
The Smart Device Compare comparison
Shelly Presence Gen4 vs Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2
Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.
Build another comparison →Before you compare every specification
Key differences between Shelly Presence Gen4 and Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2
A summary of selected recorded differences between these presence sensors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.
- 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi (connectivity): Shelly Presence Gen4 — Yes (Wi-Fi 6, 802.11 b/g/n/ax on 2401-2483 MHz.); Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2 — No.
- Bluetooth (connectivity): Shelly Presence Gen4 — Yes (Bluetooth 5 LE for onboarding.); Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2 — No.
- Multi Person Detection (features): Shelly Presence Gen4 — Yes (Identifies up to 6 people at once and maps them onto up to 10 customizable detection zones.); Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2 — No (Reports a single binary occupancy state, with no person count or zone tracking.).
- Apple Home (integrations): Shelly Presence Gen4 — Yes (Via Matter); Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2 — No.
- Range Of Detection (features): Shelly Presence Gen4 — 8m / 26ft; Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2 — 5m / 16ft.
- 4 of 25 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
- Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.
These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.
Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.


Option 2 · Third Reality
Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2
Last updated October 2026
View full device profileWhat the catalog tells us
Understand the tradeoffs.
These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.
Consider your setup
Apple Home
- Shelly Presence Gen4Yes
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2No
Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.
Inspect the specificationsConsider your setup
Matter
- Shelly Presence Gen4Yes
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2No
Confirm the exact device type and the features exposed in your chosen platform. Protocol support does not establish feature parity across apps.
Inspect the specificationsYour priorities, side by side
Focus on what changes.
Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.
Showing 25 of 25 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.
Alerts
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- No
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2
- No
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
Presence and vacancy can trigger lights, HVAC, blinds, security or a notification through Shelly Smart Control, Matter or local webhooks.
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2
- Yes
Catalog note
Presence and absence can trigger lights, thermostats, curtains, security cameras or a phone notification in a compatible smart home system.
Connectivity
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
Wi-Fi 6, 802.11 b/g/n/ax on 2401-2483 MHz.
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2
- No
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- No
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2
- No
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Bluetooth 5 LE is specified.
Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Bluetooth 5 LE for onboarding.
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2
- No
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- No
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2
- No
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- No
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2
- No
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note
Zigbee 3.0 (802.15.4). A five-press on the button switches the firmware between Matter over Wi-Fi (the default) and Zigbee. Using the Zigbee radio needs a Zigbee coordinator.
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2
- Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note
Zigbee 3.0 end device. A compatible Zigbee hub or coordinator is required: Home Assistant (ZHA or Zigbee2MQTT), SmartThings, Aeotec, Homey, Hubitat, and Echo devices with a built-in Zigbee hub.
Features
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- 140° Horizontal / 120° Vertical
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2
- Not recorded
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- 42 m²
Manufacturer source
The stated detection area is up to 42 square metres.
Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2
- Not recorded
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
20 schedules, scripting, MQTT, 20 webhooks and local logic on the device, plus Matter occupancy for platform automations.
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2
- Yes
Catalog note
Five adjustable sensitivity levels plus AI-enhanced environment learning to cut false triggers from airflow or moving curtains.
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Not recorded
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2
- Not recorded
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Manufacturer source
The sensor supports simultaneous detection of multiple occupants.
Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Identifies up to 6 people at once and maps them onto up to 10 customizable detection zones.
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2
- No
Catalog note
Reports a single binary occupancy state, with no person count or zone tracking.
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- 8m / 26ft
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2
- 5m / 16ft
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- No
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2
- No
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Not recorded
Catalog note
USB-C powered and able to join a Zigbee network, but Shelly's knowledge base does not say whether it repeats traffic as a Zigbee router.
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2
- No
Catalog note
Battery-powered Zigbee end device, so it does not repeat traffic for other devices.
Integrations
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter. Shelly also lists the Alexa Motion Sensor capability.
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2
- Yes
Catalog note
Works with Echo devices that have a built-in Zigbee hub, including Echo (4th Gen), Echo Plus (1st and 2nd Gen), Echo Studio, Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen), Echo Show 10 (2nd and 3rd Gen), Echo Hub, Eero 6 and Eero Pro 6.
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2
- No
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter. Shelly also lists the Google Smart Home Occupancy Sensing trait.
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2
- No
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter. Shelly's knowledge base also lists Home Assistant as a supported platform, plus local MQTT, webhooks and an embedded web interface.
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2
- Yes
Catalog note
Supported through both ZHA and Zigbee2MQTT. Zigbee2MQTT documents model 3RPS01083Z and exposes battery, occupancy, sensor calibration and sensor sensitivity.
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Matter uses the Wi-Fi connection.
Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Matter over Wi-Fi. CSA certificate CSA25E3FMAT48529-24, certified 2025-11-18, vendor 0x1490 product 0x1821.
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2
- No
Catalog note
A Zigbee 3.0 device. Model 3RPS01083Z returns no result in the CSA certified products database and the manufacturer does not claim Matter support.
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter. Shelly also lists the SmartThings Presence Sensor capability.
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2
- Yes
Catalog note
Listed by the manufacturer as compatible with SmartThings (2015/2018 hubs) and the Aeotec Smart Home Hub.
Power
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Continuous power is supplied through 5 V USB-C.
Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Powered by USB-C at 5 VDC, 1 A. Nominal consumption 2.5 W, 3.5 W maximum. There is no battery option.
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2
- No
Catalog note
Powered by three standard AA batteries (included), rated for up to 3 years in typical usage, so it needs no outlet or wiring.
Sensors
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Manufacturer source
The light sensor reports dark, twilight and bright states.
Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Built-in light sensor that reports dark, twilight and bright states for lighting-aware automations.
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2
- No
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Presence detection uses millimetre-wave radar.
Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Technical details: device description and main features
- Model
- Shelly Presence Gen4
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
60-64 GHz mmWave radar that detects people who are sitting still, with still detection out to 3 m and tracking of up to 6 people across up to 10 zones.
- Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2
- Yes
Catalog note
24 GHz mmWave radar that detects stationary people and micro-motion, and reads through non-metallic materials such as wood and glass.
| Specification | Shelly Presence Gen4 | Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R2 |
|---|---|---|
| Alerts | ||
| No | No | |
YesCatalog notePresence and vacancy can trigger lights, HVAC, blinds, security or a notification through Shelly Smart Control, Matter or local webhooks. | YesCatalog notePresence and absence can trigger lights, thermostats, curtains, security cameras or a phone notification in a compatible smart home system. | |
| Connectivity | ||
YesCatalog noteWi-Fi 6, 802.11 b/g/n/ax on 2401-2483 MHz. | No | |
| No | No | |
YesManufacturer sourceBluetooth 5 LE is specified. Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteBluetooth 5 LE for onboarding. | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
Zigbee Hub requiredCatalog noteZigbee 3.0 (802.15.4). A five-press on the button switches the firmware between Matter over Wi-Fi (the default) and Zigbee. Using the Zigbee radio needs a Zigbee coordinator. | Zigbee Hub requiredCatalog noteZigbee 3.0 end device. A compatible Zigbee hub or coordinator is required: Home Assistant (ZHA or Zigbee2MQTT), SmartThings, Aeotec, Homey, Hubitat, and Echo devices with a built-in Zigbee hub. | |
| Features | ||
| 140° Horizontal / 120° Vertical | Not recorded | |
42 m²Manufacturer sourceThe stated detection area is up to 42 square metres. Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | Not recorded | |
YesCatalog note20 schedules, scripting, MQTT, 20 webhooks and local logic on the device, plus Matter occupancy for platform automations. | YesCatalog noteFive adjustable sensitivity levels plus AI-enhanced environment learning to cut false triggers from airflow or moving curtains. | |
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
YesManufacturer sourceThe sensor supports simultaneous detection of multiple occupants. Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteIdentifies up to 6 people at once and maps them onto up to 10 customizable detection zones. | NoCatalog noteReports a single binary occupancy state, with no person count or zone tracking. | |
| 8m / 26ft | 5m / 16ft | |
| No | No | |
Not recordedCatalog noteUSB-C powered and able to join a Zigbee network, but Shelly's knowledge base does not say whether it repeats traffic as a Zigbee router. | NoCatalog noteBattery-powered Zigbee end device, so it does not repeat traffic for other devices. | |
| Integrations | ||
YesCatalog noteVia Matter. Shelly also lists the Alexa Motion Sensor capability. | YesCatalog noteWorks with Echo devices that have a built-in Zigbee hub, including Echo (4th Gen), Echo Plus (1st and 2nd Gen), Echo Studio, Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen), Echo Show 10 (2nd and 3rd Gen), Echo Hub, Eero 6 and Eero Pro 6. | |
YesCatalog noteVia Matter | No | |
YesCatalog noteVia Matter. Shelly also lists the Google Smart Home Occupancy Sensing trait. | No | |
YesCatalog noteVia Matter. Shelly's knowledge base also lists Home Assistant as a supported platform, plus local MQTT, webhooks and an embedded web interface. | YesCatalog noteSupported through both ZHA and Zigbee2MQTT. Zigbee2MQTT documents model 3RPS01083Z and exposes battery, occupancy, sensor calibration and sensor sensitivity. | |
YesManufacturer sourceMatter uses the Wi-Fi connection. Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteMatter over Wi-Fi. CSA certificate CSA25E3FMAT48529-24, certified 2025-11-18, vendor 0x1490 product 0x1821. | NoCatalog noteA Zigbee 3.0 device. Model 3RPS01083Z returns no result in the CSA certified products database and the manufacturer does not claim Matter support. | |
YesCatalog noteVia Matter. Shelly also lists the SmartThings Presence Sensor capability. | YesCatalog noteListed by the manufacturer as compatible with SmartThings (2015/2018 hubs) and the Aeotec Smart Home Hub. | |
| Power | ||
YesManufacturer sourceContinuous power is supplied through 5 V USB-C. Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog notePowered by USB-C at 5 VDC, 1 A. Nominal consumption 2.5 W, 3.5 W maximum. There is no battery option. | NoCatalog notePowered by three standard AA batteries (included), rated for up to 3 years in typical usage, so it needs no outlet or wiring. | |
| Sensors | ||
YesManufacturer sourceThe light sensor reports dark, twilight and bright states. Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteBuilt-in light sensor that reports dark, twilight and bright states for lighting-aware automations. | No | |
YesManufacturer sourcePresence detection uses millimetre-wave radar. Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog note60-64 GHz mmWave radar that detects people who are sitting still, with still detection out to 3 m and tracking of up to 6 people across up to 10 zones. | YesCatalog note24 GHz mmWave radar that detects stationary people and micro-motion, and reads through non-metallic materials such as wood and glass. | |
Know what’s behind the comparison.
The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.
Read our comparison methodology