The Smart Device Compare comparison

SwitchBot AI Hub vs X-Sense SBS50 Base Station

Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.

Build another comparison →

Before you compare every specification

Key differences between SwitchBot AI Hub and X-Sense SBS50 Base Station

A summary of selected recorded differences between these hubs. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.

Feature differences among your selected devices
  • 5 GHz Wi-Fi (connectivity): SwitchBot AI Hub — Yes; X-Sense SBS50 Base Station — No (X-Sense states the base station is compatible with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only and is not compatible with a 5 GHz network).
  • RTSP (features): SwitchBot AI Hub — Yes (Supports all RTSP-compatible cameras, with full Frigate compatibility and up to 8 cameras managed.); X-Sense SBS50 Base Station — No.
  • microSD card slot (hardware): SwitchBot AI Hub — Yes; X-Sense SBS50 Base Station — No (The base station relays alarms to the X-Sense cloud and has no card slot or local storage of any kind).
  • Speakers (hardware): SwitchBot AI Hub — No; X-Sense SBS50 Base Station — Yes (Built-in sounder rated at 100 dB, adjustable, that sounds together with every connected alarm).
Specifications to check side by side
  • Subdevices (features): SwitchBot AI Hub — 30; X-Sense SBS50 Base Station — 50 (X-Sense states one SBS50 manages up to 50 devices, with a cap of 10 STH51 thermo-hygrometers among them).
  • Third Party Devices (protocols): SwitchBot AI Hub — Partially (Its Bluetooth pairs only SwitchBot devices, but it officially adds other brands' RTSP cameras over the network; it has no Zigbee or Thread radio and is not a Matter controller.); X-Sense SBS50 Base Station — No (Links only X-Sense alarms and sensors (smoke, CO, combo, water leak, thermo-hygrometer) over its own 915/868 MHz radio, up to 50 devices; no other brands.).
Information still to confirm
  • 3 of 31 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
  • Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.

These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.

Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.

What the catalog tells us

Understand the tradeoffs.

These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.

11differences with recorded values for every device
3rows with missing or unspecified information

Consider your setup

microSD card slot

  • SwitchBot AI HubYes
  • X-Sense SBS50 Base StationNo

Check card capacity, whether a card is included, and which recording modes work without a paid plan.

Inspect the specifications

Consider your setup

Apple Home

  • SwitchBot AI HubYes
  • X-Sense SBS50 Base StationNo

Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.

Inspect the specifications

Your priorities, side by side

Focus on what changes.

Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.

Showing 31 of 31 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.

Connectivity

SwitchBot AI Hub
Yes
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
Yes
Catalog note

Official specifications list a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi frequency and IEEE 802.11b/g/n as the wireless protocol

SwitchBot AI Hub
Yes
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

X-Sense states the base station is compatible with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only and is not compatible with a 5 GHz network

SwitchBot AI Hub
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

Wi-Fi is the only uplink; the specifications list no wired network port

Features

SwitchBot AI Hub
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
SwitchBot AI Hub
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
SwitchBot AI Hub
Yes
Manufacturer source

The hub supports compatible RTSP cameras.

SwitchBot AI Hub manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
SwitchBot AI Hub
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

AI camera features require a connected supported camera; optional subscriptions are separate from protocol support.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Supports all RTSP-compatible cameras, with full Frigate compatibility and up to 8 cameras managed.

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
SwitchBot AI Hub
30
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
50
Catalog note

X-Sense states one SBS50 manages up to 50 devices, with a cap of 10 STH51 thermo-hygrometers among them

SwitchBot AI Hub
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No

Hardware

SwitchBot AI Hub
Not recorded
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
Not recorded
SwitchBot AI Hub
Not recorded
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
Not recorded
SwitchBot AI Hub
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

No microphone or voice feature is listed in the official specifications; the unit only signals with its LED and its sounder

SwitchBot AI Hub
Yes
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

The base station relays alarms to the X-Sense cloud and has no card slot or local storage of any kind

SwitchBot AI Hub
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

Powered by its bundled adapter (input 100-240 V AC 50/60 Hz, output 5.0 V 1.0 A) and has no Ethernet port at all

SwitchBot AI Hub
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
Yes
Catalog note

Built-in sounder rated at 100 dB, adjustable, that sounds together with every connected alarm

SwitchBot AI Hub
16GB microSD included (up to 1TB)
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
Not recorded

Integrations

SwitchBot AI Hub
Yes
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
Yes
Catalog note

X-Sense tags its base-station devices as Alexa Compatible, and the Amazon listings for the SBS50 accessories (the SKP0A keypad, the SDS0A door sensor and the SMS0A motion sensor) state Compatible with Alexa, Requires SBS50 Base Station, so the base station is the Alexa bridge for the system

SwitchBot AI Hub
Yes
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

X-Sense claims no HomeKit support for this model, and the SBS50 is not Matter certified so it has no Matter path into Apple Home either

SwitchBot AI Hub
Yes
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

X-Sense advertises Alexa as the only voice platform for its base station line and claims no Google support on the product page or the collection listings

SwitchBot AI Hub
Yes
Catalog note

Built-in Home Assistant Core container, no dongle required.

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
Yes
Catalog note

X-Sense states that its Home Assistant compatibility runs through the SBS50 base station ecosystem, and the python-xsense library behind the community HACS integration maps SBS50 explicitly as a base station entity

SwitchBot AI Hub
Yes
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

X-Sense claims no SmartThings support for this model, and the SBS50 is not Matter certified so the automatic Works with SmartThings grant does not apply

Protocols

SwitchBot AI Hub
Yes
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

The specifications enumerate the radios as IEEE 802.11b/g/n Wi-Fi plus the 915 MHz (US) and 868 MHz (EU) sub-GHz link to the alarms, with no Bluetooth

SwitchBot AI Hub
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
SwitchBot AI Hub
Yes
Catalog note

Bridges up to 30 SwitchBot sub-devices into Matter ecosystems.

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

The CSA certified-products database lists only the separate SBS0A Matter base station for X-Sense; the SBS50 has no Matter certification and exposes its sub-devices through the X-Sense app instead

SwitchBot AI Hub
Partially
Catalog note

Its Bluetooth pairs only SwitchBot devices, but it officially adds other brands' RTSP cameras over the network; it has no Zigbee or Thread radio and is not a Matter controller.

X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

Links only X-Sense alarms and sensors (smoke, CO, combo, water leak, thermo-hygrometer) over its own 915/868 MHz radio, up to 50 devices; no other brands.

SwitchBot AI Hub
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
SwitchBot AI Hub
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
SwitchBot AI Hub
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

Sub-devices join over X-Sense's own Link+ Pro radio at 915 MHz (US) or 868 MHz (EU), not Zigbee

Sensors

SwitchBot AI Hub
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

Humidity comes from the paired thermo-hygrometers; the 0-85% RH figure is the base station's operating range

SwitchBot AI Hub
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

The three-colour LED is an indicator, not an ambient light sensor

SwitchBot AI Hub
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

Motion is detected by the separate SMS0A sensor, which reports through the base station

SwitchBot AI Hub
No
X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
No
Catalog note

The base station reads temperature only from the STH51 and STH0A thermo-hygrometers paired to it; the 4.4-37.8 C figure in its specifications is its own operating range, not a reading it takes

Specifications for SwitchBot AI Hub versus X-Sense SBS50 Base Station
SpecificationSwitchBot AI HubX-Sense SBS50 Base Station
Connectivity
YesYes
Catalog note

Official specifications list a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi frequency and IEEE 802.11b/g/n as the wireless protocol

YesNo
Catalog note

X-Sense states the base station is compatible with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only and is not compatible with a 5 GHz network

NoNo
Catalog note

Wi-Fi is the only uplink; the specifications list no wired network port

Features
NoNo
NoNo
Yes
Manufacturer source

The hub supports compatible RTSP cameras.

SwitchBot AI Hub manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
SwitchBot AI Hub
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

AI camera features require a connected supported camera; optional subscriptions are separate from protocol support.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Supports all RTSP-compatible cameras, with full Frigate compatibility and up to 8 cameras managed.

No
3050
Catalog note

X-Sense states one SBS50 manages up to 50 devices, with a cap of 10 STH51 thermo-hygrometers among them

NoNo
Hardware
Not recordedNot recorded
Not recordedNot recorded
NoNo
Catalog note

No microphone or voice feature is listed in the official specifications; the unit only signals with its LED and its sounder

YesNo
Catalog note

The base station relays alarms to the X-Sense cloud and has no card slot or local storage of any kind

NoNo
Catalog note

Powered by its bundled adapter (input 100-240 V AC 50/60 Hz, output 5.0 V 1.0 A) and has no Ethernet port at all

NoYes
Catalog note

Built-in sounder rated at 100 dB, adjustable, that sounds together with every connected alarm

16GB microSD included (up to 1TB)Not recorded
Integrations
YesYes
Catalog note

X-Sense tags its base-station devices as Alexa Compatible, and the Amazon listings for the SBS50 accessories (the SKP0A keypad, the SDS0A door sensor and the SMS0A motion sensor) state Compatible with Alexa, Requires SBS50 Base Station, so the base station is the Alexa bridge for the system

YesNo
Catalog note

X-Sense claims no HomeKit support for this model, and the SBS50 is not Matter certified so it has no Matter path into Apple Home either

YesNo
Catalog note

X-Sense advertises Alexa as the only voice platform for its base station line and claims no Google support on the product page or the collection listings

Yes
Catalog note

Built-in Home Assistant Core container, no dongle required.

Yes
Catalog note

X-Sense states that its Home Assistant compatibility runs through the SBS50 base station ecosystem, and the python-xsense library behind the community HACS integration maps SBS50 explicitly as a base station entity

YesNo
Catalog note

X-Sense claims no SmartThings support for this model, and the SBS50 is not Matter certified so the automatic Works with SmartThings grant does not apply

Protocols
YesNo
Catalog note

The specifications enumerate the radios as IEEE 802.11b/g/n Wi-Fi plus the 915 MHz (US) and 868 MHz (EU) sub-GHz link to the alarms, with no Bluetooth

NoNo
Yes
Catalog note

Bridges up to 30 SwitchBot sub-devices into Matter ecosystems.

No
Catalog note

The CSA certified-products database lists only the separate SBS0A Matter base station for X-Sense; the SBS50 has no Matter certification and exposes its sub-devices through the X-Sense app instead

Partially
Catalog note

Its Bluetooth pairs only SwitchBot devices, but it officially adds other brands' RTSP cameras over the network; it has no Zigbee or Thread radio and is not a Matter controller.

No
Catalog note

Links only X-Sense alarms and sensors (smoke, CO, combo, water leak, thermo-hygrometer) over its own 915/868 MHz radio, up to 50 devices; no other brands.

NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
Catalog note

Sub-devices join over X-Sense's own Link+ Pro radio at 915 MHz (US) or 868 MHz (EU), not Zigbee

Sensors
NoNo
Catalog note

Humidity comes from the paired thermo-hygrometers; the 0-85% RH figure is the base station's operating range

NoNo
Catalog note

The three-colour LED is an indicator, not an ambient light sensor

NoNo
Catalog note

Motion is detected by the separate SMS0A sensor, which reports through the base station

NoNo
Catalog note

The base station reads temperature only from the STH51 and STH0A thermo-hygrometers paired to it; the 4.4-37.8 C figure in its specifications is its own operating range, not a reading it takes

Know what’s behind the comparison.

The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.

Read our comparison methodology