The Smart Device Compare comparison

Meross Smart Presence Sensor vs Shelly Presence Gen4

Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.

Build another comparison →

Before you compare every specification

Key differences between Meross Smart Presence Sensor and Shelly Presence Gen4

A summary of selected recorded differences between these presence sensors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.

Feature differences among your selected devices
  • Multi Person Detection (features): Meross Smart Presence Sensor — No; Shelly Presence Gen4 — Yes (Identifies up to 6 people at once and maps them onto up to 10 customizable detection zones.).
Specifications to check side by side
  • Bluetooth (connectivity): Meross Smart Presence Sensor — For Pairing; Shelly Presence Gen4 — Yes (Bluetooth 5 LE for onboarding.).
  • Zigbee (connectivity): Meross Smart Presence Sensor — No; Shelly Presence Gen4 — Zigbee Hub required (Zigbee 3.0 (802.15.4). A five-press on the button switches the firmware between Matter over Wi-Fi (the default) and Zigbee. Using the Zigbee radio needs a Zigbee coordinator.).
  • Angle Of Detection (features): Meross Smart Presence Sensor — 90°; Shelly Presence Gen4 — 140° Horizontal / 120° Vertical.
  • Range Of Detection (features): Meross Smart Presence Sensor — 6m / 19ft (12m for motion); Shelly Presence Gen4 — 8m / 26ft.
Information still to confirm
  • 3 of 25 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
  • Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.

These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.

Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.

What the catalog tells us

Understand the tradeoffs.

These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.

6differences with recorded values for every device
3rows with missing or unspecified information

Your priorities, side by side

Focus on what changes.

Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.

Showing 25 of 25 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.

Alerts

Meross Smart Presence Sensor
No
Shelly Presence Gen4
No
Meross Smart Presence Sensor
Yes
Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Catalog note

Presence and vacancy can trigger lights, HVAC, blinds, security or a notification through Shelly Smart Control, Matter or local webhooks.

Connectivity

Meross Smart Presence Sensor
Yes
Catalog note

IEEE 802.11 b/g/n

Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Catalog note

Wi-Fi 6, 802.11 b/g/n/ax on 2401-2483 MHz.

Meross Smart Presence Sensor
No
Shelly Presence Gen4
No
Meross Smart Presence Sensor
For Pairing
Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Manufacturer source

Bluetooth 5 LE is specified.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Bluetooth 5 LE for onboarding.

Meross Smart Presence Sensor
No
Shelly Presence Gen4
No
Meross Smart Presence Sensor
No
Shelly Presence Gen4
No
Meross Smart Presence Sensor
No
Shelly Presence Gen4
Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note

Zigbee 3.0 (802.15.4). A five-press on the button switches the firmware between Matter over Wi-Fi (the default) and Zigbee. Using the Zigbee radio needs a Zigbee coordinator.

Features

Meross Smart Presence Sensor
90°
Shelly Presence Gen4
140° Horizontal / 120° Vertical
Meross Smart Presence Sensor
Not recorded
Shelly Presence Gen4
42 m²
Manufacturer source

The stated detection area is up to 42 square metres.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Meross Smart Presence Sensor
Yes
Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Catalog note

20 schedules, scripting, MQTT, 20 webhooks and local logic on the device, plus Matter occupancy for platform automations.

Meross Smart Presence Sensor
Yes
Shelly Presence Gen4
Not recorded
Meross Smart Presence Sensor
No
Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Manufacturer source

The sensor supports simultaneous detection of multiple occupants.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Identifies up to 6 people at once and maps them onto up to 10 customizable detection zones.

Meross Smart Presence Sensor
6m / 19ft
Catalog note

12m for motion

Shelly Presence Gen4
8m / 26ft
Meross Smart Presence Sensor
No
Shelly Presence Gen4
No
Meross Smart Presence Sensor
No
Shelly Presence Gen4
Not recorded
Catalog note

USB-C powered and able to join a Zigbee network, but Shelly's knowledge base does not say whether it repeats traffic as a Zigbee router.

Integrations

Meross Smart Presence Sensor
Yes
Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Shelly also lists the Alexa Motion Sensor capability.

Meross Smart Presence Sensor
Yes
Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter

Meross Smart Presence Sensor
Yes
Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Shelly also lists the Google Smart Home Occupancy Sensing trait.

Meross Smart Presence Sensor
Yes
Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Shelly's knowledge base also lists Home Assistant as a supported platform, plus local MQTT, webhooks and an embedded web interface.

Meross Smart Presence Sensor
Yes
Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Manufacturer source

Matter uses the Wi-Fi connection.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Matter over Wi-Fi. CSA certificate CSA25E3FMAT48529-24, certified 2025-11-18, vendor 0x1490 product 0x1821.

Meross Smart Presence Sensor
Yes
Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Shelly also lists the SmartThings Presence Sensor capability.

Power

Meross Smart Presence Sensor
USB-C
Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Manufacturer source

Continuous power is supplied through 5 V USB-C.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Powered by USB-C at 5 VDC, 1 A. Nominal consumption 2.5 W, 3.5 W maximum. There is no battery option.

Sensors

Meross Smart Presence Sensor
Yes
Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Manufacturer source

The light sensor reports dark, twilight and bright states.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Built-in light sensor that reports dark, twilight and bright states for lighting-aware automations.

Meross Smart Presence Sensor
Yes
Manufacturer source

The MS600 combines PIR sensing and millimetre-wave radar.

Meross Smart Presence Sensor manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Meross Smart Presence Sensor
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Combines PIR and millimeter wave radar

Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Manufacturer source

Presence detection uses millimetre-wave radar.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

60-64 GHz mmWave radar that detects people who are sitting still, with still detection out to 3 m and tracking of up to 6 people across up to 10 zones.

Specifications for Meross Smart Presence Sensor versus Shelly Presence Gen4
SpecificationMeross Smart Presence SensorShelly Presence Gen4
Alerts
NoNo
YesYes
Catalog note

Presence and vacancy can trigger lights, HVAC, blinds, security or a notification through Shelly Smart Control, Matter or local webhooks.

Connectivity
Yes
Catalog note

IEEE 802.11 b/g/n

Yes
Catalog note

Wi-Fi 6, 802.11 b/g/n/ax on 2401-2483 MHz.

NoNo
For PairingYes
Manufacturer source

Bluetooth 5 LE is specified.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Bluetooth 5 LE for onboarding.

NoNo
NoNo
NoZigbee Hub required
Catalog note

Zigbee 3.0 (802.15.4). A five-press on the button switches the firmware between Matter over Wi-Fi (the default) and Zigbee. Using the Zigbee radio needs a Zigbee coordinator.

Features
90°140° Horizontal / 120° Vertical
Not recorded42 m²
Manufacturer source

The stated detection area is up to 42 square metres.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

YesYes
Catalog note

20 schedules, scripting, MQTT, 20 webhooks and local logic on the device, plus Matter occupancy for platform automations.

YesNot recorded
NoYes
Manufacturer source

The sensor supports simultaneous detection of multiple occupants.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Identifies up to 6 people at once and maps them onto up to 10 customizable detection zones.

6m / 19ft
Catalog note

12m for motion

8m / 26ft
NoNo
NoNot recorded
Catalog note

USB-C powered and able to join a Zigbee network, but Shelly's knowledge base does not say whether it repeats traffic as a Zigbee router.

Integrations
YesYes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Shelly also lists the Alexa Motion Sensor capability.

YesYes
Catalog note

Via Matter

YesYes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Shelly also lists the Google Smart Home Occupancy Sensing trait.

YesYes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Shelly's knowledge base also lists Home Assistant as a supported platform, plus local MQTT, webhooks and an embedded web interface.

YesYes
Manufacturer source

Matter uses the Wi-Fi connection.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Matter over Wi-Fi. CSA certificate CSA25E3FMAT48529-24, certified 2025-11-18, vendor 0x1490 product 0x1821.

YesYes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Shelly also lists the SmartThings Presence Sensor capability.

Power
USB-CYes
Manufacturer source

Continuous power is supplied through 5 V USB-C.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Powered by USB-C at 5 VDC, 1 A. Nominal consumption 2.5 W, 3.5 W maximum. There is no battery option.

Sensors
YesYes
Manufacturer source

The light sensor reports dark, twilight and bright states.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Built-in light sensor that reports dark, twilight and bright states for lighting-aware automations.

Yes
Manufacturer source

The MS600 combines PIR sensing and millimetre-wave radar.

Meross Smart Presence Sensor manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
Meross Smart Presence Sensor
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Combines PIR and millimeter wave radar

Yes
Manufacturer source

Presence detection uses millimetre-wave radar.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

60-64 GHz mmWave radar that detects people who are sitting still, with still detection out to 3 m and tracking of up to 6 people across up to 10 zones.

Know what’s behind the comparison.

The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.

Read our comparison methodology