
The Smart Device Compare comparison
Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400 vs Shelly Presence Gen4
Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.
Build another comparison →Before you compare every specification
Key differences between Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400 and Shelly Presence Gen4
A summary of selected recorded differences between these presence sensors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.
- Fall Alerts (alerts): Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400 — Yes (Aqara states simultaneous fall detection when side-mounted.); Shelly Presence Gen4 — No.
- 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi (connectivity): Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400 — No; Shelly Presence Gen4 — Yes (Wi-Fi 6, 802.11 b/g/n/ax on 2401-2483 MHz.).
- Bluetooth (connectivity): Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400 — No; Shelly Presence Gen4 — Yes (Bluetooth 5 LE for onboarding.).
- Thread (connectivity): Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400 — Thread Border Router required (Supports Matter over Thread; a compatible Thread Border Router or an Aqara hub is required.); Shelly Presence Gen4 — No.
- Angle Of Detection (features): Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400 — 120°; Shelly Presence Gen4 — 140° Horizontal / 120° Vertical.
- Area Of Detection (features): Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400 — 80 m² (Side mounting is verified up to 10 m depth and 8 m width.); Shelly Presence Gen4 — 42 m².
- Range Of Detection (features): Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400 — 10m / 33ft; Shelly Presence Gen4 — 8m / 26ft.
- 2 of 25 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
- Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.
These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.
Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.


What the catalog tells us
Understand the tradeoffs.
These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.
Your priorities, side by side
Focus on what changes.
Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.
Showing 25 of 25 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.
Alerts
- Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400
- Yes
Catalog note
Aqara states simultaneous fall detection when side-mounted.
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- No
- Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400
- Yes
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
Presence and vacancy can trigger lights, HVAC, blinds, security or a notification through Shelly Smart Control, Matter or local webhooks.
Connectivity
- Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400
- No
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
Wi-Fi 6, 802.11 b/g/n/ax on 2401-2483 MHz.
- Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400
- No
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- No
- Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400
- No
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Bluetooth 5 LE is specified.
Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Bluetooth 5 LE for onboarding.
- Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400
- Thread Border Router required
Catalog note
Supports Matter over Thread; a compatible Thread Border Router or an Aqara hub is required.
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- No
- Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400
- No
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- No
- Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400
- Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note
Dual-protocol sensor; in Zigbee mode a compatible Aqara hub is required to unlock the full experience.
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note
Zigbee 3.0 (802.15.4). A five-press on the button switches the firmware between Matter over Wi-Fi (the default) and Zigbee. Using the Zigbee radio needs a Zigbee coordinator.
Features
- Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400
- 120°
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- 140° Horizontal / 120° Vertical
- Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400
- 80 m²
Catalog note
Side mounting is verified up to 10 m depth and 8 m width.
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- 42 m²
Manufacturer source
The stated detection area is up to 42 square metres.
Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400
- Yes
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
20 schedules, scripting, MQTT, 20 webhooks and local logic on the device, plus Matter occupancy for platform automations.
- Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400
- Yes
Catalog note
Aqara states dwell analytics including average dwell time and walking distance.
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Not recorded
- Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400
- Yes
Manufacturer source
It can track up to ten occupants.
Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Thread and Zigbee are alternative operating modes. Use a compatible controller and configure zones for the room.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Tracks up to 10 people in real time across multiple zones.
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Manufacturer source
The sensor supports simultaneous detection of multiple occupants.
Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Identifies up to 6 people at once and maps them onto up to 10 customizable detection zones.
- Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400
- 10m / 33ft
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- 8m / 26ft
- Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400
- No
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- No
- Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400
- Not recorded
Catalog note
Mains-powered and Zigbee-capable, but Aqara does not state whether the FP400 repeats Zigbee traffic as a router.
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Not recorded
Catalog note
USB-C powered and able to join a Zigbee network, but Shelly's knowledge base does not say whether it repeats traffic as a Zigbee router.
Integrations
- Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400
- Yes
Catalog note
Listed as compatible on the official FP400 product page.
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter. Shelly also lists the Alexa Motion Sensor capability.
- Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter.
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter
- Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400
- Yes
Catalog note
Listed as compatible on the official FP400 product page.
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter. Shelly also lists the Google Smart Home Occupancy Sensing trait.
- Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter.
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter. Shelly's knowledge base also lists Home Assistant as a supported platform, plus local MQTT, webhooks and an embedded web interface.
- Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Matter-over-Thread support is documented.
Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Thread and Zigbee are alternative operating modes. Use a compatible controller and configure zones for the room.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Matter over Thread; the official page and Aqara's release state Matter support.
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Matter uses the Wi-Fi connection.
Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Matter over Wi-Fi. CSA certificate CSA25E3FMAT48529-24, certified 2025-11-18, vendor 0x1490 product 0x1821.
- Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter.
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter. Shelly also lists the SmartThings Presence Sensor capability.
Power
- Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400
- USB-C
Catalog note
Permanently powered over USB-C at 5V 1A. There is no battery option.
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Continuous power is supplied through 5 V USB-C.
Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Powered by USB-C at 5 VDC, 1 A. Nominal consumption 2.5 W, 3.5 W maximum. There is no battery option.
Sensors
- Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400
- Yes
Catalog note
Built-in ambient light sensor for brightness-aware automations.
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Manufacturer source
The light sensor reports dark, twilight and bright states.
Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Built-in light sensor that reports dark, twilight and bright states for lighting-aware automations.
- Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400
- Yes
Manufacturer source
The sensor uses 60 GHz millimetre-wave radar.
Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Thread and Zigbee are alternative operating modes. Use a compatible controller and configure zones for the room.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
60GHz mmWave radar presence detection, including when a person is still.
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Presence detection uses millimetre-wave radar.
Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
60-64 GHz mmWave radar that detects people who are sitting still, with still detection out to 3 m and tracking of up to 6 people across up to 10 zones.
| Specification | Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400 | Shelly Presence Gen4 |
|---|---|---|
| Alerts | ||
YesCatalog noteAqara states simultaneous fall detection when side-mounted. | No | |
| Yes | YesCatalog notePresence and vacancy can trigger lights, HVAC, blinds, security or a notification through Shelly Smart Control, Matter or local webhooks. | |
| Connectivity | ||
| No | YesCatalog noteWi-Fi 6, 802.11 b/g/n/ax on 2401-2483 MHz. | |
| No | No | |
| No | YesManufacturer sourceBluetooth 5 LE is specified. Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteBluetooth 5 LE for onboarding. | |
Thread Border Router requiredCatalog noteSupports Matter over Thread; a compatible Thread Border Router or an Aqara hub is required. | No | |
| No | No | |
Zigbee Hub requiredCatalog noteDual-protocol sensor; in Zigbee mode a compatible Aqara hub is required to unlock the full experience. | Zigbee Hub requiredCatalog noteZigbee 3.0 (802.15.4). A five-press on the button switches the firmware between Matter over Wi-Fi (the default) and Zigbee. Using the Zigbee radio needs a Zigbee coordinator. | |
| Features | ||
| 120° | 140° Horizontal / 120° Vertical | |
80 m²Catalog noteSide mounting is verified up to 10 m depth and 8 m width. | 42 m²Manufacturer sourceThe stated detection area is up to 42 square metres. Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | |
| Yes | YesCatalog note20 schedules, scripting, MQTT, 20 webhooks and local logic on the device, plus Matter occupancy for platform automations. | |
YesCatalog noteAqara states dwell analytics including average dwell time and walking distance. | Not recorded | |
YesManufacturer sourceIt can track up to ten occupants. Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400 manufacturer product page →
Thread and Zigbee are alternative operating modes. Use a compatible controller and configure zones for the room. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteTracks up to 10 people in real time across multiple zones. | YesManufacturer sourceThe sensor supports simultaneous detection of multiple occupants. Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteIdentifies up to 6 people at once and maps them onto up to 10 customizable detection zones. | |
| 10m / 33ft | 8m / 26ft | |
| No | No | |
Not recordedCatalog noteMains-powered and Zigbee-capable, but Aqara does not state whether the FP400 repeats Zigbee traffic as a router. | Not recordedCatalog noteUSB-C powered and able to join a Zigbee network, but Shelly's knowledge base does not say whether it repeats traffic as a Zigbee router. | |
| Integrations | ||
YesCatalog noteListed as compatible on the official FP400 product page. | YesCatalog noteVia Matter. Shelly also lists the Alexa Motion Sensor capability. | |
YesCatalog noteVia Matter. | YesCatalog noteVia Matter | |
YesCatalog noteListed as compatible on the official FP400 product page. | YesCatalog noteVia Matter. Shelly also lists the Google Smart Home Occupancy Sensing trait. | |
YesCatalog noteVia Matter. | YesCatalog noteVia Matter. Shelly's knowledge base also lists Home Assistant as a supported platform, plus local MQTT, webhooks and an embedded web interface. | |
YesManufacturer sourceMatter-over-Thread support is documented. Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400 manufacturer product page →
Thread and Zigbee are alternative operating modes. Use a compatible controller and configure zones for the room. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteMatter over Thread; the official page and Aqara's release state Matter support. | YesManufacturer sourceMatter uses the Wi-Fi connection. Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteMatter over Wi-Fi. CSA certificate CSA25E3FMAT48529-24, certified 2025-11-18, vendor 0x1490 product 0x1821. | |
YesCatalog noteVia Matter. | YesCatalog noteVia Matter. Shelly also lists the SmartThings Presence Sensor capability. | |
| Power | ||
USB-CCatalog notePermanently powered over USB-C at 5V 1A. There is no battery option. | YesManufacturer sourceContinuous power is supplied through 5 V USB-C. Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog notePowered by USB-C at 5 VDC, 1 A. Nominal consumption 2.5 W, 3.5 W maximum. There is no battery option. | |
| Sensors | ||
YesCatalog noteBuilt-in ambient light sensor for brightness-aware automations. | YesManufacturer sourceThe light sensor reports dark, twilight and bright states. Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteBuilt-in light sensor that reports dark, twilight and bright states for lighting-aware automations. | |
YesManufacturer sourceThe sensor uses 60 GHz millimetre-wave radar. Aqara Spatial Multi-Sensor FP400 manufacturer product page →
Thread and Zigbee are alternative operating modes. Use a compatible controller and configure zones for the room. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog note60GHz mmWave radar presence detection, including when a person is still. | YesManufacturer sourcePresence detection uses millimetre-wave radar. Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog note60-64 GHz mmWave radar that detects people who are sitting still, with still detection out to 3 m and tracking of up to 6 people across up to 10 zones. | |
Know what’s behind the comparison.
The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.
Read our comparison methodology