The Smart Device Compare comparison

Winix 5510 vs Winix 5520

Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.

Build another comparison →

Before you compare every specification

Key differences between Winix 5510 and Winix 5520

A summary of selected recorded differences between these air purifiers. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.

Information still to confirm
  • 5 of 50 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
  • Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.

These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.

Manufacturer-source decision brief · Checked 2026-10-04

Check the shared specifications before paying for a model-number change

US Winix product pages and the shared 5510/5520 manual, revision 02, checked for room coverage, CADR, replacement filters and rated power. Manufacturer ratings are not our own performance measurements.

Compare room size at the same air-change rate

Winix rates the 5510 for 392 square feet at 4.8 air changes per hour under its stated test conditions. Our interpretation: compare coverage at the same air-change rate, rather than choosing the largest advertised area without its time basis.

Winix 5510: specifications and room-size conditions ↗

The 5520 lists the same core airflow figures

The 5520 also lists 392 square feet and dust, pollen and smoke CADR values of 252, 247 and 253. Our interpretation: these figures do not establish an airflow upgrade over the 5510. Look at the actual package, appearance and replacement-filter availability.

Winix 5520: specifications and room-size conditions ↗

Use the shared manual for filter and power checks

The shared manual specifies Filter Q and 65 W for both models. We corrected the 5520 catalog figure from 50 W to 65 W. Our interpretation: a rated-power figure is not a measurement of energy use in every fan mode; it does not establish a running-cost winner.

Winix 5510/5520 manual: specifications on PDF page 1 ↗

Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.

What the catalog tells us

Understand the tradeoffs.

These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.

0differences with recorded values for every device
5rows with missing or unspecified information

Your priorities, side by side

Focus on what changes.

Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.

Showing 50 of 50 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.

Certifications

Winix 5510
Yes
Winix 5520
Yes
Winix 5510
No
Catalog note

The official certification list is AHAM / UL / CARB / Prop65

Winix 5520
No
Winix 5510
No
Catalog note

Winix publishes an 8-hour TWA ozone figure of 0.22 ppbv for this unit, so the PlasmaWave stage is CARB compliant rather than ozone free

Winix 5520
No

Connectivity

Winix 5510
Yes
Catalog note

Winix Smart App setup requires a router matching 802.11b/g/n 2.4GHz

Winix 5520
Yes
Winix 5510
No
Catalog note

Winix states that on a dual-band router (2.4GHz/5GHz) the 2.4GHz network must be selected

Winix 5520
No
Winix 5510
No
Winix 5520
No
Winix 5510
No
Winix 5520
No
Winix 5510
No
Winix 5520
No
Winix 5510
No
Winix 5520
No
Winix 5510
No
Winix 5520
No
Winix 5510
No
Winix 5520
No

Display

Winix 5510
Yes
Catalog note

Colour coded LED indicates one of three air quality levels: red (poor), amber (fair) and blue (good)

Winix 5520
Yes
Winix 5510
No
Winix 5520
No
Winix 5510
Not applicable / unspecified
Winix 5520
Not applicable / unspecified

Features

Winix 5510
Yes
Catalog note

Auto Mode adjusts fan speed to low when air quality is good, medium when fair and high when poor

Winix 5520
Yes
Winix 5510
Yes
Catalog note

The Winix Smart app sets schedules for the unit

Winix 5520
Yes
Winix 5510
No
Winix 5520
Not recorded
Winix 5510
No
Winix 5520
No
Winix 5510
No
Winix 5520
No
Winix 5510
Yes
Catalog note

The Winix Smart app tracks air quality history alongside the real time reading

Winix 5520
Yes
Winix 5510
No
Winix 5520
No
Winix 5510
No
Winix 5520
No
Winix 5510
No
Winix 5520
No
Winix 5510
Yes
Catalog note

A light sensor drops the unit into Sleep Mode when the room darkens and returns it to Auto Mode when light returns

Winix 5520
Yes
Winix 5510
Yes
Catalog note

The official specification table lists the timer as a Winix Smart App function

Winix 5520
Yes

Filtration

Winix 5510
Yes
Catalog note

Advanced Odor Control (AOC) carbon filter using carbon pellets

Winix 5520
Yes
Winix 5510
1 year
Winix 5520
1 year
Winix 5510
YES (True HEPA)
Winix 5520
YES (True HEPA)
Winix 5510
YES (PlasmaWave)
Catalog note

PlasmaWave can be switched off from its own button on the control panel

Winix 5520
YES (PlasmaWave)
Winix 5510
No
Winix 5520
No
Winix 5510
Yes
Catalog note

Washable fine mesh pre-filter, permanent, cleaned every 3 months

Winix 5520
Yes

Integrations

Winix 5510
Yes
Catalog note

The official specification table lists the smart features as WiFi / Alexa

Winix 5520
Yes
Winix 5510
No
Winix 5520
No
Winix 5510
Yes
Catalog note

Winix's own comparison table on the product listing gives the 5510 smart features of WiFi / Alexa / Google Home

Winix 5520
Not recorded
Winix 5510
Yes
Catalog note

The community Winix integration for Home Assistant (HACS) signs in with the Winix Smart account and lists the 5510 among the models reported to work

Winix 5520
Yes
Catalog note

Community Winix integration for Home Assistant (HACS), which reports this model as working

Winix 5510
No
Catalog note

No Winix product appears in the CSA certified Matter air purifier listing, and Winix does not claim Matter for this model

Winix 5520
No
Winix 5510
No
Winix 5520
No

Performance

Winix 5510
253 CFM
Catalog note

CADR dust / pollen / smoke is 252 / 247 / 253

Winix 5520
253 CFM
Winix 5510
392 sq ft
Manufacturer source

The manual lists a verified room size of 392 square feet.

Winix 5510/5520 user manual, revision 02 →
Source section
PDF page 1: Unit Specifications
Model
Winix 5510
Region
US/Canada, 120 V / 60 Hz
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Power is a rated figure, not measured consumption at each fan setting. Room-size test conditions are explained on the manufacturer product page.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

AHAM Verifide at 392 sq ft, and rated to clean up to 1,882 sq ft in 1 hour

Winix 5520
392 sq ft
Manufacturer source

The manual lists a verified room size of 392 square feet.

Winix 5510/5520 user manual, revision 02 →
Source section
PDF page 1: Unit Specifications
Model
Winix 5520
Region
US/Canada, 120 V / 60 Hz
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Power is a rated figure, not measured consumption at each fan setting. Room-size test conditions are explained on the manufacturer product page.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Winix 5510
5
Winix 5520
5
Winix 5510
Not recorded
Winix 5520
Not recorded
Winix 5510
65 W
Manufacturer source

The shared manual specifies a 65 W power rating.

Winix 5510/5520 user manual, revision 02 →
Source section
PDF page 1: Unit Specifications
Model
Winix 5510
Region
US/Canada, 120 V / 60 Hz
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Power is a rated figure, not measured consumption at each fan setting. Room-size test conditions are explained on the manufacturer product page.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Winix 5520
65 W
Manufacturer source

The shared manual specifies a 65 W power rating.

Winix 5510/5520 user manual, revision 02 →
Source section
PDF page 1: Unit Specifications
Model
Winix 5520
Region
US/Canada, 120 V / 60 Hz
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Power is a rated figure, not measured consumption at each fan setting. Room-size test conditions are explained on the manufacturer product page.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Corrected from the imported 50 W value using the Winix 5510/5520 US/CA manual, revision 02, Unit Specifications (checked 2026-10-04). Rated power is not a measurement at every fan setting.

Sensors

Winix 5510
No
Winix 5520
No
Winix 5510
No
Winix 5520
No
Winix 5510
No
Winix 5520
No
Winix 5510
No
Winix 5520
No
Winix 5510
No
Winix 5520
No
Winix 5510
Yes
Catalog note

A built-in air quality sensor measures the air and adjusts fan speed in real time, driving the three colour air quality indicator

Winix 5520
Yes
Winix 5510
No
Winix 5520
No
Winix 5510
Not recorded
Winix 5520
No
Specifications for Winix 5510 versus Winix 5520
SpecificationWinix 5510Winix 5520
Certifications
YesYes
No
Catalog note

The official certification list is AHAM / UL / CARB / Prop65

No
No
Catalog note

Winix publishes an 8-hour TWA ozone figure of 0.22 ppbv for this unit, so the PlasmaWave stage is CARB compliant rather than ozone free

No
Connectivity
Yes
Catalog note

Winix Smart App setup requires a router matching 802.11b/g/n 2.4GHz

Yes
No
Catalog note

Winix states that on a dual-band router (2.4GHz/5GHz) the 2.4GHz network must be selected

No
NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
Display
Yes
Catalog note

Colour coded LED indicates one of three air quality levels: red (poor), amber (fair) and blue (good)

Yes
NoNo
Not applicable / unspecifiedNot applicable / unspecified
Features
Yes
Catalog note

Auto Mode adjusts fan speed to low when air quality is good, medium when fair and high when poor

Yes
Yes
Catalog note

The Winix Smart app sets schedules for the unit

Yes
NoNot recorded
NoNo
NoNo
Yes
Catalog note

The Winix Smart app tracks air quality history alongside the real time reading

Yes
NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
Yes
Catalog note

A light sensor drops the unit into Sleep Mode when the room darkens and returns it to Auto Mode when light returns

Yes
Yes
Catalog note

The official specification table lists the timer as a Winix Smart App function

Yes
Filtration
Yes
Catalog note

Advanced Odor Control (AOC) carbon filter using carbon pellets

Yes
1 year1 year
YES (True HEPA)YES (True HEPA)
YES (PlasmaWave)
Catalog note

PlasmaWave can be switched off from its own button on the control panel

YES (PlasmaWave)
NoNo
Yes
Catalog note

Washable fine mesh pre-filter, permanent, cleaned every 3 months

Yes
Integrations
Yes
Catalog note

The official specification table lists the smart features as WiFi / Alexa

Yes
NoNo
Yes
Catalog note

Winix's own comparison table on the product listing gives the 5510 smart features of WiFi / Alexa / Google Home

Not recorded
Yes
Catalog note

The community Winix integration for Home Assistant (HACS) signs in with the Winix Smart account and lists the 5510 among the models reported to work

Yes
Catalog note

Community Winix integration for Home Assistant (HACS), which reports this model as working

No
Catalog note

No Winix product appears in the CSA certified Matter air purifier listing, and Winix does not claim Matter for this model

No
NoNo
Performance
253 CFM
Catalog note

CADR dust / pollen / smoke is 252 / 247 / 253

253 CFM
392 sq ft
Manufacturer source

The manual lists a verified room size of 392 square feet.

Winix 5510/5520 user manual, revision 02 →
Source section
PDF page 1: Unit Specifications
Model
Winix 5510
Region
US/Canada, 120 V / 60 Hz
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Power is a rated figure, not measured consumption at each fan setting. Room-size test conditions are explained on the manufacturer product page.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

AHAM Verifide at 392 sq ft, and rated to clean up to 1,882 sq ft in 1 hour

392 sq ft
Manufacturer source

The manual lists a verified room size of 392 square feet.

Winix 5510/5520 user manual, revision 02 →
Source section
PDF page 1: Unit Specifications
Model
Winix 5520
Region
US/Canada, 120 V / 60 Hz
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Power is a rated figure, not measured consumption at each fan setting. Room-size test conditions are explained on the manufacturer product page.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

55
Not recordedNot recorded
65 W
Manufacturer source

The shared manual specifies a 65 W power rating.

Winix 5510/5520 user manual, revision 02 →
Source section
PDF page 1: Unit Specifications
Model
Winix 5510
Region
US/Canada, 120 V / 60 Hz
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Power is a rated figure, not measured consumption at each fan setting. Room-size test conditions are explained on the manufacturer product page.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

65 W
Manufacturer source

The shared manual specifies a 65 W power rating.

Winix 5510/5520 user manual, revision 02 →
Source section
PDF page 1: Unit Specifications
Model
Winix 5520
Region
US/Canada, 120 V / 60 Hz
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Power is a rated figure, not measured consumption at each fan setting. Room-size test conditions are explained on the manufacturer product page.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Catalog note

Corrected from the imported 50 W value using the Winix 5510/5520 US/CA manual, revision 02, Unit Specifications (checked 2026-10-04). Rated power is not a measurement at every fan setting.

Sensors
NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
NoNo
Yes
Catalog note

A built-in air quality sensor measures the air and adjusts fan speed in real time, driving the three colour air quality indicator

Yes
NoNo
Not recordedNo

Know what’s behind the comparison.

The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.

Read our comparison methodology