The Smart Device Compare comparison

Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch vs TP-Link Kasa HS220

Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.

Build another comparison →

Before you compare every specification

Key differences between Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch and TP-Link Kasa HS220

A summary of selected recorded differences between these wall switches. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.

Feature differences among your selected devices
  • 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi (connectivity): Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch — No; TP-Link Kasa HS220 — Yes (IEEE 802.11b/g/n, 2.4GHz 1T1R).
  • Power Off Memory (features): Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch — Yes (The product page lists a Power-On State setting, so the switch's state after power returns can be configured.); TP-Link Kasa HS220 — No (TP-Link states the default-on option exists in its smart bulbs but not in its plugs or smart switches).
  • Wireless Switch Mode (features): Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch — Yes (Detach Relay Mode separates the physical switch from the relay output, so the paddle can trigger a Smart Scene or leave a smart bulb downstream powered.); TP-Link Kasa HS220 — No.
  • Capacitive Load (power): Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch — No (The rating is stated for resistive loads only, with no capacitive load rating published.); TP-Link Kasa HS220 — Yes (Dimmable CFL up to 150 W).
Specifications to check side by side
  • Zigbee (connectivity): Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch — Zigbee Hub required (Built on Zigbee 3.0 with an EFR32MG21 MCU. It also acts as a Zigbee router, repeating the mesh for other devices, but it still needs a coordinator to join.); TP-Link Kasa HS220 — No.
  • Switches (features): Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch — 2; TP-Link Kasa HS220 — 1.
  • Apple Home (integrations): Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch — SONOFF Hub required (The switch has no native HomeKit profile. Its product page documents reaching Apple Home over Matter through a SONOFF Matter bridge (ZBBridge-U or eWeLink CUBE).); TP-Link Kasa HS220 — No (TP-Link's own model comparison lists the HS220 as compatible with Alexa and Google Home only, while its HomeKit dimmer (KS220) is listed as HomeKit/Alexa/Google Home).
  • Matter (integrations): Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch — SONOFF Hub required (The switch is Zigbee 3.0, not Matter. Its product page documents reaching Matter platforms through a SONOFF Matter bridge, ZBBridge-U, iHost or eWeLink CUBE.); TP-Link Kasa HS220 — No (TP-Link's Matter compatibility list covers the KS205, KS225, TS15 and TS25 switches, not the HS220).
Information still to confirm
  • 9 of 34 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
  • Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.

These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.

Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.

What the catalog tells us

Understand the tradeoffs.

These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.

13differences with recorded values for every device
9rows with missing or unspecified information

Consider your setup

Apple Home

  • Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall SwitchSONOFF Hub required
  • TP-Link Kasa HS220No

Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.

Inspect the specifications

Consider your setup

Matter

  • Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall SwitchSONOFF Hub required
  • TP-Link Kasa HS220No

Confirm the exact device type and the features exposed in your chosen platform. Protocol support does not establish feature parity across apps.

Inspect the specifications

Your priorities, side by side

Focus on what changes.

Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.

Showing 34 of 34 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.

Connectivity

Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch
No
TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

IEEE 802.11b/g/n, 2.4GHz 1T1R

Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch
No
TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch
No
TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch
No
TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch
No
TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch
Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note

Built on Zigbee 3.0 with an EFR32MG21 MCU. It also acts as a Zigbee router, repeating the mesh for other devices, but it still needs a coordinator to join.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No

Features

Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch
Not recorded
TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

LED Status is a configurable entry in the Kasa app's Device Settings page

Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Timers, schedules and smart scenes through the eWeLink app, plus Zigbee Binding for direct device-to-device control configured in Home Assistant.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

Schedules with fade rate, countdown timer, Away Mode, brightness presets and Smart Actions in the Kasa app

Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch
No
Catalog note

The Orb-ZBW2's feature set and specification table do not include power metering.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

The product page lists a Power-On State setting, so the switch's state after power returns can be configured.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Catalog note

TP-Link states the default-on option exists in its smart bulbs but not in its plugs or smart switches

Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch
Not recorded
TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

A brightness indicator plus two status LEDs that change colour according to the switch state

Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch
2
Manufacturer source

Two independently controlled channels are provided.

Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch — manufacturer product description →
Source section
Product description / feature descriptions
Model
MINI-ZB2GS-E
Region
Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
1
Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Detach Relay Mode separates the physical switch from the relay output, so the paddle can trigger a Smart Scene or leave a smart bulb downstream powered.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No

Integrations

Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

The product page names Amazon Alexa among the voice assistants it works with, synced through the eWeLink app over cloud-to-cloud integration.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch
SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The switch has no native HomeKit profile. Its product page documents reaching Apple Home over Matter through a SONOFF Matter bridge (ZBBridge-U or eWeLink CUBE).

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Catalog note

TP-Link's own model comparison lists the HS220 as compatible with Alexa and Google Home only, while its HomeKit dimmer (KS220) is listed as HomeKit/Alexa/Google Home

Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

The product page names Google Assistant among the voice assistants it works with, synced through the eWeLink app over cloud-to-cloud integration.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

The product page states it integrates into Home Assistant via a SONOFF ZBDongle, and its FAQ documents configuring Zigbee Binding from within Home Assistant.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

The official Home Assistant TP-Link integration lists HS220 among its supported Kasa wall switches

Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch
SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The switch is Zigbee 3.0, not Matter. Its product page documents reaching Matter platforms through a SONOFF Matter bridge, ZBBridge-U, iHost or eWeLink CUBE.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Catalog note

TP-Link's Matter compatibility list covers the KS205, KS225, TS15 and TS25 switches, not the HS220

Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

The product page documents reaching Matter platforms through SONOFF's own Matter bridges (ZBBridge-U, iHost and eWeLink CUBE), which is the path the switch uses to join SmartThings.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

The HS220 user guide points to Samsung SmartThings under Work with Kasa, and the retail box carries the Works with SmartThings badge

Power

Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch
110-240V
Catalog note

The specification table rates the switch at 110-240V~ 50/60Hz, 10A per gang and 16A total for resistive loads.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
120V
Catalog note

Input voltage 100-120VAC 60Hz

Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch
No
Catalog note

The rating is stated for resistive loads only, with no capacitive load rating published.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

Dimmable CFL up to 150 W

Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch
Not applicable / unspecified
TP-Link Kasa HS220
Not recorded
Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch
Not applicable / unspecified
TP-Link Kasa HS220
150W
Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch
No
Catalog note

The rating is stated for resistive loads only, with no inductive load rating published.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

Dimmable LED up to 150 W, using leading edge (TRIAC phase cut) dimming

Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch
Not applicable / unspecified
TP-Link Kasa HS220
Not recorded
Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch
Not applicable / unspecified
TP-Link Kasa HS220
150W
Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's FAQ answers it directly: the Orb-ZBW2 requires a neutral wire for proper installation and operation.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

A neutral wire in the wall box is required, and the switch works in single pole wiring only

Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

Both gangs are rated for resistive loads, 10A per gang and 16A total across the two circuits.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
Yes
Catalog note

Rated for 300W incandescent lighting

Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch
10A
Catalog note

The specification table rates each gang at 10A, with a combined 16A maximum for the two channels.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
2.5A
Catalog note

TP-Link's own model comparison lists the HS220 rating as 2.5A/120V

Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch
Not recorded
TP-Link Kasa HS220
300W

Safety Features

Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch
Not recorded
TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

The official product page lists Overheat Protection among the switch's built-in safeguards.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch
Not recorded
TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch
Yes
Catalog note

The official product page lists Surge Protection among the switch's built-in safeguards.

TP-Link Kasa HS220
No
Specifications for Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch versus TP-Link Kasa HS220
SpecificationSonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall SwitchTP-Link Kasa HS220
Connectivity
NoYes
Catalog note

IEEE 802.11b/g/n, 2.4GHz 1T1R

NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
Zigbee Hub required
Catalog note

Built on Zigbee 3.0 with an EFR32MG21 MCU. It also acts as a Zigbee router, repeating the mesh for other devices, but it still needs a coordinator to join.

No
Features
Not recordedYes
Catalog note

LED Status is a configurable entry in the Kasa app's Device Settings page

Yes
Catalog note

Timers, schedules and smart scenes through the eWeLink app, plus Zigbee Binding for direct device-to-device control configured in Home Assistant.

Yes
Catalog note

Schedules with fade rate, countdown timer, Away Mode, brightness presets and Smart Actions in the Kasa app

No
Catalog note

The Orb-ZBW2's feature set and specification table do not include power metering.

No
Yes
Catalog note

The product page lists a Power-On State setting, so the switch's state after power returns can be configured.

No
Catalog note

TP-Link states the default-on option exists in its smart bulbs but not in its plugs or smart switches

Not recordedYes
Catalog note

A brightness indicator plus two status LEDs that change colour according to the switch state

2
Manufacturer source

Two independently controlled channels are provided.

Sonoff Orb-ZBW2 Zigbee Double Smart Wall Switch — manufacturer product description →
Source section
Product description / feature descriptions
Model
MINI-ZB2GS-E
Region
Manufacturer listing for the named model/variant; regional equivalence has not been established
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Check the specified variant, required hub and installation instructions. Manufacturer claims are not independent performance tests.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

1
Yes
Catalog note

Detach Relay Mode separates the physical switch from the relay output, so the paddle can trigger a Smart Scene or leave a smart bulb downstream powered.

No
Integrations
Yes
Catalog note

The product page names Amazon Alexa among the voice assistants it works with, synced through the eWeLink app over cloud-to-cloud integration.

Yes
SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The switch has no native HomeKit profile. Its product page documents reaching Apple Home over Matter through a SONOFF Matter bridge (ZBBridge-U or eWeLink CUBE).

No
Catalog note

TP-Link's own model comparison lists the HS220 as compatible with Alexa and Google Home only, while its HomeKit dimmer (KS220) is listed as HomeKit/Alexa/Google Home

Yes
Catalog note

The product page names Google Assistant among the voice assistants it works with, synced through the eWeLink app over cloud-to-cloud integration.

Yes
Yes
Catalog note

The product page states it integrates into Home Assistant via a SONOFF ZBDongle, and its FAQ documents configuring Zigbee Binding from within Home Assistant.

Yes
Catalog note

The official Home Assistant TP-Link integration lists HS220 among its supported Kasa wall switches

SONOFF Hub required
Catalog note

The switch is Zigbee 3.0, not Matter. Its product page documents reaching Matter platforms through a SONOFF Matter bridge, ZBBridge-U, iHost or eWeLink CUBE.

No
Catalog note

TP-Link's Matter compatibility list covers the KS205, KS225, TS15 and TS25 switches, not the HS220

Yes
Catalog note

The product page documents reaching Matter platforms through SONOFF's own Matter bridges (ZBBridge-U, iHost and eWeLink CUBE), which is the path the switch uses to join SmartThings.

Yes
Catalog note

The HS220 user guide points to Samsung SmartThings under Work with Kasa, and the retail box carries the Works with SmartThings badge

Power
110-240V
Catalog note

The specification table rates the switch at 110-240V~ 50/60Hz, 10A per gang and 16A total for resistive loads.

120V
Catalog note

Input voltage 100-120VAC 60Hz

No
Catalog note

The rating is stated for resistive loads only, with no capacitive load rating published.

Yes
Catalog note

Dimmable CFL up to 150 W

Not applicable / unspecifiedNot recorded
Not applicable / unspecified150W
No
Catalog note

The rating is stated for resistive loads only, with no inductive load rating published.

Yes
Catalog note

Dimmable LED up to 150 W, using leading edge (TRIAC phase cut) dimming

Not applicable / unspecifiedNot recorded
Not applicable / unspecified150W
Yes
Catalog note

SONOFF's FAQ answers it directly: the Orb-ZBW2 requires a neutral wire for proper installation and operation.

Yes
Catalog note

A neutral wire in the wall box is required, and the switch works in single pole wiring only

Yes
Catalog note

Both gangs are rated for resistive loads, 10A per gang and 16A total across the two circuits.

Yes
Catalog note

Rated for 300W incandescent lighting

10A
Catalog note

The specification table rates each gang at 10A, with a combined 16A maximum for the two channels.

2.5A
Catalog note

TP-Link's own model comparison lists the HS220 rating as 2.5A/120V

Not recorded300W
Safety Features
Not recordedNo
Yes
Catalog note

The official product page lists Overheat Protection among the switch's built-in safeguards.

No
Not recordedNo
Yes
Catalog note

The official product page lists Surge Protection among the switch's built-in safeguards.

No

Know what’s behind the comparison.

The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.

Read our comparison methodology