
The Smart Device Compare comparison
Shelly Presence Gen4 vs SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.
Build another comparison →Before you compare every specification
Key differences between Shelly Presence Gen4 and SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
A summary of selected recorded differences between these presence sensors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.
- 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi (connectivity): Shelly Presence Gen4 — Yes (Wi-Fi 6, 802.11 b/g/n/ax on 2401-2483 MHz.); SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor — No.
- Bluetooth (connectivity): Shelly Presence Gen4 — Yes (Bluetooth 5 LE for onboarding.); SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor — No.
- Multi Person Detection (features): Shelly Presence Gen4 — Yes (Identifies up to 6 people at once and maps them onto up to 10 customizable detection zones.); SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor — No.
- Angle Of Detection (features): Shelly Presence Gen4 — 140° Horizontal / 120° Vertical; SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor — 110°.
- Range Of Detection (features): Shelly Presence Gen4 — 8m / 26ft; SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor — 6m / 19ft.
- Apple Home (integrations): Shelly Presence Gen4 — Yes (Via Matter); SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor — SONOFF Hub required (SONOFF lists this model among the Zigbee devices its Matter bridges (Zigbee Bridge Ultra, iHost, NSPanel Pro) publish to Matter, which is how it reaches the Apple Home app. Apple Home has no Zigbee radio of its own.).
- Matter (integrations): Shelly Presence Gen4 — Yes (Matter over Wi-Fi. CSA certificate CSA25E3FMAT48529-24, certified 2025-11-18, vendor 0x1490 product 0x1821.); SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor — SONOFF Hub required (The device is not Matter itself: SONOFF lists it among the Zigbee models its Matter bridges (Zigbee Bridge Ultra, iHost, NSPanel Pro) republish into Matter.).
- 3 of 25 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
- Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.
These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.
Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.


Option 2 · Sonoff
SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
Catalog update date not recorded
View full device profileWhat the catalog tells us
Understand the tradeoffs.
These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.
Consider your setup
Apple Home
- Shelly Presence Gen4Yes
- SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence SensorSONOFF Hub required
Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.
Inspect the specificationsConsider your setup
Matter
- Shelly Presence Gen4Yes
- SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence SensorSONOFF Hub required
Confirm the exact device type and the features exposed in your chosen platform. Protocol support does not establish feature parity across apps.
Inspect the specificationsYour priorities, side by side
Focus on what changes.
Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.
Showing 25 of 25 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.
Alerts
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- No
- SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
- No
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
Presence and vacancy can trigger lights, HVAC, blinds, security or a notification through Shelly Smart Control, Matter or local webhooks.
- SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
- Yes
Catalog note
5.8GHz Microwave Radar
Connectivity
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
Wi-Fi 6, 802.11 b/g/n/ax on 2401-2483 MHz.
- SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
- No
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- No
- SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
- No
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Bluetooth 5 LE is specified.
Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Bluetooth 5 LE for onboarding.
- SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
- No
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- No
- SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
- No
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- No
- SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
- No
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note
Zigbee 3.0 (802.15.4). A five-press on the button switches the firmware between Matter over Wi-Fi (the default) and Zigbee. Using the Zigbee radio needs a Zigbee coordinator.
- SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
- Zigbee Hub required
Features
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- 140° Horizontal / 120° Vertical
- SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
- 110°
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- 42 m²
Manufacturer source
The stated detection area is up to 42 square metres.
Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
- Not recorded
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
20 schedules, scripting, MQTT, 20 webhooks and local logic on the device, plus Matter occupancy for platform automations.
- SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
- Yes
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Not recorded
- SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
- Yes
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Manufacturer source
The sensor supports simultaneous detection of multiple occupants.
Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Identifies up to 6 people at once and maps them onto up to 10 customizable detection zones.
- SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
- No
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- 8m / 26ft
- SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
- 6m / 19ft
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- No
- SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
- No
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Not recorded
Catalog note
USB-C powered and able to join a Zigbee network, but Shelly's knowledge base does not say whether it repeats traffic as a Zigbee router.
- SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
- No
Integrations
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter. Shelly also lists the Alexa Motion Sensor capability.
- SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
- Yes
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter
- SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
- SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note
SONOFF lists this model among the Zigbee devices its Matter bridges (Zigbee Bridge Ultra, iHost, NSPanel Pro) publish to Matter, which is how it reaches the Apple Home app. Apple Home has no Zigbee radio of its own.
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter. Shelly also lists the Google Smart Home Occupancy Sensing trait.
- SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
- Yes
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter. Shelly's knowledge base also lists Home Assistant as a supported platform, plus local MQTT, webhooks and an embedded web interface.
- SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
- Yes
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Matter uses the Wi-Fi connection.
Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Matter over Wi-Fi. CSA certificate CSA25E3FMAT48529-24, certified 2025-11-18, vendor 0x1490 product 0x1821.
- SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
- SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note
The device is not Matter itself: SONOFF lists it among the Zigbee models its Matter bridges (Zigbee Bridge Ultra, iHost, NSPanel Pro) republish into Matter.
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter. Shelly also lists the SmartThings Presence Sensor capability.
- SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
- Yes
Power
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Continuous power is supplied through 5 V USB-C.
Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Powered by USB-C at 5 VDC, 1 A. Nominal consumption 2.5 W, 3.5 W maximum. There is no battery option.
- SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
- USB-C
Sensors
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Manufacturer source
The light sensor reports dark, twilight and bright states.
Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Built-in light sensor that reports dark, twilight and bright states for lighting-aware automations.
- SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
- Yes
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Presence detection uses millimetre-wave radar.
Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
60-64 GHz mmWave radar that detects people who are sitting still, with still detection out to 3 m and tracking of up to 6 people across up to 10 zones.
- SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor
- Yes
| Specification | Shelly Presence Gen4 | SONOFF Zigbee Human Presence Sensor |
|---|---|---|
| Alerts | ||
| No | No | |
YesCatalog notePresence and vacancy can trigger lights, HVAC, blinds, security or a notification through Shelly Smart Control, Matter or local webhooks. | YesCatalog note5.8GHz Microwave Radar | |
| Connectivity | ||
YesCatalog noteWi-Fi 6, 802.11 b/g/n/ax on 2401-2483 MHz. | No | |
| No | No | |
YesManufacturer sourceBluetooth 5 LE is specified. Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteBluetooth 5 LE for onboarding. | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
Zigbee Hub requiredCatalog noteZigbee 3.0 (802.15.4). A five-press on the button switches the firmware between Matter over Wi-Fi (the default) and Zigbee. Using the Zigbee radio needs a Zigbee coordinator. | Zigbee Hub required | |
| Features | ||
| 140° Horizontal / 120° Vertical | 110° | |
42 m²Manufacturer sourceThe stated detection area is up to 42 square metres. Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | Not recorded | |
YesCatalog note20 schedules, scripting, MQTT, 20 webhooks and local logic on the device, plus Matter occupancy for platform automations. | Yes | |
| Not recorded | Yes | |
YesManufacturer sourceThe sensor supports simultaneous detection of multiple occupants. Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteIdentifies up to 6 people at once and maps them onto up to 10 customizable detection zones. | No | |
| 8m / 26ft | 6m / 19ft | |
| No | No | |
Not recordedCatalog noteUSB-C powered and able to join a Zigbee network, but Shelly's knowledge base does not say whether it repeats traffic as a Zigbee router. | No | |
| Integrations | ||
YesCatalog noteVia Matter. Shelly also lists the Alexa Motion Sensor capability. | Yes | |
YesCatalog noteVia Matter | SONOFF Hub requiredCatalog noteSONOFF lists this model among the Zigbee devices its Matter bridges (Zigbee Bridge Ultra, iHost, NSPanel Pro) publish to Matter, which is how it reaches the Apple Home app. Apple Home has no Zigbee radio of its own. | |
YesCatalog noteVia Matter. Shelly also lists the Google Smart Home Occupancy Sensing trait. | Yes | |
YesCatalog noteVia Matter. Shelly's knowledge base also lists Home Assistant as a supported platform, plus local MQTT, webhooks and an embedded web interface. | Yes | |
YesManufacturer sourceMatter uses the Wi-Fi connection. Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteMatter over Wi-Fi. CSA certificate CSA25E3FMAT48529-24, certified 2025-11-18, vendor 0x1490 product 0x1821. | SONOFF Hub requiredCatalog noteThe device is not Matter itself: SONOFF lists it among the Zigbee models its Matter bridges (Zigbee Bridge Ultra, iHost, NSPanel Pro) republish into Matter. | |
YesCatalog noteVia Matter. Shelly also lists the SmartThings Presence Sensor capability. | Yes | |
| Power | ||
YesManufacturer sourceContinuous power is supplied through 5 V USB-C. Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog notePowered by USB-C at 5 VDC, 1 A. Nominal consumption 2.5 W, 3.5 W maximum. There is no battery option. | USB-C | |
| Sensors | ||
YesManufacturer sourceThe light sensor reports dark, twilight and bright states. Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteBuilt-in light sensor that reports dark, twilight and bright states for lighting-aware automations. | Yes | |
YesManufacturer sourcePresence detection uses millimetre-wave radar. Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog note60-64 GHz mmWave radar that detects people who are sitting still, with still detection out to 3 m and tracking of up to 6 people across up to 10 zones. | Yes | |
Know what’s behind the comparison.
The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.
Read our comparison methodology