
The Smart Device Compare comparison
Eufy FamiLock E32 vs Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.
Build another comparison →Before you compare every specification
Key differences between Eufy FamiLock E32 and Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
A summary of selected recorded differences between these door locks. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.
- Bluetooth (connectivity): Eufy FamiLock E32 — Yes (Matter runs over Thread, which uses Bluetooth Low Energy for commissioning); Eufy FamiLock S3 Max — No.
- Doorbell (features): Eufy FamiLock E32 — No; Eufy FamiLock S3 Max — Yes (Built-in 2K HDR video doorbell with Rear Lock Video Screen).
- Fingerprint (lock system): Eufy FamiLock E32 — Yes (Self-learning AI fingerprint recognition); Eufy FamiLock S3 Max — No.
- 2k Video (video): Eufy FamiLock E32 — No; Eufy FamiLock S3 Max — Yes.
- Thread (connectivity): Eufy FamiLock E32 — Thread Border Router required (Matter runs over Thread, so a Thread border router such as a HomePod mini or Apple TV 4K is needed for Matter control (official eufy FAQ)); Eufy FamiLock S3 Max — No.
- Backup Battery (power): Eufy FamiLock E32 — No; Eufy FamiLock S3 Max — 4x AAA backup batteries.
- Battery Life (power): Eufy FamiLock E32 — 8 months; Eufy FamiLock S3 Max — 4 months.
- Battery Type (power): Eufy FamiLock E32 — 8 AA; Eufy FamiLock S3 Max — Built-in.
- 6 of 45 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
- Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.
These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.
Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.


What the catalog tells us
Understand the tradeoffs.
These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.
Consider your setup
Battery Life
- Eufy FamiLock E328 months
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max4 months
Compare the stated test conditions. Catalog battery figures alone do not predict runtime in your home.
Inspect the specificationsYour priorities, side by side
Focus on what changes.
Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.
Showing 45 of 45 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.
Alerts
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
Catalog note
Real-time notifications and event history in the eufy app
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- Yes
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
Catalog note
Low-battery alerts through the app (official eufy FAQ)
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- Yes
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Not recorded
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- Not recorded
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Not recorded
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- Not recorded
Automatic Lock
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
Catalog note
Countdown auto-lock, with customizable timing from 2 seconds to 5 minutes (official eufy FAQ)
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- Yes
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- No
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Not recorded
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- Not recorded
Connectivity
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
Catalog note
Built-in Wi-Fi, no bridge required (official eufy product page and Amazon listing)
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- Yes
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- No
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
Catalog note
Matter runs over Thread, which uses Bluetooth Low Energy for commissioning
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- No
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- No
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Thread Border Router required
Catalog note
Matter runs over Thread, so a Thread border router such as a HomePod mini or Apple TV 4K is needed for Matter control (official eufy FAQ)
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- No
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- No
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- No
Features
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
Catalog note
Anti-Peep Passcode (official eufy product page)
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- Yes
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- Yes
Manufacturer source
A doorbell is built into the lock.
Eufy FamiLock S3 Max manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Model-specific product page summary
- Model
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- Region
- US manufacturer page; other regional variants are not verified by this source
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Built-in 2K HDR video doorbell with Rear Lock Video Screen
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- No
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
Catalog note
Temporary passcodes via Access Management in the eufy app
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- Yes
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
Catalog note
Scheduled passcodes via Access Management in the eufy app
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- Yes
Integrations
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- Yes
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
Catalog note
Matter over Thread (official eufy product page FAQ)
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- Yes
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- Yes
Catalog note
Via Matter
Lock System
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- No
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- No
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- No
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
Manufacturer source
Fingerprint access is supported.
Eufy FamiLock E32 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Model-specific product page summary
- Model
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Region
- US manufacturer page; other regional variants are not verified by this source
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Battery life is a manufacturer estimate, not a guaranteed replacement interval.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
Catalog note
Self-learning AI fingerprint recognition
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- No
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- No
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
Catalog note
Touchscreen keypad
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- Yes
Catalog note
Touchscreen keypad
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- Yes
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Yes
Catalog note
Built-in Wi-Fi, no bridge required; control from anywhere in the eufy app
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- Yes
Catalog note
Built-in Wi-Fi, no bridge required
Power
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- 4x AAA backup batteries
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- 8 months
Manufacturer source
The advertised battery life is up to eight months.
Eufy FamiLock E32 manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Model-specific product page summary
- Model
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Region
- US manufacturer page; other regional variants are not verified by this source
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Battery life is a manufacturer estimate, not a guaranteed replacement interval.
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- 4 months
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- 8 AA
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- Built-in
Sensors
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
Catalog note
Auto-lock is a countdown timer set in the app, with no door-position sensor documented
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- Not recorded
Video
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- Yes
Manufacturer source
The integrated camera supports 2K video.
Eufy FamiLock S3 Max manufacturer product page →- Source section
- Model-specific product page summary
- Model
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- Region
- US manufacturer page; other regional variants are not verified by this source
- Firmware
- Not specified by this source
- Checked
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- Not recorded
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- Yes
Catalog note
2K HDR camera, f/1.6 lens, 150° Head-to-Toe wide-angle view
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- Yes
Catalog note
16 GB built-in storage
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- No
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- Yes
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- No
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- Yes
- Eufy FamiLock E32
- Not applicable / unspecified
- Eufy FamiLock S3 Max
- Not recorded
| Specification | Eufy FamiLock E32 | Eufy FamiLock S3 Max |
|---|---|---|
| Alerts | ||
YesCatalog noteReal-time notifications and event history in the eufy app | Yes | |
YesCatalog noteLow-battery alerts through the app (official eufy FAQ) | Yes | |
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
| Automatic Lock | ||
YesCatalog noteCountdown auto-lock, with customizable timing from 2 seconds to 5 minutes (official eufy FAQ) | Yes | |
| No | No | |
| Not recorded | Not recorded | |
| Connectivity | ||
YesCatalog noteBuilt-in Wi-Fi, no bridge required (official eufy product page and Amazon listing) | Yes | |
| No | No | |
YesCatalog noteMatter runs over Thread, which uses Bluetooth Low Energy for commissioning | No | |
| No | No | |
Thread Border Router requiredCatalog noteMatter runs over Thread, so a Thread border router such as a HomePod mini or Apple TV 4K is needed for Matter control (official eufy FAQ) | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| Features | ||
YesCatalog noteAnti-Peep Passcode (official eufy product page) | Yes | |
| No | YesManufacturer sourceA doorbell is built into the lock. Eufy FamiLock S3 Max manufacturer product page →
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteBuilt-in 2K HDR video doorbell with Rear Lock Video Screen | |
| No | No | |
YesCatalog noteTemporary passcodes via Access Management in the eufy app | Yes | |
YesCatalog noteScheduled passcodes via Access Management in the eufy app | Yes | |
| Integrations | ||
YesCatalog noteVia Matter | YesCatalog noteVia Matter | |
YesCatalog noteVia Matter | YesCatalog noteVia Matter | |
YesCatalog noteVia Matter | YesCatalog noteVia Matter | |
YesCatalog noteVia Matter | Yes | |
YesCatalog noteMatter over Thread (official eufy product page FAQ) | Yes | |
YesCatalog noteVia Matter | YesCatalog noteVia Matter | |
| Lock System | ||
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
| No | No | |
YesManufacturer sourceFingerprint access is supported. Eufy FamiLock E32 manufacturer product page →
Battery life is a manufacturer estimate, not a guaranteed replacement interval. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. Catalog noteSelf-learning AI fingerprint recognition | No | |
| No | No | |
YesCatalog noteTouchscreen keypad | YesCatalog noteTouchscreen keypad | |
| Yes | Yes | |
YesCatalog noteBuilt-in Wi-Fi, no bridge required; control from anywhere in the eufy app | YesCatalog noteBuilt-in Wi-Fi, no bridge required | |
| Power | ||
| No | 4x AAA backup batteries | |
8 monthsManufacturer sourceThe advertised battery life is up to eight months. Eufy FamiLock E32 manufacturer product page →
Battery life is a manufacturer estimate, not a guaranteed replacement interval. Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | 4 months | |
| 8 AA | Built-in | |
| Sensors | ||
NoCatalog noteAuto-lock is a countdown timer set in the app, with no door-position sensor documented | Not recorded | |
| Video | ||
| No | YesManufacturer sourceThe integrated camera supports 2K video. Eufy FamiLock S3 Max manufacturer product page →
Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant. | |
| No | Not recorded | |
| No | YesCatalog note2K HDR camera, f/1.6 lens, 150° Head-to-Toe wide-angle view | |
| No | YesCatalog note16 GB built-in storage | |
| No | No | |
| No | Yes | |
| No | Yes | |
| Not applicable / unspecified | Not recorded | |
Know what’s behind the comparison.
The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.
Read our comparison methodology