The Smart Device Compare comparison

Meross Presence Sensor MS605 vs Shelly Presence Gen4

Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.

Build another comparison →

Before you compare every specification

Key differences between Meross Presence Sensor MS605 and Shelly Presence Gen4

A summary of selected recorded differences between these presence sensors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.

Feature differences among your selected devices
  • 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi (connectivity): Meross Presence Sensor MS605 — No (Meross states the sensor needs no 2.4GHz Wi-Fi: it runs on Matter over Thread and the spec sheet lists Bluetooth as its only other radio. The word Wi-Fi in some marketplace titles is keyword stuffing, not a radio this model has.); Shelly Presence Gen4 — Yes (Wi-Fi 6, 802.11 b/g/n/ax on 2401-2483 MHz.).
  • Multi Person Detection (features): Meross Presence Sensor MS605 — No (The sensor splits its range into distance zones and reports each one as its own occupancy sensor. It does not count people or track individuals inside a zone.); Shelly Presence Gen4 — Yes (Identifies up to 6 people at once and maps them onto up to 10 customizable detection zones.).
  • Wired (power): Meross Presence Sensor MS605 — No (Battery powered by a single CR123A lithium cell (included), rated by Meross for 3 years. There is no wired or USB power option.); Shelly Presence Gen4 — Yes (Powered by USB-C at 5 VDC, 1 A. Nominal consumption 2.5 W, 3.5 W maximum. There is no battery option.).
Specifications to check side by side
  • Bluetooth (connectivity): Meross Presence Sensor MS605 — For Pairing (Bluetooth 4.3, used only to pair and configure the sensor from the Meross app; the device then reports over Thread.); Shelly Presence Gen4 — Yes (Bluetooth 5 LE for onboarding.).
  • Thread (connectivity): Meross Presence Sensor MS605 — Thread Border Router required (Matter over Thread on a Nordic chipset. Meross states a hub that supports both Matter and Thread is required to add it to a third-party platform.); Shelly Presence Gen4 — No.
  • Zigbee (connectivity): Meross Presence Sensor MS605 — No; Shelly Presence Gen4 — Zigbee Hub required (Zigbee 3.0 (802.15.4). A five-press on the button switches the firmware between Matter over Wi-Fi (the default) and Zigbee. Using the Zigbee radio needs a Zigbee coordinator.).
  • Range Of Detection (features): Meross Presence Sensor MS605 — 6m / 19ft (Meross specifies motion detection up to 6m and precise static presence within 4m.); Shelly Presence Gen4 — 8m / 26ft.
Information still to confirm
  • 4 of 25 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
  • Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.

These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.

Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.

What the catalog tells us

Understand the tradeoffs.

These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.

7differences with recorded values for every device
4rows with missing or unspecified information

Your priorities, side by side

Focus on what changes.

Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.

Showing 25 of 25 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.

Alerts

Meross Presence Sensor MS605
No
Shelly Presence Gen4
No
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Yes
Catalog note

Presence and absence state changes are pushed to the Matter platform, which is what raises the alert or runs the automation.

Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Catalog note

Presence and vacancy can trigger lights, HVAC, blinds, security or a notification through Shelly Smart Control, Matter or local webhooks.

Connectivity

Meross Presence Sensor MS605
No
Catalog note

Meross states the sensor needs no 2.4GHz Wi-Fi: it runs on Matter over Thread and the spec sheet lists Bluetooth as its only other radio. The word Wi-Fi in some marketplace titles is keyword stuffing, not a radio this model has.

Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Catalog note

Wi-Fi 6, 802.11 b/g/n/ax on 2401-2483 MHz.

Meross Presence Sensor MS605
No
Shelly Presence Gen4
No
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
For Pairing
Catalog note

Bluetooth 4.3, used only to pair and configure the sensor from the Meross app; the device then reports over Thread.

Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Manufacturer source

Bluetooth 5 LE is specified.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Bluetooth 5 LE for onboarding.

Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Thread Border Router required
Catalog note

Matter over Thread on a Nordic chipset. Meross states a hub that supports both Matter and Thread is required to add it to a third-party platform.

Shelly Presence Gen4
No
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
No
Shelly Presence Gen4
No
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
No
Shelly Presence Gen4
Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note

Zigbee 3.0 (802.15.4). A five-press on the button switches the firmware between Matter over Wi-Fi (the default) and Zigbee. Using the Zigbee radio needs a Zigbee coordinator.

Features

Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Not recorded
Shelly Presence Gen4
140° Horizontal / 120° Vertical
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Not recorded
Shelly Presence Gen4
42 m²
Manufacturer source

The stated detection area is up to 42 square metres.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Yes
Catalog note

The 6m range can be split into three zones in the Meross app, each with its own presence and absence conditions, and each appears as a separate sensor on third-party platforms so automations can key off distance. An AI auto-adjust pass filters interference from fans and air conditioners. | Automations built inside the Meross app itself need a Meross hub, which Meross says is still in development.

Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Catalog note

20 schedules, scripting, MQTT, 20 webhooks and local logic on the device, plus Matter occupancy for platform automations.

Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Not recorded
Shelly Presence Gen4
Not recorded
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
No
Catalog note

The sensor splits its range into distance zones and reports each one as its own occupancy sensor. It does not count people or track individuals inside a zone.

Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Manufacturer source

The sensor supports simultaneous detection of multiple occupants.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Identifies up to 6 people at once and maps them onto up to 10 customizable detection zones.

Meross Presence Sensor MS605
6m / 19ft
Catalog note

Meross specifies motion detection up to 6m and precise static presence within 4m.

Shelly Presence Gen4
8m / 26ft
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
No
Shelly Presence Gen4
No
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
No
Catalog note

A battery-powered Thread end device, so it neither speaks Zigbee nor repeats traffic for other devices.

Shelly Presence Gen4
Not recorded
Catalog note

USB-C powered and able to join a Zigbee network, but Shelly's knowledge base does not say whether it repeats traffic as a Zigbee router.

Integrations

Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter, through an Echo that acts as a Matter and Thread border router. Meross notes Alexa does not currently surface the sensor's light reading, only its presence state.

Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Shelly also lists the Alexa Motion Sensor capability.

Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter, with a HomePod or Apple TV acting as the Thread border router.

Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter

Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Meross lists Google Home among the platforms the sensor connects to directly over Matter.

Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Shelly also lists the Google Smart Home Occupancy Sensing trait.

Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Home Assistant is a certified Matter controller, and Meross names it as a supported platform for this sensor.

Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Shelly's knowledge base also lists Home Assistant as a supported platform, plus local MQTT, webhooks and an embedded web interface.

Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Yes
Manufacturer source

The sensor supports Matter over Thread.

Meross Presence Sensor MS605 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Matter-over-Thread use requires a compatible controller and Thread border router. Light-sensor exposure depends on the ecosystem.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Certified under the Matter 1.4 specification, with both the occupancy sensor and the light sensor exposed to Matter platforms.

Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Manufacturer source

Matter uses the Wi-Fi connection.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Matter over Wi-Fi. CSA certificate CSA25E3FMAT48529-24, certified 2025-11-18, vendor 0x1490 product 0x1821.

Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Meross lists SmartThings, and notes that it exposes a single presence sensor there rather than the three zones other platforms see.

Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Shelly also lists the SmartThings Presence Sensor capability.

Power

Meross Presence Sensor MS605
No
Catalog note

Battery powered by a single CR123A lithium cell (included), rated by Meross for 3 years. There is no wired or USB power option.

Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Manufacturer source

Continuous power is supplied through 5 V USB-C.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Powered by USB-C at 5 VDC, 1 A. Nominal consumption 2.5 W, 3.5 W maximum. There is no battery option.

Sensors

Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Yes
Manufacturer source

A light sensor is included.

Meross Presence Sensor MS605 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Matter-over-Thread use requires a compatible controller and Thread border router. Light-sensor exposure depends on the ecosystem.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Built-in ambient light sensor, reported live to the Matter platform as an illuminance reading for lux-aware lighting automations.

Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Manufacturer source

The light sensor reports dark, twilight and bright states.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Built-in light sensor that reports dark, twilight and bright states for lighting-aware automations.

Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Yes
Manufacturer source

Radar and infrared sensing detect people.

Meross Presence Sensor MS605 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Matter-over-Thread use requires a compatible controller and Thread border router. Light-sensor exposure depends on the ecosystem.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

24GHz mmWave Doppler radar paired with a PIR infrared sensor, so it holds a room occupied on breathing-level movement while the infrared side filters heatless motion such as curtains or a robot vacuum.

Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Manufacturer source

Presence detection uses millimetre-wave radar.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

60-64 GHz mmWave radar that detects people who are sitting still, with still detection out to 3 m and tracking of up to 6 people across up to 10 zones.

Specifications for Meross Presence Sensor MS605 versus Shelly Presence Gen4
SpecificationMeross Presence Sensor MS605Shelly Presence Gen4
Alerts
NoNo
Yes
Catalog note

Presence and absence state changes are pushed to the Matter platform, which is what raises the alert or runs the automation.

Yes
Catalog note

Presence and vacancy can trigger lights, HVAC, blinds, security or a notification through Shelly Smart Control, Matter or local webhooks.

Connectivity
No
Catalog note

Meross states the sensor needs no 2.4GHz Wi-Fi: it runs on Matter over Thread and the spec sheet lists Bluetooth as its only other radio. The word Wi-Fi in some marketplace titles is keyword stuffing, not a radio this model has.

Yes
Catalog note

Wi-Fi 6, 802.11 b/g/n/ax on 2401-2483 MHz.

NoNo
For Pairing
Catalog note

Bluetooth 4.3, used only to pair and configure the sensor from the Meross app; the device then reports over Thread.

Yes
Manufacturer source

Bluetooth 5 LE is specified.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Bluetooth 5 LE for onboarding.

Thread Border Router required
Catalog note

Matter over Thread on a Nordic chipset. Meross states a hub that supports both Matter and Thread is required to add it to a third-party platform.

No
NoNo
NoZigbee Hub required
Catalog note

Zigbee 3.0 (802.15.4). A five-press on the button switches the firmware between Matter over Wi-Fi (the default) and Zigbee. Using the Zigbee radio needs a Zigbee coordinator.

Features
Not recorded140° Horizontal / 120° Vertical
Not recorded42 m²
Manufacturer source

The stated detection area is up to 42 square metres.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Yes
Catalog note

The 6m range can be split into three zones in the Meross app, each with its own presence and absence conditions, and each appears as a separate sensor on third-party platforms so automations can key off distance. An AI auto-adjust pass filters interference from fans and air conditioners. | Automations built inside the Meross app itself need a Meross hub, which Meross says is still in development.

Yes
Catalog note

20 schedules, scripting, MQTT, 20 webhooks and local logic on the device, plus Matter occupancy for platform automations.

Not recordedNot recorded
No
Catalog note

The sensor splits its range into distance zones and reports each one as its own occupancy sensor. It does not count people or track individuals inside a zone.

Yes
Manufacturer source

The sensor supports simultaneous detection of multiple occupants.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Identifies up to 6 people at once and maps them onto up to 10 customizable detection zones.

6m / 19ft
Catalog note

Meross specifies motion detection up to 6m and precise static presence within 4m.

8m / 26ft
NoNo
No
Catalog note

A battery-powered Thread end device, so it neither speaks Zigbee nor repeats traffic for other devices.

Not recorded
Catalog note

USB-C powered and able to join a Zigbee network, but Shelly's knowledge base does not say whether it repeats traffic as a Zigbee router.

Integrations
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter, through an Echo that acts as a Matter and Thread border router. Meross notes Alexa does not currently surface the sensor's light reading, only its presence state.

Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Shelly also lists the Alexa Motion Sensor capability.

Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter, with a HomePod or Apple TV acting as the Thread border router.

Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter

Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Meross lists Google Home among the platforms the sensor connects to directly over Matter.

Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Shelly also lists the Google Smart Home Occupancy Sensing trait.

Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Home Assistant is a certified Matter controller, and Meross names it as a supported platform for this sensor.

Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Shelly's knowledge base also lists Home Assistant as a supported platform, plus local MQTT, webhooks and an embedded web interface.

Yes
Manufacturer source

The sensor supports Matter over Thread.

Meross Presence Sensor MS605 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Matter-over-Thread use requires a compatible controller and Thread border router. Light-sensor exposure depends on the ecosystem.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Certified under the Matter 1.4 specification, with both the occupancy sensor and the light sensor exposed to Matter platforms.

Yes
Manufacturer source

Matter uses the Wi-Fi connection.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Matter over Wi-Fi. CSA certificate CSA25E3FMAT48529-24, certified 2025-11-18, vendor 0x1490 product 0x1821.

Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Meross lists SmartThings, and notes that it exposes a single presence sensor there rather than the three zones other platforms see.

Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Shelly also lists the SmartThings Presence Sensor capability.

Power
No
Catalog note

Battery powered by a single CR123A lithium cell (included), rated by Meross for 3 years. There is no wired or USB power option.

Yes
Manufacturer source

Continuous power is supplied through 5 V USB-C.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Powered by USB-C at 5 VDC, 1 A. Nominal consumption 2.5 W, 3.5 W maximum. There is no battery option.

Sensors
Yes
Manufacturer source

A light sensor is included.

Meross Presence Sensor MS605 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Matter-over-Thread use requires a compatible controller and Thread border router. Light-sensor exposure depends on the ecosystem.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Built-in ambient light sensor, reported live to the Matter platform as an illuminance reading for lux-aware lighting automations.

Yes
Manufacturer source

The light sensor reports dark, twilight and bright states.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Built-in light sensor that reports dark, twilight and bright states for lighting-aware automations.

Yes
Manufacturer source

Radar and infrared sensing detect people.

Meross Presence Sensor MS605 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Meross Presence Sensor MS605
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Matter-over-Thread use requires a compatible controller and Thread border router. Light-sensor exposure depends on the ecosystem.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

24GHz mmWave Doppler radar paired with a PIR infrared sensor, so it holds a room occupied on breathing-level movement while the infrared side filters heatless motion such as curtains or a robot vacuum.

Yes
Manufacturer source

Presence detection uses millimetre-wave radar.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

60-64 GHz mmWave radar that detects people who are sitting still, with still detection out to 3 m and tracking of up to 6 people across up to 10 zones.

Know what’s behind the comparison.

The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.

Read our comparison methodology