The Smart Device Compare comparison

Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug vs TP-Link Kasa EP40

Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.

Build another comparison →

Before you compare every specification

Key differences between Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug and TP-Link Kasa EP40

A summary of selected recorded differences between these plugs. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.

Feature differences among your selected devices
  • 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi (connectivity): Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug — No; TP-Link Kasa EP40 — Yes.
  • Zigbee Router (features): Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug — Yes (Works as a Zigbee router while powered on and connected, repeating signal to extend the network, with support for up to 64 end devices); TP-Link Kasa EP40 — No.
  • Energy Monitoring (power): Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug — Yes (Real-time voltage, current, power and consumption with historical reports by hour, day and month, 180 days of consumption history and data export); TP-Link Kasa EP40 — No.
Specifications to check side by side
  • Zigbee (connectivity): Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug — Zigbee Hub required (Zigbee 3.0 (IEEE 802.15.4) device: it pairs to a Zigbee coordinator such as a SONOFF ZBBridge, a SONOFF Dongle with ZHA or Zigbee2MQTT, or the built-in coordinator of an Amazon Echo Plus, Echo 4th gen or Echo Show 2nd gen); TP-Link Kasa EP40 — No.
  • Apple Home (integrations): Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug — SONOFF Hub required (The device is not a native HomeKit accessory: it reaches the Apple Home app through a Matter bridge, either a SONOFF hub (Bridge-M, ZBBridge-U, iHost) or the software Matter bridge in eWeLink CUBE); TP-Link Kasa EP40 — No (The Kasa HomeKit line covers the EP25, EP40A, KS200 and KS220; the standard EP40 is not among them and its own page lists only Alexa and Google Assistant).
  • Matter (integrations): Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug — SONOFF Hub required (The device is not Matter itself: SONOFF republishes it into Matter through a bridge (Bridge-M, ZBBridge-U, iHost or eWeLink CUBE with a SONOFF Zigbee Dongle), which is how it reaches the Apple Home app); TP-Link Kasa EP40 — No (The Matter-certified version of this outdoor plug is the separate EP40M model; the EP40 is Wi-Fi only).
  • Load Voltage (power): Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug — 100 - 125V; TP-Link Kasa EP40 — 110 - 125V.
Information still to confirm
  • 1 of 22 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
  • Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.

These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.

Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.

What the catalog tells us

Understand the tradeoffs.

These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.

7differences with recorded values for every device
1rows with missing or unspecified information

Consider your setup

Apple Home

  • Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart PlugSONOFF Hub required
  • TP-Link Kasa EP40No

Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.

Inspect the specifications

Consider your setup

Matter

  • Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart PlugSONOFF Hub required
  • TP-Link Kasa EP40No

Confirm the exact device type and the features exposed in your chosen platform. Protocol support does not establish feature parity across apps.

Inspect the specifications

Your priorities, side by side

Focus on what changes.

Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.

Showing 22 of 22 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.

Connectivity

Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
No
TP-Link Kasa EP40
Yes
Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
No
TP-Link Kasa EP40
No
Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
No
TP-Link Kasa EP40
No
Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
No
TP-Link Kasa EP40
No
Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
No
TP-Link Kasa EP40
No
Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note

Zigbee 3.0 (IEEE 802.15.4) device: it pairs to a Zigbee coordinator such as a SONOFF ZBBridge, a SONOFF Dongle with ZHA or Zigbee2MQTT, or the built-in coordinator of an Amazon Echo Plus, Echo 4th gen or Echo Show 2nd gen

TP-Link Kasa EP40
No

Features

Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
Yes
Catalog note

Schedules, timers, loop timers and inching, plus smart scenes triggered by load power or electricity consumption

TP-Link Kasa EP40
Yes
Catalog note

Independent schedules, countdown timers and sunrise/sunset offsets for each outlet through the Kasa Smart app

Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
Yes
Catalog note

One physical button: a single press toggles the load, a five second hold enters pairing mode and a ten second hold resets the device

TP-Link Kasa EP40
Yes
Catalog note

Two independent on/off buttons with their own status LEDs on the plug body

Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
Yes
Manufacturer source

Zigbee router functionality is described.

Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug — manufacturer product description →
Source section
Product description / feature descriptions
Model
S61SZBTPB
Region
Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Works as a Zigbee router while powered on and connected, repeating signal to extend the network, with support for up to 64 end devices

TP-Link Kasa EP40
No

Integrations

Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
Yes
Catalog note

Works over Alexa voice control through account linking in the eWeLink app, and the Amazon Echo Plus 2nd gen, Echo 4th gen and Echo Show 2nd gen can act as its Zigbee hub directly

TP-Link Kasa EP40
Yes
Catalog note

TP-Link lists Alexa voice control for the EP40 and its Amazon listing carries the Works with Alexa badge

Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The device is not a native HomeKit accessory: it reaches the Apple Home app through a Matter bridge, either a SONOFF hub (Bridge-M, ZBBridge-U, iHost) or the software Matter bridge in eWeLink CUBE

TP-Link Kasa EP40
No
Catalog note

The Kasa HomeKit line covers the EP25, EP40A, KS200 and KS220; the standard EP40 is not among them and its own page lists only Alexa and Google Assistant

Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
Yes
Catalog note

Once the plug is added to a compatible SONOFF Zigbee gateway, the eWeLink app's account linking exposes it to Google Home for on and off voice control

TP-Link Kasa EP40
Yes
Catalog note

TP-Link lists Google Assistant voice control for the EP40 and the Kasa Smart app links the plug to Google Home

Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
Yes
Catalog note

Supported natively through Zigbee2MQTT from version 2.11.0 and through ZHA with the SONOFF-provided script, using a SONOFF Dongle Plus, Dongle Lite, Dongle Max or ZBDongle

TP-Link Kasa EP40
Yes
Catalog note

The official Home Assistant TP-Link integration lists the EP40 among its supported Kasa devices

Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The device is not Matter itself: SONOFF republishes it into Matter through a bridge (Bridge-M, ZBBridge-U, iHost or eWeLink CUBE with a SONOFF Zigbee Dongle), which is how it reaches the Apple Home app

TP-Link Kasa EP40
No
Catalog note

The Matter-certified version of this outdoor plug is the separate EP40M model; the EP40 is Wi-Fi only

Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
Yes
Catalog note

Listed as SmartThings compatible with an AeoTec Smart Home Hub V3 as its Zigbee hub, and reachable through the eWeLink cloud once added to a SONOFF gateway

TP-Link Kasa EP40
Yes
Catalog note

TP-Link Kasa Smart is a Works with SmartThings partner for outlets and the line pairs through TP-Link account linking in the SmartThings app

Power

Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
Yes
Manufacturer source

Power and energy measurement are described.

Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug — manufacturer product description →
Source section
Product description / feature descriptions
Model
S61SZBTPB
Region
Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Real-time voltage, current, power and consumption with historical reports by hour, day and month, 180 days of consumption history and data export

TP-Link Kasa EP40
No
Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
100 - 125V
TP-Link Kasa EP40
110 - 125V
Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
15A
TP-Link Kasa EP40
15A
Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
1875W
TP-Link Kasa EP40
1875W
Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
Yes
Catalog note

Multi-layer protection: the plug shuts the load off immediately when a configured current, voltage or power threshold is exceeded, and it can be restored remotely or manually after a trip

TP-Link Kasa EP40
Not recorded
Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
Type B
TP-Link Kasa EP40
Type B
Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug
No
TP-Link Kasa EP40
No
Specifications for Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug versus TP-Link Kasa EP40
SpecificationSonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart PlugTP-Link Kasa EP40
Connectivity
NoYes
NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note

Zigbee 3.0 (IEEE 802.15.4) device: it pairs to a Zigbee coordinator such as a SONOFF ZBBridge, a SONOFF Dongle with ZHA or Zigbee2MQTT, or the built-in coordinator of an Amazon Echo Plus, Echo 4th gen or Echo Show 2nd gen

No
Features
Yes
Catalog note

Schedules, timers, loop timers and inching, plus smart scenes triggered by load power or electricity consumption

Yes
Catalog note

Independent schedules, countdown timers and sunrise/sunset offsets for each outlet through the Kasa Smart app

Yes
Catalog note

One physical button: a single press toggles the load, a five second hold enters pairing mode and a ten second hold resets the device

Yes
Catalog note

Two independent on/off buttons with their own status LEDs on the plug body

Yes
Manufacturer source

Zigbee router functionality is described.

Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug — manufacturer product description →
Source section
Product description / feature descriptions
Model
S61SZBTPB
Region
Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Works as a Zigbee router while powered on and connected, repeating signal to extend the network, with support for up to 64 end devices

No
Integrations
Yes
Catalog note

Works over Alexa voice control through account linking in the eWeLink app, and the Amazon Echo Plus 2nd gen, Echo 4th gen and Echo Show 2nd gen can act as its Zigbee hub directly

Yes
Catalog note

TP-Link lists Alexa voice control for the EP40 and its Amazon listing carries the Works with Alexa badge

SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The device is not a native HomeKit accessory: it reaches the Apple Home app through a Matter bridge, either a SONOFF hub (Bridge-M, ZBBridge-U, iHost) or the software Matter bridge in eWeLink CUBE

No
Catalog note

The Kasa HomeKit line covers the EP25, EP40A, KS200 and KS220; the standard EP40 is not among them and its own page lists only Alexa and Google Assistant

Yes
Catalog note

Once the plug is added to a compatible SONOFF Zigbee gateway, the eWeLink app's account linking exposes it to Google Home for on and off voice control

Yes
Catalog note

TP-Link lists Google Assistant voice control for the EP40 and the Kasa Smart app links the plug to Google Home

Yes
Catalog note

Supported natively through Zigbee2MQTT from version 2.11.0 and through ZHA with the SONOFF-provided script, using a SONOFF Dongle Plus, Dongle Lite, Dongle Max or ZBDongle

Yes
Catalog note

The official Home Assistant TP-Link integration lists the EP40 among its supported Kasa devices

SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The device is not Matter itself: SONOFF republishes it into Matter through a bridge (Bridge-M, ZBBridge-U, iHost or eWeLink CUBE with a SONOFF Zigbee Dongle), which is how it reaches the Apple Home app

No
Catalog note

The Matter-certified version of this outdoor plug is the separate EP40M model; the EP40 is Wi-Fi only

Yes
Catalog note

Listed as SmartThings compatible with an AeoTec Smart Home Hub V3 as its Zigbee hub, and reachable through the eWeLink cloud once added to a SONOFF gateway

Yes
Catalog note

TP-Link Kasa Smart is a Works with SmartThings partner for outlets and the line pairs through TP-Link account linking in the SmartThings app

Power
Yes
Manufacturer source

Power and energy measurement are described.

Sonoff iPlug Gen2 S61s Type B Zigbee Power Meter Smart Plug — manufacturer product description →
Source section
Product description / feature descriptions
Model
S61SZBTPB
Region
Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Real-time voltage, current, power and consumption with historical reports by hour, day and month, 180 days of consumption history and data export

No
100 - 125V110 - 125V
15A15A
1875W1875W
Yes
Catalog note

Multi-layer protection: the plug shuts the load off immediately when a configured current, voltage or power threshold is exceeded, and it can be restored remotely or manually after a trip

Not recorded
Type BType B
NoNo

Know what’s behind the comparison.

The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.

Read our comparison methodology