
The Smart Device Compare comparison
Ubiquiti UNAS 4 vs Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.
Build another comparison →Before you compare every specification
Key differences between Ubiquiti UNAS 4 and Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
A summary of selected recorded differences between these nas. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.
- Capacity (memory): Ubiquiti UNAS 4 — 4 GB; Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8 — 16 GB.
- Maximum Capacity (memory): Ubiquiti UNAS 4 — 4 GB (Soldered, not user-expandable); Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8 — 16 GB.
- 10 Gbe Ports (network): Ubiquiti UNAS 4 — 0; Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8 — 1.
- 2 5 Gbe Ports (network): Ubiquiti UNAS 4 — 1; Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8 — 0.
- 17 of 53 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
- Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.
These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.
Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.


What the catalog tells us
Understand the tradeoffs.
These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.
Your priorities, side by side
Focus on what changes.
Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.
Showing 53 of 53 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.
Apps
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- No
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- No
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- No
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- No
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- UniFi Drive
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- UniFi Drive
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- No
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- No
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- No
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- No
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- No
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- No
Backup
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- Yes
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Yes
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- Not recorded
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Not recorded
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- Not recorded
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Not recorded
Features
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- Not recorded
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Not recorded
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- Not recorded
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Not recorded
File Services
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- No
Catalog note
Only SMB and NFS are listed as supported file protocols
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- No
Catalog note
Only SMB and NFS are listed as supported file protocols
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- Yes
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Yes
Catalog note
Supported file protocols: SMB and NFS
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- Yes
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Yes
Memory
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- 4 GB
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- 16 GB
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- No
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- No
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- 4 GB
Catalog note
Soldered, not user-expandable
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- 16 GB
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- Not recorded
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Not recorded
Network
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- 0
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- 0
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- 0
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- 1
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- 1
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- 0
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- Not recorded
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Not recorded
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- 0
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- 2
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- Not recorded
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Not recorded
Ports
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- No
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- No
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- No
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- No
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- YES (5 Gbps)
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- No
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- 0
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- 0
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- No
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- No
Power
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- Not recorded
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Not recorded
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- 90W
Catalog note
Max. power consumption 90 W, of which 80 W is the drive power budget
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- 250W
Processor
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- ARM
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- ARM
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- 4
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- 4
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- Not recorded
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Not recorded
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- No
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- No
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- ARM Cortex-A55 quad-core
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- ARM Cortex-A57 quad-core
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- Not applicable / unspecified
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Not applicable / unspecified
Raid
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- Not recorded
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Not recorded
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- No
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- No
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- Yes
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Yes
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- Yes
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Yes
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- Yes
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Yes
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- No
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- No
Remote Access
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- Not recorded
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Not recorded
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- YES (UniFi Cloud)
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- YES (UniFi Cloud)
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- Not recorded
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Not recorded
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- Not recorded
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Not recorded
Storage
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- No
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- No
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- Not recorded
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Yes
Catalog note
Hot spare support and hot-swappable power modules
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- 2
Manufacturer source
Two M.2 NVMe slots are provided for SSD caching.
Ubiquiti UNAS 4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Model overview
- Model
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- Region
- US Ubiquiti store
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Drive-bay counts do not imply disks are included. Cache slots do not establish SSD storage-pool support.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- 2
Manufacturer source
Two M.2 NVMe slots are provided for SSD caching.
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Model overview
- Model
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Region
- US Ubiquiti store
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Drive-bay counts do not imply disks are included. Cache slots do not establish SSD storage-pool support.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- Not recorded
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Not recorded
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- Not recorded
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Not recorded
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- 4
Manufacturer source
The chassis has 4 SATA drive bays for 2.5-inch or 3.5-inch drives.
Ubiquiti UNAS 4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Model overview
- Model
- Ubiquiti UNAS 4
- Region
- US Ubiquiti store
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Drive-bay counts do not imply disks are included. Cache slots do not establish SSD storage-pool support.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- 8
Manufacturer source
The chassis has 8 SATA drive bays for 2.5-inch or 3.5-inch drives.
Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Model overview
- Model
- Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8
- Region
- US Ubiquiti store
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Drive-bay counts do not imply disks are included. Cache slots do not establish SSD storage-pool support.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
| Specification | Ubiquiti UNAS 4 | Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8 |
|---|---|---|
| Apps | ||
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| UniFi Drive | UniFi Drive | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| Backup | ||
| Yes | Yes | |
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
| Features | ||
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
| File Services | ||
NoCatalog noteOnly SMB and NFS are listed as supported file protocols | NoCatalog noteOnly SMB and NFS are listed as supported file protocols | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteSupported file protocols: SMB and NFS | |
| Yes | Yes | |
| Memory | ||
| 4 GB | 16 GB | |
| No | No | |
4 GBCatalog noteSoldered, not user-expandable | 16 GB | |
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
| Network | ||
| 0 | 0 | |
| 0 | 1 | |
| 1 | 0 | |
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
| 0 | 2 | |
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
| Ports | ||
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| YES (5 Gbps) | No | |
| 0 | 0 | |
| No | No | |
| Power | ||
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
90WCatalog noteMax. power consumption 90 W, of which 80 W is the drive power budget | 250W | |
| Processor | ||
| ARM | ARM | |
| 4 | 4 | |
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
| No | No | |
| ARM Cortex-A55 quad-core | ARM Cortex-A57 quad-core | |
| Not applicable / unspecified | Not applicable / unspecified | |
| Raid | ||
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
| No | No | |
| Yes | Yes | |
| Yes | Yes | |
| Yes | Yes | |
| No | No | |
| Remote Access | ||
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
| YES (UniFi Cloud) | YES (UniFi Cloud) | |
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
| Storage | ||
| No | No | |
| Not recorded | YesCatalog noteHot spare support and hot-swappable power modules | |
2Manufacturer sourceTwo M.2 NVMe slots are provided for SSD caching. Ubiquiti UNAS 4 manufacturer product page →
Drive-bay counts do not imply disks are included. Cache slots do not establish SSD storage-pool support. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | 2Manufacturer sourceTwo M.2 NVMe slots are provided for SSD caching. Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8 manufacturer product page →
Drive-bay counts do not imply disks are included. Cache slots do not establish SSD storage-pool support. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | |
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
4Manufacturer sourceThe chassis has 4 SATA drive bays for 2.5-inch or 3.5-inch drives. Ubiquiti UNAS 4 manufacturer product page →
Drive-bay counts do not imply disks are included. Cache slots do not establish SSD storage-pool support. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | 8Manufacturer sourceThe chassis has 8 SATA drive bays for 2.5-inch or 3.5-inch drives. Ubiquiti UNAS Pro 8 manufacturer product page →
Drive-bay counts do not imply disks are included. Cache slots do not establish SSD storage-pool support. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | |
Know what’s behind the comparison.
The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.
Read our comparison methodology