
The Smart Device Compare comparison
Eufy Motion Sensor vs Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.
Build another comparison →Before you compare every specification
Key differences between Eufy Motion Sensor and Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
A summary of selected recorded differences between these motion sensors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.
- Alexa (integrations): Eufy Motion Sensor — No (The eufy Security skill exposes cameras, doorbells, locks, floodlights and arming, not the individual HomeBase sensors); Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen) — Yes.
- 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi (connectivity): Eufy Motion Sensor — HomeBase required (Sub-1G connection between the alarm and the base. WiFi connection on the base.); Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen) — No.
- Z Wave (connectivity): Eufy Motion Sensor — No; Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen) — Z-Wave Hub required.
- Angle Of Detection (features): Eufy Motion Sensor — 100º; Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen) — 90°.
- Range Of Detection (features): Eufy Motion Sensor — 9 m; Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen) — 9.1 m.
- 5 of 25 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
- Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.
These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.
Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.


What the catalog tells us
Understand the tradeoffs.
These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.
Your priorities, side by side
Focus on what changes.
Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.
Showing 25 of 25 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.
Alerts
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- Not recorded
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- Yes
Catalog note
The Ring app sends a low battery warning when the batteries need replacing
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- Yes
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- Yes
Connectivity
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- HomeBase required
Catalog note
Sub-1G connection between the alarm and the base. WiFi connection on the base.
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- No
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- No
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- No
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- No
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- No
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- No
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- No
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- No
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- Z-Wave Hub required
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- No
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- No
Features
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- 100º
Manufacturer source
The specified detection angle is 100 degrees.
Eufy Motion Sensor manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Model-specific product page summary
- Model
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- Region
- US manufacturer page; other regional variants are not verified by this source
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Detection and battery life depend on installation and use.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- 90°
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- Yes
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- Not recorded
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- No
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- Not recorded
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- Not recorded
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- Not recorded
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Motion sensitivity can be adjusted.
Eufy Motion Sensor manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Model-specific product page summary
- Model
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- Region
- US manufacturer page; other regional variants are not verified by this source
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Detection and battery life depend on installation and use.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- Yes
Catalog note
Customizable sensitivity with pet-friendly settings that reduce false alerts from pets under 50 lbs
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- 9 m
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- 9.1 m
Integrations
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- No
Catalog note
The eufy Security skill exposes cameras, doorbells, locks, floodlights and arming, not the individual HomeBase sensors
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- Yes
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- No
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- No
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- No
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- No
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- Yes
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- Yes
Catalog note
Ring Alarm motion sensors are exposed to Home Assistant through the ring-mqtt integration
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- No
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- No
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- No
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- No
Power
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- 2 years
Manufacturer source
The advertised battery life is up to two years.
Eufy Motion Sensor manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Model-specific product page summary
- Model
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- Region
- US manufacturer page; other regional variants are not verified by this source
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Detection and battery life depend on installation and use.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- 2 years
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- Not recorded
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- 2x AA
Sensors
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- No
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- No
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- Yes
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- Yes
Catalog note
Passive infrared (PIR) motion detection
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- No
- Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
- No
| Specification | Eufy Motion Sensor | Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen) |
|---|---|---|
| Alerts | ||
| Not recorded | YesCatalog noteThe Ring app sends a low battery warning when the batteries need replacing | |
| Yes | Yes | |
| Connectivity | ||
HomeBase requiredCatalog noteSub-1G connection between the alarm and the base. WiFi connection on the base. | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | Z-Wave Hub required | |
| No | No | |
| Features | ||
100ºManufacturer sourceThe specified detection angle is 100 degrees. Eufy Motion Sensor manufacturer product page →
Detection and battery life depend on installation and use. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | 90° | |
| Yes | Not recorded | |
| No | Not recorded | |
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
YesManufacturer sourceMotion sensitivity can be adjusted. Eufy Motion Sensor manufacturer product page →
Detection and battery life depend on installation and use. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | YesCatalog noteCustomizable sensitivity with pet-friendly settings that reduce false alerts from pets under 50 lbs | |
| 9 m | 9.1 m | |
| Integrations | ||
NoCatalog noteThe eufy Security skill exposes cameras, doorbells, locks, floodlights and arming, not the individual HomeBase sensors | Yes | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteRing Alarm motion sensors are exposed to Home Assistant through the ring-mqtt integration | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| Power | ||
2 yearsManufacturer sourceThe advertised battery life is up to two years. Eufy Motion Sensor manufacturer product page →
Detection and battery life depend on installation and use. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | 2 years | |
| Not recorded | 2x AA | |
| Sensors | ||
| No | No | |
| Yes | YesCatalog notePassive infrared (PIR) motion detection | |
| No | No | |
Know what’s behind the comparison.
The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.
Read our comparison methodology