
The Smart Device Compare comparison
Shelly EM Gen4 vs Shelly Pro EM-50
Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.
Build another comparison →Before you compare every specification
Key differences between Shelly EM Gen4 and Shelly Pro EM-50
A summary of selected recorded differences between these energy monitors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.
- Ethernet (connectivity): Shelly EM Gen4 — No; Shelly Pro EM-50 — Yes.
- Din Rail Mount (installation): Shelly EM Gen4 — No; Shelly Pro EM-50 — Yes (One DIN module wide).
- Apple Home (integrations): Shelly EM Gen4 — Yes (Via Matter); Shelly Pro EM-50 — No.
- Matter (integrations): Shelly EM Gen4 — Yes (Matter-certified out of the box); Shelly Pro EM-50 — No.
- Other (connectivity): Shelly EM Gen4 — No; Shelly Pro EM-50 — Modbus.
- Zigbee (connectivity): Shelly EM Gen4 — Zigbee Hub required (Zigbee 802.15.4 and acts as a Zigbee repeater); Shelly Pro EM-50 — No.
- Data History (data monitoring): Shelly EM Gen4 — 30 days (At least 30 days of 1-minute records stored on the device); Shelly Pro EM-50 — 60 days (At least 60 days of 1-minute data stored on the device).
- Power Supply (installation): Shelly EM Gen4 — Mains (110-240 V); Shelly Pro EM-50 — Mains (100-260 V).
- 2 of 39 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
- Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.
These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.
Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.


What the catalog tells us
Understand the tradeoffs.
These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.
Consider your setup
Apple Home
- Shelly EM Gen4Yes
- Shelly Pro EM-50No
Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.
Inspect the specificationsConsider your setup
Matter
- Shelly EM Gen4Yes
- Shelly Pro EM-50No
Confirm the exact device type and the features exposed in your chosen platform. Protocol support does not establish feature parity across apps.
Inspect the specificationsYour priorities, side by side
Focus on what changes.
Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.
Showing 39 of 39 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.
Connectivity
- Shelly EM Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
Wi-Fi 6 (802.11 b/g/n/ax) on 2.4 GHz
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Shelly EM Gen4
- No
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
- Shelly EM Gen4
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Bluetooth connectivity is documented.
Shelly EM Gen4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly EM Gen4
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
The relay controls a contactor; its existence does not establish a suitable rating for directly switching a high-power load.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Bluetooth 5 LE
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
Bluetooth 4.2, also works as a Bluetooth gateway
- Shelly EM Gen4
- No
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Shelly EM Gen4
- No
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Modbus
- Shelly EM Gen4
- No
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
- Shelly EM Gen4
- No
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
- Shelly EM Gen4
- Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note
Zigbee 802.15.4 and acts as a Zigbee repeater
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
Data Monitoring
- Shelly EM Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
CSV for power quality values and JSON through RPC
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
CSV export of the consumption chart
- Shelly EM Gen4
- 30 days
Manufacturer source
Local storage retains at least 30 days of one-minute records.
Shelly EM Gen4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly EM Gen4
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
The relay controls a contactor; its existence does not establish a suitable rating for directly switching a high-power load.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
At least 30 days of 1-minute records stored on the device
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- 60 days
Catalog note
At least 60 days of 1-minute data stored on the device
- Shelly EM Gen4
- Yes
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Shelly EM Gen4
- Not recorded
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Not recorded
- Shelly EM Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
Cost periods and tariff distribution in the Shelly Smart Control app
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
Cost periods and tariff distribution in the Shelly Smart Control app
- Shelly EM Gen4
- Yes
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Features
- Shelly EM Gen4
- Yes
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Shelly EM Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
Switch a contactor from consumption thresholds or schedules
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
Configurable load control to divert surplus PV production
- Shelly EM Gen4
- Yes
Manufacturer source
A dry-contact relay can control an external contactor.
Shelly EM Gen4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly EM Gen4
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
The relay controls a contactor; its existence does not establish a suitable rating for directly switching a high-power load.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Dry contact rated 2 A at 240 V for contactor control
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
Integrated switch with potential-free contacts, 2 A at 240 V
Installation
- Shelly EM Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
Also fits inside a wall box or an appliance control box
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Shelly EM Gen4
- No
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
One DIN module wide
- Shelly EM Gen4
- Mains (110-240 V)
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Mains (100-260 V)
- Shelly EM Gen4
- No
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
Integrations
- Shelly EM Gen4
- Yes
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Shelly EM Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
- Shelly EM Gen4
- Yes
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Shelly EM Gen4
- Yes
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Shelly EM Gen4
- Yes
Manufacturer source
The manufacturer specifies Matter compatibility.
Shelly EM Gen4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly EM Gen4
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
The relay controls a contactor; its existence does not establish a suitable rating for directly switching a high-power load.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Matter-certified out of the box
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
- Shelly EM Gen4
- Yes
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
Via the official Shelly Cloud integration
Local Control
- Shelly EM Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
RPC over HTTP and WebSocket, plus webhooks and scripting
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
RPC over HTTPS and WebSocket, UDP, webhooks, scripting and Modbus TCP
- Shelly EM Gen4
- Yes
Manufacturer source
The meter has an embedded web interface.
Shelly EM Gen4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly EM Gen4
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
The relay controls a contactor; its existence does not establish a suitable rating for directly switching a high-power load.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Shelly EM Gen4
- Yes
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Metering
- Shelly EM Gen4
- ±2%
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- ±1%
Catalog note
Accuracy Class B for active energy, ±1% from 5 A to 50 A
- Shelly EM Gen4
- Yes
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
4 quadrant measurement with a returned energy counter
- Shelly EM Gen4
- Not applicable / unspecified
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Not applicable / unspecified
- Shelly EM Gen4
- 1
Catalog note
One 50 A clamp in the box, a second CT is sold separately
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- 2
Catalog note
2 x 50 A current transformers
- Shelly EM Gen4
- 50 A
Catalog note
80 A and 120 A current transformers also supported
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- 50 A
- Shelly EM Gen4
- 2
Manufacturer source
Two current-transformer channels measure a single-phase supply.
Shelly EM Gen4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly EM Gen4
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
The relay controls a contactor; its existence does not establish a suitable rating for directly switching a high-power load.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- 2
- Shelly EM Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
Active and apparent power and energy, plus power factor
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
Active and apparent power, power factor, frequency and voltage
- Shelly EM Gen4
- No
Catalog note
Single-phase device with two current channels
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
Catalog note
Single-phase device with two current channels
- Shelly EM Gen4
- No
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
| Specification | Shelly EM Gen4 | Shelly Pro EM-50 |
|---|---|---|
| Connectivity | ||
YesCatalog noteWi-Fi 6 (802.11 b/g/n/ax) on 2.4 GHz | Yes | |
| No | No | |
YesManufacturer sourceBluetooth connectivity is documented. Shelly EM Gen4 manufacturer product page →
The relay controls a contactor; its existence does not establish a suitable rating for directly switching a high-power load. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteBluetooth 5 LE | YesCatalog noteBluetooth 4.2, also works as a Bluetooth gateway | |
| No | Yes | |
| No | Modbus | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
Zigbee Hub requiredCatalog noteZigbee 802.15.4 and acts as a Zigbee repeater | No | |
| Data Monitoring | ||
YesCatalog noteCSV for power quality values and JSON through RPC | YesCatalog noteCSV export of the consumption chart | |
30 daysManufacturer sourceLocal storage retains at least 30 days of one-minute records. Shelly EM Gen4 manufacturer product page →
The relay controls a contactor; its existence does not establish a suitable rating for directly switching a high-power load. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteAt least 30 days of 1-minute records stored on the device | 60 daysCatalog noteAt least 60 days of 1-minute data stored on the device | |
| Yes | Yes | |
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
YesCatalog noteCost periods and tariff distribution in the Shelly Smart Control app | YesCatalog noteCost periods and tariff distribution in the Shelly Smart Control app | |
| Yes | Yes | |
| Features | ||
| Yes | Yes | |
YesCatalog noteSwitch a contactor from consumption thresholds or schedules | YesCatalog noteConfigurable load control to divert surplus PV production | |
YesManufacturer sourceA dry-contact relay can control an external contactor. Shelly EM Gen4 manufacturer product page →
The relay controls a contactor; its existence does not establish a suitable rating for directly switching a high-power load. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteDry contact rated 2 A at 240 V for contactor control | YesCatalog noteIntegrated switch with potential-free contacts, 2 A at 240 V | |
| Installation | ||
YesCatalog noteAlso fits inside a wall box or an appliance control box | Yes | |
| No | YesCatalog noteOne DIN module wide | |
| Mains (110-240 V) | Mains (100-260 V) | |
| No | No | |
| Integrations | ||
| Yes | Yes | |
YesCatalog noteVia Matter | No | |
| Yes | Yes | |
| Yes | Yes | |
YesManufacturer sourceThe manufacturer specifies Matter compatibility. Shelly EM Gen4 manufacturer product page →
The relay controls a contactor; its existence does not establish a suitable rating for directly switching a high-power load. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteMatter-certified out of the box | No | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteVia the official Shelly Cloud integration | |
| Local Control | ||
YesCatalog noteRPC over HTTP and WebSocket, plus webhooks and scripting | YesCatalog noteRPC over HTTPS and WebSocket, UDP, webhooks, scripting and Modbus TCP | |
YesManufacturer sourceThe meter has an embedded web interface. Shelly EM Gen4 manufacturer product page →
The relay controls a contactor; its existence does not establish a suitable rating for directly switching a high-power load. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | Yes | |
| Yes | Yes | |
| Metering | ||
| ±2% | ±1%Catalog noteAccuracy Class B for active energy, ±1% from 5 A to 50 A | |
| Yes | YesCatalog note4 quadrant measurement with a returned energy counter | |
| Not applicable / unspecified | Not applicable / unspecified | |
1Catalog noteOne 50 A clamp in the box, a second CT is sold separately | 2Catalog note2 x 50 A current transformers | |
50 ACatalog note80 A and 120 A current transformers also supported | 50 A | |
2Manufacturer sourceTwo current-transformer channels measure a single-phase supply. Shelly EM Gen4 manufacturer product page →
The relay controls a contactor; its existence does not establish a suitable rating for directly switching a high-power load. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | 2 | |
YesCatalog noteActive and apparent power and energy, plus power factor | YesCatalog noteActive and apparent power, power factor, frequency and voltage | |
NoCatalog noteSingle-phase device with two current channels | NoCatalog noteSingle-phase device with two current channels | |
| No | No | |
Know what’s behind the comparison.
The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.
Read our comparison methodology