
The Smart Device Compare comparison
Aqara Hub M200 vs X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.
Build another comparison →Before you compare every specification
Key differences between Aqara Hub M200 and X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
A summary of selected recorded differences between these hubs. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.
- 5 GHz Wi-Fi (connectivity): Aqara Hub M200 — Yes; X-Sense SBS50 Base Station — No (X-Sense states the base station is compatible with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only and is not compatible with a 5 GHz network).
- Ethernet (connectivity): Aqara Hub M200 — Yes (Ethernet port that also carries Power over Ethernet); X-Sense SBS50 Base Station — No (Wi-Fi is the only uplink; the specifications list no wired network port).
- Power Over Ethernet (hardware): Aqara Hub M200 — Yes (PoE input of 48V 0.25A, or 5V 2A over USB-C); X-Sense SBS50 Base Station — No (Powered by its bundled adapter (input 100-240 V AC 50/60 Hz, output 5.0 V 1.0 A) and has no Ethernet port at all).
- Apple Home (integrations): Aqara Hub M200 — Yes; X-Sense SBS50 Base Station — No (X-Sense claims no HomeKit support for this model, and the SBS50 is not Matter certified so it has no Matter path into Apple Home either).
- Subdevices (features): Aqara Hub M200 — 80 (Up to 40 Aqara Zigbee devices plus 40 Thread devices); X-Sense SBS50 Base Station — 50 (X-Sense states one SBS50 manages up to 50 devices, with a cap of 10 STH51 thermo-hygrometers among them).
- Speakers (hardware): Aqara Hub M200 — 90dB (Used for security alerts, doorbell chimes, alarm clock and custom audio messages); X-Sense SBS50 Base Station — Yes (Built-in sounder rated at 100 dB, adjustable, that sounds together with every connected alarm).
- Third Party Devices (protocols): Aqara Hub M200 — Partially (Matter controller for third-party Matter devices across more than 50 device types in Aqara Home, while Zigbee pairing is limited to Aqara Zigbee devices (40 Zigbee plus 40 Thread).); X-Sense SBS50 Base Station — No (Links only X-Sense alarms and sensors (smoke, CO, combo, water leak, thermo-hygrometer) over its own 915/868 MHz radio, up to 50 devices; no other brands.).
- 3 of 31 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
- Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.
These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.
Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.


Option 2 · X-Sense
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
Catalog update date not recorded
View full device profileWhat the catalog tells us
Understand the tradeoffs.
These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.
Consider your setup
Apple Home
- Aqara Hub M200Yes
- X-Sense SBS50 Base StationNo
Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.
Inspect the specificationsYour priorities, side by side
Focus on what changes.
Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.
Showing 31 of 31 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.
Connectivity
- Aqara Hub M200
- Yes
Manufacturer source
The hub supports 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi 6.
Aqara Hub M200 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Aqara Hub M200
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
This evidence is specific to M200. It must not be applied to the older M2.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
- Yes
Catalog note
Official specifications list a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi frequency and IEEE 802.11b/g/n as the wireless protocol
- Aqara Hub M200
- Yes
Manufacturer source
The hub supports 5 GHz Wi-Fi 6.
Aqara Hub M200 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Aqara Hub M200
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
This evidence is specific to M200. It must not be applied to the older M2.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
- No
Catalog note
X-Sense states the base station is compatible with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only and is not compatible with a 5 GHz network
- Aqara Hub M200
- Yes
Catalog note
Ethernet port that also carries Power over Ethernet
- X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
- No
Catalog note
Wi-Fi is the only uplink; the specifications list no wired network port
Features
- Aqara Hub M200
- No
- X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
- No
- Aqara Hub M200
- No
- X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
- No
- Aqara Hub M200
- No
- X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
- No
- Aqara Hub M200
- 80
Catalog note
Up to 40 Aqara Zigbee devices plus 40 Thread devices
- X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
- 50
Catalog note
X-Sense states one SBS50 manages up to 50 devices, with a cap of 10 STH51 thermo-hygrometers among them
- Aqara Hub M200
- No
- X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
- No
Hardware
- Aqara Hub M200
- Not recorded
- X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
- Not recorded
- Aqara Hub M200
- Not recorded
- X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
- Not recorded
- Aqara Hub M200
- No
- X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
- No
Catalog note
No microphone or voice feature is listed in the official specifications; the unit only signals with its LED and its sounder
- Aqara Hub M200
- No
- X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
- No
Catalog note
The base station relays alarms to the X-Sense cloud and has no card slot or local storage of any kind
- Aqara Hub M200
- Yes
Manufacturer source
The Ethernet port supports PoE.
Aqara Hub M200 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Aqara Hub M200
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
This evidence is specific to M200. It must not be applied to the older M2.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
PoE input of 48V 0.25A, or 5V 2A over USB-C
- X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
- No
Catalog note
Powered by its bundled adapter (input 100-240 V AC 50/60 Hz, output 5.0 V 1.0 A) and has no Ethernet port at all
- Aqara Hub M200
- 90dB
Catalog note
Used for security alerts, doorbell chimes, alarm clock and custom audio messages
- X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
- Yes
Catalog note
Built-in sounder rated at 100 dB, adjustable, that sounds together with every connected alarm
- Aqara Hub M200
- Not recorded
- X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
- Not recorded
Integrations
- Aqara Hub M200
- Yes
- X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
- Yes
Catalog note
X-Sense tags its base-station devices as Alexa Compatible, and the Amazon listings for the SBS50 accessories (the SKP0A keypad, the SDS0A door sensor and the SMS0A motion sensor) state Compatible with Alexa, Requires SBS50 Base Station, so the base station is the Alexa bridge for the system
- Aqara Hub M200
- Yes
- X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
- No
Catalog note
X-Sense claims no HomeKit support for this model, and the SBS50 is not Matter certified so it has no Matter path into Apple Home either
- Aqara Hub M200
- Yes
- X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
- No
Catalog note
X-Sense advertises Alexa as the only voice platform for its base station line and claims no Google support on the product page or the collection listings
- Aqara Hub M200
- Yes
- X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
- Yes
Catalog note
X-Sense states that its Home Assistant compatibility runs through the SBS50 base station ecosystem, and the python-xsense library behind the community HACS integration maps SBS50 explicitly as a base station entity
- Aqara Hub M200
- Yes
- X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
- No
Catalog note
X-Sense claims no SmartThings support for this model, and the SBS50 is not Matter certified so the automatic Works with SmartThings grant does not apply
Protocols
- Aqara Hub M200
- Yes
- X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
- No
Catalog note
The specifications enumerate the radios as IEEE 802.11b/g/n Wi-Fi plus the 915 MHz (US) and 868 MHz (EU) sub-GHz link to the alarms, with no Bluetooth
- Aqara Hub M200
- Yes
Manufacturer source
The hub includes an infrared transmitter.
Aqara Hub M200 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Aqara Hub M200
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
This evidence is specific to M200. It must not be applied to the older M2.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
360 degree IR blaster that also detects when a traditional remote is used, so status stays in sync
- X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
- No
- Aqara Hub M200
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Supported Aqara accessories can be bridged to Matter.
Aqara Hub M200 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Aqara Hub M200
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
This evidence is specific to M200. It must not be applied to the older M2.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Matter controller and Matter bridge, exposing its Aqara Zigbee devices to third-party Matter ecosystems
- X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
- No
Catalog note
The CSA certified-products database lists only the separate SBS0A Matter base station for X-Sense; the SBS50 has no Matter certification and exposes its sub-devices through the X-Sense app instead
- Aqara Hub M200
- Partially
Catalog note
Matter controller for third-party Matter devices across more than 50 device types in Aqara Home, while Zigbee pairing is limited to Aqara Zigbee devices (40 Zigbee plus 40 Thread).
- X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
- No
Catalog note
Links only X-Sense alarms and sensors (smoke, CO, combo, water leak, thermo-hygrometer) over its own 915/868 MHz radio, up to 50 devices; no other brands.
- Aqara Hub M200
- Yes
Manufacturer source
The hub can act as a Thread border router.
Aqara Hub M200 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Aqara Hub M200
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
This evidence is specific to M200. It must not be applied to the older M2.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Thread border router for up to 40 Thread devices
- X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
- No
- Aqara Hub M200
- No
- X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
- No
- Aqara Hub M200
- Yes
Catalog note
Zigbee 3.0 coordinator for up to 40 Aqara Zigbee devices
- X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
- No
Catalog note
Sub-devices join over X-Sense's own Link+ Pro radio at 915 MHz (US) or 868 MHz (EU), not Zigbee
Sensors
- Aqara Hub M200
- No
- X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
- No
Catalog note
Humidity comes from the paired thermo-hygrometers; the 0-85% RH figure is the base station's operating range
- Aqara Hub M200
- No
- X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
- No
Catalog note
The three-colour LED is an indicator, not an ambient light sensor
- Aqara Hub M200
- No
- X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
- No
Catalog note
Motion is detected by the separate SMS0A sensor, which reports through the base station
- Aqara Hub M200
- No
- X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
- No
Catalog note
The base station reads temperature only from the STH51 and STH0A thermo-hygrometers paired to it; the 4.4-37.8 C figure in its specifications is its own operating range, not a reading it takes
| Specification | Aqara Hub M200 | X-Sense SBS50 Base Station |
|---|---|---|
| Connectivity | ||
YesManufacturer sourceThe hub supports 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi 6. Aqara Hub M200 manufacturer product page →
This evidence is specific to M200. It must not be applied to the older M2. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | YesCatalog noteOfficial specifications list a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi frequency and IEEE 802.11b/g/n as the wireless protocol | |
YesManufacturer sourceThe hub supports 5 GHz Wi-Fi 6. Aqara Hub M200 manufacturer product page →
This evidence is specific to M200. It must not be applied to the older M2. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | NoCatalog noteX-Sense states the base station is compatible with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only and is not compatible with a 5 GHz network | |
YesCatalog noteEthernet port that also carries Power over Ethernet | NoCatalog noteWi-Fi is the only uplink; the specifications list no wired network port | |
| Features | ||
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
80Catalog noteUp to 40 Aqara Zigbee devices plus 40 Thread devices | 50Catalog noteX-Sense states one SBS50 manages up to 50 devices, with a cap of 10 STH51 thermo-hygrometers among them | |
| No | No | |
| Hardware | ||
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
| No | NoCatalog noteNo microphone or voice feature is listed in the official specifications; the unit only signals with its LED and its sounder | |
| No | NoCatalog noteThe base station relays alarms to the X-Sense cloud and has no card slot or local storage of any kind | |
YesManufacturer sourceThe Ethernet port supports PoE. Aqara Hub M200 manufacturer product page →
This evidence is specific to M200. It must not be applied to the older M2. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog notePoE input of 48V 0.25A, or 5V 2A over USB-C | NoCatalog notePowered by its bundled adapter (input 100-240 V AC 50/60 Hz, output 5.0 V 1.0 A) and has no Ethernet port at all | |
90dBCatalog noteUsed for security alerts, doorbell chimes, alarm clock and custom audio messages | YesCatalog noteBuilt-in sounder rated at 100 dB, adjustable, that sounds together with every connected alarm | |
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
| Integrations | ||
| Yes | YesCatalog noteX-Sense tags its base-station devices as Alexa Compatible, and the Amazon listings for the SBS50 accessories (the SKP0A keypad, the SDS0A door sensor and the SMS0A motion sensor) state Compatible with Alexa, Requires SBS50 Base Station, so the base station is the Alexa bridge for the system | |
| Yes | NoCatalog noteX-Sense claims no HomeKit support for this model, and the SBS50 is not Matter certified so it has no Matter path into Apple Home either | |
| Yes | NoCatalog noteX-Sense advertises Alexa as the only voice platform for its base station line and claims no Google support on the product page or the collection listings | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteX-Sense states that its Home Assistant compatibility runs through the SBS50 base station ecosystem, and the python-xsense library behind the community HACS integration maps SBS50 explicitly as a base station entity | |
| Yes | NoCatalog noteX-Sense claims no SmartThings support for this model, and the SBS50 is not Matter certified so the automatic Works with SmartThings grant does not apply | |
| Protocols | ||
| Yes | NoCatalog noteThe specifications enumerate the radios as IEEE 802.11b/g/n Wi-Fi plus the 915 MHz (US) and 868 MHz (EU) sub-GHz link to the alarms, with no Bluetooth | |
YesManufacturer sourceThe hub includes an infrared transmitter. Aqara Hub M200 manufacturer product page →
This evidence is specific to M200. It must not be applied to the older M2. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog note360 degree IR blaster that also detects when a traditional remote is used, so status stays in sync | No | |
YesManufacturer sourceSupported Aqara accessories can be bridged to Matter. Aqara Hub M200 manufacturer product page →
This evidence is specific to M200. It must not be applied to the older M2. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteMatter controller and Matter bridge, exposing its Aqara Zigbee devices to third-party Matter ecosystems | NoCatalog noteThe CSA certified-products database lists only the separate SBS0A Matter base station for X-Sense; the SBS50 has no Matter certification and exposes its sub-devices through the X-Sense app instead | |
PartiallyCatalog noteMatter controller for third-party Matter devices across more than 50 device types in Aqara Home, while Zigbee pairing is limited to Aqara Zigbee devices (40 Zigbee plus 40 Thread). | NoCatalog noteLinks only X-Sense alarms and sensors (smoke, CO, combo, water leak, thermo-hygrometer) over its own 915/868 MHz radio, up to 50 devices; no other brands. | |
YesManufacturer sourceThe hub can act as a Thread border router. Aqara Hub M200 manufacturer product page →
This evidence is specific to M200. It must not be applied to the older M2. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteThread border router for up to 40 Thread devices | No | |
| No | No | |
YesCatalog noteZigbee 3.0 coordinator for up to 40 Aqara Zigbee devices | NoCatalog noteSub-devices join over X-Sense's own Link+ Pro radio at 915 MHz (US) or 868 MHz (EU), not Zigbee | |
| Sensors | ||
| No | NoCatalog noteHumidity comes from the paired thermo-hygrometers; the 0-85% RH figure is the base station's operating range | |
| No | NoCatalog noteThe three-colour LED is an indicator, not an ambient light sensor | |
| No | NoCatalog noteMotion is detected by the separate SMS0A sensor, which reports through the base station | |
| No | NoCatalog noteThe base station reads temperature only from the STH51 and STH0A thermo-hygrometers paired to it; the 4.4-37.8 C figure in its specifications is its own operating range, not a reading it takes | |
Know what’s behind the comparison.
The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.
Read our comparison methodology