
The Smart Device Compare comparison
Aeotec Smart Home Hub vs Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.
Build another comparison →Before you compare every specification
Key differences between Aeotec Smart Home Hub and Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
A summary of selected recorded differences between these hubs. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.
- 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi (connectivity): Aeotec Smart Home Hub — Yes; Lutron Caseta Smart Hub — No (The smart hub has no Wi-Fi radio: it connects to a LAN port on the router with the included Ethernet cable.).
- Apple Home (integrations): Aeotec Smart Home Hub — No; Lutron Caseta Smart Hub — Yes (The smart hub contains Apple Home technology, so Siri can control the lights and shades it hosts.).
- Third Party Devices (protocols): Aeotec Smart Home Hub — Yes (Works as a SmartThings hub that pairs Zigbee and Z-Wave devices from many brands (up to 100 each) and certified third-party Matter devices; the Thread border router adds to this.); Lutron Caseta Smart Hub — No (Pairs only Lutron Clear Connect devices (Caseta dimmers and switches, Pico remotes, Serena shades); other brands connect through cloud or app integrations, never to its radio.).
- Thread border router (protocols): Aeotec Smart Home Hub — Yes; Lutron Caseta Smart Hub — No.
- Subdevices (features): Aeotec Smart Home Hub — 100; Lutron Caseta Smart Hub — 75 (Supports up to 75 wireless devices (Caseta dimmers, plug-in dimmers and switches, Pico remotes, wireless shades); the hub itself counts as one of them.).
- 4 of 31 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
- Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.
These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.
Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.


What the catalog tells us
Understand the tradeoffs.
These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.
Consider your setup
Apple Home
- Aeotec Smart Home HubNo
- Lutron Caseta Smart HubYes
Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.
Inspect the specificationsYour priorities, side by side
Focus on what changes.
Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.
Showing 31 of 31 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.
Connectivity
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Wireless connection uses 2.4 GHz with WPA2.
Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →- Source section
- WiFi Bands supported
- Model
- GP-AEOHUBV3EU/UK/AN/US
- Region
- EU/UK, Australia and US variants named by Aeotec
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
- No
Catalog note
The smart hub has no Wi-Fi radio: it connects to a LAN port on the router with the included Ethernet cable.
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- No
Manufacturer source
Aeotec specifies 2.4 GHz only, excluding 5 GHz.
Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →- Source section
- WiFi Bands supported
- Model
- GP-AEOHUBV3EU/UK/AN/US
- Region
- EU/UK, Australia and US variants named by Aeotec
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
- No
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- Yes
Manufacturer source
An Ethernet connection is included.
Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →- Source section
- Ethernet Port
- Model
- GP-AEOHUBV3EU/UK/AN/US
- Region
- EU/UK, Australia and US variants named by Aeotec
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
- Yes
Catalog note
Ethernet: 3 ft (0.92 m) cable included (for internet and Lutron App connection).
Features
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- No
- Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
- No
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- No
- Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
- No
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- No
- Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
- No
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- 100
- Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
- 75
Catalog note
Supports up to 75 wireless devices (Caseta dimmers, plug-in dimmers and switches, Pico remotes, wireless shades); the hub itself counts as one of them.
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- No
- Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
- No
Hardware
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- 528MHz ARM Cortex-A7
Manufacturer source
Processor specification: 528 MHz ARM Cortex-A7.
Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →- Source section
- CPU
- Model
- GP-AEOHUBV3EU/UK/AN/US
- Region
- EU/UK, Australia and US variants named by Aeotec
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
- Not recorded
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- 256MB DDR
Manufacturer source
RAM specification: 256 MB DDR.
Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →- Source section
- Memory
- Model
- GP-AEOHUBV3EU/UK/AN/US
- Region
- EU/UK, Australia and US variants named by Aeotec
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
- Not recorded
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- No
- Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
- No
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- No
- Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
- No
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- No
- Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
- No
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- No
- Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
- No
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- Not recorded
- Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
- Not recorded
Integrations
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- Yes
- Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
- Yes
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- No
- Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
- Yes
Catalog note
The smart hub contains Apple Home technology, so Siri can control the lights and shades it hosts.
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- Yes
- Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
- Yes
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- Yes
- Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
- Yes
Catalog note
The official Home Assistant Lutron Caseta integration lists this exact hub (L-BDG2-WH) among its supported hardware.
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- Yes
- Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
- Yes
Catalog note
Lutron lists Samsung SmartThings as a Caseta partner: lights and shades are controlled from the SmartThings app.
Protocols
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- No
- Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
- No
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- No
- Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
- No
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- Not recorded
Source checked · still unconfirmed
These descriptions do not establish Matter bridging for Zigbee or Z-Wave accessories.
Aeotec Smart Home Hub product page →- Source section
- Matter and Thread feature descriptions
- Model
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub (V3 family)
- Region
- Aeotec product page; no regional restriction specified for this claim
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Unconfirmed is not a documented No.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Matter bridging is unresolved. Aeotec documents Matter device support and Thread border-router functionality, but the checked product page does not establish exposure of Zigbee or Z-Wave accessories to another Matter platform. Source: https://aeotec.com/products/aeotec-smartthings-hub/ (checked 2026-10-04).
- Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
- No
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- Yes
Catalog note
Works as a SmartThings hub that pairs Zigbee and Z-Wave devices from many brands (up to 100 each) and certified third-party Matter devices; the Thread border router adds to this.
- Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
- No
Catalog note
Pairs only Lutron Clear Connect devices (Caseta dimmers and switches, Pico remotes, Serena shades); other brands connect through cloud or app integrations, never to its radio.
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Aeotec identifies the hub as a Thread border router.
Aeotec Smart Home Hub product page →- Source section
- Thread feature description
- Model
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub (V3 family)
- Region
- Aeotec product page; no regional restriction specified for this claim
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
The source does not specify a minimum firmware version.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
- No
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Z-Wave is supported with region-specific radio frequencies.
Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →- Source section
- Supported Z-Wave Frequencies
- Model
- GP-AEOHUBV3EU/UK/AN/US
- Region
- EU/UK, Australia and US variants named by Aeotec
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
EU/UK: 868.4 MHz; Australia: 921.4 MHz; US: 908.4 MHz. Match accessories to the hub region.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
- No
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- Yes
- Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
- No
Sensors
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- No
- Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
- No
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- No
- Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
- No
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- No
- Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
- No
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- No
- Lutron Caseta Smart Hub
- No
| Specification | Aeotec Smart Home Hub | Lutron Caseta Smart Hub |
|---|---|---|
| Connectivity | ||
YesManufacturer sourceWireless connection uses 2.4 GHz with WPA2. Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | NoCatalog noteThe smart hub has no Wi-Fi radio: it connects to a LAN port on the router with the included Ethernet cable. | |
NoManufacturer sourceAeotec specifies 2.4 GHz only, excluding 5 GHz. Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | No | |
YesManufacturer sourceAn Ethernet connection is included. Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | YesCatalog noteEthernet: 3 ft (0.92 m) cable included (for internet and Lutron App connection). | |
| Features | ||
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| 100 | 75Catalog noteSupports up to 75 wireless devices (Caseta dimmers, plug-in dimmers and switches, Pico remotes, wireless shades); the hub itself counts as one of them. | |
| No | No | |
| Hardware | ||
528MHz ARM Cortex-A7Manufacturer sourceProcessor specification: 528 MHz ARM Cortex-A7. Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | Not recorded | |
256MB DDRManufacturer sourceRAM specification: 256 MB DDR. Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | Not recorded | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
| Integrations | ||
| Yes | Yes | |
| No | YesCatalog noteThe smart hub contains Apple Home technology, so Siri can control the lights and shades it hosts. | |
| Yes | Yes | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteThe official Home Assistant Lutron Caseta integration lists this exact hub (L-BDG2-WH) among its supported hardware. | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteLutron lists Samsung SmartThings as a Caseta partner: lights and shades are controlled from the SmartThings app. | |
| Protocols | ||
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
Not recordedSource checked · still unconfirmedThese descriptions do not establish Matter bridging for Zigbee or Z-Wave accessories. Aeotec Smart Home Hub product page →
Unconfirmed is not a documented No. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteMatter bridging is unresolved. Aeotec documents Matter device support and Thread border-router functionality, but the checked product page does not establish exposure of Zigbee or Z-Wave accessories to another Matter platform. Source: https://aeotec.com/products/aeotec-smartthings-hub/ (checked 2026-10-04). | No | |
YesCatalog noteWorks as a SmartThings hub that pairs Zigbee and Z-Wave devices from many brands (up to 100 each) and certified third-party Matter devices; the Thread border router adds to this. | NoCatalog notePairs only Lutron Clear Connect devices (Caseta dimmers and switches, Pico remotes, Serena shades); other brands connect through cloud or app integrations, never to its radio. | |
YesManufacturer sourceAeotec identifies the hub as a Thread border router. Aeotec Smart Home Hub product page →
The source does not specify a minimum firmware version. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | No | |
YesManufacturer sourceZ-Wave is supported with region-specific radio frequencies. Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →
EU/UK: 868.4 MHz; Australia: 921.4 MHz; US: 908.4 MHz. Match accessories to the hub region. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | No | |
| Yes | No | |
| Sensors | ||
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
Know what’s behind the comparison.
The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.
Read our comparison methodology