
The Smart Device Compare comparison
Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen) vs Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.
Build another comparison →Before you compare every specification
Key differences between Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen) and Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
A summary of selected recorded differences between these displays. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.
- Mic Off Switch (features): Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen) — Yes; Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2 — No.
- Volume Controls (features): Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen) — Yes; Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2 — No.
- Wall Mount (features): Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen) — No; Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2 — Yes (An 86-type in-wall panel that drops into a standard back box on the existing wiring, replacing a 2-gang wall switch.).
- Thread border router (hub): Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen) — Yes; Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2 — No (The radios are Wi-Fi and Zigbee 3.0 only, and the Matter device record lists no Thread role.).
- Glass Breaking (alerts): Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen) — Subscription required; Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2 — No.
- Smoke Co Alarm (alerts): Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen) — Subscription required; Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2 — No.
- Screen Resolution (display): Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen) — 1280 x 800 px; Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2 — 480 x 480 px.
- Screen Size (display): Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen) — 8"; Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2 — 3.95".
- 12 of 44 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
- Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.
These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.
Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.


What the catalog tells us
Understand the tradeoffs.
These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.
Consider your setup
Apple Home
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)No
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2Yes
Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.
Inspect the specificationsConsider your setup
Home Assistant
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)Partially
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2Yes
Check the integration method, supported model and firmware. A catalog Yes does not establish local control or official support.
Inspect the specificationsYour priorities, side by side
Focus on what changes.
Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.
Showing 44 of 44 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.
Alerts
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- Subscription required
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- No
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- Subscription required
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- No
Connectivity
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- Yes
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Yes
Catalog note
SONOFF lists the wireless connectivity as Wi-Fi IEEE 802.11 b/g/n/ac/ax on 2.4GHz and 5GHz plus Zigbee 3.0.
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- Yes
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Yes
Catalog note
Dual-band Wi-Fi: the official spec sheet states 2.4GHz and 5GHz, and the Amazon title advertises 2.4/5 GHz Wi-Fi.
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- No
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- No
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- Yes
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Yes
Catalog note
The Matter device record for this model lists its protocols as Bluetooth and Wi-Fi, and CNX Software's spec rundown also lists Bluetooth. SONOFF's own wireless connectivity row names only Wi-Fi and Zigbee.
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- No
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- No
Conversation Agent
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- Yes
Catalog note
Additional catalog field from the voice-assistants listing of this model.
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Not recorded
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- No
Catalog note
Additional catalog field from the voice-assistants listing of this model.
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Not recorded
Display
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- Yes
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Yes
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- Yes
Catalog note
Additional catalog field from the voice-assistants listing of this model.
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Not recorded
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- 1280 x 800 px
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- 480 x 480 px
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- 8"
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- 3.95"
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- LCD
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- LCD
Catalog note
A 3.95-inch capacitive touchscreen colour TFT panel, the thin-film-transistor variant of LCD.
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- Yes
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Yes
Catalog note
SONOFF specifies the 3.95-inch screen as a capacitive touch panel.
Features
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- No
Catalog note
Additional catalog field from the voice-assistants listing of this model.
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Not recorded
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- Yes
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- No
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- No
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- No
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- No
Catalog note
Additional catalog field from the voice-assistants listing of this model.
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Not recorded
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- Yes
Catalog note
Additional catalog field from the voice-assistants listing of this model.
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Not recorded
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- Yes
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- No
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- No
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Yes
Catalog note
An 86-type in-wall panel that drops into a standard back box on the existing wiring, replacing a 2-gang wall switch.
Hub
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- Yes
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Yes
Manufacturer source
The panel can bridge supported Zigbee and Wi-Fi devices to Matter.
Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product feature description
- Model
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
The source does not establish support for every Zigbee device, feature or firmware version.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
The built-in Matter gateway bridges the panel's Zigbee and Wi-Fi devices to Apple Home, Google Home, Alexa, SmartThings and Home Assistant.
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- Yes
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- No
Catalog note
The radios are Wi-Fi and Zigbee 3.0 only, and the Matter device record lists no Thread role.
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- Yes
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Yes
Manufacturer source
An integrated Zigbee 3.0 gateway connects compatible accessories.
Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product feature description
- Model
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
The source does not establish support for every Zigbee device, feature or firmware version.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Built-in Zigbee 3.0 gateway on a Silicon Labs EFR32MG24 chip, which hosts Zigbee sensors, switches and lights without an extra hub.
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- No
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Yes
Catalog note
SONOFF advertises switchable Zigbee modes, so the panel can run either as a Zigbee hub or as a Zigbee router on an existing network.
Integrations
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- Yes
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Yes
Catalog note
SONOFF lists Alexa among the platforms the built-in Matter bridge exposes devices to, and the relay channels can be voice controlled through Alexa.
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- No
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Yes
Catalog note
The built-in Matter bridge publishes the panel and its Zigbee and Wi-Fi sub-devices to Apple Home, and SONOFF states the relay can be voice controlled with Siri.
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- No
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Yes
Catalog note
SONOFF lists Google Home among the platforms the built-in Matter bridge exposes devices to, and the relay channels can be voice controlled through Google Home.
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- Partially
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Yes
Manufacturer source
F-Droid can install third-party apps for use as a Home Assistant panel.
Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product feature description
- Model
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
The source does not establish support for every Zigbee device, feature or firmware version.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
SONOFF sells the panel as a dedicated Home Assistant control surface: 2GB of RAM and 32GB of storage run the Home Assistant app installed from F-Droid with no root, and the Matter bridge also syncs the panel and its Zigbee devices into Home Assistant.
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- No
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Yes
Catalog note
SONOFF's own product page lists SmartThings alongside Apple Home, Google Home and Alexa as an ecosystem reached through the built-in Matter bridge.
Sensors
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- Yes
Catalog note
Amazon lists adaptive color, which adjusts the screen to the room light ("look great in any light"), the same feature the Echo Show 10 and 15 pair with their RGB ambient light sensor.
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Yes
Catalog note
An IIC light sensor adjusts screen brightness to the room automatically.
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- No
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- No
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- Yes
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Yes
Catalog note
A proximity sensor detects a person approaching and wakes the screen automatically, with no touch needed.
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- No
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- No
Catalog note
The panel's thermostat and heating screens read from paired Zigbee sensors: the on-board sensor list is the light sensor and the proximity sensor only.
Speech To Text
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- Yes
Catalog note
Additional catalog field from the voice-assistants listing of this model.
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Not recorded
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- No
Catalog note
Additional catalog field from the voice-assistants listing of this model.
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Not recorded
Text To Speech
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- Yes
Catalog note
Additional catalog field from the voice-assistants listing of this model.
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Not recorded
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- No
Catalog note
Additional catalog field from the voice-assistants listing of this model.
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Not recorded
Video
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- Yes
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- No
Catalog note
No camera is fitted. The panel can display feeds from SONOFF and RTSP-compatible cameras instead.
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- Yes
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Not applicable / unspecified
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- Not recorded
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Not applicable / unspecified
Voice Assistant
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- Yes
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- No
Catalog note
The panel works with Alexa but does not host Alexa: no built-in voice assistant is listed for this model.
- Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen)
- No
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- No
Catalog note
There is no assistant running on the panel itself. Its microphone is specified for intercom calls and voice interactions, and Google Home control happens from a separate speaker or phone.
| Specification | Amazon Echo Show 8 (3rd Gen) | Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2 |
|---|---|---|
| Alerts | ||
| Subscription required | No | |
| Subscription required | No | |
| Connectivity | ||
| Yes | YesCatalog noteSONOFF lists the wireless connectivity as Wi-Fi IEEE 802.11 b/g/n/ac/ax on 2.4GHz and 5GHz plus Zigbee 3.0. | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteDual-band Wi-Fi: the official spec sheet states 2.4GHz and 5GHz, and the Amazon title advertises 2.4/5 GHz Wi-Fi. | |
| No | No | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteThe Matter device record for this model lists its protocols as Bluetooth and Wi-Fi, and CNX Software's spec rundown also lists Bluetooth. SONOFF's own wireless connectivity row names only Wi-Fi and Zigbee. | |
| No | No | |
| Conversation Agent | ||
YesCatalog noteAdditional catalog field from the voice-assistants listing of this model. | Not recorded | |
NoCatalog noteAdditional catalog field from the voice-assistants listing of this model. | Not recorded | |
| Display | ||
| Yes | Yes | |
YesCatalog noteAdditional catalog field from the voice-assistants listing of this model. | Not recorded | |
| 1280 x 800 px | 480 x 480 px | |
| 8" | 3.95" | |
| LCD | LCDCatalog noteA 3.95-inch capacitive touchscreen colour TFT panel, the thin-film-transistor variant of LCD. | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteSONOFF specifies the 3.95-inch screen as a capacitive touch panel. | |
| Features | ||
NoCatalog noteAdditional catalog field from the voice-assistants listing of this model. | Not recorded | |
| Yes | No | |
| No | No | |
NoCatalog noteAdditional catalog field from the voice-assistants listing of this model. | Not recorded | |
YesCatalog noteAdditional catalog field from the voice-assistants listing of this model. | Not recorded | |
| Yes | No | |
| No | YesCatalog noteAn 86-type in-wall panel that drops into a standard back box on the existing wiring, replacing a 2-gang wall switch. | |
| Hub | ||
| Yes | YesManufacturer sourceThe panel can bridge supported Zigbee and Wi-Fi devices to Matter. Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2 manufacturer product page →
The source does not establish support for every Zigbee device, feature or firmware version. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteThe built-in Matter gateway bridges the panel's Zigbee and Wi-Fi devices to Apple Home, Google Home, Alexa, SmartThings and Home Assistant. | |
| Yes | NoCatalog noteThe radios are Wi-Fi and Zigbee 3.0 only, and the Matter device record lists no Thread role. | |
| Yes | YesManufacturer sourceAn integrated Zigbee 3.0 gateway connects compatible accessories. Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2 manufacturer product page →
The source does not establish support for every Zigbee device, feature or firmware version. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteBuilt-in Zigbee 3.0 gateway on a Silicon Labs EFR32MG24 chip, which hosts Zigbee sensors, switches and lights without an extra hub. | |
| No | YesCatalog noteSONOFF advertises switchable Zigbee modes, so the panel can run either as a Zigbee hub or as a Zigbee router on an existing network. | |
| Integrations | ||
| Yes | YesCatalog noteSONOFF lists Alexa among the platforms the built-in Matter bridge exposes devices to, and the relay channels can be voice controlled through Alexa. | |
| No | YesCatalog noteThe built-in Matter bridge publishes the panel and its Zigbee and Wi-Fi sub-devices to Apple Home, and SONOFF states the relay can be voice controlled with Siri. | |
| No | YesCatalog noteSONOFF lists Google Home among the platforms the built-in Matter bridge exposes devices to, and the relay channels can be voice controlled through Google Home. | |
| Partially | YesManufacturer sourceF-Droid can install third-party apps for use as a Home Assistant panel. Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2 manufacturer product page →
The source does not establish support for every Zigbee device, feature or firmware version. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteSONOFF sells the panel as a dedicated Home Assistant control surface: 2GB of RAM and 32GB of storage run the Home Assistant app installed from F-Droid with no root, and the Matter bridge also syncs the panel and its Zigbee devices into Home Assistant. | |
| No | YesCatalog noteSONOFF's own product page lists SmartThings alongside Apple Home, Google Home and Alexa as an ecosystem reached through the built-in Matter bridge. | |
| Sensors | ||
YesCatalog noteAmazon lists adaptive color, which adjusts the screen to the room light ("look great in any light"), the same feature the Echo Show 10 and 15 pair with their RGB ambient light sensor. | YesCatalog noteAn IIC light sensor adjusts screen brightness to the room automatically. | |
| No | No | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteA proximity sensor detects a person approaching and wakes the screen automatically, with no touch needed. | |
| No | NoCatalog noteThe panel's thermostat and heating screens read from paired Zigbee sensors: the on-board sensor list is the light sensor and the proximity sensor only. | |
| Speech To Text | ||
YesCatalog noteAdditional catalog field from the voice-assistants listing of this model. | Not recorded | |
NoCatalog noteAdditional catalog field from the voice-assistants listing of this model. | Not recorded | |
| Text To Speech | ||
YesCatalog noteAdditional catalog field from the voice-assistants listing of this model. | Not recorded | |
NoCatalog noteAdditional catalog field from the voice-assistants listing of this model. | Not recorded | |
| Video | ||
| Yes | NoCatalog noteNo camera is fitted. The panel can display feeds from SONOFF and RTSP-compatible cameras instead. | |
| Yes | Not applicable / unspecified | |
| Not recorded | Not applicable / unspecified | |
| Voice Assistant | ||
| Yes | NoCatalog noteThe panel works with Alexa but does not host Alexa: no built-in voice assistant is listed for this model. | |
| No | NoCatalog noteThere is no assistant running on the panel itself. Its microphone is specified for intercom calls and voice interactions, and Google Home control happens from a separate speaker or phone. | |
Know what’s behind the comparison.
The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.
Read our comparison methodology