The Smart Device Compare comparison

Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch vs TP-Link Kasa HS220

Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.

Build another comparison →

Before you compare every specification

Key differences between Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch and TP-Link Kasa HS220

A summary of selected recorded differences between these wall switches. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.

Feature differences among your selected devices
  • Bluetooth (connectivity): Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch — Yes (The Matter device directory lists the MINI-2GS-E with Bluetooth and Wi-Fi, the BLE transport Matter uses for commissioning.); TP-Link Kasa HS220 — No.
  • Power Off Memory (features): Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch — Yes (The eWeLink Power-on State setting offers On, Off, Last State and Reverse Last State, with an optional delay.); TP-Link Kasa HS220 — No (TP-Link states the default-on option exists in its smart bulbs but not in its plugs or smart switches).
  • Wireless Switch Mode (features): Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch — Yes (Detach Relay Mode separates the physical switch from the relay output, so the paddle can trigger a Smart Scene or leave a smart bulb downstream powered, and external S1 and S2 switch inputs are supported.); TP-Link Kasa HS220 — No.
  • Apple Home (integrations): Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch — Yes (The product page documents the Apple Home path (Siri, iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch), and the help center documents adding the switch to Apple via Matter.); TP-Link Kasa HS220 — No (TP-Link's own model comparison lists the HS220 as compatible with Alexa and Google Home only, while its HomeKit dimmer (KS220) is listed as HomeKit/Alexa/Google Home).
Specifications to check side by side
  • Switches (features): Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch — 2; TP-Link Kasa HS220 — 1.
  • Ac Load Voltage (power): Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch — 110-240V (The specification table rates the switch at 110-240V~ 50/60Hz, 10A per gang and 16A total for resistive loads.); TP-Link Kasa HS220 — 120V (Input voltage 100-120VAC 60Hz).
  • Resistive Maximum Load Current (power): Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch — 10A (The specification table rates each gang at 10A, with a combined 16A maximum for the two channels.); TP-Link Kasa HS220 — 2.5A (TP-Link's own model comparison lists the HS220 rating as 2.5A/120V).
Information still to confirm
  • 5 of 34 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
  • Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.

These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.

Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.

What the catalog tells us

Understand the tradeoffs.

These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.

13differences with recorded values for every device
5rows with missing or unspecified information

Consider your setup

Apple Home

  • Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall SwitchYes
  • TP-Link Kasa HS220No

Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.

Inspect the specifications

Consider your setup

Matter

  • Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall SwitchYes
  • TP-Link Kasa HS220No

Confirm the exact device type and the features exposed in your chosen platform. Protocol support does not establish feature parity across apps.

Inspect the specifications

Your priorities, side by side

Focus on what changes.

Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.

Showing 34 of 34 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.

Connectivity

Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

The specification table lists IEEE 802.11b/g/n 2.4GHz Wi-Fi, the radio Matter runs over.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

IEEE 802.11b/g/n, 2.4GHz 1T1R

Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch
No
TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

The Matter device directory lists the MINI-2GS-E with Bluetooth and Wi-Fi, the BLE transport Matter uses for commissioning.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch
No
TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch
No
TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch
No
TP-Link Kasa HS220
No

Features

Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

The eWeLink Network Indicator setting lets the status LED be turned on or off.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

LED Status is a configurable entry in the Kasa app's Device Settings page

Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Schedules, timers, loop timers, Smart Scenes, group control and local LAN control are documented in the help center.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

Schedules with fade rate, countdown timer, Away Mode, brightness presets and Smart Actions in the Kasa app

Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch
No
Catalog note

The Orb-MW2's feature set and specification table do not include power metering.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

The eWeLink Power-on State setting offers On, Off, Last State and Reverse Last State, with an optional delay.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Catalog note

TP-Link states the default-on option exists in its smart bulbs but not in its plugs or smart switches

Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

The unit carries a blue LED indicator whose blink patterns report pairing, online and offline states.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

A brightness indicator plus two status LEDs that change colour according to the switch state

Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch
2
Manufacturer source

Two independently controlled channels are provided.

Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch — manufacturer product description →
Source section
Product description / feature descriptions
Model
MINI-2GS-E
Region
Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
1
Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Detach Relay Mode separates the physical switch from the relay output, so the paddle can trigger a Smart Scene or leave a smart bulb downstream powered, and external S1 and S2 switch inputs are supported.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No

Integrations

Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

The product page and SONOFF's help center list Amazon Alexa among the Matter platforms the switch commissions into.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

The product page documents the Apple Home path (Siri, iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch), and the help center documents adding the switch to Apple via Matter.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Catalog note

TP-Link's own model comparison lists the HS220 as compatible with Alexa and Google Home only, while its HomeKit dimmer (KS220) is listed as HomeKit/Alexa/Google Home

Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

The product page and SONOFF's help center list Google Home among the Matter platforms the switch commissions into.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's help center documents adding the switch to Home Assistant over Matter; voice control there needs a separate Home Assistant speaker.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

The official Home Assistant TP-Link integration lists HS220 among its supported Kasa wall switches

Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Manufacturer source

Matter connectivity is supported.

Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch — manufacturer product description →
Source section
Product description / feature descriptions
Model
MINI-2GS-E
Region
Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

The product page presents the Orb-MW2 as Matter over Wi-Fi, and SONOFF's help center documents commissioning into Apple Home, Google Home, Alexa, SmartThings and Home Assistant.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Catalog note

TP-Link's Matter compatibility list covers the KS205, KS225, TS15 and TS25 switches, not the HS220

Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's help center lists SmartThings as a Matter platform the Orb-MW2 commissions into.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

The HS220 user guide points to Samsung SmartThings under Work with Kasa, and the retail box carries the Works with SmartThings badge

Power

Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch
110-240V
Catalog note

The specification table rates the switch at 110-240V~ 50/60Hz, 10A per gang and 16A total for resistive loads.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
120V
Catalog note

Input voltage 100-120VAC 60Hz

Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch
No
Catalog note

The rating is stated for resistive loads only, with no capacitive load rating published.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

Dimmable CFL up to 150 W

Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch
Not applicable / unspecified
TP-Link Kasa HS220
Not recorded
Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch
Not applicable / unspecified
TP-Link Kasa HS220
150W
Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch
No
Catalog note

The rating is stated for resistive loads only, with no inductive load rating published.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

Dimmable LED up to 150 W, using leading edge (TRIAC phase cut) dimming

Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch
Not applicable / unspecified
TP-Link Kasa HS220
Not recorded
Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch
Not applicable / unspecified
TP-Link Kasa HS220
150W
Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's FAQ answers it directly: the Orb-MW2 requires a neutral wire for proper installation and operation.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

A neutral wire in the wall box is required, and the switch works in single pole wiring only

Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Both channels are rated for resistive load, up to 10A per gang and 16A total across the two circuits.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

Rated for 300W incandescent lighting

Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch
10A
Catalog note

The specification table rates each gang at 10A, with a combined 16A maximum for the two channels.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
2.5A
Catalog note

TP-Link's own model comparison lists the HS220 rating as 2.5A/120V

Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch
Not recorded
TP-Link Kasa HS220
300W

Safety Features

Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch
No
Catalog note

SONOFF lists Surge, Overheat and Overload protection for this model and no separate overcurrent cut-off.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

The official product page lists Overheat Protection among the switch's built-in safeguards.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

The product page lists Overload Protection among the switch's built-in safeguards.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

The product page lists Surge Protection, a cut-off against voltage spikes.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Specifications for Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch versus TP-Link Kasa HS220
SpecificationSonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall SwitchTP-Link Kasa HS220
Connectivity
Yes
Catalog note

The specification table lists IEEE 802.11b/g/n 2.4GHz Wi-Fi, the radio Matter runs over.

Yes
Catalog note

IEEE 802.11b/g/n, 2.4GHz 1T1R

NoNo
Yes
Catalog note

The Matter device directory lists the MINI-2GS-E with Bluetooth and Wi-Fi, the BLE transport Matter uses for commissioning.

No
NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
Features
Yes
Catalog note

The eWeLink Network Indicator setting lets the status LED be turned on or off.

Yes
Catalog note

LED Status is a configurable entry in the Kasa app's Device Settings page

Yes
Catalog note

Schedules, timers, loop timers, Smart Scenes, group control and local LAN control are documented in the help center.

Yes
Catalog note

Schedules with fade rate, countdown timer, Away Mode, brightness presets and Smart Actions in the Kasa app

No
Catalog note

The Orb-MW2's feature set and specification table do not include power metering.

No
Yes
Catalog note

The eWeLink Power-on State setting offers On, Off, Last State and Reverse Last State, with an optional delay.

No
Catalog note

TP-Link states the default-on option exists in its smart bulbs but not in its plugs or smart switches

Yes
Catalog note

The unit carries a blue LED indicator whose blink patterns report pairing, online and offline states.

Yes
Catalog note

A brightness indicator plus two status LEDs that change colour according to the switch state

2
Manufacturer source

Two independently controlled channels are provided.

Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch — manufacturer product description →
Source section
Product description / feature descriptions
Model
MINI-2GS-E
Region
Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

1
Yes
Catalog note

Detach Relay Mode separates the physical switch from the relay output, so the paddle can trigger a Smart Scene or leave a smart bulb downstream powered, and external S1 and S2 switch inputs are supported.

No
Integrations
Yes
Catalog note

The product page and SONOFF's help center list Amazon Alexa among the Matter platforms the switch commissions into.

Yes
Yes
Catalog note

The product page documents the Apple Home path (Siri, iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch), and the help center documents adding the switch to Apple via Matter.

No
Catalog note

TP-Link's own model comparison lists the HS220 as compatible with Alexa and Google Home only, while its HomeKit dimmer (KS220) is listed as HomeKit/Alexa/Google Home

Yes
Catalog note

The product page and SONOFF's help center list Google Home among the Matter platforms the switch commissions into.

Yes
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's help center documents adding the switch to Home Assistant over Matter; voice control there needs a separate Home Assistant speaker.

Yes
Catalog note

The official Home Assistant TP-Link integration lists HS220 among its supported Kasa wall switches

Yes
Manufacturer source

Matter connectivity is supported.

Sonoff Orb-MW2 Matter Over WiFi Double Smart Wall Switch — manufacturer product description →
Source section
Product description / feature descriptions
Model
MINI-2GS-E
Region
Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

The product page presents the Orb-MW2 as Matter over Wi-Fi, and SONOFF's help center documents commissioning into Apple Home, Google Home, Alexa, SmartThings and Home Assistant.

No
Catalog note

TP-Link's Matter compatibility list covers the KS205, KS225, TS15 and TS25 switches, not the HS220

Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's help center lists SmartThings as a Matter platform the Orb-MW2 commissions into.

Yes
Catalog note

The HS220 user guide points to Samsung SmartThings under Work with Kasa, and the retail box carries the Works with SmartThings badge

Power
110-240V
Catalog note

The specification table rates the switch at 110-240V~ 50/60Hz, 10A per gang and 16A total for resistive loads.

120V
Catalog note

Input voltage 100-120VAC 60Hz

No
Catalog note

The rating is stated for resistive loads only, with no capacitive load rating published.

Yes
Catalog note

Dimmable CFL up to 150 W

Not applicable / unspecifiedNot recorded
Not applicable / unspecified150W
No
Catalog note

The rating is stated for resistive loads only, with no inductive load rating published.

Yes
Catalog note

Dimmable LED up to 150 W, using leading edge (TRIAC phase cut) dimming

Not applicable / unspecifiedNot recorded
Not applicable / unspecified150W
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's FAQ answers it directly: the Orb-MW2 requires a neutral wire for proper installation and operation.

Yes
Catalog note

A neutral wire in the wall box is required, and the switch works in single pole wiring only

Yes
Catalog note

Both channels are rated for resistive load, up to 10A per gang and 16A total across the two circuits.

Yes
Catalog note

Rated for 300W incandescent lighting

10A
Catalog note

The specification table rates each gang at 10A, with a combined 16A maximum for the two channels.

2.5A
Catalog note

TP-Link's own model comparison lists the HS220 rating as 2.5A/120V

Not recorded300W
Safety Features
No
Catalog note

SONOFF lists Surge, Overheat and Overload protection for this model and no separate overcurrent cut-off.

No
Yes
Catalog note

The official product page lists Overheat Protection among the switch's built-in safeguards.

No
Yes
Catalog note

The product page lists Overload Protection among the switch's built-in safeguards.

No
Yes
Catalog note

The product page lists Surge Protection, a cut-off against voltage spikes.

No

Know what’s behind the comparison.

The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.

Read our comparison methodology