The Smart Device Compare comparison

Synology DS725+ vs Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8

Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.

Build another comparison →

Before you compare every specification

Key differences between Synology DS725+ and Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8

A summary of selected recorded differences between these nas. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.

Feature differences among your selected devices
  • Ai Photo Recognition (apps): Synology DS725+ — Yes; Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8 — No.
  • Docker (apps): Synology DS725+ — Yes; Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8 — No.
  • Plex Media Server (apps): Synology DS725+ — Yes; Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8 — No.
  • Surveillance App (apps): Synology DS725+ — Yes; Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8 — No.
Specifications to check side by side
  • Operating System (apps): Synology DS725+ — Synology DSM; Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8 — UniFi Drive.
  • Capacity (memory): Synology DS725+ — 4 GB; Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8 — 16 GB.
  • Maximum Capacity (memory): Synology DS725+ — 32 GB; Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8 — 16 GB.
  • 1 Gbe Ports (network): Synology DS725+ — 1; Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8 — 0.
Information still to confirm
  • 16 of 53 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
  • Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.

These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.

Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.

What the catalog tells us

Understand the tradeoffs.

These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.

23differences with recorded values for every device
16rows with missing or unspecified information

Your priorities, side by side

Focus on what changes.

Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.

Showing 53 of 53 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.

Apps

Synology DS725+
Yes
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
No
Synology DS725+
Yes
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
No
Synology DS725+
Synology DSM
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
UniFi Drive
Synology DS725+
Yes
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
No
Synology DS725+
Yes
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
No
Synology DS725+
Yes
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
No

Backup

Synology DS725+
Yes
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
Yes
Synology DS725+
Yes
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
Not recorded
Synology DS725+
Not recorded
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
Not recorded

Features

Synology DS725+
Yes
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
Not recorded
Synology DS725+
Yes
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
Not recorded

File Services

Synology DS725+
Yes
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
No
Catalog note

Only SMB and NFS are listed as supported file protocols

Synology DS725+
Yes
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
Yes
Catalog note

Supported file protocols: SMB and NFS

Synology DS725+
Yes
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
Yes

Memory

Synology DS725+
4 GB
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
16 GB
Synology DS725+
Yes
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
No
Synology DS725+
32 GB
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
16 GB
Synology DS725+
DDR4 ECC
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
Not recorded

Network

Synology DS725+
1
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
0
Synology DS725+
0
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
1
Synology DS725+
1
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
0
Synology DS725+
Not recorded
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
Not recorded
Synology DS725+
0
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
2
Synology DS725+
Yes
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
Not recorded

Ports

Synology DS725+
No
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
No
Synology DS725+
No
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
No
Synology DS725+
No
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
No
Synology DS725+
1
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
0
Synology DS725+
No
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
No

Power

Synology DS725+
17.9 dB
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
Not recorded
Synology DS725+
20.41 W
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
250W

Processor

Synology DS725+
x86-64
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
ARM
Synology DS725+
2
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
4
Synology DS725+
Yes
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
Not recorded
Synology DS725+
No
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
No
Synology DS725+
AMD Ryzen R1600
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
ARM Cortex-A57 quad-core
Synology DS725+
Not applicable / unspecified
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
Not applicable / unspecified

Raid

Synology DS725+
Yes
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
Not recorded
Synology DS725+
YES (SHR)
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
No
Synology DS725+
Yes
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
Yes
Synology DS725+
Yes
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
Yes
Synology DS725+
Yes
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
Yes
Synology DS725+
No
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
No

Remote Access

Synology DS725+
Yes
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
Not recorded
Synology DS725+
YES (QuickConnect)
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
YES (UniFi Cloud)
Synology DS725+
Yes
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
Not recorded
Synology DS725+
Yes
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
Not recorded

Storage

Synology DS725+
YES (7 bays)
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
No
Synology DS725+
Yes
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
Yes
Catalog note

Hot spare support and hot-swappable power modules

Synology DS725+
2
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
2
Manufacturer source

Two M.2 NVMe slots are provided for SSD caching.

Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Model overview
Model
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
Region
US Ubiquiti store
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Drive-bay counts do not imply disks are included. Cache slots do not establish SSD storage-pool support.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Synology DS725+
Yes
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
Not recorded
Synology DS725+
Not recorded
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
Not recorded
Synology DS725+
2
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
8
Manufacturer source

The chassis has 8 SATA drive bays for 2.5-inch or 3.5-inch drives.

Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Model overview
Model
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
Region
US Ubiquiti store
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Drive-bay counts do not imply disks are included. Cache slots do not establish SSD storage-pool support.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Specifications for Synology DS725+ versus Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
SpecificationSynology DS725+Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
Apps
YesNo
YesNo
Synology DSMUniFi Drive
YesNo
YesNo
YesNo
Backup
YesYes
YesNot recorded
Not recordedNot recorded
Features
YesNot recorded
YesNot recorded
File Services
YesNo
Catalog note

Only SMB and NFS are listed as supported file protocols

YesYes
Catalog note

Supported file protocols: SMB and NFS

YesYes
Memory
4 GB16 GB
YesNo
32 GB16 GB
DDR4 ECCNot recorded
Network
10
01
10
Not recordedNot recorded
02
YesNot recorded
Ports
NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
10
NoNo
Power
17.9 dBNot recorded
20.41 W250W
Processor
x86-64ARM
24
YesNot recorded
NoNo
AMD Ryzen R1600ARM Cortex-A57 quad-core
Not applicable / unspecifiedNot applicable / unspecified
Raid
YesNot recorded
YES (SHR)No
YesYes
YesYes
YesYes
NoNo
Remote Access
YesNot recorded
YES (QuickConnect)YES (UniFi Cloud)
YesNot recorded
YesNot recorded
Storage
YES (7 bays)No
YesYes
Catalog note

Hot spare support and hot-swappable power modules

22
Manufacturer source

Two M.2 NVMe slots are provided for SSD caching.

Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Model overview
Model
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
Region
US Ubiquiti store
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Drive-bay counts do not imply disks are included. Cache slots do not establish SSD storage-pool support.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

YesNot recorded
Not recordedNot recorded
28
Manufacturer source

The chassis has 8 SATA drive bays for 2.5-inch or 3.5-inch drives.

Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Model overview
Model
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
Region
US Ubiquiti store
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Drive-bay counts do not imply disks are included. Cache slots do not establish SSD storage-pool support.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Know what’s behind the comparison.

The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.

Read our comparison methodology