The Smart Device Compare comparison

Aeotec MultiSensor 7 vs Shelly BLU Motion ZB

Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.

Build another comparison →

Before you compare every specification

Key differences between Aeotec MultiSensor 7 and Shelly BLU Motion ZB

A summary of selected recorded differences between these motion sensors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.

Feature differences among your selected devices
  • Bluetooth (connectivity): Aeotec MultiSensor 7 — No; Shelly BLU Motion ZB — Yes (Bluetooth 5 (LE) broadcasting in the BTHome format, running simultaneously with Zigbee. Remote control needs a Shelly BLU Gateway or a Shelly Plus, Pro, Gen3 or Gen4 device as the bridge.).
  • Temperature (sensors): Aeotec MultiSensor 7 — Yes (Also measures humidity and vibration (6-in-1)); Shelly BLU Motion ZB — No (The specifications list only a PIR and a light sensor.).
Specifications to check side by side
  • Z Wave (connectivity): Aeotec MultiSensor 7 — Z-Wave Hub required (Z-Wave Plus 700 series (Gen7), S2 Security, SmartStart); Shelly BLU Motion ZB — No.
  • Zigbee (connectivity): Aeotec MultiSensor 7 — No; Shelly BLU Motion ZB — Zigbee Hub required (Zigbee 3.0 end device (IAS Zone 0x000D, profile 0x104, 802.15.4), so it joins an existing Zigbee coordinator.).
  • Alexa (integrations): Aeotec MultiSensor 7 — Yes (Z-Wave sensor: through a hub with an Alexa skill, such as the Aeotec Smart Home Hub or SmartThings, Alexa reads its motion and temperature); Shelly BLU Motion ZB — Shelly gateway required (Reaches Amazon Alexa through the Shelly Smart Control account, and the product page states that a compatible Bluetooth or Zigbee gateway is required for automations and app control.).
  • SmartThings (integrations): Aeotec MultiSensor 7 — Yes; Shelly BLU Motion ZB — Shelly gateway required (Reaches SmartThings through the Shelly Smart Control account, and the product page states that a compatible Bluetooth or Zigbee gateway is required for automations and app control.).
Information still to confirm
  • 7 of 25 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
  • Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.

These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.

Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.

What the catalog tells us

Understand the tradeoffs.

These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.

8differences with recorded values for every device
7rows with missing or unspecified information

Consider your setup

Battery Life

  • Aeotec MultiSensor 73 years
  • Shelly BLU Motion ZB5 years

Compare the stated test conditions. Catalog battery figures alone do not predict runtime in your home.

Inspect the specifications

Your priorities, side by side

Focus on what changes.

Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.

Showing 25 of 25 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.

Alerts

Aeotec MultiSensor 7
Not recorded
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Yes
Catalog note

IAS Zone status bit 3 flags a battery at or below 15 percent, and the battery percentage is also broadcast over BTHome.

Aeotec MultiSensor 7
Yes
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Yes
Catalog note

Every motion detection is broadcast as an event over BTHome and sent over Zigbee to the bound devices, and the app can push a notification when movement is detected.

Connectivity

Aeotec MultiSensor 7
No
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
No
Aeotec MultiSensor 7
No
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
No
Aeotec MultiSensor 7
No
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Yes
Catalog note

Bluetooth 5 (LE) broadcasting in the BTHome format, running simultaneously with Zigbee. Remote control needs a Shelly BLU Gateway or a Shelly Plus, Pro, Gen3 or Gen4 device as the bridge.

Aeotec MultiSensor 7
No
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
No
Aeotec MultiSensor 7
Z-Wave Hub required
Catalog note

Z-Wave Plus 700 series (Gen7), S2 Security, SmartStart

Shelly BLU Motion ZB
No
Aeotec MultiSensor 7
No
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note

Zigbee 3.0 end device (IAS Zone 0x000D, profile 0x104, 802.15.4), so it joins an existing Zigbee coordinator.

Features

Aeotec MultiSensor 7
Not recorded
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Not recorded
Aeotec MultiSensor 7
Yes
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Yes
Catalog note

Motion and light-level events trigger scenes and automations from the Shelly Smart Control app, and scripting is available through a gateway.

Aeotec MultiSensor 7
Not recorded
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Yes
Catalog note

Motion hold time is configurable in seconds (60 by default): while movement continues the timer restarts, and a motion clear event is emitted once it expires.

Aeotec MultiSensor 7
Not recorded
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Not recorded
Aeotec MultiSensor 7
Not recorded
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Yes
Catalog note

Three PIR sensitivity levels (low, medium, high), adjustable to cut false triggers from pets or distant movement.

Aeotec MultiSensor 7
Not recorded
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Not recorded

Integrations

Aeotec MultiSensor 7
Yes
Catalog note

Z-Wave sensor: through a hub with an Alexa skill, such as the Aeotec Smart Home Hub or SmartThings, Alexa reads its motion and temperature

Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Shelly gateway required
Catalog note

Reaches Amazon Alexa through the Shelly Smart Control account, and the product page states that a compatible Bluetooth or Zigbee gateway is required for automations and app control.

Aeotec MultiSensor 7
No
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
No
Catalog note

The device documentation lists only Bluetooth 5 LE and Zigbee 3.0, with no Matter or HomeKit profile, and Shelly's compatibility page names only Alexa, Google Home and SmartThings.

Aeotec MultiSensor 7
Not recorded
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Shelly gateway required
Catalog note

Reaches Google Home through the Shelly Smart Control account, and the product page states that a compatible Bluetooth or Zigbee gateway is required for automations and app control.

Aeotec MultiSensor 7
Yes
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Yes
Catalog note

Zigbee2MQTT supports this exact model (SBMO-103Z), exposing occupancy, battery, battery low, light level, the dark and bright thresholds and motion sensitivity. Over Bluetooth it also broadcasts BTHome, which Home Assistant reads natively.

Aeotec MultiSensor 7
No
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
No
Catalog note

Not in the CSA certified-product database under Shelly Europe Ltd., and the device documentation lists only Bluetooth 5 LE and Zigbee 3.0.

Aeotec MultiSensor 7
Yes
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Shelly gateway required
Catalog note

Reaches SmartThings through the Shelly Smart Control account, and the product page states that a compatible Bluetooth or Zigbee gateway is required for automations and app control.

Power

Aeotec MultiSensor 7
3 years
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
5 years
Aeotec MultiSensor 7
CR123A
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
1x CR2477

Sensors

Aeotec MultiSensor 7
Yes
Catalog note

Light (lux) and UV sensors

Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Yes
Catalog note

Built-in lux sensor reporting three levels (dark, twilight, bright) with configurable thresholds, 50 lx dark and 500 lx bright by default.

Aeotec MultiSensor 7
Yes
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Yes
Manufacturer source

The ZB variant detects movement.

Shelly BLU Motion ZB manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

This evidence is specific to BLU Motion ZB, not the earlier Bluetooth-only model.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

PYD1698 passive infrared (PIR) motion sensor.

Aeotec MultiSensor 7
Yes
Catalog note

Also measures humidity and vibration (6-in-1)

Shelly BLU Motion ZB
No
Catalog note

The specifications list only a PIR and a light sensor.

Specifications for Aeotec MultiSensor 7 versus Shelly BLU Motion ZB
SpecificationAeotec MultiSensor 7Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Alerts
Not recordedYes
Catalog note

IAS Zone status bit 3 flags a battery at or below 15 percent, and the battery percentage is also broadcast over BTHome.

YesYes
Catalog note

Every motion detection is broadcast as an event over BTHome and sent over Zigbee to the bound devices, and the app can push a notification when movement is detected.

Connectivity
NoNo
NoNo
NoYes
Catalog note

Bluetooth 5 (LE) broadcasting in the BTHome format, running simultaneously with Zigbee. Remote control needs a Shelly BLU Gateway or a Shelly Plus, Pro, Gen3 or Gen4 device as the bridge.

NoNo
Z-Wave Hub required
Catalog note

Z-Wave Plus 700 series (Gen7), S2 Security, SmartStart

No
NoZigbee Hub required
Catalog note

Zigbee 3.0 end device (IAS Zone 0x000D, profile 0x104, 802.15.4), so it joins an existing Zigbee coordinator.

Features
Not recordedNot recorded
YesYes
Catalog note

Motion and light-level events trigger scenes and automations from the Shelly Smart Control app, and scripting is available through a gateway.

Not recordedYes
Catalog note

Motion hold time is configurable in seconds (60 by default): while movement continues the timer restarts, and a motion clear event is emitted once it expires.

Not recordedNot recorded
Not recordedYes
Catalog note

Three PIR sensitivity levels (low, medium, high), adjustable to cut false triggers from pets or distant movement.

Not recordedNot recorded
Integrations
Yes
Catalog note

Z-Wave sensor: through a hub with an Alexa skill, such as the Aeotec Smart Home Hub or SmartThings, Alexa reads its motion and temperature

Shelly gateway required
Catalog note

Reaches Amazon Alexa through the Shelly Smart Control account, and the product page states that a compatible Bluetooth or Zigbee gateway is required for automations and app control.

NoNo
Catalog note

The device documentation lists only Bluetooth 5 LE and Zigbee 3.0, with no Matter or HomeKit profile, and Shelly's compatibility page names only Alexa, Google Home and SmartThings.

Not recordedShelly gateway required
Catalog note

Reaches Google Home through the Shelly Smart Control account, and the product page states that a compatible Bluetooth or Zigbee gateway is required for automations and app control.

YesYes
Catalog note

Zigbee2MQTT supports this exact model (SBMO-103Z), exposing occupancy, battery, battery low, light level, the dark and bright thresholds and motion sensitivity. Over Bluetooth it also broadcasts BTHome, which Home Assistant reads natively.

NoNo
Catalog note

Not in the CSA certified-product database under Shelly Europe Ltd., and the device documentation lists only Bluetooth 5 LE and Zigbee 3.0.

YesShelly gateway required
Catalog note

Reaches SmartThings through the Shelly Smart Control account, and the product page states that a compatible Bluetooth or Zigbee gateway is required for automations and app control.

Power
3 years5 years
CR123A1x CR2477
Sensors
Yes
Catalog note

Light (lux) and UV sensors

Yes
Catalog note

Built-in lux sensor reporting three levels (dark, twilight, bright) with configurable thresholds, 50 lx dark and 500 lx bright by default.

YesYes
Manufacturer source

The ZB variant detects movement.

Shelly BLU Motion ZB manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

This evidence is specific to BLU Motion ZB, not the earlier Bluetooth-only model.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

PYD1698 passive infrared (PIR) motion sensor.

Yes
Catalog note

Also measures humidity and vibration (6-in-1)

No
Catalog note

The specifications list only a PIR and a light sensor.

Know what’s behind the comparison.

The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.

Read our comparison methodology