The Smart Device Compare comparison

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch vs TP-Link Kasa HS220

Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.

Build another comparison →

Before you compare every specification

Key differences between Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch and TP-Link Kasa HS220

A summary of selected recorded differences between these wall switches. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.

Feature differences among your selected devices
  • 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi (connectivity): Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch — No; TP-Link Kasa HS220 — Yes (IEEE 802.11b/g/n, 2.4GHz 1T1R).
  • Capacitive Load (power): Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch — No (No capacitive load support is documented; the device is specified only for AC roller shutter motors.); TP-Link Kasa HS220 — Yes (Dimmable CFL up to 150 W).
  • Resistive Load (power): Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch — No (The Orb-ZBRBS is a roller shutter controller built for AC tubular motors; the product page and knowledge center document motor loads only, not resistive loads such as heaters or incandescent bulbs.); TP-Link Kasa HS220 — Yes (Rated for 300W incandescent lighting).
  • Overheating Protection (safety features): Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch — Yes (SONOFF's FAQ says the motor must not run in one direction for more than 2 minutes, after which the device automatically enters a stop state to prevent overheating and damage.); TP-Link Kasa HS220 — No.
Specifications to check side by side
  • Zigbee (connectivity): Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch — Zigbee Hub required (Zigbee 3.0 on an EFR32MG21 MCU. It is a Zigbee end device that also repeats the mesh for nearby devices, but it still needs a coordinator such as a SONOFF ZBBridge-P, ZBBridge-U, NSPanel Pro, iHost or a ZBDongle-P/-E.); TP-Link Kasa HS220 — No.
  • Apple Home (integrations): Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch — SONOFF Hub required (The Orb-ZBRBS has no native HomeKit profile. Its knowledge center documents adding it to Apple Home through a software-based Matter bridge, the eWeLink CUBE or a SONOFF Zigbee Bridge Ultra.); TP-Link Kasa HS220 — No (TP-Link's own model comparison lists the HS220 as compatible with Alexa and Google Home only, while its HomeKit dimmer (KS220) is listed as HomeKit/Alexa/Google Home).
  • Matter (integrations): Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch — SONOFF Hub required (The switch itself is Zigbee, not Matter. Its product page documents reaching the Matter ecosystem through a SONOFF Zigbee bridge such as the ZBBridge-U or eWeLink CUBE.); TP-Link Kasa HS220 — No (TP-Link's Matter compatibility list covers the KS205, KS225, TS15 and TS25 switches, not the HS220).
  • Ac Load Voltage (power): Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch — 100-240V (The specification table rates the switch at 100-240V~ 50/60Hz 1A Max, and the motor requirements say the roller shutter motor must be an AC 100-240V unit drawing less than 1A.); TP-Link Kasa HS220 — 120V (Input voltage 100-120VAC 60Hz).
Information still to confirm
  • 9 of 34 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
  • Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.

These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.

Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.

What the catalog tells us

Understand the tradeoffs.

These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.

8differences with recorded values for every device
9rows with missing or unspecified information

Consider your setup

Apple Home

  • Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall SwitchSONOFF Hub required
  • TP-Link Kasa HS220No

Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.

Inspect the specifications

Consider your setup

Matter

  • Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall SwitchSONOFF Hub required
  • TP-Link Kasa HS220No

Confirm the exact device type and the features exposed in your chosen platform. Protocol support does not establish feature parity across apps.

Inspect the specifications

Your priorities, side by side

Focus on what changes.

Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.

Showing 34 of 34 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.

Connectivity

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
No
TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

IEEE 802.11b/g/n, 2.4GHz 1T1R

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
No
TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
No
TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
No
TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
No
TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Zigbee Hub required
Manufacturer source

The manufacturer requires a Zigbee hub.

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch — manufacturer product description →
Source section
Product description / feature descriptions
Model
MINI-ZBRBS-E
Region
Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Zigbee 3.0 on an EFR32MG21 MCU. It is a Zigbee end device that also repeats the mesh for nearby devices, but it still needs a coordinator such as a SONOFF ZBBridge-P, ZBBridge-U, NSPanel Pro, iHost or a ZBDongle-P/-E.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No

Features

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Not recorded
TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

LED Status is a configurable entry in the Kasa app's Device Settings page

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Schedules, timers, quick percentage presets and smart scenes run through the eWeLink app or the Zigbee gateway, and Zigbee local scenes keep working when the internet is down.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

Schedules with fade rate, countdown timer, Away Mode, brightness presets and Smart Actions in the Kasa app

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
No
TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Not recorded
TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Catalog note

TP-Link states the default-on option exists in its smart bulbs but not in its plugs or smart switches

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

The device carries a blue LED indicator: steady for online, slow flashing in pairing mode, quick flashing on an abnormal gateway connection and breathing mode during calibration.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

A brightness indicator plus two status LEDs that change colour according to the switch state

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
1
TP-Link Kasa HS220
1
Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Not recorded
TP-Link Kasa HS220
No

Integrations

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's product page shows the eWeLink app linking to Amazon Alexa, and the knowledge center lists Alexa among the third-party platforms for voice control.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The Orb-ZBRBS has no native HomeKit profile. Its knowledge center documents adding it to Apple Home through a software-based Matter bridge, the eWeLink CUBE or a SONOFF Zigbee Bridge Ultra.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Catalog note

TP-Link's own model comparison lists the HS220 as compatible with Alexa and Google Home only, while its HomeKit dimmer (KS220) is listed as HomeKit/Alexa/Google Home

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's product page shows the eWeLink app linking to Google Home, and the knowledge center lists Google Home among the third-party platforms the device syncs to through the eWeLink cloud.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF documents Home Assistant for this model both through the eWeLink account and directly over Zigbee using ZHA or Zigbee2MQTT with a ZBDongle-P/-E.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

The official Home Assistant TP-Link integration lists HS220 among its supported Kasa wall switches

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The switch itself is Zigbee, not Matter. Its product page documents reaching the Matter ecosystem through a SONOFF Zigbee bridge such as the ZBBridge-U or eWeLink CUBE.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Catalog note

TP-Link's Matter compatibility list covers the KS205, KS225, TS15 and TS25 switches, not the HS220

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter: the Orb-ZBRBS is published to Matter by a SONOFF Zigbee bridge (ZBBridge-U or eWeLink CUBE), and SmartThings is a certified Matter controller, so it can control the shutter from that fabric.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

The HS220 user guide points to Samsung SmartThings under Work with Kasa, and the retail box carries the Works with SmartThings badge

Power

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
100-240V
Catalog note

The specification table rates the switch at 100-240V~ 50/60Hz 1A Max, and the motor requirements say the roller shutter motor must be an AC 100-240V unit drawing less than 1A.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
120V
Catalog note

Input voltage 100-120VAC 60Hz

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
No
Catalog note

No capacitive load support is documented; the device is specified only for AC roller shutter motors.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

Dimmable CFL up to 150 W

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Not applicable / unspecified
TP-Link Kasa HS220
Not recorded
Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Not applicable / unspecified
TP-Link Kasa HS220
150W
Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

The switch drives a 4-wire or 5-wire AC roller shutter motor through its Lout1 and Lout2 terminals, which is an inductive motor load.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

Dimmable LED up to 150 W, using leading edge (TRIAC phase cut) dimming

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
1A
Catalog note

The specification table rates the device at 1A Max, and SONOFF's motor requirements state the roller shutter motor must draw less than 1A.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Not recorded
Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Not recorded
TP-Link Kasa HS220
150W
Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's FAQ answers it directly: the Orb-ZBRBS requires a neutral wire for proper installation and operation.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

A neutral wire in the wall box is required, and the switch works in single pole wiring only

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
No
Catalog note

The Orb-ZBRBS is a roller shutter controller built for AC tubular motors; the product page and knowledge center document motor loads only, not resistive loads such as heaters or incandescent bulbs.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

Rated for 300W incandescent lighting

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Not applicable / unspecified
TP-Link Kasa HS220
2.5A
Catalog note

TP-Link's own model comparison lists the HS220 rating as 2.5A/120V

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Not applicable / unspecified
TP-Link Kasa HS220
300W

Safety Features

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
No
Catalog note

SONOFF requires an external 1A Miniature Circuit Breaker or RCBO upstream of the switch; the device itself documents no overcurrent protection.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's FAQ says the motor must not run in one direction for more than 2 minutes, after which the device automatically enters a stop state to prevent overheating and damage.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
No
Catalog note

No overpower protection is listed; the documented safeguard is the automatic stop after 2 minutes of continuous travel.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch
No
Catalog note

No surge or overvoltage cut-off is documented for the Orb-ZBRBS.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Specifications for Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch versus TP-Link Kasa HS220
SpecificationSonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall SwitchTP-Link Kasa HS220
Connectivity
NoYes
Catalog note

IEEE 802.11b/g/n, 2.4GHz 1T1R

NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
Zigbee Hub required
Manufacturer source

The manufacturer requires a Zigbee hub.

Sonoff Orb-ZBRBS Zigbee Smart Roller Shutter Wall Switch — manufacturer product description →
Source section
Product description / feature descriptions
Model
MINI-ZBRBS-E
Region
Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Zigbee 3.0 on an EFR32MG21 MCU. It is a Zigbee end device that also repeats the mesh for nearby devices, but it still needs a coordinator such as a SONOFF ZBBridge-P, ZBBridge-U, NSPanel Pro, iHost or a ZBDongle-P/-E.

No
Features
Not recordedYes
Catalog note

LED Status is a configurable entry in the Kasa app's Device Settings page

Yes
Catalog note

Schedules, timers, quick percentage presets and smart scenes run through the eWeLink app or the Zigbee gateway, and Zigbee local scenes keep working when the internet is down.

Yes
Catalog note

Schedules with fade rate, countdown timer, Away Mode, brightness presets and Smart Actions in the Kasa app

NoNo
Not recordedNo
Catalog note

TP-Link states the default-on option exists in its smart bulbs but not in its plugs or smart switches

Yes
Catalog note

The device carries a blue LED indicator: steady for online, slow flashing in pairing mode, quick flashing on an abnormal gateway connection and breathing mode during calibration.

Yes
Catalog note

A brightness indicator plus two status LEDs that change colour according to the switch state

11
Not recordedNo
Integrations
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's product page shows the eWeLink app linking to Amazon Alexa, and the knowledge center lists Alexa among the third-party platforms for voice control.

Yes
SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The Orb-ZBRBS has no native HomeKit profile. Its knowledge center documents adding it to Apple Home through a software-based Matter bridge, the eWeLink CUBE or a SONOFF Zigbee Bridge Ultra.

No
Catalog note

TP-Link's own model comparison lists the HS220 as compatible with Alexa and Google Home only, while its HomeKit dimmer (KS220) is listed as HomeKit/Alexa/Google Home

Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's product page shows the eWeLink app linking to Google Home, and the knowledge center lists Google Home among the third-party platforms the device syncs to through the eWeLink cloud.

Yes
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF documents Home Assistant for this model both through the eWeLink account and directly over Zigbee using ZHA or Zigbee2MQTT with a ZBDongle-P/-E.

Yes
Catalog note

The official Home Assistant TP-Link integration lists HS220 among its supported Kasa wall switches

SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The switch itself is Zigbee, not Matter. Its product page documents reaching the Matter ecosystem through a SONOFF Zigbee bridge such as the ZBBridge-U or eWeLink CUBE.

No
Catalog note

TP-Link's Matter compatibility list covers the KS205, KS225, TS15 and TS25 switches, not the HS220

Yes
Catalog note

Via Matter: the Orb-ZBRBS is published to Matter by a SONOFF Zigbee bridge (ZBBridge-U or eWeLink CUBE), and SmartThings is a certified Matter controller, so it can control the shutter from that fabric.

Yes
Catalog note

The HS220 user guide points to Samsung SmartThings under Work with Kasa, and the retail box carries the Works with SmartThings badge

Power
100-240V
Catalog note

The specification table rates the switch at 100-240V~ 50/60Hz 1A Max, and the motor requirements say the roller shutter motor must be an AC 100-240V unit drawing less than 1A.

120V
Catalog note

Input voltage 100-120VAC 60Hz

No
Catalog note

No capacitive load support is documented; the device is specified only for AC roller shutter motors.

Yes
Catalog note

Dimmable CFL up to 150 W

Not applicable / unspecifiedNot recorded
Not applicable / unspecified150W
Yes
Catalog note

The switch drives a 4-wire or 5-wire AC roller shutter motor through its Lout1 and Lout2 terminals, which is an inductive motor load.

Yes
Catalog note

Dimmable LED up to 150 W, using leading edge (TRIAC phase cut) dimming

1A
Catalog note

The specification table rates the device at 1A Max, and SONOFF's motor requirements state the roller shutter motor must draw less than 1A.

Not recorded
Not recorded150W
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's FAQ answers it directly: the Orb-ZBRBS requires a neutral wire for proper installation and operation.

Yes
Catalog note

A neutral wire in the wall box is required, and the switch works in single pole wiring only

No
Catalog note

The Orb-ZBRBS is a roller shutter controller built for AC tubular motors; the product page and knowledge center document motor loads only, not resistive loads such as heaters or incandescent bulbs.

Yes
Catalog note

Rated for 300W incandescent lighting

Not applicable / unspecified2.5A
Catalog note

TP-Link's own model comparison lists the HS220 rating as 2.5A/120V

Not applicable / unspecified300W
Safety Features
No
Catalog note

SONOFF requires an external 1A Miniature Circuit Breaker or RCBO upstream of the switch; the device itself documents no overcurrent protection.

No
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's FAQ says the motor must not run in one direction for more than 2 minutes, after which the device automatically enters a stop state to prevent overheating and damage.

No
No
Catalog note

No overpower protection is listed; the documented safeguard is the automatic stop after 2 minutes of continuous travel.

No
No
Catalog note

No surge or overvoltage cut-off is documented for the Orb-ZBRBS.

No

Know what’s behind the comparison.

The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.

Read our comparison methodology