The Smart Device Compare comparison

Shelly BLU Motion ZB vs YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor

Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.

Build another comparison →

Before you compare every specification

Key differences between Shelly BLU Motion ZB and YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor

A summary of selected recorded differences between these motion sensors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.

Feature differences among your selected devices
  • Bluetooth (connectivity): Shelly BLU Motion ZB — Yes (Bluetooth 5 (LE) broadcasting in the BTHome format, running simultaneously with Zigbee. Remote control needs a Shelly BLU Gateway or a Shelly Plus, Pro, Gen3 or Gen4 device as the bridge.); YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor — No.
  • Light (sensors): Shelly BLU Motion ZB — Yes (Built-in lux sensor reporting three levels (dark, twilight, bright) with configurable thresholds, 50 lx dark and 500 lx bright by default.); YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor — No.
Specifications to check side by side
  • Zigbee (connectivity): Shelly BLU Motion ZB — Zigbee Hub required (Zigbee 3.0 end device (IAS Zone 0x000D, profile 0x104, 802.15.4), so it joins an existing Zigbee coordinator.); YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor — No.
  • Alexa (integrations): Shelly BLU Motion ZB — Shelly gateway required (Reaches Amazon Alexa through the Shelly Smart Control account, and the product page states that a compatible Bluetooth or Zigbee gateway is required for automations and app control.); YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor — Yes.
  • Apple Home (integrations): Shelly BLU Motion ZB — No (The device documentation lists only Bluetooth 5 LE and Zigbee 3.0, with no Matter or HomeKit profile, and Shelly's compatibility page names only Alexa, Google Home and SmartThings.); YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor — YoLink Local Hub required (The YoLink Local Hub bridges YoLink devices to Matter, which is how they reach the Apple Home app. The older cloud-only YoLink hubs have no Apple Home path.).
  • Matter (integrations): Shelly BLU Motion ZB — No (Not in the CSA certified-product database under Shelly Europe Ltd., and the device documentation lists only Bluetooth 5 LE and Zigbee 3.0.); YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor — YoLink Local Hub required.
Information still to confirm
  • 6 of 25 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
  • Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.

These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.

Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.

What the catalog tells us

Understand the tradeoffs.

These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.

9differences with recorded values for every device
6rows with missing or unspecified information

Consider your setup

Apple Home

  • Shelly BLU Motion ZBNo
  • YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion SensorYoLink Local Hub required

Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.

Inspect the specifications

Consider your setup

Matter

  • Shelly BLU Motion ZBNo
  • YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion SensorYoLink Local Hub required

Confirm the exact device type and the features exposed in your chosen platform. Protocol support does not establish feature parity across apps.

Inspect the specifications

Consider your setup

Battery Life

  • Shelly BLU Motion ZB5 years
  • YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor3 years

Compare the stated test conditions. Catalog battery figures alone do not predict runtime in your home.

Inspect the specifications

Your priorities, side by side

Focus on what changes.

Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.

Showing 25 of 25 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.

Alerts

Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Yes
Catalog note

IAS Zone status bit 3 flags a battery at or below 15 percent, and the battery percentage is also broadcast over BTHome.

YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor
Yes
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Yes
Catalog note

Every motion detection is broadcast as an event over BTHome and sent over Zigbee to the bound devices, and the app can push a notification when movement is detected.

YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor
Yes

Connectivity

Shelly BLU Motion ZB
No
YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor
No
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
No
YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor
No
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Yes
Catalog note

Bluetooth 5 (LE) broadcasting in the BTHome format, running simultaneously with Zigbee. Remote control needs a Shelly BLU Gateway or a Shelly Plus, Pro, Gen3 or Gen4 device as the bridge.

YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor
No
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
No
YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor
No
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
No
YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor
No
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note

Zigbee 3.0 end device (IAS Zone 0x000D, profile 0x104, 802.15.4), so it joins an existing Zigbee coordinator.

YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor
No

Features

Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Not recorded
YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor
360°
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Yes
Catalog note

Motion and light-level events trigger scenes and automations from the Shelly Smart Control app, and scripting is available through a gateway.

YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor
Yes
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Yes
Catalog note

Motion hold time is configurable in seconds (60 by default): while movement continues the timer restarts, and a motion clear event is emitted once it expires.

YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor
Not recorded
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Not recorded
YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor
Not recorded
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Yes
Catalog note

Three PIR sensitivity levels (low, medium, high), adjustable to cut false triggers from pets or distant movement.

YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor
Not recorded
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Not recorded
YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor
20 ft

Integrations

Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Shelly gateway required
Catalog note

Reaches Amazon Alexa through the Shelly Smart Control account, and the product page states that a compatible Bluetooth or Zigbee gateway is required for automations and app control.

YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor
Yes
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
No
Catalog note

The device documentation lists only Bluetooth 5 LE and Zigbee 3.0, with no Matter or HomeKit profile, and Shelly's compatibility page names only Alexa, Google Home and SmartThings.

YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor
YoLink Local Hub required
Catalog note

The YoLink Local Hub bridges YoLink devices to Matter, which is how they reach the Apple Home app. The older cloud-only YoLink hubs have no Apple Home path.

Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Shelly gateway required
Catalog note

Reaches Google Home through the Shelly Smart Control account, and the product page states that a compatible Bluetooth or Zigbee gateway is required for automations and app control.

YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor
Not recorded
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Yes
Catalog note

Zigbee2MQTT supports this exact model (SBMO-103Z), exposing occupancy, battery, battery low, light level, the dark and bright thresholds and motion sensitivity. Over Bluetooth it also broadcasts BTHome, which Home Assistant reads natively.

YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor
Yes
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
No
Catalog note

Not in the CSA certified-product database under Shelly Europe Ltd., and the device documentation lists only Bluetooth 5 LE and Zigbee 3.0.

YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor
YoLink Local Hub required
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Shelly gateway required
Catalog note

Reaches SmartThings through the Shelly Smart Control account, and the product page states that a compatible Bluetooth or Zigbee gateway is required for automations and app control.

YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor
YoLink Local Hub required
Catalog note

Via Matter

Power

Shelly BLU Motion ZB
5 years
YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor
3 years
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
1x CR2477
YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor
AAA

Sensors

Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Yes
Catalog note

Built-in lux sensor reporting three levels (dark, twilight, bright) with configurable thresholds, 50 lx dark and 500 lx bright by default.

YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor
No
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Yes
Manufacturer source

The ZB variant detects movement.

Shelly BLU Motion ZB manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

This evidence is specific to BLU Motion ZB, not the earlier Bluetooth-only model.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

PYD1698 passive infrared (PIR) motion sensor.

YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor
Yes
Catalog note

PIR motion, LoRa 1/4 mile range (YoLink hub required)

Shelly BLU Motion ZB
No
Catalog note

The specifications list only a PIR and a light sensor.

YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor
No
Specifications for Shelly BLU Motion ZB versus YoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor
SpecificationShelly BLU Motion ZBYoLink LoRa 1/4 Mile Motion Sensor
Alerts
Yes
Catalog note

IAS Zone status bit 3 flags a battery at or below 15 percent, and the battery percentage is also broadcast over BTHome.

Yes
Yes
Catalog note

Every motion detection is broadcast as an event over BTHome and sent over Zigbee to the bound devices, and the app can push a notification when movement is detected.

Yes
Connectivity
NoNo
NoNo
Yes
Catalog note

Bluetooth 5 (LE) broadcasting in the BTHome format, running simultaneously with Zigbee. Remote control needs a Shelly BLU Gateway or a Shelly Plus, Pro, Gen3 or Gen4 device as the bridge.

No
NoNo
NoNo
Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note

Zigbee 3.0 end device (IAS Zone 0x000D, profile 0x104, 802.15.4), so it joins an existing Zigbee coordinator.

No
Features
Not recorded360°
Yes
Catalog note

Motion and light-level events trigger scenes and automations from the Shelly Smart Control app, and scripting is available through a gateway.

Yes
Yes
Catalog note

Motion hold time is configurable in seconds (60 by default): while movement continues the timer restarts, and a motion clear event is emitted once it expires.

Not recorded
Not recordedNot recorded
Yes
Catalog note

Three PIR sensitivity levels (low, medium, high), adjustable to cut false triggers from pets or distant movement.

Not recorded
Not recorded20 ft
Integrations
Shelly gateway required
Catalog note

Reaches Amazon Alexa through the Shelly Smart Control account, and the product page states that a compatible Bluetooth or Zigbee gateway is required for automations and app control.

Yes
No
Catalog note

The device documentation lists only Bluetooth 5 LE and Zigbee 3.0, with no Matter or HomeKit profile, and Shelly's compatibility page names only Alexa, Google Home and SmartThings.

YoLink Local Hub required
Catalog note

The YoLink Local Hub bridges YoLink devices to Matter, which is how they reach the Apple Home app. The older cloud-only YoLink hubs have no Apple Home path.

Shelly gateway required
Catalog note

Reaches Google Home through the Shelly Smart Control account, and the product page states that a compatible Bluetooth or Zigbee gateway is required for automations and app control.

Not recorded
Yes
Catalog note

Zigbee2MQTT supports this exact model (SBMO-103Z), exposing occupancy, battery, battery low, light level, the dark and bright thresholds and motion sensitivity. Over Bluetooth it also broadcasts BTHome, which Home Assistant reads natively.

Yes
No
Catalog note

Not in the CSA certified-product database under Shelly Europe Ltd., and the device documentation lists only Bluetooth 5 LE and Zigbee 3.0.

YoLink Local Hub required
Shelly gateway required
Catalog note

Reaches SmartThings through the Shelly Smart Control account, and the product page states that a compatible Bluetooth or Zigbee gateway is required for automations and app control.

YoLink Local Hub required
Catalog note

Via Matter

Power
5 years3 years
1x CR2477AAA
Sensors
Yes
Catalog note

Built-in lux sensor reporting three levels (dark, twilight, bright) with configurable thresholds, 50 lx dark and 500 lx bright by default.

No
Yes
Manufacturer source

The ZB variant detects movement.

Shelly BLU Motion ZB manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Shelly BLU Motion ZB
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

This evidence is specific to BLU Motion ZB, not the earlier Bluetooth-only model.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

PYD1698 passive infrared (PIR) motion sensor.

Yes
Catalog note

PIR motion, LoRa 1/4 mile range (YoLink hub required)

No
Catalog note

The specifications list only a PIR and a light sensor.

No

Know what’s behind the comparison.

The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.

Read our comparison methodology