The Smart Device Compare comparison

Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen) vs SwitchBot Motion Sensor

Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.

Build another comparison →

Before you compare every specification

Key differences between Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen) and SwitchBot Motion Sensor

A summary of selected recorded differences between these motion sensors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.

Feature differences among your selected devices
  • Bluetooth (connectivity): Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen) — No; SwitchBot Motion Sensor — Yes.
  • Light (sensors): Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen) — No; SwitchBot Motion Sensor — Yes.
Specifications to check side by side
  • Motion Alerts (alerts): Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen) — Yes; SwitchBot Motion Sensor — SwitchBot Hub required.
  • Z Wave (connectivity): Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen) — Z-Wave Hub required; SwitchBot Motion Sensor — No.
  • Angle Of Detection (features): Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen) — 90°; SwitchBot Motion Sensor — 110º Horizontal / 55º Vertical.
  • Range Of Detection (features): Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen) — 9.1 m; SwitchBot Motion Sensor — 9 m.
Information still to confirm
  • 4 of 25 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
  • Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.

These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.

Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.

What the catalog tells us

Understand the tradeoffs.

These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.

13differences with recorded values for every device
4rows with missing or unspecified information

Consider your setup

Apple Home

  • Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)No
  • SwitchBot Motion SensorSwitchBot Hub required

Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.

Inspect the specifications

Consider your setup

Matter

  • Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)No
  • SwitchBot Motion SensorSwitchBot Hub required

Confirm the exact device type and the features exposed in your chosen platform. Protocol support does not establish feature parity across apps.

Inspect the specifications

Consider your setup

Battery Life

  • Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)2 years
  • SwitchBot Motion Sensor3 years

Compare the stated test conditions. Catalog battery figures alone do not predict runtime in your home.

Inspect the specifications

Your priorities, side by side

Focus on what changes.

Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.

Showing 25 of 25 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.

Alerts

Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
Yes
Catalog note

The Ring app sends a low battery warning when the batteries need replacing

SwitchBot Motion Sensor
Not recorded
Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
Yes
SwitchBot Motion Sensor
SwitchBot Hub required

Connectivity

Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
No
SwitchBot Motion Sensor
No
Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
No
SwitchBot Motion Sensor
No
Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
No
SwitchBot Motion Sensor
Yes
Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
No
SwitchBot Motion Sensor
No
Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
Z-Wave Hub required
SwitchBot Motion Sensor
No
Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
No
SwitchBot Motion Sensor
No

Features

Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
90°
SwitchBot Motion Sensor
110º Horizontal / 55º Vertical
Manufacturer source

The stated view is 110 degrees horizontally and 55 degrees vertically.

SwitchBot Motion Sensor manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
SwitchBot Motion Sensor
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Remote notifications require a SwitchBot hub. Coverage and battery life vary with installation and use.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
Not recorded
SwitchBot Motion Sensor
SwitchBot Hub required
Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
Not recorded
SwitchBot Motion Sensor
No
Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
Not recorded
SwitchBot Motion Sensor
Yes
Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
Yes
Catalog note

Customizable sensitivity with pet-friendly settings that reduce false alerts from pets under 50 lbs

SwitchBot Motion Sensor
Yes
Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
9.1 m
SwitchBot Motion Sensor
9 m

Integrations

Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
Yes
SwitchBot Motion Sensor
SwitchBot Hub required
Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
No
SwitchBot Motion Sensor
SwitchBot Hub required
Catalog note

The Hub 2 and Hub 3 bridge the Motion Sensor to Matter, which is how it shows up in the Apple Home app.

Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
No
SwitchBot Motion Sensor
SwitchBot Hub required
Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
Yes
Catalog note

Ring Alarm motion sensors are exposed to Home Assistant through the ring-mqtt integration

SwitchBot Motion Sensor
Yes
Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
No
SwitchBot Motion Sensor
SwitchBot Hub required
Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
No
SwitchBot Motion Sensor
SwitchBot Hub required

Power

Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
2 years
SwitchBot Motion Sensor
3 years
Manufacturer source

The advertised battery life is up to three years.

SwitchBot Motion Sensor manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
SwitchBot Motion Sensor
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Remote notifications require a SwitchBot hub. Coverage and battery life vary with installation and use.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
2x AA
SwitchBot Motion Sensor
2x AAA

Sensors

Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
No
SwitchBot Motion Sensor
Yes
Manufacturer source

A light sensor supports lighting automations.

SwitchBot Motion Sensor manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
SwitchBot Motion Sensor
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Remote notifications require a SwitchBot hub. Coverage and battery life vary with installation and use.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
Yes
Catalog note

Passive infrared (PIR) motion detection

SwitchBot Motion Sensor
Yes
Manufacturer source

The sensor detects movement.

SwitchBot Motion Sensor manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
SwitchBot Motion Sensor
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Remote notifications require a SwitchBot hub. Coverage and battery life vary with installation and use.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen)
No
SwitchBot Motion Sensor
No
Specifications for Ring Motion Detector (3rd Gen) versus SwitchBot Motion Sensor
SpecificationRing Motion Detector (3rd Gen)SwitchBot Motion Sensor
Alerts
Yes
Catalog note

The Ring app sends a low battery warning when the batteries need replacing

Not recorded
YesSwitchBot Hub required
Connectivity
NoNo
NoNo
NoYes
NoNo
Z-Wave Hub requiredNo
NoNo
Features
90°110º Horizontal / 55º Vertical
Manufacturer source

The stated view is 110 degrees horizontally and 55 degrees vertically.

SwitchBot Motion Sensor manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
SwitchBot Motion Sensor
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Remote notifications require a SwitchBot hub. Coverage and battery life vary with installation and use.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Not recordedSwitchBot Hub required
Not recordedNo
Not recordedYes
Yes
Catalog note

Customizable sensitivity with pet-friendly settings that reduce false alerts from pets under 50 lbs

Yes
9.1 m9 m
Integrations
YesSwitchBot Hub required
NoSwitchBot Hub required
Catalog note

The Hub 2 and Hub 3 bridge the Motion Sensor to Matter, which is how it shows up in the Apple Home app.

NoSwitchBot Hub required
Yes
Catalog note

Ring Alarm motion sensors are exposed to Home Assistant through the ring-mqtt integration

Yes
NoSwitchBot Hub required
NoSwitchBot Hub required
Power
2 years3 years
Manufacturer source

The advertised battery life is up to three years.

SwitchBot Motion Sensor manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
SwitchBot Motion Sensor
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Remote notifications require a SwitchBot hub. Coverage and battery life vary with installation and use.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

2x AA2x AAA
Sensors
NoYes
Manufacturer source

A light sensor supports lighting automations.

SwitchBot Motion Sensor manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
SwitchBot Motion Sensor
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Remote notifications require a SwitchBot hub. Coverage and battery life vary with installation and use.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Yes
Catalog note

Passive infrared (PIR) motion detection

Yes
Manufacturer source

The sensor detects movement.

SwitchBot Motion Sensor manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
SwitchBot Motion Sensor
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Remote notifications require a SwitchBot hub. Coverage and battery life vary with installation and use.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

NoNo

Know what’s behind the comparison.

The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.

Read our comparison methodology