
The Smart Device Compare comparison
Shelly Pro EM-50 vs Zemismart SDM01
Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.
Build another comparison →Before you compare every specification
Key differences between Shelly Pro EM-50 and Zemismart SDM01
A summary of selected recorded differences between these energy monitors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.
- 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi (connectivity): Shelly Pro EM-50 — Yes; Zemismart SDM01 — No.
- Bluetooth (connectivity): Shelly Pro EM-50 — Yes (Bluetooth 4.2, also works as a Bluetooth gateway); Zemismart SDM01 — No.
- Ethernet (connectivity): Shelly Pro EM-50 — Yes; Zemismart SDM01 — No.
- Load Management (features): Shelly Pro EM-50 — Yes (Configurable load control to divert surplus PV production); Zemismart SDM01 — No.
- Other (connectivity): Shelly Pro EM-50 — Modbus; Zemismart SDM01 — No.
- Zigbee (connectivity): Shelly Pro EM-50 — No; Zemismart SDM01 — Zigbee Hub required (Zigbee 3.0 on a Tuya ZS3L module, acts as a Zigbee router).
- Power Supply (installation): Shelly Pro EM-50 — Mains (100-260 V); Zemismart SDM01 — Mains (120-240 V).
- Included Ct Sensors (metering): Shelly Pro EM-50 — 2 (2 x 50 A current transformers); Zemismart SDM01 — 3 (3 x 120 A split-core current transformers).
- 8 of 39 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
- Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.
These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.
Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.


What the catalog tells us
Understand the tradeoffs.
These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.
Your priorities, side by side
Focus on what changes.
Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.
Showing 39 of 39 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.
Connectivity
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Zemismart SDM01
- No
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
- Zemismart SDM01
- No
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
Bluetooth 4.2, also works as a Bluetooth gateway
- Zemismart SDM01
- No
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Zemismart SDM01
- No
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Modbus
- Zemismart SDM01
- No
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
- Zemismart SDM01
- No
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
- Zemismart SDM01
- No
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
- Zemismart SDM01
- Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note
Zigbee 3.0 on a Tuya ZS3L module, acts as a Zigbee router
Data Monitoring
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
CSV export of the consumption chart
- Zemismart SDM01
- Not recorded
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- 60 days
Catalog note
At least 60 days of 1-minute data stored on the device
- Zemismart SDM01
- Not applicable / unspecified
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Zemismart SDM01
- Not recorded
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Not recorded
- Zemismart SDM01
- 5 s
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
Cost periods and tariff distribution in the Shelly Smart Control app
- Zemismart SDM01
- Not recorded
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Zemismart SDM01
- Yes
Catalog note
Alarm messages for abnormal or unbalanced load
Features
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Zemismart SDM01
- Yes
Catalog note
Through the Zigbee hub or Home Assistant, not the device itself
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
Configurable load control to divert surplus PV production
- Zemismart SDM01
- No
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
Integrated switch with potential-free contacts, 2 A at 240 V
- Zemismart SDM01
- No
Installation
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Zemismart SDM01
- Yes
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
One DIN module wide
- Zemismart SDM01
- Yes
Manufacturer source
DIN rail installation is supported.
Zemismart SDM01 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Zemismart SDM01
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Applies to the SDM01-TZ0-12-ZM variant named in the source.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
One 18 mm DIN module
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Mains (100-260 V)
- Zemismart SDM01
- Mains (120-240 V)
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
- Zemismart SDM01
- No
Integrations
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Zemismart SDM01
- No
Catalog note
Alexa has no energy meter device type and this meter has no relay to expose as a switch, so a skill has nothing to publish
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
- Zemismart SDM01
- No
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Zemismart SDM01
- Not recorded
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Zemismart SDM01
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Zigbee2MQTT, exposed as TS0601 _TZE204_ugekduaj
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
- Zemismart SDM01
- No
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
Via the official Shelly Cloud integration
- Zemismart SDM01
- No
Local Control
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
RPC over HTTPS and WebSocket, UDP, webhooks, scripting and Modbus TCP
- Zemismart SDM01
- No
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Zemismart SDM01
- No
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
- Zemismart SDM01
- No
Catalog note
No native MQTT, though Zigbee2MQTT republishes the readings
Metering
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- ±1%
Catalog note
Accuracy Class B for active energy, ±1% from 5 A to 50 A
- Zemismart SDM01
- ±1%
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
4 quadrant measurement with a returned energy counter
- Zemismart SDM01
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Bidirectional energy measurement is supported.
Zemismart SDM01 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Zemismart SDM01
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Applies to the SDM01-TZ0-12-ZM variant named in the source.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Consumed and produced energy reported per phase
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Not applicable / unspecified
- Zemismart SDM01
- Not applicable / unspecified
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- 2
Catalog note
2 x 50 A current transformers
- Zemismart SDM01
- 3
Catalog note
3 x 120 A split-core current transformers
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- 50 A
- Zemismart SDM01
- 120 A
Manufacturer source
The stated maximum measurement current is 120 A.
Zemismart SDM01 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Zemismart SDM01
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Applies to the SDM01-TZ0-12-ZM variant named in the source.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- 2
- Zemismart SDM01
- 3
Manufacturer source
Three current-transformer channels are specified.
Zemismart SDM01 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Zemismart SDM01
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Applies to the SDM01-TZ0-12-ZM variant named in the source.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Three phases, or three single-phase circuits
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- Yes
Catalog note
Active and apparent power, power factor, frequency and voltage
- Zemismart SDM01
- Yes
Catalog note
Voltage, current, power, power factor and frequency per phase
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
Catalog note
Single-phase device with two current channels
- Zemismart SDM01
- Not recorded
- Shelly Pro EM-50
- No
- Zemismart SDM01
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Three-phase measurement is supported.
Zemismart SDM01 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Zemismart SDM01
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Applies to the SDM01-TZ0-12-ZM variant named in the source.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
| Specification | Shelly Pro EM-50 | Zemismart SDM01 |
|---|---|---|
| Connectivity | ||
| Yes | No | |
| No | No | |
YesCatalog noteBluetooth 4.2, also works as a Bluetooth gateway | No | |
| Yes | No | |
| Modbus | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | Zigbee Hub requiredCatalog noteZigbee 3.0 on a Tuya ZS3L module, acts as a Zigbee router | |
| Data Monitoring | ||
YesCatalog noteCSV export of the consumption chart | Not recorded | |
60 daysCatalog noteAt least 60 days of 1-minute data stored on the device | Not applicable / unspecified | |
| Yes | Not recorded | |
| Not recorded | 5 s | |
YesCatalog noteCost periods and tariff distribution in the Shelly Smart Control app | Not recorded | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteAlarm messages for abnormal or unbalanced load | |
| Features | ||
| Yes | YesCatalog noteThrough the Zigbee hub or Home Assistant, not the device itself | |
YesCatalog noteConfigurable load control to divert surplus PV production | No | |
YesCatalog noteIntegrated switch with potential-free contacts, 2 A at 240 V | No | |
| Installation | ||
| Yes | Yes | |
YesCatalog noteOne DIN module wide | YesManufacturer sourceDIN rail installation is supported. Zemismart SDM01 manufacturer product page →
Applies to the SDM01-TZ0-12-ZM variant named in the source. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteOne 18 mm DIN module | |
| Mains (100-260 V) | Mains (120-240 V) | |
| No | No | |
| Integrations | ||
| Yes | NoCatalog noteAlexa has no energy meter device type and this meter has no relay to expose as a switch, so a skill has nothing to publish | |
| No | No | |
| Yes | Not recorded | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteVia Zigbee2MQTT, exposed as TS0601 _TZE204_ugekduaj | |
| No | No | |
YesCatalog noteVia the official Shelly Cloud integration | No | |
| Local Control | ||
YesCatalog noteRPC over HTTPS and WebSocket, UDP, webhooks, scripting and Modbus TCP | No | |
| Yes | No | |
| Yes | NoCatalog noteNo native MQTT, though Zigbee2MQTT republishes the readings | |
| Metering | ||
±1%Catalog noteAccuracy Class B for active energy, ±1% from 5 A to 50 A | ±1% | |
YesCatalog note4 quadrant measurement with a returned energy counter | YesManufacturer sourceBidirectional energy measurement is supported. Zemismart SDM01 manufacturer product page →
Applies to the SDM01-TZ0-12-ZM variant named in the source. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteConsumed and produced energy reported per phase | |
| Not applicable / unspecified | Not applicable / unspecified | |
2Catalog note2 x 50 A current transformers | 3Catalog note3 x 120 A split-core current transformers | |
| 50 A | 120 AManufacturer sourceThe stated maximum measurement current is 120 A. Zemismart SDM01 manufacturer product page →
Applies to the SDM01-TZ0-12-ZM variant named in the source. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | |
| 2 | 3Manufacturer sourceThree current-transformer channels are specified. Zemismart SDM01 manufacturer product page →
Applies to the SDM01-TZ0-12-ZM variant named in the source. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteThree phases, or three single-phase circuits | |
YesCatalog noteActive and apparent power, power factor, frequency and voltage | YesCatalog noteVoltage, current, power, power factor and frequency per phase | |
NoCatalog noteSingle-phase device with two current channels | Not recorded | |
| No | YesManufacturer sourceThree-phase measurement is supported. Zemismart SDM01 manufacturer product page →
Applies to the SDM01-TZ0-12-ZM variant named in the source. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | |
Know what’s behind the comparison.
The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.
Read our comparison methodology