
The Smart Device Compare comparison
Eufy Motion Sensor vs Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.
Build another comparison →Before you compare every specification
Key differences between Eufy Motion Sensor and Shelly BLU Motion ZB
A summary of selected recorded differences between these motion sensors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.
- Bluetooth (connectivity): Eufy Motion Sensor — No; Shelly BLU Motion ZB — Yes (Bluetooth 5 (LE) broadcasting in the BTHome format, running simultaneously with Zigbee. Remote control needs a Shelly BLU Gateway or a Shelly Plus, Pro, Gen3 or Gen4 device as the bridge.).
- Detection Timeout (features): Eufy Motion Sensor — No; Shelly BLU Motion ZB — Yes (Motion hold time is configurable in seconds (60 by default): while movement continues the timer restarts, and a motion clear event is emitted once it expires.).
- Light (sensors): Eufy Motion Sensor — No; Shelly BLU Motion ZB — Yes (Built-in lux sensor reporting three levels (dark, twilight, bright) with configurable thresholds, 50 lx dark and 500 lx bright by default.).
- 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi (connectivity): Eufy Motion Sensor — HomeBase required (Sub-1G connection between the alarm and the base. WiFi connection on the base.); Shelly BLU Motion ZB — No.
- Zigbee (connectivity): Eufy Motion Sensor — No; Shelly BLU Motion ZB — Zigbee Hub required (Zigbee 3.0 end device (IAS Zone 0x000D, profile 0x104, 802.15.4), so it joins an existing Zigbee coordinator.).
- Alexa (integrations): Eufy Motion Sensor — No (The eufy Security skill exposes cameras, doorbells, locks, floodlights and arming, not the individual HomeBase sensors); Shelly BLU Motion ZB — Shelly gateway required (Reaches Amazon Alexa through the Shelly Smart Control account, and the product page states that a compatible Bluetooth or Zigbee gateway is required for automations and app control.).
- Google Home (integrations): Eufy Motion Sensor — No; Shelly BLU Motion ZB — Shelly gateway required (Reaches Google Home through the Shelly Smart Control account, and the product page states that a compatible Bluetooth or Zigbee gateway is required for automations and app control.).
- 5 of 25 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
- Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.
These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.
Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.


What the catalog tells us
Understand the tradeoffs.
These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.
Consider your setup
Battery Life
- Eufy Motion Sensor2 years
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB5 years
Compare the stated test conditions. Catalog battery figures alone do not predict runtime in your home.
Inspect the specificationsYour priorities, side by side
Focus on what changes.
Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.
Showing 25 of 25 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.
Alerts
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- Not recorded
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- Yes
Catalog note
IAS Zone status bit 3 flags a battery at or below 15 percent, and the battery percentage is also broadcast over BTHome.
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- Yes
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- Yes
Catalog note
Every motion detection is broadcast as an event over BTHome and sent over Zigbee to the bound devices, and the app can push a notification when movement is detected.
Connectivity
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- HomeBase required
Catalog note
Sub-1G connection between the alarm and the base. WiFi connection on the base.
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- No
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- No
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- No
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- No
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- Yes
Catalog note
Bluetooth 5 (LE) broadcasting in the BTHome format, running simultaneously with Zigbee. Remote control needs a Shelly BLU Gateway or a Shelly Plus, Pro, Gen3 or Gen4 device as the bridge.
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- No
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- No
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- No
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- No
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- No
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note
Zigbee 3.0 end device (IAS Zone 0x000D, profile 0x104, 802.15.4), so it joins an existing Zigbee coordinator.
Features
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- 100º
Manufacturer source
The specified detection angle is 100 degrees.
Eufy Motion Sensor manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Model-specific product page summary
- Model
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- Region
- US manufacturer page; other regional variants are not verified by this source
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Detection and battery life depend on installation and use.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- Not recorded
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- Yes
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- Yes
Catalog note
Motion and light-level events trigger scenes and automations from the Shelly Smart Control app, and scripting is available through a gateway.
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- No
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- Yes
Catalog note
Motion hold time is configurable in seconds (60 by default): while movement continues the timer restarts, and a motion clear event is emitted once it expires.
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- Not recorded
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- Not recorded
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Motion sensitivity can be adjusted.
Eufy Motion Sensor manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Model-specific product page summary
- Model
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- Region
- US manufacturer page; other regional variants are not verified by this source
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Detection and battery life depend on installation and use.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- Yes
Catalog note
Three PIR sensitivity levels (low, medium, high), adjustable to cut false triggers from pets or distant movement.
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- 9 m
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- Not recorded
Integrations
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- No
Catalog note
The eufy Security skill exposes cameras, doorbells, locks, floodlights and arming, not the individual HomeBase sensors
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- Shelly gateway required
Catalog note
Reaches Amazon Alexa through the Shelly Smart Control account, and the product page states that a compatible Bluetooth or Zigbee gateway is required for automations and app control.
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- No
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- No
Catalog note
The device documentation lists only Bluetooth 5 LE and Zigbee 3.0, with no Matter or HomeKit profile, and Shelly's compatibility page names only Alexa, Google Home and SmartThings.
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- No
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- Shelly gateway required
Catalog note
Reaches Google Home through the Shelly Smart Control account, and the product page states that a compatible Bluetooth or Zigbee gateway is required for automations and app control.
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- Yes
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- Yes
Catalog note
Zigbee2MQTT supports this exact model (SBMO-103Z), exposing occupancy, battery, battery low, light level, the dark and bright thresholds and motion sensitivity. Over Bluetooth it also broadcasts BTHome, which Home Assistant reads natively.
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- No
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- No
Catalog note
Not in the CSA certified-product database under Shelly Europe Ltd., and the device documentation lists only Bluetooth 5 LE and Zigbee 3.0.
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- No
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- Shelly gateway required
Catalog note
Reaches SmartThings through the Shelly Smart Control account, and the product page states that a compatible Bluetooth or Zigbee gateway is required for automations and app control.
Power
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- 2 years
Manufacturer source
The advertised battery life is up to two years.
Eufy Motion Sensor manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Model-specific product page summary
- Model
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- Region
- US manufacturer page; other regional variants are not verified by this source
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Detection and battery life depend on installation and use.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- 5 years
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- Not recorded
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- 1x CR2477
Sensors
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- No
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- Yes
Catalog note
Built-in lux sensor reporting three levels (dark, twilight, bright) with configurable thresholds, 50 lx dark and 500 lx bright by default.
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- Yes
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- Yes
Manufacturer source
The ZB variant detects movement.
Shelly BLU Motion ZB manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
This evidence is specific to BLU Motion ZB, not the earlier Bluetooth-only model.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
PYD1698 passive infrared (PIR) motion sensor.
- Eufy Motion Sensor
- No
- Shelly BLU Motion ZB
- No
Catalog note
The specifications list only a PIR and a light sensor.
| Specification | Eufy Motion Sensor | Shelly BLU Motion ZB |
|---|---|---|
| Alerts | ||
| Not recorded | YesCatalog noteIAS Zone status bit 3 flags a battery at or below 15 percent, and the battery percentage is also broadcast over BTHome. | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteEvery motion detection is broadcast as an event over BTHome and sent over Zigbee to the bound devices, and the app can push a notification when movement is detected. | |
| Connectivity | ||
HomeBase requiredCatalog noteSub-1G connection between the alarm and the base. WiFi connection on the base. | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | YesCatalog noteBluetooth 5 (LE) broadcasting in the BTHome format, running simultaneously with Zigbee. Remote control needs a Shelly BLU Gateway or a Shelly Plus, Pro, Gen3 or Gen4 device as the bridge. | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | Zigbee Hub requiredCatalog noteZigbee 3.0 end device (IAS Zone 0x000D, profile 0x104, 802.15.4), so it joins an existing Zigbee coordinator. | |
| Features | ||
100ºManufacturer sourceThe specified detection angle is 100 degrees. Eufy Motion Sensor manufacturer product page →
Detection and battery life depend on installation and use. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | Not recorded | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteMotion and light-level events trigger scenes and automations from the Shelly Smart Control app, and scripting is available through a gateway. | |
| No | YesCatalog noteMotion hold time is configurable in seconds (60 by default): while movement continues the timer restarts, and a motion clear event is emitted once it expires. | |
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
YesManufacturer sourceMotion sensitivity can be adjusted. Eufy Motion Sensor manufacturer product page →
Detection and battery life depend on installation and use. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | YesCatalog noteThree PIR sensitivity levels (low, medium, high), adjustable to cut false triggers from pets or distant movement. | |
| 9 m | Not recorded | |
| Integrations | ||
NoCatalog noteThe eufy Security skill exposes cameras, doorbells, locks, floodlights and arming, not the individual HomeBase sensors | Shelly gateway requiredCatalog noteReaches Amazon Alexa through the Shelly Smart Control account, and the product page states that a compatible Bluetooth or Zigbee gateway is required for automations and app control. | |
| No | NoCatalog noteThe device documentation lists only Bluetooth 5 LE and Zigbee 3.0, with no Matter or HomeKit profile, and Shelly's compatibility page names only Alexa, Google Home and SmartThings. | |
| No | Shelly gateway requiredCatalog noteReaches Google Home through the Shelly Smart Control account, and the product page states that a compatible Bluetooth or Zigbee gateway is required for automations and app control. | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteZigbee2MQTT supports this exact model (SBMO-103Z), exposing occupancy, battery, battery low, light level, the dark and bright thresholds and motion sensitivity. Over Bluetooth it also broadcasts BTHome, which Home Assistant reads natively. | |
| No | NoCatalog noteNot in the CSA certified-product database under Shelly Europe Ltd., and the device documentation lists only Bluetooth 5 LE and Zigbee 3.0. | |
| No | Shelly gateway requiredCatalog noteReaches SmartThings through the Shelly Smart Control account, and the product page states that a compatible Bluetooth or Zigbee gateway is required for automations and app control. | |
| Power | ||
2 yearsManufacturer sourceThe advertised battery life is up to two years. Eufy Motion Sensor manufacturer product page →
Detection and battery life depend on installation and use. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | 5 years | |
| Not recorded | 1x CR2477 | |
| Sensors | ||
| No | YesCatalog noteBuilt-in lux sensor reporting three levels (dark, twilight, bright) with configurable thresholds, 50 lx dark and 500 lx bright by default. | |
| Yes | YesManufacturer sourceThe ZB variant detects movement. Shelly BLU Motion ZB manufacturer product page →
This evidence is specific to BLU Motion ZB, not the earlier Bluetooth-only model. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog notePYD1698 passive infrared (PIR) motion sensor. | |
| No | NoCatalog noteThe specifications list only a PIR and a light sensor. | |
Know what’s behind the comparison.
The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.
Read our comparison methodology