
The Smart Device Compare comparison
Moes Human Presence Sensor vs Shelly Presence Gen4
Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.
Build another comparison →Before you compare every specification
Key differences between Moes Human Presence Sensor and Shelly Presence Gen4
A summary of selected recorded differences between these presence sensors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.
- 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi (connectivity): Moes Human Presence Sensor — No; Shelly Presence Gen4 — Yes (Wi-Fi 6, 802.11 b/g/n/ax on 2401-2483 MHz.).
- Bluetooth (connectivity): Moes Human Presence Sensor — No; Shelly Presence Gen4 — Yes (Bluetooth 5 LE for onboarding.).
- Multi Person Detection (features): Moes Human Presence Sensor — No; Shelly Presence Gen4 — Yes (Identifies up to 6 people at once and maps them onto up to 10 customizable detection zones.).
- Apple Home (integrations): Moes Human Presence Sensor — No; Shelly Presence Gen4 — Yes (Via Matter).
- Angle Of Detection (features): Moes Human Presence Sensor — 60° to 180°; Shelly Presence Gen4 — 140° Horizontal / 120° Vertical.
- Range Of Detection (features): Moes Human Presence Sensor — 6m / 19ft; Shelly Presence Gen4 — 8m / 26ft.
- Wired (power): Moes Human Presence Sensor — USB-C; Shelly Presence Gen4 — Yes (Powered by USB-C at 5 VDC, 1 A. Nominal consumption 2.5 W, 3.5 W maximum. There is no battery option.).
- 3 of 25 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
- Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.
These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.
Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.


What the catalog tells us
Understand the tradeoffs.
These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.
Consider your setup
Apple Home
- Moes Human Presence SensorNo
- Shelly Presence Gen4Yes
Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.
Inspect the specificationsConsider your setup
Matter
- Moes Human Presence SensorNo
- Shelly Presence Gen4Yes
Confirm the exact device type and the features exposed in your chosen platform. Protocol support does not establish feature parity across apps.
Inspect the specificationsYour priorities, side by side
Focus on what changes.
Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.
Showing 25 of 25 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.
Alerts
- Moes Human Presence Sensor
- No
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- No
- Moes Human Presence Sensor
- Yes
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
Presence and vacancy can trigger lights, HVAC, blinds, security or a notification through Shelly Smart Control, Matter or local webhooks.
Connectivity
- Moes Human Presence Sensor
- No
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
Wi-Fi 6, 802.11 b/g/n/ax on 2401-2483 MHz.
- Moes Human Presence Sensor
- No
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- No
- Moes Human Presence Sensor
- No
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Bluetooth 5 LE is specified.
Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Bluetooth 5 LE for onboarding.
- Moes Human Presence Sensor
- No
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- No
- Moes Human Presence Sensor
- No
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- No
- Moes Human Presence Sensor
- Zigbee Hub required
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note
Zigbee 3.0 (802.15.4). A five-press on the button switches the firmware between Matter over Wi-Fi (the default) and Zigbee. Using the Zigbee radio needs a Zigbee coordinator.
Features
- Moes Human Presence Sensor
- 60° to 180°
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- 140° Horizontal / 120° Vertical
- Moes Human Presence Sensor
- Not recorded
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- 42 m²
Manufacturer source
The stated detection area is up to 42 square metres.
Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Moes Human Presence Sensor
- Yes
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
20 schedules, scripting, MQTT, 20 webhooks and local logic on the device, plus Matter occupancy for platform automations.
- Moes Human Presence Sensor
- Yes
Manufacturer source
The app provides presence and illumination history for the previous 30 days.
Moes Human Presence Sensor manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Moes Human Presence Sensor
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
History availability depends on the connected platform.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Access a month-long archive of human presence and illumination records, allowing you to review changes in your home over the past 30 days through dynamic intuitive curves.
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Not recorded
- Moes Human Presence Sensor
- No
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Manufacturer source
The sensor supports simultaneous detection of multiple occupants.
Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Identifies up to 6 people at once and maps them onto up to 10 customizable detection zones.
- Moes Human Presence Sensor
- 6m / 19ft
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- 8m / 26ft
- Moes Human Presence Sensor
- No
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- No
- Moes Human Presence Sensor
- No
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Not recorded
Catalog note
USB-C powered and able to join a Zigbee network, but Shelly's knowledge base does not say whether it repeats traffic as a Zigbee router.
Integrations
- Moes Human Presence Sensor
- Yes
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter. Shelly also lists the Alexa Motion Sensor capability.
- Moes Human Presence Sensor
- No
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter
- Moes Human Presence Sensor
- Yes
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter. Shelly also lists the Google Smart Home Occupancy Sensing trait.
- Moes Human Presence Sensor
- Yes
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter. Shelly's knowledge base also lists Home Assistant as a supported platform, plus local MQTT, webhooks and an embedded web interface.
- Moes Human Presence Sensor
- No
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Matter uses the Wi-Fi connection.
Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Matter over Wi-Fi. CSA certificate CSA25E3FMAT48529-24, certified 2025-11-18, vendor 0x1490 product 0x1821.
- Moes Human Presence Sensor
- No
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter. Shelly also lists the SmartThings Presence Sensor capability.
Power
- Moes Human Presence Sensor
- USB-C
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Continuous power is supplied through 5 V USB-C.
Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Powered by USB-C at 5 VDC, 1 A. Nominal consumption 2.5 W, 3.5 W maximum. There is no battery option.
Sensors
- Moes Human Presence Sensor
- Yes
Catalog note
Light Sensitivity Range: 0-10000lux
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Manufacturer source
The light sensor reports dark, twilight and bright states.
Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Built-in light sensor that reports dark, twilight and bright states for lighting-aware automations.
- Moes Human Presence Sensor
- Yes
Manufacturer source
The sensor detects human presence.
Moes Human Presence Sensor manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product description
- Model
- Moes Human Presence Sensor
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
History availability depends on the connected platform.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Radar Wave detection | Radar Frequency: 24GHz-24.25GHz
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Presence detection uses millimetre-wave radar.
Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
60-64 GHz mmWave radar that detects people who are sitting still, with still detection out to 3 m and tracking of up to 6 people across up to 10 zones.
| Specification | Moes Human Presence Sensor | Shelly Presence Gen4 |
|---|---|---|
| Alerts | ||
| No | No | |
| Yes | YesCatalog notePresence and vacancy can trigger lights, HVAC, blinds, security or a notification through Shelly Smart Control, Matter or local webhooks. | |
| Connectivity | ||
| No | YesCatalog noteWi-Fi 6, 802.11 b/g/n/ax on 2401-2483 MHz. | |
| No | No | |
| No | YesManufacturer sourceBluetooth 5 LE is specified. Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteBluetooth 5 LE for onboarding. | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| Zigbee Hub required | Zigbee Hub requiredCatalog noteZigbee 3.0 (802.15.4). A five-press on the button switches the firmware between Matter over Wi-Fi (the default) and Zigbee. Using the Zigbee radio needs a Zigbee coordinator. | |
| Features | ||
| 60° to 180° | 140° Horizontal / 120° Vertical | |
| Not recorded | 42 m²Manufacturer sourceThe stated detection area is up to 42 square metres. Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | |
| Yes | YesCatalog note20 schedules, scripting, MQTT, 20 webhooks and local logic on the device, plus Matter occupancy for platform automations. | |
YesManufacturer sourceThe app provides presence and illumination history for the previous 30 days. Moes Human Presence Sensor manufacturer product page →
History availability depends on the connected platform. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteAccess a month-long archive of human presence and illumination records, allowing you to review changes in your home over the past 30 days through dynamic intuitive curves. | Not recorded | |
| No | YesManufacturer sourceThe sensor supports simultaneous detection of multiple occupants. Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteIdentifies up to 6 people at once and maps them onto up to 10 customizable detection zones. | |
| 6m / 19ft | 8m / 26ft | |
| No | No | |
| No | Not recordedCatalog noteUSB-C powered and able to join a Zigbee network, but Shelly's knowledge base does not say whether it repeats traffic as a Zigbee router. | |
| Integrations | ||
| Yes | YesCatalog noteVia Matter. Shelly also lists the Alexa Motion Sensor capability. | |
| No | YesCatalog noteVia Matter | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteVia Matter. Shelly also lists the Google Smart Home Occupancy Sensing trait. | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteVia Matter. Shelly's knowledge base also lists Home Assistant as a supported platform, plus local MQTT, webhooks and an embedded web interface. | |
| No | YesManufacturer sourceMatter uses the Wi-Fi connection. Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteMatter over Wi-Fi. CSA certificate CSA25E3FMAT48529-24, certified 2025-11-18, vendor 0x1490 product 0x1821. | |
| No | YesCatalog noteVia Matter. Shelly also lists the SmartThings Presence Sensor capability. | |
| Power | ||
| USB-C | YesManufacturer sourceContinuous power is supplied through 5 V USB-C. Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog notePowered by USB-C at 5 VDC, 1 A. Nominal consumption 2.5 W, 3.5 W maximum. There is no battery option. | |
| Sensors | ||
YesCatalog noteLight Sensitivity Range: 0-10000lux | YesManufacturer sourceThe light sensor reports dark, twilight and bright states. Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteBuilt-in light sensor that reports dark, twilight and bright states for lighting-aware automations. | |
YesManufacturer sourceThe sensor detects human presence. Moes Human Presence Sensor manufacturer product page →
History availability depends on the connected platform. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteRadar Wave detection | Radar Frequency: 24GHz-24.25GHz | YesManufacturer sourcePresence detection uses millimetre-wave radar. Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog note60-64 GHz mmWave radar that detects people who are sitting still, with still detection out to 3 m and tracking of up to 6 people across up to 10 zones. | |
Know what’s behind the comparison.
The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.
Read our comparison methodology