The Smart Device Compare comparison

Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch vs TP-Link Kasa HS220

Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.

Build another comparison →

Before you compare every specification

Key differences between Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch and TP-Link Kasa HS220

A summary of selected recorded differences between these wall switches. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.

Feature differences among your selected devices
  • 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi (connectivity): Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch — No; TP-Link Kasa HS220 — Yes (IEEE 802.11b/g/n, 2.4GHz 1T1R).
  • Wireless Switch Mode (features): Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch — Yes (Detach Relay Mode separates the button from the relay output, so the paddle sends a Zigbee command instead of cutting the circuit and a smart bulb downstream stays powered.); TP-Link Kasa HS220 — No.
  • Capacitive Load (power): Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch — No; TP-Link Kasa HS220 — Yes (Dimmable CFL up to 150 W).
  • Inductive Load (power): Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch — No; TP-Link Kasa HS220 — Yes (Dimmable LED up to 150 W, using leading edge (TRIAC phase cut) dimming).
Specifications to check side by side
  • Zigbee (connectivity): Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch — Zigbee Hub required (Zigbee 3.0 end device built on an EFR32MG21 MCU. It also acts as a Zigbee router, so it repeats the mesh for other devices, but it still needs a coordinator to join.); TP-Link Kasa HS220 — No.
  • Apple Home (integrations): Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch — SONOFF Hub required (The Orb-ZBW1 has no native HomeKit profile. Its own product page carries a "Works with Apple Home via Matter Bridge" section: a SONOFF Zigbee bridge (ZBBridge-U or eWeLink CUBE) republishes the switch into Apple Home over Matter.); TP-Link Kasa HS220 — No (TP-Link's own model comparison lists the HS220 as compatible with Alexa and Google Home only, while its HomeKit dimmer (KS220) is listed as HomeKit/Alexa/Google Home).
  • Matter (integrations): Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch — SONOFF Hub required (The switch is Zigbee 3.0, not Matter (SONOFF sells the Matter-over-WiFi Orb-MW1 as a separate model). Its product page documents reaching Matter platforms through a SONOFF Matter bridge, ZBBridge-U or eWeLink CUBE.); TP-Link Kasa HS220 — No (TP-Link's Matter compatibility list covers the KS205, KS225, TS15 and TS25 switches, not the HS220).
  • Ac Load Voltage (power): Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch — 100-240V; TP-Link Kasa HS220 — 120V (Input voltage 100-120VAC 60Hz).
Information still to confirm
  • 7 of 34 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
  • Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.

These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.

Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.

What the catalog tells us

Understand the tradeoffs.

These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.

11differences with recorded values for every device
7rows with missing or unspecified information

Consider your setup

Apple Home

  • Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall SwitchSONOFF Hub required
  • TP-Link Kasa HS220No

Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.

Inspect the specifications

Consider your setup

Matter

  • Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall SwitchSONOFF Hub required
  • TP-Link Kasa HS220No

Confirm the exact device type and the features exposed in your chosen platform. Protocol support does not establish feature parity across apps.

Inspect the specifications

Your priorities, side by side

Focus on what changes.

Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.

Showing 34 of 34 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.

Connectivity

Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch
No
TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

IEEE 802.11b/g/n, 2.4GHz 1T1R

Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch
No
TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch
No
TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch
No
TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch
No
TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch
Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note

Zigbee 3.0 end device built on an EFR32MG21 MCU. It also acts as a Zigbee router, so it repeats the mesh for other devices, but it still needs a coordinator to join.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No

Features

Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch
Not recorded
TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

LED Status is a configurable entry in the Kasa app's Device Settings page

Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Schedules, timers and smart scenes through the eWeLink app, plus Zigbee Binding for direct device-to-device control that keeps working while the gateway is offline.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

Schedules with fade rate, countdown timer, Away Mode, brightness presets and Smart Actions in the Kasa app

Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch
No
TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch
Not recorded
TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Catalog note

TP-Link states the default-on option exists in its smart bulbs but not in its plugs or smart switches

Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch
Not recorded
TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

A brightness indicator plus two status LEDs that change colour according to the switch state

Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch
1
TP-Link Kasa HS220
1
Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Detach Relay Mode separates the button from the relay output, so the paddle sends a Zigbee command instead of cutting the circuit and a smart bulb downstream stays powered.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No

Integrations

Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's product page names Alexa among the major gateways the Orb-ZBW1 is compatible with.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch
SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The Orb-ZBW1 has no native HomeKit profile. Its own product page carries a "Works with Apple Home via Matter Bridge" section: a SONOFF Zigbee bridge (ZBBridge-U or eWeLink CUBE) republishes the switch into Apple Home over Matter.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Catalog note

TP-Link's own model comparison lists the HS220 as compatible with Alexa and Google Home only, while its HomeKit dimmer (KS220) is listed as HomeKit/Alexa/Google Home

Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

The Amazon listing's Product Information table lists Google Home among the compatible devices.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's product page names Home Assistant among the supported gateways, and documents configuring the switch's Zigbee Binding from within Home Assistant.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

The official Home Assistant TP-Link integration lists HS220 among its supported Kasa wall switches

Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch
SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The switch is Zigbee 3.0, not Matter (SONOFF sells the Matter-over-WiFi Orb-MW1 as a separate model). Its product page documents reaching Matter platforms through a SONOFF Matter bridge, ZBBridge-U or eWeLink CUBE.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Catalog note

TP-Link's Matter compatibility list covers the KS205, KS225, TS15 and TS25 switches, not the HS220

Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's product page names SmartThings among the major gateways the Orb-ZBW1 is compatible with.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

The HS220 user guide points to Samsung SmartThings under Work with Kasa, and the retail box carries the Works with SmartThings badge

Power

Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch
100-240V
TP-Link Kasa HS220
120V
Catalog note

Input voltage 100-120VAC 60Hz

Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch
No
TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

Dimmable CFL up to 150 W

Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch
Not applicable / unspecified
TP-Link Kasa HS220
Not recorded
Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch
Not applicable / unspecified
TP-Link Kasa HS220
150W
Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch
No
TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

Dimmable LED up to 150 W, using leading edge (TRIAC phase cut) dimming

Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch
Not applicable / unspecified
TP-Link Kasa HS220
Not recorded
Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch
Not applicable / unspecified
TP-Link Kasa HS220
150W
Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's FAQ for the Orb-ZBW1 states it requires a neutral wire, and points no-neutral installs at the Orb-ZBW1L instead.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

A neutral wire in the wall box is required, and the switch works in single pole wiring only

Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch
Yes
TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

Rated for 300W incandescent lighting

Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch
10A
Manufacturer source

The product description states support for loads up to 10 A.

Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch — manufacturer product description →
Source section
Product description / feature descriptions
Model
ZBMINIR2-E
Region
Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
2.5A
Catalog note

TP-Link's own model comparison lists the HS220 rating as 2.5A/120V

Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch
2400W
TP-Link Kasa HS220
300W

Safety Features

Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch
No
TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch
No
TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch
No
TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

The official product page lists "Surge Protection" among the switch's safety features.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Specifications for Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch versus TP-Link Kasa HS220
SpecificationSonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall SwitchTP-Link Kasa HS220
Connectivity
NoYes
Catalog note

IEEE 802.11b/g/n, 2.4GHz 1T1R

NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note

Zigbee 3.0 end device built on an EFR32MG21 MCU. It also acts as a Zigbee router, so it repeats the mesh for other devices, but it still needs a coordinator to join.

No
Features
Not recordedYes
Catalog note

LED Status is a configurable entry in the Kasa app's Device Settings page

Yes
Catalog note

Schedules, timers and smart scenes through the eWeLink app, plus Zigbee Binding for direct device-to-device control that keeps working while the gateway is offline.

Yes
Catalog note

Schedules with fade rate, countdown timer, Away Mode, brightness presets and Smart Actions in the Kasa app

NoNo
Not recordedNo
Catalog note

TP-Link states the default-on option exists in its smart bulbs but not in its plugs or smart switches

Not recordedYes
Catalog note

A brightness indicator plus two status LEDs that change colour according to the switch state

11
Yes
Catalog note

Detach Relay Mode separates the button from the relay output, so the paddle sends a Zigbee command instead of cutting the circuit and a smart bulb downstream stays powered.

No
Integrations
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's product page names Alexa among the major gateways the Orb-ZBW1 is compatible with.

Yes
SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The Orb-ZBW1 has no native HomeKit profile. Its own product page carries a "Works with Apple Home via Matter Bridge" section: a SONOFF Zigbee bridge (ZBBridge-U or eWeLink CUBE) republishes the switch into Apple Home over Matter.

No
Catalog note

TP-Link's own model comparison lists the HS220 as compatible with Alexa and Google Home only, while its HomeKit dimmer (KS220) is listed as HomeKit/Alexa/Google Home

Yes
Catalog note

The Amazon listing's Product Information table lists Google Home among the compatible devices.

Yes
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's product page names Home Assistant among the supported gateways, and documents configuring the switch's Zigbee Binding from within Home Assistant.

Yes
Catalog note

The official Home Assistant TP-Link integration lists HS220 among its supported Kasa wall switches

SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The switch is Zigbee 3.0, not Matter (SONOFF sells the Matter-over-WiFi Orb-MW1 as a separate model). Its product page documents reaching Matter platforms through a SONOFF Matter bridge, ZBBridge-U or eWeLink CUBE.

No
Catalog note

TP-Link's Matter compatibility list covers the KS205, KS225, TS15 and TS25 switches, not the HS220

Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's product page names SmartThings among the major gateways the Orb-ZBW1 is compatible with.

Yes
Catalog note

The HS220 user guide points to Samsung SmartThings under Work with Kasa, and the retail box carries the Works with SmartThings badge

Power
100-240V120V
Catalog note

Input voltage 100-120VAC 60Hz

NoYes
Catalog note

Dimmable CFL up to 150 W

Not applicable / unspecifiedNot recorded
Not applicable / unspecified150W
NoYes
Catalog note

Dimmable LED up to 150 W, using leading edge (TRIAC phase cut) dimming

Not applicable / unspecifiedNot recorded
Not applicable / unspecified150W
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's FAQ for the Orb-ZBW1 states it requires a neutral wire, and points no-neutral installs at the Orb-ZBW1L instead.

Yes
Catalog note

A neutral wire in the wall box is required, and the switch works in single pole wiring only

YesYes
Catalog note

Rated for 300W incandescent lighting

10A
Manufacturer source

The product description states support for loads up to 10 A.

Sonoff Orb-ZBW1 Zigbee Smart Wall Switch — manufacturer product description →
Source section
Product description / feature descriptions
Model
ZBMINIR2-E
Region
Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

2.5A
Catalog note

TP-Link's own model comparison lists the HS220 rating as 2.5A/120V

2400W300W
Safety Features
NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
Yes
Catalog note

The official product page lists "Surge Protection" among the switch's safety features.

No

Know what’s behind the comparison.

The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.

Read our comparison methodology