The Smart Device Compare comparison

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra vs X-Sense SBS50 Base Station

Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.

Build another comparison →

Before you compare every specification

Key differences between Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra and X-Sense SBS50 Base Station

A summary of selected recorded differences between these hubs. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.

Feature differences among your selected devices
  • Ethernet (connectivity): Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra — Yes; X-Sense SBS50 Base Station — No (Wi-Fi is the only uplink; the specifications list no wired network port).
  • Apple Home (integrations): Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra — Yes; X-Sense SBS50 Base Station — No (X-Sense claims no HomeKit support for this model, and the SBS50 is not Matter certified so it has no Matter path into Apple Home either).
  • Google Home (integrations): Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra — Yes; X-Sense SBS50 Base Station — No (X-Sense advertises Alexa as the only voice platform for its base station line and claims no Google support on the product page or the collection listings).
  • SmartThings (integrations): Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra — Yes; X-Sense SBS50 Base Station — No (X-Sense claims no SmartThings support for this model, and the SBS50 is not Matter certified so the automatic Works with SmartThings grant does not apply).
Specifications to check side by side
  • Subdevices (features): Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra — 256; X-Sense SBS50 Base Station — 50 (X-Sense states one SBS50 manages up to 50 devices, with a cap of 10 STH51 thermo-hygrometers among them).
Information still to confirm
  • 3 of 31 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
  • Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.

These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.

Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.

What the catalog tells us

Understand the tradeoffs.

These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.

8differences with recorded values for every device
3rows with missing or unspecified information

Consider your setup

Apple Home

  • Sonoff Zigbee Bridge UltraYes
  • X-Sense SBS50 Base StationNo

Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.

Inspect the specifications

Your priorities, side by side

Focus on what changes.

Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.

Showing 31 of 31 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.

Connectivity

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
Yes
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
Yes
Catalog note

Official specifications list a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi frequency and IEEE 802.11b/g/n as the wireless protocol

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

X-Sense states the base station is compatible with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only and is not compatible with a 5 GHz network

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
Yes
Manufacturer source

An RJ45 Ethernet port is included.

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

The bridge and Matter controller must share a LAN. Accessory compatibility and bridged features must be checked.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

Wi-Fi is the only uplink; the specifications list no wired network port

Features

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
256
Manufacturer source

The hub supports up to 256 compatible SONOFF Zigbee accessories.

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

The bridge and Matter controller must share a LAN. Accessory compatibility and bridged features must be checked.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
50
Catalog note

X-Sense states one SBS50 manages up to 50 devices, with a cap of 10 STH51 thermo-hygrometers among them

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No

Hardware

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
1.5GHz Dual-core
Manufacturer source

The processor has two cores running at 1.5 GHz.

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

The bridge and Matter controller must share a LAN. Accessory compatibility and bridged features must be checked.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
Not recorded
Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
1GB DDR4
Manufacturer source

Memory is 1 GB DDR4.

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

The bridge and Matter controller must share a LAN. Accessory compatibility and bridged features must be checked.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
Not recorded
Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

No microphone or voice feature is listed in the official specifications; the unit only signals with its LED and its sounder

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

The base station relays alarms to the X-Sense cloud and has no card slot or local storage of any kind

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

Powered by its bundled adapter (input 100-240 V AC 50/60 Hz, output 5.0 V 1.0 A) and has no Ethernet port at all

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
Yes
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
Yes
Catalog note

Built-in sounder rated at 100 dB, adjustable, that sounds together with every connected alarm

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
8GB eMMC
Manufacturer source

Internal storage is 8 GB eMMC.

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

The bridge and Matter controller must share a LAN. Accessory compatibility and bridged features must be checked.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
Not recorded

Integrations

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
Yes
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
Yes
Catalog note

X-Sense tags its base-station devices as Alexa Compatible, and the Amazon listings for the SBS50 accessories (the SKP0A keypad, the SDS0A door sensor and the SMS0A motion sensor) state Compatible with Alexa, Requires SBS50 Base Station, so the base station is the Alexa bridge for the system

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
Yes
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

X-Sense claims no HomeKit support for this model, and the SBS50 is not Matter certified so it has no Matter path into Apple Home either

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
Yes
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

X-Sense advertises Alexa as the only voice platform for its base station line and claims no Google support on the product page or the collection listings

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
Yes
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
Yes
Catalog note

X-Sense states that its Home Assistant compatibility runs through the SBS50 base station ecosystem, and the python-xsense library behind the community HACS integration maps SBS50 explicitly as a base station entity

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
Yes
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

X-Sense claims no SmartThings support for this model, and the SBS50 is not Matter certified so the automatic Works with SmartThings grant does not apply

Protocols

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

The specifications enumerate the radios as IEEE 802.11b/g/n Wi-Fi plus the 915 MHz (US) and 868 MHz (EU) sub-GHz link to the alarms, with no Bluetooth

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
Yes
Manufacturer source

Supported devices can be exposed through Matter bridging.

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

The bridge and Matter controller must share a LAN. Accessory compatibility and bridged features must be checked.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

The CSA certified-products database lists only the separate SBS0A Matter base station for X-Sense; the SBS50 has no Matter certification and exposes its sub-devices through the X-Sense app instead

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
Yes
Catalog note

Pairs SONOFF and other brands' Zigbee 3.0 plugs, switches, sensors, lights, curtains, thermostats and valves; it is only a Matter bridge, not a Matter controller.

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

Links only X-Sense alarms and sensors (smoke, CO, combo, water leak, thermo-hygrometer) over its own 915/868 MHz radio, up to 50 devices; no other brands.

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
Yes
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

Sub-devices join over X-Sense's own Link+ Pro radio at 915 MHz (US) or 868 MHz (EU), not Zigbee

Sensors

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

Humidity comes from the paired thermo-hygrometers; the 0-85% RH figure is the base station's operating range

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

The three-colour LED is an indicator, not an ambient light sensor

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

Motion is detected by the separate SMS0A sensor, which reports through the base station

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

The base station reads temperature only from the STH51 and STH0A thermo-hygrometers paired to it; the 4.4-37.8 C figure in its specifications is its own operating range, not a reading it takes

Specifications for Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra versus X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
SpecificationSonoff Zigbee Bridge UltraX-Sense SBS50 Base Station
Connectivity
YesYes
Catalog note

Official specifications list a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi frequency and IEEE 802.11b/g/n as the wireless protocol

NoNo
Catalog note

X-Sense states the base station is compatible with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only and is not compatible with a 5 GHz network

Yes
Manufacturer source

An RJ45 Ethernet port is included.

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

The bridge and Matter controller must share a LAN. Accessory compatibility and bridged features must be checked.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

No
Catalog note

Wi-Fi is the only uplink; the specifications list no wired network port

Features
NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
256
Manufacturer source

The hub supports up to 256 compatible SONOFF Zigbee accessories.

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

The bridge and Matter controller must share a LAN. Accessory compatibility and bridged features must be checked.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

50
Catalog note

X-Sense states one SBS50 manages up to 50 devices, with a cap of 10 STH51 thermo-hygrometers among them

NoNo
Hardware
1.5GHz Dual-core
Manufacturer source

The processor has two cores running at 1.5 GHz.

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

The bridge and Matter controller must share a LAN. Accessory compatibility and bridged features must be checked.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Not recorded
1GB DDR4
Manufacturer source

Memory is 1 GB DDR4.

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

The bridge and Matter controller must share a LAN. Accessory compatibility and bridged features must be checked.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Not recorded
NoNo
Catalog note

No microphone or voice feature is listed in the official specifications; the unit only signals with its LED and its sounder

NoNo
Catalog note

The base station relays alarms to the X-Sense cloud and has no card slot or local storage of any kind

NoNo
Catalog note

Powered by its bundled adapter (input 100-240 V AC 50/60 Hz, output 5.0 V 1.0 A) and has no Ethernet port at all

YesYes
Catalog note

Built-in sounder rated at 100 dB, adjustable, that sounds together with every connected alarm

8GB eMMC
Manufacturer source

Internal storage is 8 GB eMMC.

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

The bridge and Matter controller must share a LAN. Accessory compatibility and bridged features must be checked.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Not recorded
Integrations
YesYes
Catalog note

X-Sense tags its base-station devices as Alexa Compatible, and the Amazon listings for the SBS50 accessories (the SKP0A keypad, the SDS0A door sensor and the SMS0A motion sensor) state Compatible with Alexa, Requires SBS50 Base Station, so the base station is the Alexa bridge for the system

YesNo
Catalog note

X-Sense claims no HomeKit support for this model, and the SBS50 is not Matter certified so it has no Matter path into Apple Home either

YesNo
Catalog note

X-Sense advertises Alexa as the only voice platform for its base station line and claims no Google support on the product page or the collection listings

YesYes
Catalog note

X-Sense states that its Home Assistant compatibility runs through the SBS50 base station ecosystem, and the python-xsense library behind the community HACS integration maps SBS50 explicitly as a base station entity

YesNo
Catalog note

X-Sense claims no SmartThings support for this model, and the SBS50 is not Matter certified so the automatic Works with SmartThings grant does not apply

Protocols
NoNo
Catalog note

The specifications enumerate the radios as IEEE 802.11b/g/n Wi-Fi plus the 915 MHz (US) and 868 MHz (EU) sub-GHz link to the alarms, with no Bluetooth

NoNo
Yes
Manufacturer source

Supported devices can be exposed through Matter bridging.

Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Sonoff Zigbee Bridge Ultra
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

The bridge and Matter controller must share a LAN. Accessory compatibility and bridged features must be checked.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

No
Catalog note

The CSA certified-products database lists only the separate SBS0A Matter base station for X-Sense; the SBS50 has no Matter certification and exposes its sub-devices through the X-Sense app instead

Yes
Catalog note

Pairs SONOFF and other brands' Zigbee 3.0 plugs, switches, sensors, lights, curtains, thermostats and valves; it is only a Matter bridge, not a Matter controller.

No
Catalog note

Links only X-Sense alarms and sensors (smoke, CO, combo, water leak, thermo-hygrometer) over its own 915/868 MHz radio, up to 50 devices; no other brands.

NoNo
NoNo
YesNo
Catalog note

Sub-devices join over X-Sense's own Link+ Pro radio at 915 MHz (US) or 868 MHz (EU), not Zigbee

Sensors
NoNo
Catalog note

Humidity comes from the paired thermo-hygrometers; the 0-85% RH figure is the base station's operating range

NoNo
Catalog note

The three-colour LED is an indicator, not an ambient light sensor

NoNo
Catalog note

Motion is detected by the separate SMS0A sensor, which reports through the base station

NoNo
Catalog note

The base station reads temperature only from the STH51 and STH0A thermo-hygrometers paired to it; the 4.4-37.8 C figure in its specifications is its own operating range, not a reading it takes

Know what’s behind the comparison.

The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.

Read our comparison methodology