The Smart Device Compare comparison

Apollo MSR-2 vs Shelly Presence Gen4

Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.

Build another comparison →

Before you compare every specification

Key differences between Apollo MSR-2 and Shelly Presence Gen4

A summary of selected recorded differences between these presence sensors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.

Feature differences among your selected devices
  • Bluetooth (connectivity): Apollo MSR-2 — No; Shelly Presence Gen4 — Yes (Bluetooth 5 LE for onboarding.).
  • Multi Person Detection (features): Apollo MSR-2 — No; Shelly Presence Gen4 — Yes (Identifies up to 6 people at once and maps them onto up to 10 customizable detection zones.).
  • Alexa (integrations): Apollo MSR-2 — No (Apollo ships ESPHome firmware aimed at Home Assistant and publishes no Alexa skill); Shelly Presence Gen4 — Yes (Via Matter. Shelly also lists the Alexa Motion Sensor capability.).
  • Apple Home (integrations): Apollo MSR-2 — No; Shelly Presence Gen4 — Yes (Via Matter).
Specifications to check side by side
  • Zigbee (connectivity): Apollo MSR-2 — No; Shelly Presence Gen4 — Zigbee Hub required (Zigbee 3.0 (802.15.4). A five-press on the button switches the firmware between Matter over Wi-Fi (the default) and Zigbee. Using the Zigbee radio needs a Zigbee coordinator.).
  • Wired (power): Apollo MSR-2 — USB-C; Shelly Presence Gen4 — Yes (Powered by USB-C at 5 VDC, 1 A. Nominal consumption 2.5 W, 3.5 W maximum. There is no battery option.).
Information still to confirm
  • 5 of 25 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
  • Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.

These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.

Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.

What the catalog tells us

Understand the tradeoffs.

These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.

9differences with recorded values for every device
5rows with missing or unspecified information

Consider your setup

Apple Home

  • Apollo MSR-2No
  • Shelly Presence Gen4Yes

Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.

Inspect the specifications

Consider your setup

Matter

  • Apollo MSR-2No
  • Shelly Presence Gen4Yes

Confirm the exact device type and the features exposed in your chosen platform. Protocol support does not establish feature parity across apps.

Inspect the specifications

Your priorities, side by side

Focus on what changes.

Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.

Showing 25 of 25 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.

Alerts

Apollo MSR-2
No
Shelly Presence Gen4
No
Apollo MSR-2
Yes
Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Catalog note

Presence and vacancy can trigger lights, HVAC, blinds, security or a notification through Shelly Smart Control, Matter or local webhooks.

Connectivity

Apollo MSR-2
Yes
Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Catalog note

Wi-Fi 6, 802.11 b/g/n/ax on 2401-2483 MHz.

Apollo MSR-2
No
Shelly Presence Gen4
No
Apollo MSR-2
No
Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Manufacturer source

Bluetooth 5 LE is specified.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Bluetooth 5 LE for onboarding.

Apollo MSR-2
No
Shelly Presence Gen4
No
Apollo MSR-2
No
Shelly Presence Gen4
No
Apollo MSR-2
No
Shelly Presence Gen4
Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note

Zigbee 3.0 (802.15.4). A five-press on the button switches the firmware between Matter over Wi-Fi (the default) and Zigbee. Using the Zigbee radio needs a Zigbee coordinator.

Features

Apollo MSR-2
Not recorded
Shelly Presence Gen4
140° Horizontal / 120° Vertical
Apollo MSR-2
Not recorded
Shelly Presence Gen4
42 m²
Manufacturer source

The stated detection area is up to 42 square metres.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Apollo MSR-2
Yes
Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Catalog note

20 schedules, scripting, MQTT, 20 webhooks and local logic on the device, plus Matter occupancy for platform automations.

Apollo MSR-2
Yes
Shelly Presence Gen4
Not recorded
Apollo MSR-2
No
Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Manufacturer source

The sensor supports simultaneous detection of multiple occupants.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Identifies up to 6 people at once and maps them onto up to 10 customizable detection zones.

Apollo MSR-2
Not recorded
Shelly Presence Gen4
8m / 26ft
Apollo MSR-2
No
Shelly Presence Gen4
No
Apollo MSR-2
No
Shelly Presence Gen4
Not recorded
Catalog note

USB-C powered and able to join a Zigbee network, but Shelly's knowledge base does not say whether it repeats traffic as a Zigbee router.

Integrations

Apollo MSR-2
No
Catalog note

Apollo ships ESPHome firmware aimed at Home Assistant and publishes no Alexa skill

Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Shelly also lists the Alexa Motion Sensor capability.

Apollo MSR-2
No
Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter

Apollo MSR-2
No
Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Shelly also lists the Google Smart Home Occupancy Sensing trait.

Apollo MSR-2
Yes
Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Shelly's knowledge base also lists Home Assistant as a supported platform, plus local MQTT, webhooks and an embedded web interface.

Apollo MSR-2
No
Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Manufacturer source

Matter uses the Wi-Fi connection.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Matter over Wi-Fi. CSA certificate CSA25E3FMAT48529-24, certified 2025-11-18, vendor 0x1490 product 0x1821.

Apollo MSR-2
No
Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Shelly also lists the SmartThings Presence Sensor capability.

Power

Apollo MSR-2
USB-C
Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Manufacturer source

Continuous power is supplied through 5 V USB-C.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Powered by USB-C at 5 VDC, 1 A. Nominal consumption 2.5 W, 3.5 W maximum. There is no battery option.

Sensors

Apollo MSR-2
Yes
Manufacturer source

An ambient-light sensor supports lighting automations.

Apollo MSR-2 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product sensor description
Model
Apollo MSR-2
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Manufacturer source

The light sensor reports dark, twilight and bright states.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Built-in light sensor that reports dark, twilight and bright states for lighting-aware automations.

Apollo MSR-2
Yes
Manufacturer source

The MSR-2 uses an LD2410B millimetre-wave sensor.

Apollo MSR-2 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product sensor description
Model
Apollo MSR-2
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Manufacturer source

Presence detection uses millimetre-wave radar.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

60-64 GHz mmWave radar that detects people who are sitting still, with still detection out to 3 m and tracking of up to 6 people across up to 10 zones.

Specifications for Apollo MSR-2 versus Shelly Presence Gen4
SpecificationApollo MSR-2Shelly Presence Gen4
Alerts
NoNo
YesYes
Catalog note

Presence and vacancy can trigger lights, HVAC, blinds, security or a notification through Shelly Smart Control, Matter or local webhooks.

Connectivity
YesYes
Catalog note

Wi-Fi 6, 802.11 b/g/n/ax on 2401-2483 MHz.

NoNo
NoYes
Manufacturer source

Bluetooth 5 LE is specified.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Bluetooth 5 LE for onboarding.

NoNo
NoNo
NoZigbee Hub required
Catalog note

Zigbee 3.0 (802.15.4). A five-press on the button switches the firmware between Matter over Wi-Fi (the default) and Zigbee. Using the Zigbee radio needs a Zigbee coordinator.

Features
Not recorded140° Horizontal / 120° Vertical
Not recorded42 m²
Manufacturer source

The stated detection area is up to 42 square metres.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

YesYes
Catalog note

20 schedules, scripting, MQTT, 20 webhooks and local logic on the device, plus Matter occupancy for platform automations.

YesNot recorded
NoYes
Manufacturer source

The sensor supports simultaneous detection of multiple occupants.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Identifies up to 6 people at once and maps them onto up to 10 customizable detection zones.

Not recorded8m / 26ft
NoNo
NoNot recorded
Catalog note

USB-C powered and able to join a Zigbee network, but Shelly's knowledge base does not say whether it repeats traffic as a Zigbee router.

Integrations
No
Catalog note

Apollo ships ESPHome firmware aimed at Home Assistant and publishes no Alexa skill

Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Shelly also lists the Alexa Motion Sensor capability.

NoYes
Catalog note

Via Matter

NoYes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Shelly also lists the Google Smart Home Occupancy Sensing trait.

YesYes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Shelly's knowledge base also lists Home Assistant as a supported platform, plus local MQTT, webhooks and an embedded web interface.

NoYes
Manufacturer source

Matter uses the Wi-Fi connection.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Matter over Wi-Fi. CSA certificate CSA25E3FMAT48529-24, certified 2025-11-18, vendor 0x1490 product 0x1821.

NoYes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Shelly also lists the SmartThings Presence Sensor capability.

Power
USB-CYes
Manufacturer source

Continuous power is supplied through 5 V USB-C.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Powered by USB-C at 5 VDC, 1 A. Nominal consumption 2.5 W, 3.5 W maximum. There is no battery option.

Sensors
Yes
Manufacturer source

An ambient-light sensor supports lighting automations.

Apollo MSR-2 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product sensor description
Model
Apollo MSR-2
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Yes
Manufacturer source

The light sensor reports dark, twilight and bright states.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Built-in light sensor that reports dark, twilight and bright states for lighting-aware automations.

Yes
Manufacturer source

The MSR-2 uses an LD2410B millimetre-wave sensor.

Apollo MSR-2 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product sensor description
Model
Apollo MSR-2
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Yes
Manufacturer source

Presence detection uses millimetre-wave radar.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

60-64 GHz mmWave radar that detects people who are sitting still, with still detection out to 3 m and tracking of up to 6 people across up to 10 zones.

Know what’s behind the comparison.

The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.

Read our comparison methodology