The Smart Device Compare comparison

Aeotec Smart Home Hub vs X-Sense SBS50 Base Station

Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.

Build another comparison →

Before you compare every specification

Key differences between Aeotec Smart Home Hub and X-Sense SBS50 Base Station

A summary of selected recorded differences between these hubs. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.

Feature differences among your selected devices
  • Ethernet (connectivity): Aeotec Smart Home Hub — Yes; X-Sense SBS50 Base Station — No (Wi-Fi is the only uplink; the specifications list no wired network port).
  • Speakers (hardware): Aeotec Smart Home Hub — No; X-Sense SBS50 Base Station — Yes (Built-in sounder rated at 100 dB, adjustable, that sounds together with every connected alarm).
  • Google Home (integrations): Aeotec Smart Home Hub — Yes; X-Sense SBS50 Base Station — No (X-Sense advertises Alexa as the only voice platform for its base station line and claims no Google support on the product page or the collection listings).
  • SmartThings (integrations): Aeotec Smart Home Hub — Yes; X-Sense SBS50 Base Station — No (X-Sense claims no SmartThings support for this model, and the SBS50 is not Matter certified so the automatic Works with SmartThings grant does not apply).
Specifications to check side by side
  • Subdevices (features): Aeotec Smart Home Hub — 100; X-Sense SBS50 Base Station — 50 (X-Sense states one SBS50 manages up to 50 devices, with a cap of 10 STH51 thermo-hygrometers among them).
Information still to confirm
  • 4 of 31 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
  • Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.

These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.

Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.

What the catalog tells us

Understand the tradeoffs.

These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.

9differences with recorded values for every device
4rows with missing or unspecified information

Your priorities, side by side

Focus on what changes.

Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.

Showing 31 of 31 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.

Connectivity

Aeotec Smart Home Hub
Yes
Manufacturer source

Wireless connection uses 2.4 GHz with WPA2.

Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →
Source section
WiFi Bands supported
Model
GP-AEOHUBV3EU/UK/AN/US
Region
EU/UK, Australia and US variants named by Aeotec
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
Yes
Catalog note

Official specifications list a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi frequency and IEEE 802.11b/g/n as the wireless protocol

Aeotec Smart Home Hub
No
Manufacturer source

Aeotec specifies 2.4 GHz only, excluding 5 GHz.

Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →
Source section
WiFi Bands supported
Model
GP-AEOHUBV3EU/UK/AN/US
Region
EU/UK, Australia and US variants named by Aeotec
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

X-Sense states the base station is compatible with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only and is not compatible with a 5 GHz network

Aeotec Smart Home Hub
Yes
Manufacturer source

An Ethernet connection is included.

Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →
Source section
Ethernet Port
Model
GP-AEOHUBV3EU/UK/AN/US
Region
EU/UK, Australia and US variants named by Aeotec
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

Wi-Fi is the only uplink; the specifications list no wired network port

Features

Aeotec Smart Home Hub
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Aeotec Smart Home Hub
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Aeotec Smart Home Hub
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Aeotec Smart Home Hub
100
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
50
Catalog note

X-Sense states one SBS50 manages up to 50 devices, with a cap of 10 STH51 thermo-hygrometers among them

Aeotec Smart Home Hub
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No

Hardware

Aeotec Smart Home Hub
528MHz ARM Cortex-A7
Manufacturer source

Processor specification: 528 MHz ARM Cortex-A7.

Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →
Source section
CPU
Model
GP-AEOHUBV3EU/UK/AN/US
Region
EU/UK, Australia and US variants named by Aeotec
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
Not recorded
Aeotec Smart Home Hub
256MB DDR
Manufacturer source

RAM specification: 256 MB DDR.

Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →
Source section
Memory
Model
GP-AEOHUBV3EU/UK/AN/US
Region
EU/UK, Australia and US variants named by Aeotec
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
Not recorded
Aeotec Smart Home Hub
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

No microphone or voice feature is listed in the official specifications; the unit only signals with its LED and its sounder

Aeotec Smart Home Hub
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

The base station relays alarms to the X-Sense cloud and has no card slot or local storage of any kind

Aeotec Smart Home Hub
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

Powered by its bundled adapter (input 100-240 V AC 50/60 Hz, output 5.0 V 1.0 A) and has no Ethernet port at all

Aeotec Smart Home Hub
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
Yes
Catalog note

Built-in sounder rated at 100 dB, adjustable, that sounds together with every connected alarm

Aeotec Smart Home Hub
Not recorded
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
Not recorded

Integrations

Aeotec Smart Home Hub
Yes
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
Yes
Catalog note

X-Sense tags its base-station devices as Alexa Compatible, and the Amazon listings for the SBS50 accessories (the SKP0A keypad, the SDS0A door sensor and the SMS0A motion sensor) state Compatible with Alexa, Requires SBS50 Base Station, so the base station is the Alexa bridge for the system

Aeotec Smart Home Hub
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

X-Sense claims no HomeKit support for this model, and the SBS50 is not Matter certified so it has no Matter path into Apple Home either

Aeotec Smart Home Hub
Yes
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

X-Sense advertises Alexa as the only voice platform for its base station line and claims no Google support on the product page or the collection listings

Aeotec Smart Home Hub
Yes
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
Yes
Catalog note

X-Sense states that its Home Assistant compatibility runs through the SBS50 base station ecosystem, and the python-xsense library behind the community HACS integration maps SBS50 explicitly as a base station entity

Aeotec Smart Home Hub
Yes
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

X-Sense claims no SmartThings support for this model, and the SBS50 is not Matter certified so the automatic Works with SmartThings grant does not apply

Protocols

Aeotec Smart Home Hub
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

The specifications enumerate the radios as IEEE 802.11b/g/n Wi-Fi plus the 915 MHz (US) and 868 MHz (EU) sub-GHz link to the alarms, with no Bluetooth

Aeotec Smart Home Hub
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Aeotec Smart Home Hub
Not recorded
Source checked · still unconfirmed

These descriptions do not establish Matter bridging for Zigbee or Z-Wave accessories.

Aeotec Smart Home Hub product page →
Source section
Matter and Thread feature descriptions
Model
Aeotec Smart Home Hub (V3 family)
Region
Aeotec product page; no regional restriction specified for this claim
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Unconfirmed is not a documented No.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Matter bridging is unresolved. Aeotec documents Matter device support and Thread border-router functionality, but the checked product page does not establish exposure of Zigbee or Z-Wave accessories to another Matter platform. Source: https://aeotec.com/products/aeotec-smartthings-hub/ (checked 2026-10-04).

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

The CSA certified-products database lists only the separate SBS0A Matter base station for X-Sense; the SBS50 has no Matter certification and exposes its sub-devices through the X-Sense app instead

Aeotec Smart Home Hub
Yes
Catalog note

Works as a SmartThings hub that pairs Zigbee and Z-Wave devices from many brands (up to 100 each) and certified third-party Matter devices; the Thread border router adds to this.

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

Links only X-Sense alarms and sensors (smoke, CO, combo, water leak, thermo-hygrometer) over its own 915/868 MHz radio, up to 50 devices; no other brands.

Aeotec Smart Home Hub
Yes
Manufacturer source

Aeotec identifies the hub as a Thread border router.

Aeotec Smart Home Hub product page →
Source section
Thread feature description
Model
Aeotec Smart Home Hub (V3 family)
Region
Aeotec product page; no regional restriction specified for this claim
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

The source does not specify a minimum firmware version.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Aeotec Smart Home Hub
Yes
Manufacturer source

Z-Wave is supported with region-specific radio frequencies.

Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →
Source section
Supported Z-Wave Frequencies
Model
GP-AEOHUBV3EU/UK/AN/US
Region
EU/UK, Australia and US variants named by Aeotec
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

EU/UK: 868.4 MHz; Australia: 921.4 MHz; US: 908.4 MHz. Match accessories to the hub region.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Aeotec Smart Home Hub
Yes
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

Sub-devices join over X-Sense's own Link+ Pro radio at 915 MHz (US) or 868 MHz (EU), not Zigbee

Sensors

Aeotec Smart Home Hub
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

Humidity comes from the paired thermo-hygrometers; the 0-85% RH figure is the base station's operating range

Aeotec Smart Home Hub
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

The three-colour LED is an indicator, not an ambient light sensor

Aeotec Smart Home Hub
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

Motion is detected by the separate SMS0A sensor, which reports through the base station

Aeotec Smart Home Hub
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

The base station reads temperature only from the STH51 and STH0A thermo-hygrometers paired to it; the 4.4-37.8 C figure in its specifications is its own operating range, not a reading it takes

Specifications for Aeotec Smart Home Hub versus X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
SpecificationAeotec Smart Home HubX-Sense SBS50 Base Station
Connectivity
Yes
Manufacturer source

Wireless connection uses 2.4 GHz with WPA2.

Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →
Source section
WiFi Bands supported
Model
GP-AEOHUBV3EU/UK/AN/US
Region
EU/UK, Australia and US variants named by Aeotec
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Yes
Catalog note

Official specifications list a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi frequency and IEEE 802.11b/g/n as the wireless protocol

No
Manufacturer source

Aeotec specifies 2.4 GHz only, excluding 5 GHz.

Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →
Source section
WiFi Bands supported
Model
GP-AEOHUBV3EU/UK/AN/US
Region
EU/UK, Australia and US variants named by Aeotec
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

No
Catalog note

X-Sense states the base station is compatible with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only and is not compatible with a 5 GHz network

Yes
Manufacturer source

An Ethernet connection is included.

Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →
Source section
Ethernet Port
Model
GP-AEOHUBV3EU/UK/AN/US
Region
EU/UK, Australia and US variants named by Aeotec
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

No
Catalog note

Wi-Fi is the only uplink; the specifications list no wired network port

Features
NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
10050
Catalog note

X-Sense states one SBS50 manages up to 50 devices, with a cap of 10 STH51 thermo-hygrometers among them

NoNo
Hardware
528MHz ARM Cortex-A7
Manufacturer source

Processor specification: 528 MHz ARM Cortex-A7.

Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →
Source section
CPU
Model
GP-AEOHUBV3EU/UK/AN/US
Region
EU/UK, Australia and US variants named by Aeotec
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Not recorded
256MB DDR
Manufacturer source

RAM specification: 256 MB DDR.

Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →
Source section
Memory
Model
GP-AEOHUBV3EU/UK/AN/US
Region
EU/UK, Australia and US variants named by Aeotec
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Not recorded
NoNo
Catalog note

No microphone or voice feature is listed in the official specifications; the unit only signals with its LED and its sounder

NoNo
Catalog note

The base station relays alarms to the X-Sense cloud and has no card slot or local storage of any kind

NoNo
Catalog note

Powered by its bundled adapter (input 100-240 V AC 50/60 Hz, output 5.0 V 1.0 A) and has no Ethernet port at all

NoYes
Catalog note

Built-in sounder rated at 100 dB, adjustable, that sounds together with every connected alarm

Not recordedNot recorded
Integrations
YesYes
Catalog note

X-Sense tags its base-station devices as Alexa Compatible, and the Amazon listings for the SBS50 accessories (the SKP0A keypad, the SDS0A door sensor and the SMS0A motion sensor) state Compatible with Alexa, Requires SBS50 Base Station, so the base station is the Alexa bridge for the system

NoNo
Catalog note

X-Sense claims no HomeKit support for this model, and the SBS50 is not Matter certified so it has no Matter path into Apple Home either

YesNo
Catalog note

X-Sense advertises Alexa as the only voice platform for its base station line and claims no Google support on the product page or the collection listings

YesYes
Catalog note

X-Sense states that its Home Assistant compatibility runs through the SBS50 base station ecosystem, and the python-xsense library behind the community HACS integration maps SBS50 explicitly as a base station entity

YesNo
Catalog note

X-Sense claims no SmartThings support for this model, and the SBS50 is not Matter certified so the automatic Works with SmartThings grant does not apply

Protocols
NoNo
Catalog note

The specifications enumerate the radios as IEEE 802.11b/g/n Wi-Fi plus the 915 MHz (US) and 868 MHz (EU) sub-GHz link to the alarms, with no Bluetooth

NoNo
Not recorded
Source checked · still unconfirmed

These descriptions do not establish Matter bridging for Zigbee or Z-Wave accessories.

Aeotec Smart Home Hub product page →
Source section
Matter and Thread feature descriptions
Model
Aeotec Smart Home Hub (V3 family)
Region
Aeotec product page; no regional restriction specified for this claim
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Unconfirmed is not a documented No.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Matter bridging is unresolved. Aeotec documents Matter device support and Thread border-router functionality, but the checked product page does not establish exposure of Zigbee or Z-Wave accessories to another Matter platform. Source: https://aeotec.com/products/aeotec-smartthings-hub/ (checked 2026-10-04).

No
Catalog note

The CSA certified-products database lists only the separate SBS0A Matter base station for X-Sense; the SBS50 has no Matter certification and exposes its sub-devices through the X-Sense app instead

Yes
Catalog note

Works as a SmartThings hub that pairs Zigbee and Z-Wave devices from many brands (up to 100 each) and certified third-party Matter devices; the Thread border router adds to this.

No
Catalog note

Links only X-Sense alarms and sensors (smoke, CO, combo, water leak, thermo-hygrometer) over its own 915/868 MHz radio, up to 50 devices; no other brands.

Yes
Manufacturer source

Aeotec identifies the hub as a Thread border router.

Aeotec Smart Home Hub product page →
Source section
Thread feature description
Model
Aeotec Smart Home Hub (V3 family)
Region
Aeotec product page; no regional restriction specified for this claim
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

The source does not specify a minimum firmware version.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

No
Yes
Manufacturer source

Z-Wave is supported with region-specific radio frequencies.

Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →
Source section
Supported Z-Wave Frequencies
Model
GP-AEOHUBV3EU/UK/AN/US
Region
EU/UK, Australia and US variants named by Aeotec
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

EU/UK: 868.4 MHz; Australia: 921.4 MHz; US: 908.4 MHz. Match accessories to the hub region.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

No
YesNo
Catalog note

Sub-devices join over X-Sense's own Link+ Pro radio at 915 MHz (US) or 868 MHz (EU), not Zigbee

Sensors
NoNo
Catalog note

Humidity comes from the paired thermo-hygrometers; the 0-85% RH figure is the base station's operating range

NoNo
Catalog note

The three-colour LED is an indicator, not an ambient light sensor

NoNo
Catalog note

Motion is detected by the separate SMS0A sensor, which reports through the base station

NoNo
Catalog note

The base station reads temperature only from the STH51 and STH0A thermo-hygrometers paired to it; the 4.4-37.8 C figure in its specifications is its own operating range, not a reading it takes

Know what’s behind the comparison.

The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.

Read our comparison methodology