
The Smart Device Compare comparison
Synology DS1525+ vs Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.
Build another comparison →Before you compare every specification
Key differences between Synology DS1525+ and Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
A summary of selected recorded differences between these nas. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.
- Ai Photo Recognition (apps): Synology DS1525+ — Yes; Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8 — No.
- Docker (apps): Synology DS1525+ — Yes; Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8 — No.
- Plex Media Server (apps): Synology DS1525+ — Yes; Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8 — No.
- Surveillance App (apps): Synology DS1525+ — Yes; Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8 — No.
- Operating System (apps): Synology DS1525+ — Synology DSM; Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8 — UniFi Drive.
- Capacity (memory): Synology DS1525+ — 8 GB; Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8 — 16 GB.
- Maximum Capacity (memory): Synology DS1525+ — 32 GB; Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8 — 16 GB.
- 10 Gbe Ports (network): Synology DS1525+ — 0; Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8 — 1.
- 16 of 53 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
- Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.
These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.
Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.


What the catalog tells us
Understand the tradeoffs.
These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.
Your priorities, side by side
Focus on what changes.
Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.
Showing 53 of 53 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.
Apps
- Synology DS1525+
- Yes
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- No
- Synology DS1525+
- Yes
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- No
- Synology DS1525+
- Synology DSM
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- UniFi Drive
- Synology DS1525+
- Yes
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- No
- Synology DS1525+
- Yes
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- No
- Synology DS1525+
- Yes
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- No
Backup
- Synology DS1525+
- Yes
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Yes
- Synology DS1525+
- Yes
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Not recorded
- Synology DS1525+
- Not recorded
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Not recorded
Features
- Synology DS1525+
- Yes
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Not recorded
- Synology DS1525+
- Yes
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Not recorded
File Services
- Synology DS1525+
- Yes
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- No
Catalog note
Only SMB and NFS are listed as supported file protocols
- Synology DS1525+
- Yes
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Yes
Catalog note
Supported file protocols: SMB and NFS
- Synology DS1525+
- Yes
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Yes
Memory
- Synology DS1525+
- 8 GB
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- 16 GB
- Synology DS1525+
- Yes
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- No
- Synology DS1525+
- 32 GB
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- 16 GB
- Synology DS1525+
- DDR4 ECC
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Not recorded
Network
- Synology DS1525+
- 0
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- 0
- Synology DS1525+
- 0
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- 1
- Synology DS1525+
- 2
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- 0
- Synology DS1525+
- Not recorded
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Not recorded
- Synology DS1525+
- 0
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- 2
- Synology DS1525+
- Yes
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Not recorded
Ports
- Synology DS1525+
- No
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- No
- Synology DS1525+
- No
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- No
- Synology DS1525+
- No
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- No
- Synology DS1525+
- 2
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- 0
- Synology DS1525+
- No
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- No
Power
- Synology DS1525+
- 22.60 dB
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Not recorded
- Synology DS1525+
- 44.56 W
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- 250W
Processor
- Synology DS1525+
- x86-64
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- ARM
- Synology DS1525+
- 4
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- 4
- Synology DS1525+
- Yes
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Not recorded
- Synology DS1525+
- No
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- No
- Synology DS1525+
- AMD Ryzen V1500B
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- ARM Cortex-A57 quad-core
- Synology DS1525+
- Not applicable / unspecified
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Not applicable / unspecified
Raid
- Synology DS1525+
- Yes
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Not recorded
- Synology DS1525+
- YES (SHR)
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- No
- Synology DS1525+
- Yes
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Yes
- Synology DS1525+
- Yes
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Yes
- Synology DS1525+
- Yes
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Yes
- Synology DS1525+
- No
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- No
Remote Access
- Synology DS1525+
- Yes
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Not recorded
- Synology DS1525+
- YES (QuickConnect)
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- YES (UniFi Cloud)
- Synology DS1525+
- Yes
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Not recorded
- Synology DS1525+
- Yes
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Not recorded
Storage
- Synology DS1525+
- YES (15 bays)
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- No
- Synology DS1525+
- Yes
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Yes
Catalog note
Hot spare support and hot-swappable power modules
- Synology DS1525+
- 2
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- 2
Manufacturer source
Two M.2 NVMe slots are provided for SSD caching.
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Model overview
- Model
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Region
- US Ubiquiti store
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Drive-bay counts do not imply disks are included. Cache slots do not establish SSD storage-pool support.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Synology DS1525+
- Yes
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Not recorded
- Synology DS1525+
- Not recorded
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Not recorded
- Synology DS1525+
- 5
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- 8
Manufacturer source
The chassis has 8 SATA drive bays for 2.5-inch or 3.5-inch drives.
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Model overview
- Model
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Region
- US Ubiquiti store
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Drive-bay counts do not imply disks are included. Cache slots do not establish SSD storage-pool support.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
| Specification | Synology DS1525+ | Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8 |
|---|---|---|
| Apps | ||
| Yes | No | |
| Yes | No | |
| Synology DSM | UniFi Drive | |
| Yes | No | |
| Yes | No | |
| Yes | No | |
| Backup | ||
| Yes | Yes | |
| Yes | Not recorded | |
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
| Features | ||
| Yes | Not recorded | |
| Yes | Not recorded | |
| File Services | ||
| Yes | NoCatalog noteOnly SMB and NFS are listed as supported file protocols | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteSupported file protocols: SMB and NFS | |
| Yes | Yes | |
| Memory | ||
| 8 GB | 16 GB | |
| Yes | No | |
| 32 GB | 16 GB | |
| DDR4 ECC | Not recorded | |
| Network | ||
| 0 | 0 | |
| 0 | 1 | |
| 2 | 0 | |
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
| 0 | 2 | |
| Yes | Not recorded | |
| Ports | ||
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| 2 | 0 | |
| No | No | |
| Power | ||
| 22.60 dB | Not recorded | |
| 44.56 W | 250W | |
| Processor | ||
| x86-64 | ARM | |
| 4 | 4 | |
| Yes | Not recorded | |
| No | No | |
| AMD Ryzen V1500B | ARM Cortex-A57 quad-core | |
| Not applicable / unspecified | Not applicable / unspecified | |
| Raid | ||
| Yes | Not recorded | |
| YES (SHR) | No | |
| Yes | Yes | |
| Yes | Yes | |
| Yes | Yes | |
| No | No | |
| Remote Access | ||
| Yes | Not recorded | |
| YES (QuickConnect) | YES (UniFi Cloud) | |
| Yes | Not recorded | |
| Yes | Not recorded | |
| Storage | ||
| YES (15 bays) | No | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteHot spare support and hot-swappable power modules | |
| 2 | 2Manufacturer sourceTwo M.2 NVMe slots are provided for SSD caching. Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8 manufacturer product page →
Drive-bay counts do not imply disks are included. Cache slots do not establish SSD storage-pool support. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | |
| Yes | Not recorded | |
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
| 5 | 8Manufacturer sourceThe chassis has 8 SATA drive bays for 2.5-inch or 3.5-inch drives. Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8 manufacturer product page →
Drive-bay counts do not imply disks are included. Cache slots do not establish SSD storage-pool support. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | |
Know what’s behind the comparison.
The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.
Read our comparison methodology