| No | YesCatalog noteMatter over Wi-Fi: the device carries a Matter QR code and is commissioned by scanning it from a Matter app | Home Assistant is the one Matter controller that accepts it today, because the energy meter device type is not yet handled by the other ecosystems | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteReached through eWeLink account linking, and SONOFF notes SmartThings also reads the power consumption figures | |
| Local Control | ||
YesCatalog noteRPC over HTTP and WebSocket, plus webhooks and scripting | YesCatalog noteJSON-RPC 2.0 over HTTP and WebSocket, documented as an open API | |
| Yes | YesManufacturer sourceA local browser console is provided. Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch) — manufacturer product description →
This product measures energy and does not switch the attached load. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteThe OpenEdge web console runs on the device and needs no app and no account | |
| Yes | YesManufacturer sourceMQTT access is listed. Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch) — manufacturer product description →
This product measures energy and does not switch the attached load. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteMQTT is configured from the device itself and is how Home Assistant reads the meter with no cloud in the path | |
| Metering | ||
| ±2% | Not recorded | |
| Yes | YesManufacturer sourceBidirectional energy metering is supported. Sonoff MINI PM Matter Over WiFi Power Meter (Non-Switch) — manufacturer product description →
This product measures energy and does not switch the attached load. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteBi-directional metering separates what the load consumes from what a balcony solar array produces, which the app can record as a negative value | |
| Not applicable / unspecified | Not applicable / unspecified | |
1Catalog noteOne 50 A clamp in the box, a second CT is sold separately | Not applicable / unspecifiedCatalog noteInline measurement, no current transformer involved | |
50 ACatalog note80 A current transformers also supported | Not applicable / unspecified | |
| 2 | 1Catalog noteOne circuit, the load wired through its L and L Out terminals | |
YesCatalog noteActive and apparent power, power factor, voltage, current and frequency | NoCatalog noteSONOFF documents real-time voltage, current, power and accumulated energy, with no power factor reading | |
NoCatalog noteSingle-phase device with two current channels | NoCatalog noteRated 100-240V~ 50/60Hz on a single line, so a 120/240 V split-phase service is out of scope | |
| No | No | |
Know what’s behind the comparison.
The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.
Read our comparison methodology