The Smart Device Compare comparison

Shelly Presence Gen4 vs Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3

Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.

Build another comparison →

Before you compare every specification

Key differences between Shelly Presence Gen4 and Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3

A summary of selected recorded differences between these presence sensors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.

Feature differences among your selected devices
  • 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi (connectivity): Shelly Presence Gen4 — Yes (Wi-Fi 6, 802.11 b/g/n/ax on 2401-2483 MHz.); Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3 — No.
  • Bluetooth (connectivity): Shelly Presence Gen4 — Yes (Bluetooth 5 LE for onboarding.); Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3 — No.
  • Multi Person Detection (features): Shelly Presence Gen4 — Yes (Identifies up to 6 people at once and maps them onto up to 10 customizable detection zones.); Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3 — No (Reports a single binary occupancy state, with no person count and no zone or position tracking.).
  • Matter (integrations): Shelly Presence Gen4 — Yes (Matter over Wi-Fi. CSA certificate CSA25E3FMAT48529-24, certified 2025-11-18, vendor 0x1490 product 0x1821.); Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3 — No (A Zigbee 3.0 device. Neither model 3RPL01084Z nor a Third Reality presence sensor appears in the CSA certified products database, and the manufacturer claims no Matter support. Matter platforms reach it only through the separate Smart Bridge MZ1.).
Specifications to check side by side
  • Range Of Detection (features): Shelly Presence Gen4 — 8m / 26ft; Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3 — 6m / 19ft.
  • Apple Home (integrations): Shelly Presence Gen4 — Yes (Via Matter); Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3 — Smart Bridge MZ1 required (Not a HomeKit or Matter endpoint on its own. Apple Home reaches it through Third Reality's Smart Bridge MZ1, the manufacturer's Zigbee to Matter bridge, which the R3 listing names as a supported system.).
  • Google Home (integrations): Shelly Presence Gen4 — Yes (Via Matter. Shelly also lists the Google Smart Home Occupancy Sensing trait.); Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3 — Smart Bridge MZ1 required (No direct path: Google Home has no Zigbee radio. Third Reality's own Smart Bridge MZ1 republishes its Zigbee devices over Matter, and the manufacturer names the MZ1 as one of the three systems that read this sensor's data.).
  • Wired (power): Shelly Presence Gen4 — Yes (Powered by USB-C at 5 VDC, 1 A. Nominal consumption 2.5 W, 3.5 W maximum. There is no battery option.); Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3 — USB-C (Powered over USB-C at 5V/1A for continuous always-on operation, with no batteries involved.).
Information still to confirm
  • 4 of 25 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
  • Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.

These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.

Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.

What the catalog tells us

Understand the tradeoffs.

These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.

8differences with recorded values for every device
4rows with missing or unspecified information

Consider your setup

Apple Home

  • Shelly Presence Gen4Yes
  • Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3Smart Bridge MZ1 required

Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.

Inspect the specifications

Consider your setup

Matter

  • Shelly Presence Gen4Yes
  • Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3No

Confirm the exact device type and the features exposed in your chosen platform. Protocol support does not establish feature parity across apps.

Inspect the specifications

Your priorities, side by side

Focus on what changes.

Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.

Showing 25 of 25 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.

Alerts

Shelly Presence Gen4
No
Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
No
Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Catalog note

Presence and vacancy can trigger lights, HVAC, blinds, security or a notification through Shelly Smart Control, Matter or local webhooks.

Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
Yes
Catalog note

Presence and absence can trigger lights, notifications or any other automation in a compatible smart home system, and the built-in RGB light doubles as a local status indicator.

Connectivity

Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Catalog note

Wi-Fi 6, 802.11 b/g/n/ax on 2401-2483 MHz.

Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
No
Shelly Presence Gen4
No
Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
No
Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Manufacturer source

Bluetooth 5 LE is specified.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Bluetooth 5 LE for onboarding.

Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
No
Shelly Presence Gen4
No
Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
No
Shelly Presence Gen4
No
Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
No
Shelly Presence Gen4
Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note

Zigbee 3.0 (802.15.4). A five-press on the button switches the firmware between Matter over Wi-Fi (the default) and Zigbee. Using the Zigbee radio needs a Zigbee coordinator.

Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note

Zigbee 3.0 end device. It needs a Zigbee hub or coordinator: Home Assistant (ZHA or Zigbee2MQTT), SmartThings (2015/2018), Aeotec, or an Echo device with a built-in Zigbee hub.

Features

Shelly Presence Gen4
140° Horizontal / 120° Vertical
Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
Not recorded
Shelly Presence Gen4
42 m²
Manufacturer source

The stated detection area is up to 42 square metres.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
Not recorded
Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Catalog note

20 schedules, scripting, MQTT, 20 webhooks and local logic on the device, plus Matter occupancy for platform automations.

Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
Yes
Catalog note

Six adjustable detection levels (1 to 6 m), a configurable presence hold time and a TVOC alert threshold, so presence, illuminance and air quality can all drive automations on the hub.

Shelly Presence Gen4
Not recorded
Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
Not recorded
Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Manufacturer source

The sensor supports simultaneous detection of multiple occupants.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Identifies up to 6 people at once and maps them onto up to 10 customizable detection zones.

Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
No
Catalog note

Reports a single binary occupancy state, with no person count and no zone or position tracking.

Shelly Presence Gen4
8m / 26ft
Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
6m / 19ft
Shelly Presence Gen4
No
Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
No
Shelly Presence Gen4
Not recorded
Catalog note

USB-C powered and able to join a Zigbee network, but Shelly's knowledge base does not say whether it repeats traffic as a Zigbee router.

Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
Yes
Catalog note

Mains powered over USB-C and always on, so it also acts as a Zigbee repeater and strengthens the mesh for other devices.

Integrations

Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Shelly also lists the Alexa Motion Sensor capability.

Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
Yes
Catalog note

Works with Echo devices that have a built-in Zigbee hub, including Echo (4th Gen), Echo Plus (1st and 2nd Gen), Echo Studio, Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen), Echo Show 10 (2nd and 3rd Gen), Echo Hub, Eero 6 and Eero Pro 6.

Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter

Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
Smart Bridge MZ1 required
Catalog note

Not a HomeKit or Matter endpoint on its own. Apple Home reaches it through Third Reality's Smart Bridge MZ1, the manufacturer's Zigbee to Matter bridge, which the R3 listing names as a supported system.

Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Shelly also lists the Google Smart Home Occupancy Sensing trait.

Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
Smart Bridge MZ1 required
Catalog note

No direct path: Google Home has no Zigbee radio. Third Reality's own Smart Bridge MZ1 republishes its Zigbee devices over Matter, and the manufacturer names the MZ1 as one of the three systems that read this sensor's data.

Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Shelly's knowledge base also lists Home Assistant as a supported platform, plus local MQTT, webhooks and an embedded web interface.

Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
Yes
Catalog note

Supported through both ZHA and Zigbee2MQTT. Zigbee2MQTT documents model 3RPL01084Z and exposes occupancy, illuminance, TVOC, the RGB light, presence sensitivity and presence hold time.

Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Manufacturer source

Matter uses the Wi-Fi connection.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Matter over Wi-Fi. CSA certificate CSA25E3FMAT48529-24, certified 2025-11-18, vendor 0x1490 product 0x1821.

Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
No
Catalog note

A Zigbee 3.0 device. Neither model 3RPL01084Z nor a Third Reality presence sensor appears in the CSA certified products database, and the manufacturer claims no Matter support. Matter platforms reach it only through the separate Smart Bridge MZ1.

Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Shelly also lists the SmartThings Presence Sensor capability.

Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
Yes
Catalog note

Pairs as a standard Zigbee device with SmartThings (2015/2018) hubs and the Aeotec Smart Home Hub, per the manufacturer's compatibility list.

Power

Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Manufacturer source

Continuous power is supplied through 5 V USB-C.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Powered by USB-C at 5 VDC, 1 A. Nominal consumption 2.5 W, 3.5 W maximum. There is no battery option.

Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
USB-C
Catalog note

Powered over USB-C at 5V/1A for continuous always-on operation, with no batteries involved.

Sensors

Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Manufacturer source

The light sensor reports dark, twilight and bright states.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Built-in light sensor that reports dark, twilight and bright states for lighting-aware automations.

Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
Yes
Catalog note

Built-in ambient light (Lux) sensor. Zigbee2MQTT exposes illuminance and an illuminance calibration setting.

Shelly Presence Gen4
Yes
Manufacturer source

Presence detection uses millimetre-wave radar.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

60-64 GHz mmWave radar that detects people who are sitting still, with still detection out to 3 m and tracking of up to 6 people across up to 10 zones.

Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
Yes
Catalog note

60 GHz mmWave radar that holds detection on a person who is sitting still, reading the micro-movements of breathing.

Specifications for Shelly Presence Gen4 versus Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
SpecificationShelly Presence Gen4Third Reality Smart Presence Sensor R3
Alerts
NoNo
Yes
Catalog note

Presence and vacancy can trigger lights, HVAC, blinds, security or a notification through Shelly Smart Control, Matter or local webhooks.

Yes
Catalog note

Presence and absence can trigger lights, notifications or any other automation in a compatible smart home system, and the built-in RGB light doubles as a local status indicator.

Connectivity
Yes
Catalog note

Wi-Fi 6, 802.11 b/g/n/ax on 2401-2483 MHz.

No
NoNo
Yes
Manufacturer source

Bluetooth 5 LE is specified.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Bluetooth 5 LE for onboarding.

No
NoNo
NoNo
Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note

Zigbee 3.0 (802.15.4). A five-press on the button switches the firmware between Matter over Wi-Fi (the default) and Zigbee. Using the Zigbee radio needs a Zigbee coordinator.

Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note

Zigbee 3.0 end device. It needs a Zigbee hub or coordinator: Home Assistant (ZHA or Zigbee2MQTT), SmartThings (2015/2018), Aeotec, or an Echo device with a built-in Zigbee hub.

Features
140° Horizontal / 120° VerticalNot recorded
42 m²
Manufacturer source

The stated detection area is up to 42 square metres.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Not recorded
Yes
Catalog note

20 schedules, scripting, MQTT, 20 webhooks and local logic on the device, plus Matter occupancy for platform automations.

Yes
Catalog note

Six adjustable detection levels (1 to 6 m), a configurable presence hold time and a TVOC alert threshold, so presence, illuminance and air quality can all drive automations on the hub.

Not recordedNot recorded
Yes
Manufacturer source

The sensor supports simultaneous detection of multiple occupants.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Identifies up to 6 people at once and maps them onto up to 10 customizable detection zones.

No
Catalog note

Reports a single binary occupancy state, with no person count and no zone or position tracking.

8m / 26ft6m / 19ft
NoNo
Not recorded
Catalog note

USB-C powered and able to join a Zigbee network, but Shelly's knowledge base does not say whether it repeats traffic as a Zigbee router.

Yes
Catalog note

Mains powered over USB-C and always on, so it also acts as a Zigbee repeater and strengthens the mesh for other devices.

Integrations
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Shelly also lists the Alexa Motion Sensor capability.

Yes
Catalog note

Works with Echo devices that have a built-in Zigbee hub, including Echo (4th Gen), Echo Plus (1st and 2nd Gen), Echo Studio, Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen), Echo Show 10 (2nd and 3rd Gen), Echo Hub, Eero 6 and Eero Pro 6.

Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter

Smart Bridge MZ1 required
Catalog note

Not a HomeKit or Matter endpoint on its own. Apple Home reaches it through Third Reality's Smart Bridge MZ1, the manufacturer's Zigbee to Matter bridge, which the R3 listing names as a supported system.

Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Shelly also lists the Google Smart Home Occupancy Sensing trait.

Smart Bridge MZ1 required
Catalog note

No direct path: Google Home has no Zigbee radio. Third Reality's own Smart Bridge MZ1 republishes its Zigbee devices over Matter, and the manufacturer names the MZ1 as one of the three systems that read this sensor's data.

Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Shelly's knowledge base also lists Home Assistant as a supported platform, plus local MQTT, webhooks and an embedded web interface.

Yes
Catalog note

Supported through both ZHA and Zigbee2MQTT. Zigbee2MQTT documents model 3RPL01084Z and exposes occupancy, illuminance, TVOC, the RGB light, presence sensitivity and presence hold time.

Yes
Manufacturer source

Matter uses the Wi-Fi connection.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Matter over Wi-Fi. CSA certificate CSA25E3FMAT48529-24, certified 2025-11-18, vendor 0x1490 product 0x1821.

No
Catalog note

A Zigbee 3.0 device. Neither model 3RPL01084Z nor a Third Reality presence sensor appears in the CSA certified products database, and the manufacturer claims no Matter support. Matter platforms reach it only through the separate Smart Bridge MZ1.

Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter. Shelly also lists the SmartThings Presence Sensor capability.

Yes
Catalog note

Pairs as a standard Zigbee device with SmartThings (2015/2018) hubs and the Aeotec Smart Home Hub, per the manufacturer's compatibility list.

Power
Yes
Manufacturer source

Continuous power is supplied through 5 V USB-C.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Powered by USB-C at 5 VDC, 1 A. Nominal consumption 2.5 W, 3.5 W maximum. There is no battery option.

USB-C
Catalog note

Powered over USB-C at 5V/1A for continuous always-on operation, with no batteries involved.

Sensors
Yes
Manufacturer source

The light sensor reports dark, twilight and bright states.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Built-in light sensor that reports dark, twilight and bright states for lighting-aware automations.

Yes
Catalog note

Built-in ambient light (Lux) sensor. Zigbee2MQTT exposes illuminance and an illuminance calibration setting.

Yes
Manufacturer source

Presence detection uses millimetre-wave radar.

Shelly Presence Gen4 manufacturer product page →
Source section
Technical details: device description and main features
Model
Shelly Presence Gen4
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Coverage is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured result for every room. The page gives conflicting occupant limits in different sections; no exact occupant count is asserted here.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

60-64 GHz mmWave radar that detects people who are sitting still, with still detection out to 3 m and tracking of up to 6 people across up to 10 zones.

Yes
Catalog note

60 GHz mmWave radar that holds detection on a person who is sitting still, reading the micro-movements of breathing.

Know what’s behind the comparison.

The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.

Read our comparison methodology