The Smart Device Compare comparison

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch vs Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch

Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.

Build another comparison →

Before you compare every specification

Key differences between Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch and Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch

A summary of selected recorded differences between these wall switches. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.

Feature differences among your selected devices
  • Capacitive Load (power): Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch — Yes (Dimmable CFL up to 150 W, per Lutron's in-wall dimmer specification submittal 369804c); Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch — No (No capacitive load support is documented; the device is specified only for AC roller shutter motors.).
  • Neutral Required (power): Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch — No (Two-wire dimmer designed for retrofit, so no neutral wire is needed in the wallbox); Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch — Yes (SONOFF's FAQ answers it directly: the Orb-ZBRBS requires a neutral wire for proper installation and operation.).
  • Resistive Load (power): Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch — Yes (Incandescent and halogen loads, 25 W minimum and 600 W maximum when not ganged); Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch — No (The Orb-ZBRBS is a roller shutter controller built for AC tubular motors; the product page and knowledge center document motor loads only, not resistive loads such as heaters or incandescent bulbs.).
  • Overheating Protection (safety features): Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch — No; Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch — Yes (SONOFF's FAQ says the motor must not run in one direction for more than 2 minutes, after which the device automatically enters a stop state to prevent overheating and damage.).
Specifications to check side by side
  • Zigbee (connectivity): Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch — No; Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch — Zigbee Hub required (Zigbee 3.0 on an EFR32MG21 MCU. It is a Zigbee end device that also repeats the mesh for nearby devices, but it still needs a coordinator such as a SONOFF ZBBridge-P, ZBBridge-U, NSPanel Pro, iHost or a ZBDongle-P/-E.).
  • Alexa (integrations): Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch — Lutron Hub required (Lutron lists Amazon Alexa among the platforms Caseta works with, through the Lutron Smart Hub); Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch — Yes (SONOFF's product page shows the eWeLink app linking to Amazon Alexa, and the knowledge center lists Alexa among the third-party platforms for voice control.).
  • Apple Home (integrations): Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch — Lutron Hub required (Lutron states the smart hub itself contains Apple Home technology, so Siri controls the lights once the dimmer is paired to it); Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch — SONOFF Hub required (The Orb-ZBRBS has no native HomeKit profile. Its knowledge center documents adding it to Apple Home through a software-based Matter bridge, the eWeLink CUBE or a SONOFF Zigbee Bridge Ultra.).
  • Google Home (integrations): Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch — Lutron Hub required (Lutron lists Google Assistant among the platforms Caseta works with, through the Lutron Smart Hub); Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch — Yes (SONOFF's product page shows the eWeLink app linking to Google Home, and the knowledge center lists Google Home among the third-party platforms the device syncs to through the eWeLink cloud.).
Information still to confirm
  • 8 of 34 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
  • Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.

These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.

Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.

What the catalog tells us

Understand the tradeoffs.

These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.

13differences with recorded values for every device
8rows with missing or unspecified information

Consider your setup

Apple Home

  • Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer SwitchLutron Hub required
  • Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall SwitchSONOFF Hub required

Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.

Inspect the specifications

Consider your setup

Home Assistant

  • Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer SwitchLutron Hub required
  • Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall SwitchYes

Check the integration method, supported model and firmware. A catalog Yes does not establish local control or official support.

Inspect the specifications

Consider your setup

Matter

  • Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer SwitchNo
  • Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall SwitchSONOFF Hub required

Confirm the exact device type and the features exposed in your chosen platform. Protocol support does not establish feature parity across apps.

Inspect the specifications

Your priorities, side by side

Focus on what changes.

Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.

Showing 34 of 34 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.

Connectivity

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
No
Catalog note

The dimmer talks to the Lutron Smart Hub, Pico remotes and motion sensors over Lutron's own Clear Connect RF technology instead of Wi-Fi, which is why the lights keep responding when the router is down

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
No
Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
No
Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
No
Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
No
Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
No
Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Zigbee Hub required
Manufacturer source

The manufacturer requires a Zigbee hub.

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch — manufacturer product description →
Source section
Product description / feature descriptions
Model
MINI-ZBRBS-E
Region
Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Zigbee 3.0 on an EFR32MG21 MCU. It is a Zigbee end device that also repeats the mesh for nearby devices, but it still needs a coordinator such as a SONOFF ZBBridge-P, ZBBridge-U, NSPanel Pro, iHost or a ZBDongle-P/-E.

Features

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
No
Catalog note

Lutron documents the LED behaviour on this model as fixed, with no brightness setting or off option (the newer Diva line uses an adjustable light bar instead)

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Not recorded
Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Scenes, schedules, geofencing, Smart Away and timers from the Lutron app, plus up to 10 Pico remotes or motion sensors paired directly to the dimmer

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Schedules, timers, quick percentage presets and smart scenes run through the eWeLink app or the Zigbee gateway, and Zigbee local scenes keep working when the internet is down.

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
No
Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Power failure memory: if power is interrupted, the control returns to the level it was set to before the interruption

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Not recorded
Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Green status LEDs show the load level and glow softly as a night light when the load is off

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

The device carries a blue LED indicator: steady for online, slow flashing in pairing mode, quick flashing on an abnormal gateway connection and breathing mode during calibration.

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
1
Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
1
Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
No
Catalog note

The dimmer is wired to the load it controls; the wire-free half of the system is the separate Pico remote

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Not recorded

Integrations

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
Lutron Hub required
Catalog note

Lutron lists Amazon Alexa among the platforms Caseta works with, through the Lutron Smart Hub

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's product page shows the eWeLink app linking to Amazon Alexa, and the knowledge center lists Alexa among the third-party platforms for voice control.

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
Lutron Hub required
Catalog note

Lutron states the smart hub itself contains Apple Home technology, so Siri controls the lights once the dimmer is paired to it

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The Orb-ZBRBS has no native HomeKit profile. Its knowledge center documents adding it to Apple Home through a software-based Matter bridge, the eWeLink CUBE or a SONOFF Zigbee Bridge Ultra.

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
Lutron Hub required
Catalog note

Lutron lists Google Assistant among the platforms Caseta works with, through the Lutron Smart Hub

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's product page shows the eWeLink app linking to Google Home, and the knowledge center lists Google Home among the third-party platforms the device syncs to through the eWeLink cloud.

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
Lutron Hub required
Catalog note

The core Lutron Caseta integration talks to the Lutron Caseta Smart Hub (L-BDG2-WH) and exposes wall dimmers as lights

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF documents Home Assistant for this model both through the eWeLink account and directly over Zigbee using ZHA or Zigbee2MQTT with a ZBDongle-P/-E.

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
No
Catalog note

The CSA certified-product database holds no Matter certification for Lutron (only two Zigbee 3.0 Aurora dimmers), and Lutron's own Caseta compatibility page never mentions Matter

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The switch itself is Zigbee, not Matter. Its product page documents reaching the Matter ecosystem through a SONOFF Zigbee bridge such as the ZBBridge-U or eWeLink CUBE.

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
Lutron Hub required
Catalog note

Lutron publishes a Caseta page for Samsung SmartThings: lights and shades are controlled from the SmartThings app once the Lutron Smart Hub is connected

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter: the Orb-ZBRBS is published to Matter by a SONOFF Zigbee bridge (ZBBridge-U or eWeLink CUBE), and SmartThings is a certified Matter controller, so it can control the shutter from that fabric.

Power

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
120V
Catalog note

Operating voltage 120 V~ 50/60 Hz

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
100-240V
Catalog note

The specification table rates the switch at 100-240V~ 50/60Hz 1A Max, and the motor requirements say the roller shutter motor must be an AC 100-240V unit drawing less than 1A.

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Dimmable CFL up to 150 W, per Lutron's in-wall dimmer specification submittal 369804c

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
No
Catalog note

No capacitive load support is documented; the device is specified only for AC roller shutter motors.

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
Not recorded
Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Not applicable / unspecified
Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
150W
Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Not applicable / unspecified
Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Dimmable LED rated for 120 V~, up to 150 W with LED+ forward-phase dimming

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

The switch drives a 4-wire or 5-wire AC roller shutter motor through its Lout1 and Lout2 terminals, which is an inductive motor load.

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
1.25A
Catalog note

Amazon's Product Information lists the dimmer's current rating as 1.25 A

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
1A
Catalog note

The specification table rates the device at 1A Max, and SONOFF's motor requirements state the roller shutter motor must draw less than 1A.

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
150W
Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Not recorded
Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
No
Catalog note

Two-wire dimmer designed for retrofit, so no neutral wire is needed in the wallbox

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's FAQ answers it directly: the Orb-ZBRBS requires a neutral wire for proper installation and operation.

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Incandescent and halogen loads, 25 W minimum and 600 W maximum when not ganged

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
No
Catalog note

The Orb-ZBRBS is a roller shutter controller built for AC tubular motors; the product page and knowledge center document motor loads only, not resistive loads such as heaters or incandescent bulbs.

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
Not recorded
Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Not applicable / unspecified
Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
600W
Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Not applicable / unspecified

Safety Features

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
No
Catalog note

SONOFF requires an external 1A Miniature Circuit Breaker or RCBO upstream of the switch; the device itself documents no overcurrent protection.

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's FAQ says the motor must not run in one direction for more than 2 minutes, after which the device automatically enters a stop state to prevent overheating and damage.

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
No
Catalog note

No overpower protection is listed; the documented safeguard is the automatic stop after 2 minutes of continuous travel.

Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
No
Catalog note

No surge or overvoltage cut-off is documented for the Orb-ZBRBS.

Specifications for Lutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer Switch versus Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
SpecificationLutron Caseta Original Smart Dimmer SwitchSonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Connectivity
No
Catalog note

The dimmer talks to the Lutron Smart Hub, Pico remotes and motion sensors over Lutron's own Clear Connect RF technology instead of Wi-Fi, which is why the lights keep responding when the router is down

No
NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
NoZigbee Hub required
Manufacturer source

The manufacturer requires a Zigbee hub.

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch — manufacturer product description →
Source section
Product description / feature descriptions
Model
MINI-ZBRBS-E
Region
Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Zigbee 3.0 on an EFR32MG21 MCU. It is a Zigbee end device that also repeats the mesh for nearby devices, but it still needs a coordinator such as a SONOFF ZBBridge-P, ZBBridge-U, NSPanel Pro, iHost or a ZBDongle-P/-E.

Features
No
Catalog note

Lutron documents the LED behaviour on this model as fixed, with no brightness setting or off option (the newer Diva line uses an adjustable light bar instead)

Not recorded
Yes
Catalog note

Scenes, schedules, geofencing, Smart Away and timers from the Lutron app, plus up to 10 Pico remotes or motion sensors paired directly to the dimmer

Yes
Catalog note

Schedules, timers, quick percentage presets and smart scenes run through the eWeLink app or the Zigbee gateway, and Zigbee local scenes keep working when the internet is down.

NoNo
Yes
Catalog note

Power failure memory: if power is interrupted, the control returns to the level it was set to before the interruption

Not recorded
Yes
Catalog note

Green status LEDs show the load level and glow softly as a night light when the load is off

Yes
Catalog note

The device carries a blue LED indicator: steady for online, slow flashing in pairing mode, quick flashing on an abnormal gateway connection and breathing mode during calibration.

11
No
Catalog note

The dimmer is wired to the load it controls; the wire-free half of the system is the separate Pico remote

Not recorded
Integrations
Lutron Hub required
Catalog note

Lutron lists Amazon Alexa among the platforms Caseta works with, through the Lutron Smart Hub

Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's product page shows the eWeLink app linking to Amazon Alexa, and the knowledge center lists Alexa among the third-party platforms for voice control.

Lutron Hub required
Catalog note

Lutron states the smart hub itself contains Apple Home technology, so Siri controls the lights once the dimmer is paired to it

SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The Orb-ZBRBS has no native HomeKit profile. Its knowledge center documents adding it to Apple Home through a software-based Matter bridge, the eWeLink CUBE or a SONOFF Zigbee Bridge Ultra.

Lutron Hub required
Catalog note

Lutron lists Google Assistant among the platforms Caseta works with, through the Lutron Smart Hub

Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's product page shows the eWeLink app linking to Google Home, and the knowledge center lists Google Home among the third-party platforms the device syncs to through the eWeLink cloud.

Lutron Hub required
Catalog note

The core Lutron Caseta integration talks to the Lutron Caseta Smart Hub (L-BDG2-WH) and exposes wall dimmers as lights

Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF documents Home Assistant for this model both through the eWeLink account and directly over Zigbee using ZHA or Zigbee2MQTT with a ZBDongle-P/-E.

No
Catalog note

The CSA certified-product database holds no Matter certification for Lutron (only two Zigbee 3.0 Aurora dimmers), and Lutron's own Caseta compatibility page never mentions Matter

SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The switch itself is Zigbee, not Matter. Its product page documents reaching the Matter ecosystem through a SONOFF Zigbee bridge such as the ZBBridge-U or eWeLink CUBE.

Lutron Hub required
Catalog note

Lutron publishes a Caseta page for Samsung SmartThings: lights and shades are controlled from the SmartThings app once the Lutron Smart Hub is connected

Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter: the Orb-ZBRBS is published to Matter by a SONOFF Zigbee bridge (ZBBridge-U or eWeLink CUBE), and SmartThings is a certified Matter controller, so it can control the shutter from that fabric.

Power
120V
Catalog note

Operating voltage 120 V~ 50/60 Hz

100-240V
Catalog note

The specification table rates the switch at 100-240V~ 50/60Hz 1A Max, and the motor requirements say the roller shutter motor must be an AC 100-240V unit drawing less than 1A.

Yes
Catalog note

Dimmable CFL up to 150 W, per Lutron's in-wall dimmer specification submittal 369804c

No
Catalog note

No capacitive load support is documented; the device is specified only for AC roller shutter motors.

Not recordedNot applicable / unspecified
150WNot applicable / unspecified
Yes
Catalog note

Dimmable LED rated for 120 V~, up to 150 W with LED+ forward-phase dimming

Yes
Catalog note

The switch drives a 4-wire or 5-wire AC roller shutter motor through its Lout1 and Lout2 terminals, which is an inductive motor load.

1.25A
Catalog note

Amazon's Product Information lists the dimmer's current rating as 1.25 A

1A
Catalog note

The specification table rates the device at 1A Max, and SONOFF's motor requirements state the roller shutter motor must draw less than 1A.

150WNot recorded
No
Catalog note

Two-wire dimmer designed for retrofit, so no neutral wire is needed in the wallbox

Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's FAQ answers it directly: the Orb-ZBRBS requires a neutral wire for proper installation and operation.

Yes
Catalog note

Incandescent and halogen loads, 25 W minimum and 600 W maximum when not ganged

No
Catalog note

The Orb-ZBRBS is a roller shutter controller built for AC tubular motors; the product page and knowledge center document motor loads only, not resistive loads such as heaters or incandescent bulbs.

Not recordedNot applicable / unspecified
600WNot applicable / unspecified
Safety Features
NoNo
Catalog note

SONOFF requires an external 1A Miniature Circuit Breaker or RCBO upstream of the switch; the device itself documents no overcurrent protection.

NoYes
Catalog note

SONOFF's FAQ says the motor must not run in one direction for more than 2 minutes, after which the device automatically enters a stop state to prevent overheating and damage.

NoNo
Catalog note

No overpower protection is listed; the documented safeguard is the automatic stop after 2 minutes of continuous travel.

NoNo
Catalog note

No surge or overvoltage cut-off is documented for the Orb-ZBRBS.

Know what’s behind the comparison.

The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.

Read our comparison methodology