The Smart Device Compare comparison

Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen) vs SwitchBot Contact Sensor

Understand the differences. Decide what matters to your home.

Build another comparison →

Before you compare every specification

Key differences between Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen) and SwitchBot Contact Sensor

A summary of selected recorded differences between these door & window sensors. Check the full specification table below for details and conditions.

Feature differences among your selected devices
  • Tamper Alerts (alerts): Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen) — Yes (Ring documents resolving a tampered Contact Sensor (1st and 2nd Gens): the tamper switch sounds the Alarm siren and shows the Tampered indicator in the app); SwitchBot Contact Sensor — No.
  • Bluetooth (connectivity): Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen) — No; SwitchBot Contact Sensor — Yes.
  • Light (sensors): Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen) — No; SwitchBot Contact Sensor — Yes.
  • Motion (sensors): Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen) — No; SwitchBot Contact Sensor — Yes.
Specifications to check side by side
  • Door Window Alerts (alerts): Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen) — Yes; SwitchBot Contact Sensor — SwitchBot Hub required.
  • Motion Alerts (alerts): Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen) — No; SwitchBot Contact Sensor — SwitchBot Hub required.
  • Z Wave (connectivity): Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen) — Z-Wave Hub required; SwitchBot Contact Sensor — No.
  • Alexa (integrations): Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen) — Yes; SwitchBot Contact Sensor — SwitchBot Hub required.
Information still to confirm
  • 6 of 30 comparison fields lack a resolved value for at least one selected device. Missing information is not evidence that a feature is absent.
  • Check the full table and manufacturer documentation before ruling out a device.

These observations are derived from recorded catalog data and have not all been independently verified. Confirm details with the manufacturer before purchasing.

Compare capabilities, compatibility and setup requirements.

What the catalog tells us

Understand the tradeoffs.

These counts describe the available data, not a quality score. More features do not automatically make a better device.

13differences with recorded values for every device
6rows with missing or unspecified information

Consider your setup

Apple Home

  • Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen)No
  • SwitchBot Contact SensorSwitchBot Hub required

Confirm which features appear in Apple Home and whether extra hardware or a subscription is needed for your intended use.

Inspect the specifications

Consider your setup

Matter

  • Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen)No
  • SwitchBot Contact SensorSwitchBot Hub required

Confirm the exact device type and the features exposed in your chosen platform. Protocol support does not establish feature parity across apps.

Inspect the specifications

Your priorities, side by side

Focus on what changes.

Mark the specifications you care about. Open manufacturer sources for verification scope; fields without citations remain catalog data. Expand notes for other qualifications.

Showing 30 of 30 rows. “Not recorded” does not mean “No”.

Alerts

Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen)
Yes
SwitchBot Contact Sensor
SwitchBot Hub required
Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen)
Not recorded
SwitchBot Contact Sensor
Not recorded
Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen)
No
SwitchBot Contact Sensor
SwitchBot Hub required
Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen)
Yes
Catalog note

Ring documents resolving a tampered Contact Sensor (1st and 2nd Gens): the tamper switch sounds the Alarm siren and shows the Tampered indicator in the app

SwitchBot Contact Sensor
No
Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen)
No
SwitchBot Contact Sensor
No

Connectivity

Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen)
No
SwitchBot Contact Sensor
No
Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen)
No
SwitchBot Contact Sensor
No
Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen)
No
SwitchBot Contact Sensor
Yes
Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen)
No
SwitchBot Contact Sensor
No
Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen)
No
SwitchBot Contact Sensor
No
Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen)
Z-Wave Hub required
SwitchBot Contact Sensor
No
Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen)
No
SwitchBot Contact Sensor
No

Features

Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen)
Not recorded
SwitchBot Contact Sensor
SwitchBot Hub required
Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen)
Not recorded
SwitchBot Contact Sensor
Yes
Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen)
Not recorded
SwitchBot Contact Sensor
Not recorded
Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen)
Not recorded
SwitchBot Contact Sensor
Not recorded
Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen)
Not recorded
SwitchBot Contact Sensor
No

Integrations

Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen)
Yes
SwitchBot Contact Sensor
SwitchBot Hub required
Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen)
No
SwitchBot Contact Sensor
SwitchBot Hub required
Catalog note

The Hub 2 and Hub 3 bridge the Contact Sensor to Matter, which is how it shows up in the Apple Home app.

Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen)
No
SwitchBot Contact Sensor
SwitchBot Hub required
Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen)
Yes
SwitchBot Contact Sensor
Yes
Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen)
No
SwitchBot Contact Sensor
SwitchBot Hub required
Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen)
No
SwitchBot Contact Sensor
SwitchBot Hub required

Power

Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen)
3 years
SwitchBot Contact Sensor
3 years
Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen)
2x CR2032
SwitchBot Contact Sensor
2x AAA

Sensors

Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen)
Yes
SwitchBot Contact Sensor
Yes
Manufacturer source

The sensor detects door or window opening.

SwitchBot Contact Sensor manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
SwitchBot Contact Sensor
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Remote alerts and ecosystem automations require a compatible SwitchBot hub.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen)
No
SwitchBot Contact Sensor
Yes
Manufacturer source

A built-in light sensor can guide automations.

SwitchBot Contact Sensor manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
SwitchBot Contact Sensor
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Remote alerts and ecosystem automations require a compatible SwitchBot hub.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen)
No
SwitchBot Contact Sensor
Yes
Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen)
No
SwitchBot Contact Sensor
No
Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen)
No
SwitchBot Contact Sensor
No
Specifications for Ring Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen) versus SwitchBot Contact Sensor
SpecificationRing Window and Door Contact Sensor (2nd gen)SwitchBot Contact Sensor
Alerts
YesSwitchBot Hub required
Not recordedNot recorded
NoSwitchBot Hub required
Yes
Catalog note

Ring documents resolving a tampered Contact Sensor (1st and 2nd Gens): the tamper switch sounds the Alarm siren and shows the Tampered indicator in the app

No
NoNo
Connectivity
NoNo
NoNo
NoYes
NoNo
NoNo
Z-Wave Hub requiredNo
NoNo
Features
Not recordedSwitchBot Hub required
Not recordedYes
Not recordedNot recorded
Not recordedNot recorded
Not recordedNo
Integrations
YesSwitchBot Hub required
NoSwitchBot Hub required
Catalog note

The Hub 2 and Hub 3 bridge the Contact Sensor to Matter, which is how it shows up in the Apple Home app.

NoSwitchBot Hub required
YesYes
NoSwitchBot Hub required
NoSwitchBot Hub required
Power
3 years3 years
2x CR20322x AAA
Sensors
YesYes
Manufacturer source

The sensor detects door or window opening.

SwitchBot Contact Sensor manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
SwitchBot Contact Sensor
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Remote alerts and ecosystem automations require a compatible SwitchBot hub.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

NoYes
Manufacturer source

A built-in light sensor can guide automations.

SwitchBot Contact Sensor manufacturer product page →
Source section
Product description
Model
SwitchBot Contact Sensor
Region
Manufacturer product page; no universal regional compatibility implied
Firmware
Not specified by this source
Checked

Remote alerts and ecosystem automations require a compatible SwitchBot hub.

Document check only; not a hands-on test or verification of every regional or firmware variant.

NoYes
NoNo
NoNo

Know what’s behind the comparison.

The table matches specifications by section and field. It preserves notes, separates missing data from explicit “No” values, and keeps qualifications attached to their values. No overall winner is assigned from feature counts.

Read our comparison methodology