The Smart Device Compare comparison

Govee COB Strip Light 2 vs SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light

Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.

Build another comparison →

Before you compare every specification

Key differences between Govee COB Strip Light 2 and SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light

A summary of selected recorded differences between these light strips. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.

Feature differences among your selected devices
  • Screen Sync (features): Govee COB Strip Light 2 — Yes (Govee's product page offers DreamView syncing with other Govee devices, which is how a TV backlight passes screen colour onto the strip.); SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light — No.
Specifications to check side by side
  • Power Consumption (power): Govee COB Strip Light 2 — 36W; SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light — 48W.
Information still to confirm
  • 10 of 32 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
  • Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.

These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.

Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.

What the catalog tells us

Understand the tradeoffs.

These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.

2differences with recorded values for every device
10rows with missing or unspecified information

Your priorities, side by side

Focus on what changes.

Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.

Showing 32 of 32 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.

Connectivity

Govee COB Strip Light 2
Yes
SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
Yes
Catalog note

Matter over Wi-Fi, with no SwitchBot hub required.

Govee COB Strip Light 2
No
Catalog note

Govee's spec table gives the app connectivity as 2.4GHz Wi-Fi plus Bluetooth.

SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
No
Govee COB Strip Light 2
Yes
SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
Yes
Catalog note

Bluetooth range up to 100 m in open air.

Govee COB Strip Light 2
Not applicable / unspecified
SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
Not applicable / unspecified
Govee COB Strip Light 2
No
Catalog note

The CSA certificate for H1AB2 lists Wi-Fi and Bluetooth as the transport interfaces, with no Thread radio.

SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
No
Govee COB Strip Light 2
No
SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
No

Features

Govee COB Strip Light 2
Yes
Catalog note

DaySync adapts the light to the time of day and the location, alongside schedules in the Govee Home app.

SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
Yes
Catalog note

Schedules and scenes in the SwitchBot app, IFTTT, and triggers from other SwitchBot devices such as a motion sensor.

Govee COB Strip Light 2
Yes
Catalog note

Over 64 preset scene modes, plus DIY effects and the AI Lighting Bot 2.0, which turns a written prompt into a lightshow.

SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
Yes
Catalog note

26 preset scenes and 8 effects, plus custom scenes built in the app.

Govee COB Strip Light 2
Yes
Catalog note

16 music modes in the Govee Home app.

SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
Yes
Manufacturer source

Music-reactive lighting is supported.

SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
Region
US manufacturer page
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

A compatible Matter controller is required.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Microphone built into the controller, so it keeps reacting once the phone leaves the room.

Govee COB Strip Light 2
Not recorded
SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
Not recorded
Govee COB Strip Light 2
No
Catalog note

Govee gives the control methods as app, control box and voice; no handheld remote is included or sold for it.

SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
No
Catalog note

No wireless remote in the box. There is an inline wired controller on the cable for power, brightness and mode.

Govee COB Strip Light 2
Yes
Catalog note

Govee's product page offers DreamView syncing with other Govee devices, which is how a TV backlight passes screen colour onto the strip.

SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
No

Installation

Govee COB Strip Light 2
Yes
Catalog note

Acrylic adhesive backing for a peel-and-stick install, with four cable clips in the box for anywhere the tape needs help.

SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
Yes
Catalog note

Ships with clip fasteners and 3M adhesive; the clips can also be screwed to the wall.

Govee COB Strip Light 2
10 cm
SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
Not recorded
Govee COB Strip Light 2
Yes
Catalog note

Cut marks every 10 cm along the strip, so the run can be trimmed to a precise fit.

SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
Not recorded
Govee COB Strip Light 2
No
Catalog note

Govee's listing states that after cutting, the remaining part cannot be used, and advises measuring the installation length in advance. No extension or connector is offered for the H1AB series.

SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
Not recorded
Govee COB Strip Light 2
5 m
SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
Not recorded

Integrations

Govee COB Strip Light 2
Yes
SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
Yes
Govee COB Strip Light 2
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter

SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter, plus Siri Shortcuts.

Govee COB Strip Light 2
Yes
SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
Yes
Govee COB Strip Light 2
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter

SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter

Govee COB Strip Light 2
Yes
Catalog note

Matter certified as H1AB2 (certificate CSA260HJMAT50039-24), Matter 1.3 over Wi-Fi, and Govee prints the Matter badge on the box and on the product page.

SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
Yes
Manufacturer source

Matter support is specified.

SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
Region
US manufacturer page
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

A compatible Matter controller is required.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Matter certified. A Matter controller such as an Apple TV, a HomePod or a Google Nest speaker is needed to reach it from those platforms.

Govee COB Strip Light 2
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter

SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter

Light

Govee COB Strip Light 2
Not recorded
SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
Not recorded
Govee COB Strip Light 2
Yes
SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
Yes
Catalog note

Stepless dimming from the SwitchBot app.

Govee COB Strip Light 2
Yes
Catalog note

RGBIC lamp beads driven by Govee's LuminBlend+ colour processing, so different segments of the run can show different colours at once.

SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
Yes
Manufacturer source

The strip supports RGB color effects.

SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
Region
US manufacturer page
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

A compatible Matter controller is required.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

RGBIC with 16 million colours and 108 LEDs per metre, so separate stretches of the rope hold different colours at once.

Govee COB Strip Light 2
1000-10000K
SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
Not applicable / unspecified
Catalog note

SwitchBot's own comparison gives no colour temperature range for this model because it is RGBIC only.

Govee COB Strip Light 2
No
Catalog note

Govee gives the bead type as RGBIC, and its own line-up comparison marks the COB Strip Light 2 (H1AB series) as RGBIC while the Strip Light 2, the Strip Light 2 Pro and the COB Strip Light 2 Pro are RGBWWIC. The tunable white is mixed from the colour channels.

SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
No
Catalog note

SwitchBot lists this model as RGBIC, without the warm and cool white diodes its RGBICWW lights carry.

Govee COB Strip Light 2
Not recorded
SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
Not recorded

Power

Govee COB Strip Light 2
36W
SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
48W
Govee COB Strip Light 2
No
Catalog note

Runs from the bundled 24V power adapter through its control box, not from USB.

SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
No
Catalog note

Runs from its own mains adapter, 110 to 240 V AC.

Govee COB Strip Light 2
24V
SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
Not recorded
Specifications for Govee COB Strip Light 2 versus SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
SpecificationGovee COB Strip Light 2SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
Connectivity
YesYes
Catalog note

Matter over Wi-Fi, with no SwitchBot hub required.

No
Catalog note

Govee's spec table gives the app connectivity as 2.4GHz Wi-Fi plus Bluetooth.

No
YesYes
Catalog note

Bluetooth range up to 100 m in open air.

Not applicable / unspecifiedNot applicable / unspecified
No
Catalog note

The CSA certificate for H1AB2 lists Wi-Fi and Bluetooth as the transport interfaces, with no Thread radio.

No
NoNo
Features
Yes
Catalog note

DaySync adapts the light to the time of day and the location, alongside schedules in the Govee Home app.

Yes
Catalog note

Schedules and scenes in the SwitchBot app, IFTTT, and triggers from other SwitchBot devices such as a motion sensor.

Yes
Catalog note

Over 64 preset scene modes, plus DIY effects and the AI Lighting Bot 2.0, which turns a written prompt into a lightshow.

Yes
Catalog note

26 preset scenes and 8 effects, plus custom scenes built in the app.

Yes
Catalog note

16 music modes in the Govee Home app.

Yes
Manufacturer source

Music-reactive lighting is supported.

SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
Region
US manufacturer page
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

A compatible Matter controller is required.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Microphone built into the controller, so it keeps reacting once the phone leaves the room.

Not recordedNot recorded
No
Catalog note

Govee gives the control methods as app, control box and voice; no handheld remote is included or sold for it.

No
Catalog note

No wireless remote in the box. There is an inline wired controller on the cable for power, brightness and mode.

Yes
Catalog note

Govee's product page offers DreamView syncing with other Govee devices, which is how a TV backlight passes screen colour onto the strip.

No
Installation
Yes
Catalog note

Acrylic adhesive backing for a peel-and-stick install, with four cable clips in the box for anywhere the tape needs help.

Yes
Catalog note

Ships with clip fasteners and 3M adhesive; the clips can also be screwed to the wall.

10 cmNot recorded
Yes
Catalog note

Cut marks every 10 cm along the strip, so the run can be trimmed to a precise fit.

Not recorded
No
Catalog note

Govee's listing states that after cutting, the remaining part cannot be used, and advises measuring the installation length in advance. No extension or connector is offered for the H1AB series.

Not recorded
5 mNot recorded
Integrations
YesYes
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter

Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter, plus Siri Shortcuts.

YesYes
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter

Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter

Yes
Catalog note

Matter certified as H1AB2 (certificate CSA260HJMAT50039-24), Matter 1.3 over Wi-Fi, and Govee prints the Matter badge on the box and on the product page.

Yes
Manufacturer source

Matter support is specified.

SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
Region
US manufacturer page
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

A compatible Matter controller is required.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Matter certified. A Matter controller such as an Apple TV, a HomePod or a Google Nest speaker is needed to reach it from those platforms.

Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter

Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter

Light
Not recordedNot recorded
YesYes
Catalog note

Stepless dimming from the SwitchBot app.

Yes
Catalog note

RGBIC lamp beads driven by Govee's LuminBlend+ colour processing, so different segments of the run can show different colours at once.

Yes
Manufacturer source

The strip supports RGB color effects.

SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
SwitchBot RGBIC Neon Rope Light
Region
US manufacturer page
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

A compatible Matter controller is required.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

RGBIC with 16 million colours and 108 LEDs per metre, so separate stretches of the rope hold different colours at once.

1000-10000KNot applicable / unspecified
Catalog note

SwitchBot's own comparison gives no colour temperature range for this model because it is RGBIC only.

No
Catalog note

Govee gives the bead type as RGBIC, and its own line-up comparison marks the COB Strip Light 2 (H1AB series) as RGBIC while the Strip Light 2, the Strip Light 2 Pro and the COB Strip Light 2 Pro are RGBWWIC. The tunable white is mixed from the colour channels.

No
Catalog note

SwitchBot lists this model as RGBIC, without the warm and cool white diodes its RGBICWW lights carry.

Not recordedNot recorded
Power
36W48W
No
Catalog note

Runs from the bundled 24V power adapter through its control box, not from USB.

No
Catalog note

Runs from its own mains adapter, 110 to 240 V AC.

24VNot recorded

Know what’s behind the comparison.

The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.

Read our comparison methodology