The Smart Device Compare comparison

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB) vs MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)

Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.

Build another comparison →

Before you compare every specification

Key differences between GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB) and MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)

A summary of selected recorded differences between these mini pcs. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.

Feature differences among your selected devices
  • Microphone (audio): GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB) — No; MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB) — Yes (The official front panel lists two digital microphones (DMIC).).
  • VESA mounting (included accessories): GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB) — Yes; MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB) — No (The Japanese distributor lists VESA 100mm support and states the mount is not included.).
  • Built In Power Supply (power): GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB) — No; MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB) — Yes (MINISFORUM lists a built-in 320W supply with CCC, FCC, UL, CE and UKCA certification, and an AC input on the rear panel.).
Specifications to check side by side
  • Bluetooth (connectivity): GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB) — Bluetooth 5.2; MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB) — Bluetooth 5.4.
  • Ethernet (connectivity): GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB) — 1x 2.5G Ethernet (Intel I226-V 2.5G controller.); MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB) — 2x 10G Ethernet (The official rear-panel diagram lists two 10GbE RJ45 ports on Realtek RTL8127 controllers.).
  • Wifi (connectivity): GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB) — Wi-Fi 6E (RZ616 module, up to 2.4 Gbps.); MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB) — Wi-Fi 7.
  • Technology (cooling): GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB) — Dual heat pipes with a single low-noise fan; MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB) — Six heat pipes with phase-change material and dual fans (The official page describes a copper base, six heat pipes, phase-change cooling and dual fans, with a 160W peak and 130W sustained.).
Information still to confirm
  • 1 of 33 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
  • Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.

These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.

Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.

What the catalog tells us

Understand the tradeoffs.

These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.

22differences with recorded values for every device
1rows with missing or unspecified information

Your priorities, side by side

Focus on what changes.

Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.

Showing 33 of 33 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.

Audio

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
Yes
Catalog note

3.5 mm CTIA audio jack on the front panel.

MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)
Yes
Catalog note

The official front panel lists a 3.5mm combo audio jack.

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
No
MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)
Yes
Catalog note

The official front panel lists two digital microphones (DMIC).

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
No
MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)
No

Connectivity

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
Bluetooth 5.2
MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)
Bluetooth 5.4
GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
1x 2.5G Ethernet
Catalog note

Intel I226-V 2.5G controller.

MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)
2x 10G Ethernet
Catalog note

The official rear-panel diagram lists two 10GbE RJ45 ports on Realtek RTL8127 controllers.

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
Wi-Fi 6E
Manufacturer source

Wi-Fi 6E is specified.

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB) manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Storage bundles can vary; no installed SSD capacity is established by these citations.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

RZ616 module, up to 2.4 Gbps.

MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)
Wi-Fi 7

Cooling

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
Dual heat pipes with a single low-noise fan
MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)
Six heat pipes with phase-change material and dual fans
Catalog note

The official page describes a copper base, six heat pipes, phase-change cooling and dual fans, with a 160W peak and 130W sustained.

Cpu

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
Intel Core Ultra 7 258V
Manufacturer source

The processor is an Intel Core Ultra 7 258V.

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB) manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Storage bundles can vary; no installed SSD capacity is established by these citations.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

8 cores and 8 threads on TSMC N3B, up to 4.8 GHz, 12 MB cache, 115 TOPS total AI performance.

MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)
AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395
Catalog note

16 cores and 32 threads, max turbo 5.1 GHz. MINISFORUM lists Performance mode at 130W, Balanced at 95W and Quiet at 60W.

Gpu

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
Intel Arc 140V
Manufacturer source

Integrated graphics use Intel Arc 140V.

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB) manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Storage bundles can vary; no installed SSD capacity is established by these citations.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

8 Xe-cores, up to 1.95 GHz, up to 64 TOPS of AI performance.

MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)
AMD Radeon 8060S Graphics
Catalog note

MINISFORUM lists 40 GPU cores at up to 2900 MHz. Amazon's table names Radeon 8060S graphics at 2900 MHz.

Included Accessories

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
Yes
MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)
Yes
Catalog note

Amazon's box contents for this listing are the mini PC, an HDMI cable, a manual and a US power adapter.

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
Yes
MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)
No
Catalog note

The Japanese distributor lists VESA 100mm support and states the mount is not included.

Memory

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
32 GB
Manufacturer source

The stated memory capacity is 32 GB.

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB) manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Storage bundles can vary; no installed SSD capacity is established by these citations.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)
64 GB
GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
Soldered (non-upgradeable)
MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)
Quad-channel
Catalog note

The official specification lists LPDDR5x on a 256-bit bus, shared by the CPU, GPU and NPU.

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
Soldered
MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)
Soldered
Catalog note

Amazon's product table for this configuration lists 64GB of LPDDR5 at 8000 MHz, and the official sheet describes onboard unified memory rather than SODIMM slots.

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
32 GB
MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)
64 GB
Catalog note

The platform's official sheet allows up to 128GB, but this configuration is soldered at 64GB, so the capacity shipped is the capacity kept.

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
8533 MT/s
MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)
8000 MT/s
GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
LPDDR5X
Manufacturer source

The memory type is LPDDR5X.

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB) manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Storage bundles can vary; no installed SSD capacity is established by these citations.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)
LPDDR5X

Npu

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
Intel AI Boost NPU (47 TOPS)
MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)
AMD Ryzen AI NPU (50 TOPS)
Catalog note

MINISFORUM states up to 50 TOPS from the NPU and up to 126 TOPS across the whole processor.

Other

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
No
MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)
No
GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
Yes
Catalog note

Security lock slot listed among the K17 Plus features.

MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)
Yes
Catalog note

The official rear panel diagram lists an anti-theft lock hole.

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
No
MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)
No

Power

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
20V, 5A, 100W
MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)
Not recorded
GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
No
MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)
Yes
Catalog note

MINISFORUM lists a built-in 320W supply with CCC, FCC, UL, CE and UKCA certification, and an AC input on the rear panel.

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
100W
MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)
320W

Software

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
Windows 11 Pro
MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)
Windows 11 Pro
Catalog note

B&H, Micro Center and the Japanese distributor all list Windows 11 Pro on the MS-S1 Max.

Storage

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
1 TB
MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)
2 TB
GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
M.2 2280 NVMe SSD (1x PCIe Gen5 x4 + 1x PCIe Gen4 x2 slots)
MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)
1x M.2 2280 NVMe PCIe 4.0 x4 SSD + 1x M.2 2280 NVMe PCIe 4.0 x1 SSD
Catalog note

The official specification lists one M.2 2280 slot at PCIe 4.0 x4 and a second at PCIe 4.0 x1, each up to 8TB.

Usb

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
1x USB 2.0 Type-A
MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)
2x USB 2.0 Type-A
GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
1x USB 3.2 Gen2 Type-A + 3x USB 3.2 Gen1 Type-A
MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)
3x USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-A
Catalog note

The official port diagram shows USB 3.2 Gen 2 at 10Gbps on the front and the rear.

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
1x USB4 Type-C
MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)
2x USB4 Type-C (40Gbps) + 2x USB4 V2 Type-C (80Gbps)
Catalog note

The official diagram puts two USB4 ports at 40Gbps with DisplayPort 2.0 Alt Mode and 15W output on the front, and two USB4 V2 ports at 80Gbps with the same Alt Mode and power on the rear.

Video

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
DisplayPort (via USB4)
Catalog note

No dedicated DisplayPort connector; the USB4 port carries DisplayPort video output up to 4K at 60Hz.

MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)
No
Catalog note

The official port diagram has no dedicated DisplayPort connector. Video on USB4 uses DisplayPort 2.0 Alt Mode.

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
Yes
Catalog note

2x HDMI 2.1: one FRL port up to 8K at 60Hz and one TMDS port up to 4K at 60Hz.

MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)
1x HDMI 2.1 FRL
Catalog note

The official rear panel lists one HDMI 2.1 FRL output, up to 8K at 60Hz or 4K at 120Hz.

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
No
MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)
No
Specifications for GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB) versus MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)
SpecificationGMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max (64GB + 2TB)
Audio
Yes
Catalog note

3.5 mm CTIA audio jack on the front panel.

Yes
Catalog note

The official front panel lists a 3.5mm combo audio jack.

NoYes
Catalog note

The official front panel lists two digital microphones (DMIC).

NoNo
Connectivity
Bluetooth 5.2Bluetooth 5.4
1x 2.5G Ethernet
Catalog note

Intel I226-V 2.5G controller.

2x 10G Ethernet
Catalog note

The official rear-panel diagram lists two 10GbE RJ45 ports on Realtek RTL8127 controllers.

Wi-Fi 6E
Manufacturer source

Wi-Fi 6E is specified.

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB) manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Storage bundles can vary; no installed SSD capacity is established by these citations.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

RZ616 module, up to 2.4 Gbps.

Wi-Fi 7
Cooling
Dual heat pipes with a single low-noise fanSix heat pipes with phase-change material and dual fans
Catalog note

The official page describes a copper base, six heat pipes, phase-change cooling and dual fans, with a 160W peak and 130W sustained.

Cpu
Intel Core Ultra 7 258V
Manufacturer source

The processor is an Intel Core Ultra 7 258V.

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB) manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Storage bundles can vary; no installed SSD capacity is established by these citations.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

8 cores and 8 threads on TSMC N3B, up to 4.8 GHz, 12 MB cache, 115 TOPS total AI performance.

AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395
Catalog note

16 cores and 32 threads, max turbo 5.1 GHz. MINISFORUM lists Performance mode at 130W, Balanced at 95W and Quiet at 60W.

Gpu
Intel Arc 140V
Manufacturer source

Integrated graphics use Intel Arc 140V.

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB) manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Storage bundles can vary; no installed SSD capacity is established by these citations.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

8 Xe-cores, up to 1.95 GHz, up to 64 TOPS of AI performance.

AMD Radeon 8060S Graphics
Catalog note

MINISFORUM lists 40 GPU cores at up to 2900 MHz. Amazon's table names Radeon 8060S graphics at 2900 MHz.

Included Accessories
YesYes
Catalog note

Amazon's box contents for this listing are the mini PC, an HDMI cable, a manual and a US power adapter.

YesNo
Catalog note

The Japanese distributor lists VESA 100mm support and states the mount is not included.

Memory
32 GB
Manufacturer source

The stated memory capacity is 32 GB.

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB) manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Storage bundles can vary; no installed SSD capacity is established by these citations.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

64 GB
Soldered (non-upgradeable)Quad-channel
Catalog note

The official specification lists LPDDR5x on a 256-bit bus, shared by the CPU, GPU and NPU.

SolderedSoldered
Catalog note

Amazon's product table for this configuration lists 64GB of LPDDR5 at 8000 MHz, and the official sheet describes onboard unified memory rather than SODIMM slots.

32 GB64 GB
Catalog note

The platform's official sheet allows up to 128GB, but this configuration is soldered at 64GB, so the capacity shipped is the capacity kept.

8533 MT/s8000 MT/s
LPDDR5X
Manufacturer source

The memory type is LPDDR5X.

GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB) manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
GMKtec K17 Plus (32GB + 1TB)
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Storage bundles can vary; no installed SSD capacity is established by these citations.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

LPDDR5X
Npu
Intel AI Boost NPU (47 TOPS)AMD Ryzen AI NPU (50 TOPS)
Catalog note

MINISFORUM states up to 50 TOPS from the NPU and up to 126 TOPS across the whole processor.

Other
NoNo
Yes
Catalog note

Security lock slot listed among the K17 Plus features.

Yes
Catalog note

The official rear panel diagram lists an anti-theft lock hole.

NoNo
Power
20V, 5A, 100WNot recorded
NoYes
Catalog note

MINISFORUM lists a built-in 320W supply with CCC, FCC, UL, CE and UKCA certification, and an AC input on the rear panel.

100W320W
Software
Windows 11 ProWindows 11 Pro
Catalog note

B&H, Micro Center and the Japanese distributor all list Windows 11 Pro on the MS-S1 Max.

Storage
1 TB2 TB
M.2 2280 NVMe SSD (1x PCIe Gen5 x4 + 1x PCIe Gen4 x2 slots)1x M.2 2280 NVMe PCIe 4.0 x4 SSD + 1x M.2 2280 NVMe PCIe 4.0 x1 SSD
Catalog note

The official specification lists one M.2 2280 slot at PCIe 4.0 x4 and a second at PCIe 4.0 x1, each up to 8TB.

Usb
1x USB 2.0 Type-A2x USB 2.0 Type-A
1x USB 3.2 Gen2 Type-A + 3x USB 3.2 Gen1 Type-A3x USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-A
Catalog note

The official port diagram shows USB 3.2 Gen 2 at 10Gbps on the front and the rear.

1x USB4 Type-C2x USB4 Type-C (40Gbps) + 2x USB4 V2 Type-C (80Gbps)
Catalog note

The official diagram puts two USB4 ports at 40Gbps with DisplayPort 2.0 Alt Mode and 15W output on the front, and two USB4 V2 ports at 80Gbps with the same Alt Mode and power on the rear.

Video
DisplayPort (via USB4)
Catalog note

No dedicated DisplayPort connector; the USB4 port carries DisplayPort video output up to 4K at 60Hz.

No
Catalog note

The official port diagram has no dedicated DisplayPort connector. Video on USB4 uses DisplayPort 2.0 Alt Mode.

Yes
Catalog note

2x HDMI 2.1: one FRL port up to 8K at 60Hz and one TMDS port up to 4K at 60Hz.

1x HDMI 2.1 FRL
Catalog note

The official rear panel lists one HDMI 2.1 FRL output, up to 8K at 60Hz or 4K at 120Hz.

NoNo

Know what’s behind the comparison.

The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.

Read our comparison methodology