
The Smart Device Compare comparison
Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2 vs Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.
Build another comparison →Before you compare every specification
Key differences between Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2 and Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
A summary of selected recorded differences between these motion sensors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.
- Apple Home (integrations): Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2 — Yes; Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen) — No.
- Google Home (integrations): Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2 — Yes; Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen) — No.
- Matter (integrations): Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2 — Yes; Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen) — No.
- SmartThings (integrations): Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2 — Yes; Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen) — No.
- Bluetooth (connectivity): Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2 — For Pairing; Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen) — No.
- Thread (connectivity): Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2 — Thread Border Router required; Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen) — No.
- Z Wave (connectivity): Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2 — No; Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen) — Z-Wave Hub required.
- Angle Of Detection (features): Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2 — 170º; Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen) — 90°.
- 3 of 25 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
- Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.
These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.
Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.


What the catalog tells us
Understand the tradeoffs.
These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.
Consider your setup
Apple Home
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2Yes
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)No
Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.
Inspect the specificationsConsider your setup
Matter
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2Yes
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)No
Confirm the exact device type and the features exposed in your chosen platform. Protocol support does not establish feature parity across apps.
Inspect the specificationsYour priorities, side by side
Focus on what changes.
Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.
Showing 25 of 25 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.
Alerts
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- Yes
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- Yes
Catalog note
The Ring app sends a low battery warning when the batteries need replacing
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- Yes
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- Yes
Connectivity
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- No
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- No
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- No
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- No
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- For Pairing
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- No
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- Thread Border Router required
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- No
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- No
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- Z-Wave Hub required
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- No
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- No
Features
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- 170º
Manufacturer source
The stated horizontal detection angle is up to 170 degrees.
Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Manufacturer lab conditions were 25°C. Detection changes with temperature and placement. The source says Alexa does not expose the light sensor.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- 90°
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- Yes
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- Not recorded
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- Aqara Hub required
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- Not recorded
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- Not recorded
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- Not recorded
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- Aqara Hub required
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- Yes
Catalog note
Customizable sensitivity with pet-friendly settings that reduce false alerts from pets under 50 lbs
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- 7 m
Manufacturer source
The stated range is up to seven metres.
Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Manufacturer lab conditions were 25°C. Detection changes with temperature and placement. The source says Alexa does not expose the light sensor.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- 9.1 m
Integrations
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- Yes
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- Yes
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- Yes
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- No
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- Yes
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- No
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- Yes
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- Yes
Catalog note
Ring Alarm motion sensors are exposed to Home Assistant through the ring-mqtt integration
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- Yes
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- No
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- Yes
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- No
Power
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- 2 years
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- 2 years
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- 2x CR2450
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- 2x AA
Sensors
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- Yes
Manufacturer source
An independent light sensor reports illumination.
Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Manufacturer lab conditions were 25°C. Detection changes with temperature and placement. The source says Alexa does not expose the light sensor.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- No
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- Yes
Manufacturer source
A PIR sensor detects movement.
Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Manufacturer lab conditions were 25°C. Detection changes with temperature and placement. The source says Alexa does not expose the light sensor.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- Yes
Catalog note
Passive infrared (PIR) motion detection
- Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2
- No
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- No
| Specification | Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2 | Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen) |
|---|---|---|
| Alerts | ||
| Yes | YesCatalog noteThe Ring app sends a low battery warning when the batteries need replacing | |
| Yes | Yes | |
| Connectivity | ||
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| For Pairing | No | |
| Thread Border Router required | No | |
| No | Z-Wave Hub required | |
| No | No | |
| Features | ||
170ºManufacturer sourceThe stated horizontal detection angle is up to 170 degrees. Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2 manufacturer product page →
Manufacturer lab conditions were 25°C. Detection changes with temperature and placement. The source says Alexa does not expose the light sensor. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | 90° | |
| Yes | Not recorded | |
| Aqara Hub required | Not recorded | |
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
| Aqara Hub required | YesCatalog noteCustomizable sensitivity with pet-friendly settings that reduce false alerts from pets under 50 lbs | |
7 mManufacturer sourceThe stated range is up to seven metres. Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2 manufacturer product page →
Manufacturer lab conditions were 25°C. Detection changes with temperature and placement. The source says Alexa does not expose the light sensor. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | 9.1 m | |
| Integrations | ||
| Yes | Yes | |
| Yes | No | |
| Yes | No | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteRing Alarm motion sensors are exposed to Home Assistant through the ring-mqtt integration | |
| Yes | No | |
| Yes | No | |
| Power | ||
| 2 years | 2 years | |
| 2x CR2450 | 2x AA | |
| Sensors | ||
YesManufacturer sourceAn independent light sensor reports illumination. Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2 manufacturer product page →
Manufacturer lab conditions were 25°C. Detection changes with temperature and placement. The source says Alexa does not expose the light sensor. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | No | |
YesManufacturer sourceA PIR sensor detects movement. Aqara Motion and Light Sensor P2 manufacturer product page →
Manufacturer lab conditions were 25°C. Detection changes with temperature and placement. The source says Alexa does not expose the light sensor. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | YesCatalog notePassive infrared (PIR) motion detection | |
| No | No | |
Know what’s behind the comparison.
The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.
Read our comparison methodology