
The Smart Device Compare comparison
Aeotec Smart Home Hub vs YoLink Hub
Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.
Build another comparison →Before you compare every specification
Key differences between Aeotec Smart Home Hub and YoLink Hub
A summary of selected recorded differences between these hubs. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.
- SmartThings (integrations): Aeotec Smart Home Hub — Yes; YoLink Hub — No (SmartThings is not on YoLink's compatibility list for this Hub, and the YS1603 is not a Matter device).
- Third Party Devices (protocols): Aeotec Smart Home Hub — Yes (Works as a SmartThings hub that pairs Zigbee and Z-Wave devices from many brands (up to 100 each) and certified third-party Matter devices; the Thread border router adds to this.); YoLink Hub — No (Hosts only YoLink LoRa devices; other brands reach YoLink only through cloud integrations (Alexa, Google, IFTTT, Home Assistant), never by pairing to the hub.).
- Thread border router (protocols): Aeotec Smart Home Hub — Yes; YoLink Hub — No.
- Z Wave (protocols): Aeotec Smart Home Hub — Yes; YoLink Hub — No.
- Subdevices (features): Aeotec Smart Home Hub — 100; YoLink Hub — 180 (YoLink support states there is no hard limit and that a single Hub carried 180 devices without issues in testing, recommending a second Hub between 100 and 200 devices).
- Cpu (hardware): Aeotec Smart Home Hub — 528MHz ARM Cortex-A7; YoLink Hub — 32-bit RISC (Semtech LoRa YL09 module) (The official technical specs list a Semtech LoRa RF Module YL09 microcontroller with a 32-bit RISC processor).
- 3 of 31 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
- Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.
These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.
Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.


What the catalog tells us
Understand the tradeoffs.
These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.
Your priorities, side by side
Focus on what changes.
Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.
Showing 31 of 31 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.
Connectivity
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Wireless connection uses 2.4 GHz with WPA2.
Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →- Source section
- WiFi Bands supported
- Model
- GP-AEOHUBV3EU/UK/AN/US
- Region
- EU/UK, Australia and US variants named by Aeotec
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- YoLink Hub
- Yes
Catalog note
Wi-Fi frequency 2412 to 2462 MHz, and the requirements list a router with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- No
Manufacturer source
Aeotec specifies 2.4 GHz only, excluding 5 GHz.
Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →- Source section
- WiFi Bands supported
- Model
- GP-AEOHUBV3EU/UK/AN/US
- Region
- EU/UK, Australia and US variants named by Aeotec
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- YoLink Hub
- No
Catalog note
YoLink support states the Hub does not support the 5 GHz Wi-Fi band
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- Yes
Manufacturer source
An Ethernet connection is included.
Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →- Source section
- Ethernet Port
- Model
- GP-AEOHUBV3EU/UK/AN/US
- Region
- EU/UK, Australia and US variants named by Aeotec
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- YoLink Hub
- Yes
Catalog note
RJ45 network connector on the rear, with an Ethernet patch cable in the box
Features
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- No
- YoLink Hub
- No
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- No
- YoLink Hub
- No
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- No
- YoLink Hub
- No
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- 100
- YoLink Hub
- 180
Catalog note
YoLink support states there is no hard limit and that a single Hub carried 180 devices without issues in testing, recommending a second Hub between 100 and 200 devices
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- No
- YoLink Hub
- No
Hardware
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- 528MHz ARM Cortex-A7
Manufacturer source
Processor specification: 528 MHz ARM Cortex-A7.
Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →- Source section
- CPU
- Model
- GP-AEOHUBV3EU/UK/AN/US
- Region
- EU/UK, Australia and US variants named by Aeotec
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- YoLink Hub
- 32-bit RISC (Semtech LoRa YL09 module)
Catalog note
The official technical specs list a Semtech LoRa RF Module YL09 microcontroller with a 32-bit RISC processor
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- 256MB DDR
Manufacturer source
RAM specification: 256 MB DDR.
Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →- Source section
- Memory
- Model
- GP-AEOHUBV3EU/UK/AN/US
- Region
- EU/UK, Australia and US variants named by Aeotec
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- YoLink Hub
- Not recorded
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- No
- YoLink Hub
- No
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- No
- YoLink Hub
- No
Catalog note
The only connectors are the rear RJ45 network port and the Micro-USB B power input
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- No
- YoLink Hub
- No
Catalog note
YoLink support states the current version of the Hub has no built-in PoE functionality, and suggests a PoE splitter with a MicroUSB connector as a workaround
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- No
- YoLink Hub
- No
Catalog note
The datasheet lists only status LEDs; audible alerts are the job of the separate YoLink SpeakerHub
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- Not recorded
- YoLink Hub
- Not recorded
Integrations
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- Yes
- YoLink Hub
- Yes
Catalog note
The official product page lists Alexa among the compatible platforms
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- No
- YoLink Hub
- No
Catalog note
YoLink's compatibility list for this Hub is Alexa, Google, IFTTT, Home Assistant and Raedius, with no Apple Home path; the Matter route belongs to the separate Local Hub (YS1606)
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- Yes
- YoLink Hub
- Yes
Catalog note
YoLink support confirms the Hub can be integrated with Google Home, where the paired YoLink devices show up rather than the Hub itself
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- Yes
- YoLink Hub
- Yes
Catalog note
Home Assistant ships an official YoLink integration that is set up by adding the YoLink hub to the instance, and the product page lists Home Assistant among the compatible platforms
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- Yes
- YoLink Hub
- No
Catalog note
SmartThings is not on YoLink's compatibility list for this Hub, and the YS1603 is not a Matter device
Protocols
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- No
- YoLink Hub
- No
Catalog note
The technical specs list only two radios, LoRa at 923.3 MHz and Wi-Fi at 2412 to 2462 MHz
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- No
- YoLink Hub
- No
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- Not recorded
Source checked · still unconfirmed
These descriptions do not establish Matter bridging for Zigbee or Z-Wave accessories.
Aeotec Smart Home Hub product page →- Source section
- Matter and Thread feature descriptions
- Model
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub (V3 family)
- Region
- Aeotec product page; no regional restriction specified for this claim
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Unconfirmed is not a documented No.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Matter bridging is unresolved. Aeotec documents Matter device support and Thread border-router functionality, but the checked product page does not establish exposure of Zigbee or Z-Wave accessories to another Matter platform. Source: https://aeotec.com/products/aeotec-smartthings-hub/ (checked 2026-10-04).
- YoLink Hub
- No
Catalog note
Matter and a local API arrived with the separate YoLink Local Hub (YS1606); YoLink support states the YS1603 does not support local networks
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- Yes
Catalog note
Works as a SmartThings hub that pairs Zigbee and Z-Wave devices from many brands (up to 100 each) and certified third-party Matter devices; the Thread border router adds to this.
- YoLink Hub
- No
Catalog note
Hosts only YoLink LoRa devices; other brands reach YoLink only through cloud integrations (Alexa, Google, IFTTT, Home Assistant), never by pairing to the hub.
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Aeotec identifies the hub as a Thread border router.
Aeotec Smart Home Hub product page →- Source section
- Thread feature description
- Model
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub (V3 family)
- Region
- Aeotec product page; no regional restriction specified for this claim
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
The source does not specify a minimum firmware version.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- YoLink Hub
- No
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Z-Wave is supported with region-specific radio frequencies.
Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →- Source section
- Supported Z-Wave Frequencies
- Model
- GP-AEOHUBV3EU/UK/AN/US
- Region
- EU/UK, Australia and US variants named by Aeotec
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
EU/UK: 868.4 MHz; Australia: 921.4 MHz; US: 908.4 MHz. Match accessories to the hub region.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- YoLink Hub
- No
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- Yes
- YoLink Hub
- No
Catalog note
The Hub hosts YoLink's own LoRa network at 923.3 MHz, not a Zigbee mesh
Sensors
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- No
- YoLink Hub
- No
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- No
- YoLink Hub
- No
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- No
- YoLink Hub
- No
- Aeotec Smart Home Hub
- No
- YoLink Hub
- No
| Specification | Aeotec Smart Home Hub | YoLink Hub |
|---|---|---|
| Connectivity | ||
YesManufacturer sourceWireless connection uses 2.4 GHz with WPA2. Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | YesCatalog noteWi-Fi frequency 2412 to 2462 MHz, and the requirements list a router with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | |
NoManufacturer sourceAeotec specifies 2.4 GHz only, excluding 5 GHz. Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | NoCatalog noteYoLink support states the Hub does not support the 5 GHz Wi-Fi band | |
YesManufacturer sourceAn Ethernet connection is included. Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | YesCatalog noteRJ45 network connector on the rear, with an Ethernet patch cable in the box | |
| Features | ||
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| 100 | 180Catalog noteYoLink support states there is no hard limit and that a single Hub carried 180 devices without issues in testing, recommending a second Hub between 100 and 200 devices | |
| No | No | |
| Hardware | ||
528MHz ARM Cortex-A7Manufacturer sourceProcessor specification: 528 MHz ARM Cortex-A7. Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | 32-bit RISC (Semtech LoRa YL09 module)Catalog noteThe official technical specs list a Semtech LoRa RF Module YL09 microcontroller with a 32-bit RISC processor | |
256MB DDRManufacturer sourceRAM specification: 256 MB DDR. Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | Not recorded | |
| No | No | |
| No | NoCatalog noteThe only connectors are the rear RJ45 network port and the Micro-USB B power input | |
| No | NoCatalog noteYoLink support states the current version of the Hub has no built-in PoE functionality, and suggests a PoE splitter with a MicroUSB connector as a workaround | |
| No | NoCatalog noteThe datasheet lists only status LEDs; audible alerts are the job of the separate YoLink SpeakerHub | |
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
| Integrations | ||
| Yes | YesCatalog noteThe official product page lists Alexa among the compatible platforms | |
| No | NoCatalog noteYoLink's compatibility list for this Hub is Alexa, Google, IFTTT, Home Assistant and Raedius, with no Apple Home path; the Matter route belongs to the separate Local Hub (YS1606) | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteYoLink support confirms the Hub can be integrated with Google Home, where the paired YoLink devices show up rather than the Hub itself | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteHome Assistant ships an official YoLink integration that is set up by adding the YoLink hub to the instance, and the product page lists Home Assistant among the compatible platforms | |
| Yes | NoCatalog noteSmartThings is not on YoLink's compatibility list for this Hub, and the YS1603 is not a Matter device | |
| Protocols | ||
| No | NoCatalog noteThe technical specs list only two radios, LoRa at 923.3 MHz and Wi-Fi at 2412 to 2462 MHz | |
| No | No | |
Not recordedSource checked · still unconfirmedThese descriptions do not establish Matter bridging for Zigbee or Z-Wave accessories. Aeotec Smart Home Hub product page →
Unconfirmed is not a documented No. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteMatter bridging is unresolved. Aeotec documents Matter device support and Thread border-router functionality, but the checked product page does not establish exposure of Zigbee or Z-Wave accessories to another Matter platform. Source: https://aeotec.com/products/aeotec-smartthings-hub/ (checked 2026-10-04). | NoCatalog noteMatter and a local API arrived with the separate YoLink Local Hub (YS1606); YoLink support states the YS1603 does not support local networks | |
YesCatalog noteWorks as a SmartThings hub that pairs Zigbee and Z-Wave devices from many brands (up to 100 each) and certified third-party Matter devices; the Thread border router adds to this. | NoCatalog noteHosts only YoLink LoRa devices; other brands reach YoLink only through cloud integrations (Alexa, Google, IFTTT, Home Assistant), never by pairing to the hub. | |
YesManufacturer sourceAeotec identifies the hub as a Thread border router. Aeotec Smart Home Hub product page →
The source does not specify a minimum firmware version. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | No | |
YesManufacturer sourceZ-Wave is supported with region-specific radio frequencies. Aeotec Smart Home Hub hardware specifications →
EU/UK: 868.4 MHz; Australia: 921.4 MHz; US: 908.4 MHz. Match accessories to the hub region. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | No | |
| Yes | NoCatalog noteThe Hub hosts YoLink's own LoRa network at 923.3 MHz, not a Zigbee mesh | |
| Sensors | ||
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
Know what’s behind the comparison.
The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.
Read our comparison methodology