
The Smart Device Compare comparison
Shelly Wall Display vs Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.
Build another comparison →Before you compare every specification
Key differences between Shelly Wall Display and Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
A summary of selected recorded differences between these displays. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.
- 5 GHz Wi-Fi (connectivity): Shelly Wall Display — No; Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2 — Yes (Dual-band Wi-Fi: the official spec sheet states 2.4GHz and 5GHz, and the Amazon title advertises 2.4/5 GHz Wi-Fi.).
- Matter bridge (hub): Shelly Wall Display — No; Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2 — Yes (The built-in Matter gateway bridges the panel's Zigbee and Wi-Fi devices to Apple Home, Google Home, Alexa, SmartThings and Home Assistant.).
- Zigbee coordinator (hub): Shelly Wall Display — No; Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2 — Yes (Built-in Zigbee 3.0 gateway on a Silicon Labs EFR32MG24 chip, which hosts Zigbee sensors, switches and lights without an extra hub.).
- Zigbee Router (hub): Shelly Wall Display — No; Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2 — Yes (SONOFF advertises switchable Zigbee modes, so the panel can run either as a Zigbee hub or as a Zigbee router on an existing network.).
- Screen Size (display): Shelly Wall Display — 4”; Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2 — 3.95".
- 4 of 34 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
- Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.
These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.
Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.


What the catalog tells us
Understand the tradeoffs.
These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.
Consider your setup
Apple Home
- Shelly Wall DisplayNo
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2Yes
Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.
Inspect the specificationsYour priorities, side by side
Focus on what changes.
Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.
Showing 34 of 34 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.
Alerts
- Shelly Wall Display
- No
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- No
- Shelly Wall Display
- No
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- No
Connectivity
- Shelly Wall Display
- Yes
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Yes
Catalog note
SONOFF lists the wireless connectivity as Wi-Fi IEEE 802.11 b/g/n/ac/ax on 2.4GHz and 5GHz plus Zigbee 3.0.
- Shelly Wall Display
- No
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Yes
Catalog note
Dual-band Wi-Fi: the official spec sheet states 2.4GHz and 5GHz, and the Amazon title advertises 2.4/5 GHz Wi-Fi.
- Shelly Wall Display
- No
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- No
- Shelly Wall Display
- Yes
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Yes
Catalog note
The Matter device record for this model lists its protocols as Bluetooth and Wi-Fi, and CNX Software's spec rundown also lists Bluetooth. SONOFF's own wireless connectivity row names only Wi-Fi and Zigbee.
- Shelly Wall Display
- No
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- No
Display
- Shelly Wall Display
- Yes
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Yes
- Shelly Wall Display
- Not recorded
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- 480 x 480 px
- Shelly Wall Display
- 4”
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- 3.95"
- Shelly Wall Display
- LCD
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- LCD
Catalog note
A 3.95-inch capacitive touchscreen colour TFT panel, the thin-film-transistor variant of LCD.
- Shelly Wall Display
- Yes
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Yes
Catalog note
SONOFF specifies the 3.95-inch screen as a capacitive touch panel.
Features
- Shelly Wall Display
- Not applicable / unspecified
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- No
- Shelly Wall Display
- No
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- No
- Shelly Wall Display
- No
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- No
- Shelly Wall Display
- Yes
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Yes
Catalog note
An 86-type in-wall panel that drops into a standard back box on the existing wiring, replacing a 2-gang wall switch.
Hub
- Shelly Wall Display
- No
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Yes
Manufacturer source
The panel can bridge supported Zigbee and Wi-Fi devices to Matter.
Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product feature description
- Model
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
The source does not establish support for every Zigbee device, feature or firmware version.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
The built-in Matter gateway bridges the panel's Zigbee and Wi-Fi devices to Apple Home, Google Home, Alexa, SmartThings and Home Assistant.
- Shelly Wall Display
- No
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- No
Catalog note
The radios are Wi-Fi and Zigbee 3.0 only, and the Matter device record lists no Thread role.
- Shelly Wall Display
- No
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Yes
Manufacturer source
An integrated Zigbee 3.0 gateway connects compatible accessories.
Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product feature description
- Model
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
The source does not establish support for every Zigbee device, feature or firmware version.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Built-in Zigbee 3.0 gateway on a Silicon Labs EFR32MG24 chip, which hosts Zigbee sensors, switches and lights without an extra hub.
- Shelly Wall Display
- No
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Yes
Catalog note
SONOFF advertises switchable Zigbee modes, so the panel can run either as a Zigbee hub or as a Zigbee router on an existing network.
Integrations
- Shelly Wall Display
- Yes
Catalog note
Shelly integrates its devices with Alexa through Shelly Cloud, and the panel's built-in relay is exposed as a switch
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Yes
Catalog note
SONOFF lists Alexa among the platforms the built-in Matter bridge exposes devices to, and the relay channels can be voice controlled through Alexa.
- Shelly Wall Display
- No
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Yes
Catalog note
The built-in Matter bridge publishes the panel and its Zigbee and Wi-Fi sub-devices to Apple Home, and SONOFF states the relay can be voice controlled with Siri.
- Shelly Wall Display
- Yes
Catalog note
Shelly integrates its devices with Google Home through Shelly Cloud, the same path as Alexa and SmartThings
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Yes
Catalog note
SONOFF lists Google Home among the platforms the built-in Matter bridge exposes devices to, and the relay channels can be voice controlled through Google Home.
- Shelly Wall Display
- Yes
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Yes
Manufacturer source
F-Droid can install third-party apps for use as a Home Assistant panel.
Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Product feature description
- Model
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Region
- Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
The source does not establish support for every Zigbee device, feature or firmware version.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
SONOFF sells the panel as a dedicated Home Assistant control surface: 2GB of RAM and 32GB of storage run the Home Assistant app installed from F-Droid with no root, and the Matter bridge also syncs the panel and its Zigbee devices into Home Assistant.
- Shelly Wall Display
- Yes
Catalog note
Via the official Shelly Cloud integration
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Yes
Catalog note
SONOFF's own product page lists SmartThings alongside Apple Home, Google Home and Alexa as an ecosystem reached through the built-in Matter bridge.
Sensors
- Shelly Wall Display
- Yes
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Yes
Catalog note
An IIC light sensor adjusts screen brightness to the room automatically.
- Shelly Wall Display
- Yes
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- No
- Shelly Wall Display
- No
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Yes
Catalog note
A proximity sensor detects a person approaching and wakes the screen automatically, with no touch needed.
- Shelly Wall Display
- Yes
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- No
Catalog note
The panel's thermostat and heating screens read from paired Zigbee sensors: the on-board sensor list is the light sensor and the proximity sensor only.
Video
- Shelly Wall Display
- No
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- No
Catalog note
No camera is fitted. The panel can display feeds from SONOFF and RTSP-compatible cameras instead.
- Shelly Wall Display
- Not applicable / unspecified
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Not applicable / unspecified
- Shelly Wall Display
- Not applicable / unspecified
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- Not applicable / unspecified
Voice Assistant
- Shelly Wall Display
- No
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- No
Catalog note
The panel works with Alexa but does not host Alexa: no built-in voice assistant is listed for this model.
- Shelly Wall Display
- No
- Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2
- No
Catalog note
There is no assistant running on the panel itself. Its microphone is specified for intercom calls and voice interactions, and Google Home control happens from a separate speaker or phone.
| Specification | Shelly Wall Display | Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2 |
|---|---|---|
| Alerts | ||
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| Connectivity | ||
| Yes | YesCatalog noteSONOFF lists the wireless connectivity as Wi-Fi IEEE 802.11 b/g/n/ac/ax on 2.4GHz and 5GHz plus Zigbee 3.0. | |
| No | YesCatalog noteDual-band Wi-Fi: the official spec sheet states 2.4GHz and 5GHz, and the Amazon title advertises 2.4/5 GHz Wi-Fi. | |
| No | No | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteThe Matter device record for this model lists its protocols as Bluetooth and Wi-Fi, and CNX Software's spec rundown also lists Bluetooth. SONOFF's own wireless connectivity row names only Wi-Fi and Zigbee. | |
| No | No | |
| Display | ||
| Yes | Yes | |
| Not recorded | 480 x 480 px | |
| 4” | 3.95" | |
| LCD | LCDCatalog noteA 3.95-inch capacitive touchscreen colour TFT panel, the thin-film-transistor variant of LCD. | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteSONOFF specifies the 3.95-inch screen as a capacitive touch panel. | |
| Features | ||
| Not applicable / unspecified | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| Yes | YesCatalog noteAn 86-type in-wall panel that drops into a standard back box on the existing wiring, replacing a 2-gang wall switch. | |
| Hub | ||
| No | YesManufacturer sourceThe panel can bridge supported Zigbee and Wi-Fi devices to Matter. Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2 manufacturer product page →
The source does not establish support for every Zigbee device, feature or firmware version. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteThe built-in Matter gateway bridges the panel's Zigbee and Wi-Fi devices to Apple Home, Google Home, Alexa, SmartThings and Home Assistant. | |
| No | NoCatalog noteThe radios are Wi-Fi and Zigbee 3.0 only, and the Matter device record lists no Thread role. | |
| No | YesManufacturer sourceAn integrated Zigbee 3.0 gateway connects compatible accessories. Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2 manufacturer product page →
The source does not establish support for every Zigbee device, feature or firmware version. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteBuilt-in Zigbee 3.0 gateway on a Silicon Labs EFR32MG24 chip, which hosts Zigbee sensors, switches and lights without an extra hub. | |
| No | YesCatalog noteSONOFF advertises switchable Zigbee modes, so the panel can run either as a Zigbee hub or as a Zigbee router on an existing network. | |
| Integrations | ||
YesCatalog noteShelly integrates its devices with Alexa through Shelly Cloud, and the panel's built-in relay is exposed as a switch | YesCatalog noteSONOFF lists Alexa among the platforms the built-in Matter bridge exposes devices to, and the relay channels can be voice controlled through Alexa. | |
| No | YesCatalog noteThe built-in Matter bridge publishes the panel and its Zigbee and Wi-Fi sub-devices to Apple Home, and SONOFF states the relay can be voice controlled with Siri. | |
YesCatalog noteShelly integrates its devices with Google Home through Shelly Cloud, the same path as Alexa and SmartThings | YesCatalog noteSONOFF lists Google Home among the platforms the built-in Matter bridge exposes devices to, and the relay channels can be voice controlled through Google Home. | |
| Yes | YesManufacturer sourceF-Droid can install third-party apps for use as a Home Assistant panel. Sonoff NSPanel Pro Gen2 manufacturer product page →
The source does not establish support for every Zigbee device, feature or firmware version. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteSONOFF sells the panel as a dedicated Home Assistant control surface: 2GB of RAM and 32GB of storage run the Home Assistant app installed from F-Droid with no root, and the Matter bridge also syncs the panel and its Zigbee devices into Home Assistant. | |
YesCatalog noteVia the official Shelly Cloud integration | YesCatalog noteSONOFF's own product page lists SmartThings alongside Apple Home, Google Home and Alexa as an ecosystem reached through the built-in Matter bridge. | |
| Sensors | ||
| Yes | YesCatalog noteAn IIC light sensor adjusts screen brightness to the room automatically. | |
| Yes | No | |
| No | YesCatalog noteA proximity sensor detects a person approaching and wakes the screen automatically, with no touch needed. | |
| Yes | NoCatalog noteThe panel's thermostat and heating screens read from paired Zigbee sensors: the on-board sensor list is the light sensor and the proximity sensor only. | |
| Video | ||
| No | NoCatalog noteNo camera is fitted. The panel can display feeds from SONOFF and RTSP-compatible cameras instead. | |
| Not applicable / unspecified | Not applicable / unspecified | |
| Not applicable / unspecified | Not applicable / unspecified | |
| Voice Assistant | ||
| No | NoCatalog noteThe panel works with Alexa but does not host Alexa: no built-in voice assistant is listed for this model. | |
| No | NoCatalog noteThere is no assistant running on the panel itself. Its microphone is specified for intercom calls and voice interactions, and Google Home control happens from a separate speaker or phone. | |
Know what’s behind the comparison.
The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.
Read our comparison methodology