
The Smart Device Compare comparison
Shelly Plug M Gen3 vs Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.
Build another comparison →Before you compare every specification
Key differences between Shelly Plug M Gen3 and Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
A summary of selected recorded differences between these plugs. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.
- 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi (connectivity): Shelly Plug M Gen3 — Yes (802.11 b/g/n, 2412 to 2484 MHz); Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug — No.
- Bluetooth (connectivity): Shelly Plug M Gen3 — Yes (Bluetooth 4.2, also usable as a BLE gateway for Shelly BLU devices); Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug — No.
- Zigbee Router (features): Shelly Plug M Gen3 — No; Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug — Yes (Works as a Zigbee router while powered on and connected, repeating signal to extend the network, with support for up to 64 end devices).
- Zigbee (connectivity): Shelly Plug M Gen3 — No; Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug — Zigbee Hub required (Zigbee 3.0 (IEEE 802.15.4) device: it pairs to a Zigbee coordinator such as a SONOFF ZBBridge, a SONOFF Dongle with ZHA or Zigbee2MQTT, or the built-in coordinator of an Amazon Echo Plus, Echo 4th gen or Echo Show 2nd gen).
- Apple Home (integrations): Shelly Plug M Gen3 — Yes (Via Matter); Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug — SONOFF Hub required (The device is not a native HomeKit accessory: it reaches the Apple Home app through a Matter bridge, either a SONOFF hub (Bridge-M, ZBBridge-U, iHost) or the software Matter bridge in eWeLink CUBE).
- Matter (integrations): Shelly Plug M Gen3 — Yes (Matter-certified (CSA certificate CSA25612MAT46436-24), enabled from the device settings; scripting is unavailable while Matter is on); Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug — SONOFF Hub required (The device is not Matter itself: SONOFF republishes it into Matter through a bridge (Bridge-M, ZBBridge-U, iHost or eWeLink CUBE with a SONOFF Zigbee Dongle), which is how it reaches the Apple Home app).
- Load Voltage (power): Shelly Plug M Gen3 — 220 - 240V; Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug — 100 - 125V.
These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.
Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.


Option 2 · Sonoff
Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
Last updated October 2026
View full device profileWhat the catalog tells us
Understand the tradeoffs.
These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.
Consider your setup
Apple Home
- Shelly Plug M Gen3Yes
- Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart PlugSONOFF Hub required
Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.
Inspect the specificationsConsider your setup
Matter
- Shelly Plug M Gen3Yes
- Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart PlugSONOFF Hub required
Confirm the exact device type and the features exposed in your chosen platform. Protocol support does not establish feature parity across apps.
Inspect the specificationsYour priorities, side by side
Focus on what changes.
Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.
Showing 22 of 22 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.
Connectivity
- Shelly Plug M Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
802.11 b/g/n, 2412 to 2484 MHz
- Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
- No
- Shelly Plug M Gen3
- No
- Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
- No
- Shelly Plug M Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
Bluetooth 4.2, also usable as a BLE gateway for Shelly BLU devices
- Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
- No
- Shelly Plug M Gen3
- No
- Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
- No
- Shelly Plug M Gen3
- No
- Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
- No
- Shelly Plug M Gen3
- No
- Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
- Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note
Zigbee 3.0 (IEEE 802.15.4) device: it pairs to a Zigbee coordinator such as a SONOFF ZBBridge, a SONOFF Dongle with ZHA or Zigbee2MQTT, or the built-in coordinator of an Amazon Echo Plus, Echo 4th gen or Echo Show 2nd gen
Features
- Shelly Plug M Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
Locally stored schedules and countdown timers, 20 webhooks with 5 URLs each, MQTT, scripting and virtual components, plus a Wi-Fi range extender mode
- Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
- Yes
Catalog note
Schedules, timers, loop timers and inching, plus smart scenes triggered by load power or electricity consumption
- Shelly Plug M Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
One push button, single press toggles the output
- Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
- Yes
Catalog note
One physical button: a single press toggles the load, a five second hold enters pairing mode and a ten second hold resets the device
- Shelly Plug M Gen3
- No
- Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Zigbee router functionality is described.
Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug — manufacturer product description →- Source section
- Product description / feature descriptions
- Model
- S61SZBTPB
- Region
- Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Works as a Zigbee router while powered on and connected, repeating signal to extend the network, with support for up to 64 end devices
Integrations
- Shelly Plug M Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
Amazon Alexa supported capabilities listed as supported by the manufacturer
- Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
- Yes
Catalog note
Works over Alexa voice control through account linking in the eWeLink app, and the Amazon Echo Plus 2nd gen, Echo 4th gen and Echo Show 2nd gen can act as its Zigbee hub directly
- Shelly Plug M Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter
- Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
- SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note
The device is not a native HomeKit accessory: it reaches the Apple Home app through a Matter bridge, either a SONOFF hub (Bridge-M, ZBBridge-U, iHost) or the software Matter bridge in eWeLink CUBE
- Shelly Plug M Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
Google Smart Home supported traits listed as supported by the manufacturer
- Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
- Yes
Catalog note
Once the plug is added to a compatible SONOFF Zigbee gateway, the eWeLink app's account linking exposes it to Google Home for on and off voice control
- Shelly Plug M Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
The official Home Assistant Shelly integration covers all four Shelly device generations, and the plug can also be commissioned over Matter
- Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
- Yes
Catalog note
Supported natively through Zigbee2MQTT from version 2.11.0 and through ZHA with the SONOFF-provided script, using a SONOFF Dongle Plus, Dongle Lite, Dongle Max or ZBDongle
- Shelly Plug M Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
Matter-certified (CSA certificate CSA25612MAT46436-24), enabled from the device settings; scripting is unavailable while Matter is on
- Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
- SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note
The device is not Matter itself: SONOFF republishes it into Matter through a bridge (Bridge-M, ZBBridge-U, iHost or eWeLink CUBE with a SONOFF Zigbee Dongle), which is how it reaches the Apple Home app
- Shelly Plug M Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter
- Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
- Yes
Catalog note
Listed as SmartThings compatible with an AeoTec Smart Home Hub V3 as its Zigbee hub, and reachable through the eWeLink cloud once added to a SONOFF gateway
Power
- Shelly Plug M Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
Built-in AC voltmeter, AC ammeter and power and energy meters
- Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Power and energy measurement are described.
Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug — manufacturer product description →- Source section
- Product description / feature descriptions
- Model
- S61SZBTPB
- Region
- Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Real-time voltage, current, power and consumption with historical reports by hour, day and month, 180 days of consumption history and data export
- Shelly Plug M Gen3
- 220 - 240V
- Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
- 100 - 125V
- Shelly Plug M Gen3
- 13A
- Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
- 15A
- Shelly Plug M Gen3
- 3000W
- Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
- 1875W
- Shelly Plug M Gen3
- Yes
Catalog note
Overheating, overvoltage, overcurrent and overpower protection
- Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
- Yes
Catalog note
Multi-layer protection: the plug shuts the load off immediately when a configured current, voltage or power threshold is exceeded, and it can be restored remotely or manually after a trip
- Shelly Plug M Gen3
- Type F
- Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
- Type B
- Shelly Plug M Gen3
- No
- Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
- No
| Specification | Shelly Plug M Gen3 | Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug |
|---|---|---|
| Connectivity | ||
YesCatalog note802.11 b/g/n, 2412 to 2484 MHz | No | |
| No | No | |
YesCatalog noteBluetooth 4.2, also usable as a BLE gateway for Shelly BLU devices | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | Zigbee Hub requiredCatalog noteZigbee 3.0 (IEEE 802.15.4) device: it pairs to a Zigbee coordinator such as a SONOFF ZBBridge, a SONOFF Dongle with ZHA or Zigbee2MQTT, or the built-in coordinator of an Amazon Echo Plus, Echo 4th gen or Echo Show 2nd gen | |
| Features | ||
YesCatalog noteLocally stored schedules and countdown timers, 20 webhooks with 5 URLs each, MQTT, scripting and virtual components, plus a Wi-Fi range extender mode | YesCatalog noteSchedules, timers, loop timers and inching, plus smart scenes triggered by load power or electricity consumption | |
YesCatalog noteOne push button, single press toggles the output | YesCatalog noteOne physical button: a single press toggles the load, a five second hold enters pairing mode and a ten second hold resets the device | |
| No | YesManufacturer sourceZigbee router functionality is described. Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug — manufacturer product description →
Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteWorks as a Zigbee router while powered on and connected, repeating signal to extend the network, with support for up to 64 end devices | |
| Integrations | ||
YesCatalog noteAmazon Alexa supported capabilities listed as supported by the manufacturer | YesCatalog noteWorks over Alexa voice control through account linking in the eWeLink app, and the Amazon Echo Plus 2nd gen, Echo 4th gen and Echo Show 2nd gen can act as its Zigbee hub directly | |
YesCatalog noteVia Matter | SONOFF Hub requiredCatalog noteThe device is not a native HomeKit accessory: it reaches the Apple Home app through a Matter bridge, either a SONOFF hub (Bridge-M, ZBBridge-U, iHost) or the software Matter bridge in eWeLink CUBE | |
YesCatalog noteGoogle Smart Home supported traits listed as supported by the manufacturer | YesCatalog noteOnce the plug is added to a compatible SONOFF Zigbee gateway, the eWeLink app's account linking exposes it to Google Home for on and off voice control | |
YesCatalog noteThe official Home Assistant Shelly integration covers all four Shelly device generations, and the plug can also be commissioned over Matter | YesCatalog noteSupported natively through Zigbee2MQTT from version 2.11.0 and through ZHA with the SONOFF-provided script, using a SONOFF Dongle Plus, Dongle Lite, Dongle Max or ZBDongle | |
YesCatalog noteMatter-certified (CSA certificate CSA25612MAT46436-24), enabled from the device settings; scripting is unavailable while Matter is on | SONOFF Hub requiredCatalog noteThe device is not Matter itself: SONOFF republishes it into Matter through a bridge (Bridge-M, ZBBridge-U, iHost or eWeLink CUBE with a SONOFF Zigbee Dongle), which is how it reaches the Apple Home app | |
YesCatalog noteVia Matter | YesCatalog noteListed as SmartThings compatible with an AeoTec Smart Home Hub V3 as its Zigbee hub, and reachable through the eWeLink cloud once added to a SONOFF gateway | |
| Power | ||
YesCatalog noteBuilt-in AC voltmeter, AC ammeter and power and energy meters | YesManufacturer sourcePower and energy measurement are described. Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug — manufacturer product description →
Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteReal-time voltage, current, power and consumption with historical reports by hour, day and month, 180 days of consumption history and data export | |
| 220 - 240V | 100 - 125V | |
| 13A | 15A | |
| 3000W | 1875W | |
YesCatalog noteOverheating, overvoltage, overcurrent and overpower protection | YesCatalog noteMulti-layer protection: the plug shuts the load off immediately when a configured current, voltage or power threshold is exceeded, and it can be restored remotely or manually after a trip | |
| Type F | Type B | |
| No | No | |
Know what’s behind the comparison.
The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.
Read our comparison methodology