
The Smart Device Compare comparison
Ring Alarm Motion Detector vs SwitchBot Motion Sensor
Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.
Build another comparison →Before you compare every specification
Key differences between Ring Alarm Motion Detector and SwitchBot Motion Sensor
A summary of selected recorded differences between these motion sensors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.
- Bluetooth (connectivity): Ring Alarm Motion Detector — No; SwitchBot Motion Sensor — Yes.
- Motion Alerts (alerts): Ring Alarm Motion Detector — Yes; SwitchBot Motion Sensor — SwitchBot Hub required.
- Z Wave (connectivity): Ring Alarm Motion Detector — Z-Wave Hub required; SwitchBot Motion Sensor — No.
- Angle Of Detection (features): Ring Alarm Motion Detector — 90°; SwitchBot Motion Sensor — 110º Horizontal / 55º Vertical.
- Automations (features): Ring Alarm Motion Detector — No; SwitchBot Motion Sensor — SwitchBot Hub required.
- 5 of 25 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
- Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.
These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.
Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.


What the catalog tells us
Understand the tradeoffs.
These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.
Consider your setup
Apple Home
- Ring Alarm Motion DetectorNo
- SwitchBot Motion SensorSwitchBot Hub required
Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.
Inspect the specificationsConsider your setup
Matter
- Ring Alarm Motion DetectorNo
- SwitchBot Motion SensorSwitchBot Hub required
Confirm the exact device type and the features exposed in your chosen platform. Protocol support does not establish feature parity across apps.
Inspect the specificationsYour priorities, side by side
Focus on what changes.
Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.
Showing 25 of 25 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.
Alerts
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- Not recorded
- SwitchBot Motion Sensor
- Not recorded
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- Yes
- SwitchBot Motion Sensor
- SwitchBot Hub required
Connectivity
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- No
- SwitchBot Motion Sensor
- No
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- No
- SwitchBot Motion Sensor
- No
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- No
- SwitchBot Motion Sensor
- Yes
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- No
- SwitchBot Motion Sensor
- No
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- Z-Wave Hub required
- SwitchBot Motion Sensor
- No
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- No
- SwitchBot Motion Sensor
- No
Features
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- 90°
- SwitchBot Motion Sensor
- 110º Horizontal / 55º Vertical
Manufacturer source
The stated view is 110 degrees horizontally and 55 degrees vertically.
SwitchBot Motion Sensor manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- SwitchBot Motion Sensor
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Remote notifications require a SwitchBot hub. Coverage and battery life vary with installation and use.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- No
- SwitchBot Motion Sensor
- SwitchBot Hub required
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- Not recorded
- SwitchBot Motion Sensor
- No
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- Not recorded
- SwitchBot Motion Sensor
- Yes
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- Yes
Catalog note
Adjustable sensitivity in the Ring app with pet-friendly settings; at the lowest setting it ignores pets under 22 kg
- SwitchBot Motion Sensor
- Yes
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- 7.6 m
- SwitchBot Motion Sensor
- 9 m
Integrations
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- Yes
- SwitchBot Motion Sensor
- SwitchBot Hub required
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- No
- SwitchBot Motion Sensor
- SwitchBot Hub required
Catalog note
The Hub 2 and Hub 3 bridge the Motion Sensor to Matter, which is how it shows up in the Apple Home app.
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- No
- SwitchBot Motion Sensor
- SwitchBot Hub required
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- Yes
- SwitchBot Motion Sensor
- Yes
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- No
- SwitchBot Motion Sensor
- SwitchBot Hub required
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- No
- SwitchBot Motion Sensor
- SwitchBot Hub required
Power
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- Not recorded
- SwitchBot Motion Sensor
- 3 years
Manufacturer source
The advertised battery life is up to three years.
SwitchBot Motion Sensor manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- SwitchBot Motion Sensor
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Remote notifications require a SwitchBot hub. Coverage and battery life vary with installation and use.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- 2x AA
- SwitchBot Motion Sensor
- 2x AAA
Sensors
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- Not recorded
- SwitchBot Motion Sensor
- Yes
Manufacturer source
A light sensor supports lighting automations.
SwitchBot Motion Sensor manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- SwitchBot Motion Sensor
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Remote notifications require a SwitchBot hub. Coverage and battery life vary with installation and use.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- Yes
- SwitchBot Motion Sensor
- Yes
Manufacturer source
The sensor detects movement.
SwitchBot Motion Sensor manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- SwitchBot Motion Sensor
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Remote notifications require a SwitchBot hub. Coverage and battery life vary with installation and use.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Ring Alarm Motion Detector
- No
- SwitchBot Motion Sensor
- No
| Specification | Ring Alarm Motion Detector | SwitchBot Motion Sensor |
|---|---|---|
| Alerts | ||
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
| Yes | SwitchBot Hub required | |
| Connectivity | ||
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | Yes | |
| No | No | |
| Z-Wave Hub required | No | |
| No | No | |
| Features | ||
| 90° | 110º Horizontal / 55º VerticalManufacturer sourceThe stated view is 110 degrees horizontally and 55 degrees vertically. SwitchBot Motion Sensor manufacturer product page →
Remote notifications require a SwitchBot hub. Coverage and battery life vary with installation and use. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | |
| No | SwitchBot Hub required | |
| Not recorded | No | |
| Not recorded | Yes | |
YesCatalog noteAdjustable sensitivity in the Ring app with pet-friendly settings; at the lowest setting it ignores pets under 22 kg | Yes | |
| 7.6 m | 9 m | |
| Integrations | ||
| Yes | SwitchBot Hub required | |
| No | SwitchBot Hub requiredCatalog noteThe Hub 2 and Hub 3 bridge the Motion Sensor to Matter, which is how it shows up in the Apple Home app. | |
| No | SwitchBot Hub required | |
| Yes | Yes | |
| No | SwitchBot Hub required | |
| No | SwitchBot Hub required | |
| Power | ||
| Not recorded | 3 yearsManufacturer sourceThe advertised battery life is up to three years. SwitchBot Motion Sensor manufacturer product page →
Remote notifications require a SwitchBot hub. Coverage and battery life vary with installation and use. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | |
| 2x AA | 2x AAA | |
| Sensors | ||
| Not recorded | YesManufacturer sourceA light sensor supports lighting automations. SwitchBot Motion Sensor manufacturer product page →
Remote notifications require a SwitchBot hub. Coverage and battery life vary with installation and use. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | |
| Yes | YesManufacturer sourceThe sensor detects movement. SwitchBot Motion Sensor manufacturer product page →
Remote notifications require a SwitchBot hub. Coverage and battery life vary with installation and use. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | |
| No | No | |
Know what’s behind the comparison.
The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.
Read our comparison methodology